DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12/19/2025, with respect to objection of the title has been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12/19/2025, with respect to rejection of claims 1-10 under 35 USC 112 b/2nd objection of the title has been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12/19/2025, with respect to Claims 1,2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,4, 5, and 6 of copending Application No. 18/284281has been fully considered and are persuasive. The TD has been filed and approved, therefore, the rejection of the claims have been withdrawn
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 12/19/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by
(US 2018/0010690 A1) and Claims 1, 3-5, 10, and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipate by Arai (US 2019/0178386 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made set forth below.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Martin et. Al. (US 2005/0064196 A1) (“Martin” herein).
Claim 1
Martin discloses a sliding
component having a sliding surface performing relative sliding,
wherein a base material of the sliding component is directly coated with a
film containing of glassy non-graphitized carbon (i.e. hard carbon) and
the sliding surface is formed by the film. [0010-0013, 0017-0021]
Since Martin discloses the same composition comprising a non-graphitized carbon or hard carbon it would be a glassy non-graphitized carbon.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive
properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if
the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses
and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at
1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773
(Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam
Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 2
Martin discloses the sliding component according to claim 1, wherein the film further contains graphite. [0017-0018]
Claim 3
Itadani discloses the sliding component according to claim 1, wherein the film
contains a filler with a dimension equal to or less than a film thickness of the film.
[0017-22]
Claims 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11
Since Martini discloses the same composition comprising a carbon with a filler
such as graphite, it would have a high-thermal conductivity filler and a low-coefficient
friction filler than the glassy carbon included in the film.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive
properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if
the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses
and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at
1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773
(Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam
Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 6
Itadani discloses the sliding component according to claim 2, wherein the film
contains a filler with a dimension equal to or less than a film thickness of the film.
[0017-0018]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itadani et al. (US 2018/0010690 A1) (“Itadani” herein- cited previously) and further in view of Martin.
Claim 1
Itadani discloses, a sliding
component having a sliding surface performing relative sliding,
wherein a base material of the sliding component is directly coated with a film
containing glassy carbon and the sliding surface is formed by the film.[0015-
0017, 0064-0068]
Itadani however does not exilically disclose the glassy carbon is non-graphitized carbon (i.e. hard carbon).
Martin teaches the above limitation. (See paragraphs 0010 & 0018 →Martin teaches this limitation in that an aspect of the present invention resides in a low-friction sliding member comprising a base material having a surface. A hard carbon thin film is formed at least a part of the surface of the base material. the low-friction sliding member according to the present invention comprises the base material having the surface. At least a part of the surface is coated with the hard carbon thin film. Examples of the hard carbon thin film are thin films formed of a DLC (diamond-like carbon) material which is an amorphous material principally formed by carbon element, of which carbon-carbon bond includes a diamond structure (sp.sup.3 bond) and a graphite bond (sp.sup.2 bond). Specific examples include a-C (amorphous carbon) formed solely of carbon, a-C:H (hydrogenated amorphous carbon) containing hydrogen, and MeC containing partially a metal element such as titanium (Ti) or molybdenum (Mo). From the viewpoint of obtaining a large friction reducing effect, the DLC material to be used has a smaller hydrogen content preferably, not higher than 20 atomic %, more preferably, not higher than 5 atomic %, further more preferably not higher than 1 atomic %, and further more preferably not higher than 0.5 atomic %. It is also preferable to use a-C based or type DLC material containing substantially not hydrogen.) for the purpose of having a low-friction sliding member. [0010]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Itadani, with the above limitation, as taught by Martin, in order to have a low-friction siding member.
Since Itadani teaches the same composition comprising a non-graphitized carbon with a filler, it would be a glassy carbon included in the thin film.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive
properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if
the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses
and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at
1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773
(Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam
Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 2
Itadani discloses the sliding component according to claim 1, wherein the film further contains graphite. [0065]
Claim 3
Itadani discloses the sliding component according to claim 1, wherein the film
contains a filler with a dimension equal to or less than a film thickness of the film.
