DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 18/284,150 filed on 03/16/2026.
Claims 1 and 9 – 16 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1, 9 and 13 have been amended. Claims 2 – 8 are cancelled.
This action is made NON-FINAL.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“start/stoppage determiner” in claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 20180178838 A1) in view of Hashimoto et al. (US 20190049973 A1) and Miyashita et al. (US 20210114659 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Inoue teaches a steering control system for a work machine, comprising: (Inoue: Abstract: “A vehicle travel control device includes: an EPS device turning a wheel of a vehicle;”; Paragraph 0001: “The present disclosure relates to an autonomous driving control technique using an electric power steering (EPS) device.”)
a steering mechanism that controls a direction of travel of the work machine; (Inoue: Abstract: “calculating a target steering angle of the wheel; and actuating the EPS device to turn the wheel such that a steering angle of the wheel becomes the target steering angle.”)
a directional correction input device operated by an operator; (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
… a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator; (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F.”)
a controller wherein
the controller includes a start/stoppage determiner that determines whether automated steering should start or stop based on the start signal or the stop signal or based on an operating state of the steering controller by the operator, (Inoue: Paragraph 0114: “First, let us consider a situation (Hands Off) where the driver's hands are off the steering wheel 21 during the autonomous driving. When there is an obstacle in front of the vehicle 1, for example, there is a possibility that not only the ADS control unit 190 but also the driver recognizes the obstacle. In this case, the driver feeling danger may try to override at the same time when the ADS control unit 190 performs the automatic steering. However, a typical condition for override is that the driver grasps the steering wheel 21. Therefore, if the steering wheel 21 rotates rapidly due to the automatic steering, it is hard for the driver to override. In other words, the rapid motion of the steering wheel 21 makes it difficult for the driver to override.”; Paragraph 0120: “The steering wheel 21 rotates in conjunction with the above-described turning control using the EPS device 50. That is, the steering wheel angle φs changes. According to the modification example of the present embodiment, “steering wheel angle control” for weakening such the change in the steering wheel angle φs caused by the turning control is performed along with the turning control. In the steering wheel angle control, the VGRS device 30 is used. In other words, the VGRS device 30, which is used for the “turning control” during the non-autonomous driving, is used for the “steering wheel angle control” during the autonomous driving.”; Paragraph 0122: “the rapid motion of the steering wheel 21 during the autonomous driving is suppressed. As a result, it becomes easier for the driver to grasp the steering wheel 21. That is, it becomes easier for the driver to override. Moreover, the risk that the driver's hands are forcibly moved by the motion of the steering wheel 21 is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the VGRS is able to reduce the steering wheel turning speed, thus the driver is still able to override the steering. This is interpreted as stop signal for the automatic steering based off the overriding procedure of the driver)
when the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should start, (Inoue: Paragraph 0061: “The control device 100 controls the vehicle travel control device 10 according to the present embodiment. Typically, the control device 100 is a microcomputer including a processor, a memory, and an input/output interface. The control device 100 is also called an ECU (Electronic Control Unit). The control device 100 receives the detected information from the sensor group 70 and the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90, through the input/output interface. Based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the control device 100 performs the turning control and the autonomous driving control.”: Paragraph 0062: “The control device 100 includes a VGRS control unit 130, an EPS control unit 150, a VSC (Vehicle Stability Control) control unit 170, and an ADS (Autonomous Driving System) control unit 190, as functional blocks relating to the turning control and the autonomous driving control. These functional blocks are achieved by the processor of the control device 100 executing a control program stored in the memory. The control program may be recorded on a computer-readable recording medium.”: Paragraph 0076: “During the autonomous driving, the driving entity changes from the driver to an autonomous driving system (specifically, the ADS control unit 190).”: Paragraph 0113: “According to the present embodiment, as described above, the EPS device 50 turns the front wheel 5F during the autonomous driving. When the EPS device 50 turns the front wheel 5F, the steering wheel 21 connected to the front wheel 5F also rotates in conjunction with the turning of the front wheel 5F. Therefore, when the EPS device 50 rapidly turns the front wheel 5F, the steering wheel 21 also rotates rapidly. For example, there is a possibility that the automatic steering is performed rapidly in order to urgently avoid an obstacle in front of the vehicle 1 during the autonomous driving. In this case, the steering wheel 21 also rotates rapidly in conjunction with the rapid automatic steering. Such the rapid motion of the steering wheel 21 during the autonomous driving is not preferable from the following points of view.”,
Supplemental Note: the controller is able to perform in non-autonomous and autonomous driving modes. In the example above, the vehicle is able to steer the vehicle away from an approaching obstacle)
the controller identifies a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start, and carries out the automated steering (Inoue: Paragraph 0078: “More specifically, the ADS control unit 190 receives the detected information of the vehicle speed V, the actual yaw rate Yr, the actual lateral acceleration Gy, and the like from the sensor group 70. In addition, the ADS control unit 190 receives the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90. Then, based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the ADS control unit 190 creates a travel plan of the vehicle 1. A typical example of the travel plan relating to the automatic steering is a lane change”; Paragraphs 0080 – 0082: “As another example, the ADS control unit 190 recognizes an obstacle or a low-speed vehicle in front of the vehicle 1 based on the surrounding target information included in the driving environment information. In this case, the ADS control unit 190 plans to make a lane change in order to avoid the obstacle or the low-speed vehicle. As still another example, the ADS control unit 190 recognizes a roadwork section in front of the vehicle 1 based on the infrastructure provided information included in the driving environment information. In this case, the ADS control unit 190 plans to make a lane change in order to avoid the roadwork section. The ADS control unit 190 autonomously controls travel of the vehicle 1 according to the travel plan. In particular, when performing the automatic steering, the ADS control unit 190 calculates the autonomous driving steering angle δb required for the automatic steering. In addition, the ADS control unit 190 calculates a target state quantity ST of the vehicle 1 required for the automatic steering. The target state quantity ST includes the autonomous driving steering angle δb, a target yaw rate, a target lateral acceleration, and the like. According to the present embodiment, the ADS control unit 190 outputs information on the target state quantity ST to the VSC control unit 170.”,
Supplemental Note: the ADS system, which is part of the control device, is able to autonomously control the vehicle by a created travel plan. In one example, the ADS system can turn the vehicle to avoid a roadwork section, thus interpreted as traveling straight forward along a path which avoids the roadwork section according to the travel plan. The same interpretation can be made using the ADS system to avoid an obstacle or merging)
… while the automated steering is carried out, the controller controls the steering mechanism (Inoue: Paragraph 0061: “The control device 100 controls the vehicle travel control device 10 according to the present embodiment. Typically, the control device 100 is a microcomputer including a processor, a memory, and an input/output interface. The control device 100 is also called an ECU (Electronic Control Unit). The control device 100 receives the detected information from the sensor group 70 and the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90, through the input/output interface. Based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the control device 100 performs the turning control and the autonomous driving control.”)