[0065-0068]
Claims 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11
Since Itadani discloses the same composition comprising a carbon with a filler
such as graphite, it would have a high-thermal conductivity filler and a low-coefficient
friction filler than the glassy carbon included in the film.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive
properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if
the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses
and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at
1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773
(Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam
Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 6
Itadani discloses the sliding component according to claim 2, wherein the film
contains a filler with a dimension equal to or less than a film thickness of the film.
[0065-0068]
Claim 1, 3-5, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Arai (US 2019/0178386 A1) ("Arai" herein- cited previously) and further in view of Martin.
Claim 1
Arai discloses a sliding
component having a sliding surface performing relative sliding, [0070-0071]
wherein a base material of the sliding component is directly coated with a
film containing of glassy carbon [0083] and
the sliding surface is formed by the film. [0075-0084]
Itadani however does not exilically disclose the glassy carbon is non-graphitized carbon (i.e. hard carbon).
Martin teaches the above limitation. (See paragraphs 0010 & 0018 →Martin teaches this limitation in that an aspect of the present invention resides in a low-friction sliding member comprising a base material having a surface. A hard carbon thin film is formed at least a part of the surface of the base material. the low-friction sliding member according to the present invention comprises the base material having the surface. At least a part of the surface is coated with the hard carbon thin film. Examples of the hard carbon thin film are thin films formed of a DLC (diamond-like carbon) material which is an amorphous material principally formed by carbon element, of which carbon-carbon bond includes a diamond structure (sp.sup.3 bond) and a graphite bond (sp.sup.2 bond). Specific examples include a-C (amorphous carbon) formed solely of carbon, a-C:H (hydrogenated amorphous carbon) containing hydrogen, and MeC containing partially a metal element such as titanium (Ti) or molybdenum (Mo). From the viewpoint of obtaining a large friction reducing effect, the DLC material to be used has a smaller hydrogen content preferably, not higher than 20 atomic %, more preferably, not higher than 5 atomic %, further more preferably not higher than 1 atomic %, and further more preferably not higher than 0.5 atomic %. It is also preferable to use a-C based or type DLC material containing substantially not hydrogen.) for the purpose of having a low-friction sliding member. [0010]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Arai, with the above limitation, as taught by Martin, in order to have a low-friction siding member.
Since Aria teaches the same composition comprising a non-graphitized carbon with a filler, it would be a glassy carbon included in the thin film.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive
properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if
the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses
and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at
1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773
(Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam
Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 3
Arai discloses the sliding component according to claim 1, wherein the thin film contains
a filler with a dimension equal to or less than a film thickness of the film. [0079-
0081]
Claims 4 and 5
Since Arai discloses the same composition comprising a glassy carbon with a
filler, it would have a high-thermal conductivity filler and a low-coefficient friction filler
than the glassy carbon included in the film.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive
properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if
the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses
and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at
1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 10 and 11
Since Arai discloses the same composition comprising a glassy carbon with a filler, it would have a high-thermal conductivity filler and a low-coefficient friction filler than the glassy carbon included in the film. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Arai (US 2019/0178386 A1) ("Arai" herein- cited previously) and further in view of Martin.
Claim 1
Arai discloses a sliding
component having a sliding surface performing relative sliding, [0070-0071]
wherein a base material of the sliding component is directly coated with a
film containing of glassy carbon [0083] and
the sliding surface is formed by the film. [0075-0084]
Itadani however does not exilically disclose the glassy carbon is non-graphitized carbon (i.e. hard carbon).
Martin teaches the above limitation. (See paragraphs 0010 & 0018 →Martin teaches this limitation in that an aspect of the present invention resides in a low-friction sliding member comprising a base material having a surface. A hard carbon thin film is formed at least a part of the surface of the base material. the low-friction sliding member according to the present invention comprises the base material having the surface. At least a part of the surface is coated with the hard carbon thin film. Examples of the hard carbon thin film are thin films formed of a DLC (diamond-like carbon) material which is an amorphous material principally formed by carbon element, of which carbon-carbon bond includes a diamond structure (sp.sup.3 bond) and a graphite bond (sp.sup.2 bond). Specific examples include a-C (amorphous carbon) formed solely of carbon, a-C:H (hydrogenated amorphous carbon) containing hydrogen, and MeC containing partially a metal element such as titanium (Ti) or molybdenum (Mo). From the viewpoint of obtaining a large friction reducing effect, the DLC material to be used has a smaller hydrogen content preferably, not higher than 20 atomic %, more preferably, not higher than 5 atomic %, further more preferably not higher than 1 atomic %, and further more preferably not higher than 0.5 atomic %. It is also preferable to use a-C based or type DLC material containing substantially not hydrogen.) for the purpose of having a low-friction sliding member. [0010]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Arai, with the above limitation, as taught by Martin, in order to have a low-friction siding member.
Since Aria teaches the same composition comprising a non-graphitized carbon with a filler, it would be a glassy carbon included in the thin film.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive
properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if
the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses
and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at
1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773
(Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam
Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 2
Arai discloses the sliding component according to claim 1.Arai however does not explicitly disclose the filler as a graphite. (Same as claim 1)
Claim 3
Arai discloses the sliding component according to claim 1, wherein the thin film contains
a filler with a dimension equal to or less than a film thickness of the film. [0079-
0081]
Claims 4 and 5
Since Arai teaches the same composition the same composition comprising a glassy carbon with a filler, it would have a high-thermal conductivity filler and a low-coefficient friction filler than the glassy carbon included in the film.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive
properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if
the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses
and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at
1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 6
Arai discloses the sliding component according to claim 2, wherein the film
contains a filler with a dimension equal to or less than a film thickness of the thin film.
[0079-0081]
Claim 7-9
Since Arai teaches the same composition comprising a glassy carbon with a filler
such as graphite, it would have a high-thermal conductivity filler and a low-coefficient
friction filler than the glassy carbon included in the film.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive
properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if
the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses
and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claim 10 and 11
Since Arai discloses the same composition comprising a glassy carbon with a filler, it would have a high-thermal conductivity filler and a low-coefficient friction filler than the glassy carbon included in the film.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Claims 2, 6, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aria, Martin, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Itadani et al. (US 2018/0010690 A1) ("Itadani" herein- cited previously).
Claim 2
Arai discloses the sliding component according to claim 1.Arai however does not explicitly disclose the filler as a graphite.
Itadani teaches the above limitation (See paragraph 0065→ Itadani teaches this limitation in that DLC material is amorphous, and its carbon-carbon bonding form includes both the diamond structure (sp3 bonding) and graphite bonding (sp2 bonding). For example, a-C (amorphous carbon) consisting only of carbon elements, a-C:H(hydrogenated amorphous carbon) containing hydrogen, MeC partly containing a metal element such as titanium (Ti) or molybdenum (Mo), and the like can be used.) for the purpose of proving preventing the adhesion of deposits to a sealing face, SO as to
improve the sealing function of the sealing face. [0017]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Arai, with the above
limitation, as taught by Itadani, in order to prevent the adhesion of deposits to a sealing
face, so as to improve the sealing function of the sealing face.
Claim 6
Arai discloses the sliding component according to claim 2, wherein the film
contains a filler with a dimension equal to or less than a film thickness of the thin film.
[0079-0081]
Claim 7-9
Since Arai teaches the same composition comprising a glassy carbon with a filler
such as graphite, it would have a high-thermal conductivity filler and a low-coefficient
friction filler than the glassy carbon included in the film.
"Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive
properties". A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if
the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant disc loses
and /or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP 2112.01 (I), In re Best, 562 F2d at1255, 195 USPQ at 433, Titanium Metals Corp V Banner, 778 F2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed Cir 1985) , In re Ludtke, 441 F2d 660, 169 USPQ 563 (CCPA 1971) and Northam Wareen Corp V DF Newfield Co, 7 F Supp 773, 22 USPQ 313 (EDNY1934).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SILVANA C RUNYAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 02/27/2026