in a manner that the target direction is adjustable through a certain angle toward one of lateral sides based on an operation command inputted through the directional correction input device (Inoue: Paragraphs 0073 - 0075: “The EPS control unit 150 performs “torque assist control” by the use of the EPS device 50. More specifically, the EPS control unit 150 receives the detected information of the steering torque Ta from the torque sensor 71. The EPS control unit 150 calculates an assist torque based on the steering torque Ta, and controls the EPS driver 55 such that the assist torque is obtained. For example, the EPS control unit 150 has a torque map indicating a relationship between an input parameter and the assist torque. The input parameter includes the steering torque Ta detected by the torque sensor 71. The input parameter may further include the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 74. The torque map is determined in advance in consideration of desired assist characteristics. In response to an operation of the steering wheel 21 by the driver, the EPS control unit 150 refers to the torque map to calculate the assist torque according to the input parameter. Then, the EPS control unit 150 calculates a target current command according to the assist torque and outputs the target current command to the EPS driver 55. The EPS driver 55 drives (actuates) the electric motor 51 in accordance with the target current command. A rotational torque (i.e. the assist torque) of the electric motor 51 is transmitted to the rack bar 25 through the conversion mechanism 52. As a result, turning of the front wheel 5F is assisted and thus the driver's steering load is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the EPS, which is part of the control device, is able to able to apply an assist torque based on the steering of the vehicle. This method still allows for the driver to operate the steering wheel to change the steering torque).
In sum Inoue teaches a steering control system for a work machine, comprising: a steering mechanism that controls a direction of travel of the work machine; a directional correction input device operated by an operator; a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator; a controller wherein the controller includes a start/stoppage determiner that determines whether automated steering should start or stop based on the start signal or the stop signal or based on an operating state of the steering controller by the operator, when the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should start, the controller identifies a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start, and carries out the automated steering while the automated steering is carried out, the controller controls the steering mechanism in a manner that the target direction is adjustable through a certain angle toward one of lateral sides based on an operation command inputted through the directional correction input device. Inoue however does not teach so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction.
Hashimoto teaches that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction, and (Hashimoto: Abstract: “A control system for a work vehicle includes a sensor and a controller. The sensor outputs a signal indicating an actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller communicates with the sensor. The controller is programmed so as to execute the following processing. The controller acquires the actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller sets the actual traveling direction as a target traveling direction when a condition that indicates that the work vehicle has started straight travel has been met.”; Paragraph 0021: “The travel of the work vehicle 1 may be in the form of automated travel, semi-automated travel, or travel due to operations by an operator.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Inoue and Hashimoto teach methods of automatically controlling the steering of a vehicle. Inoue teaches methods of being able to correct the steering of a vehicle traveling non-autonomously and autonomously wherein the autonomous travel mode is able to create and travel along a travel plan (Inoue: Paragraph 0078). Hashimoto teaches a system for a work vehicle which is able to apply a technique that corrects the traveling path in an automated or semi-automated form of travel when the vehicle deviates from the straight path (Hashimoto: Paragraph 0002). One of ordinary skill in the art would find the autonomous function of Inoue and the path deviation correction function of the work vehicle as taught by Hashimoto to be combining the prior art elements according to a known method of automatic steering to yield predictable results and keeping a vehicle from deviating from a path. For example, the travel plan of Inoue and the straight path of Hashimoto are interpreted as the same element as both are a path that the traveling vehicle cannot deviate from. Inoue in view of Hashimoto however still do not teach an automatic control device that generates a start signal or a stop signal of automatic steering based on an operation by the operator.
Miyashita teaches an automatic control device that generates a start signal or a stop signal of automatic steering based on an operation by the operator; (Miyashita: Paragraph 0174: “The working vehicle 1 includes the steering changeover switch 52 to be switched between the start and end of the automatic steering, and the controller device 60B starts the automatic steering by the steering device 11 when the steering changeover switch 52 is switched to the start of the automatic steering under the condition where the automatic steering is permitted. According to this configuration, the steering changeover switch 52 allows the operator to command the start of the automatic steering at the time when the operator needs to perform the start of the automatic steering.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Miyashita with a reasonable expectation of success. Miyashita teaches the operator of a working vehicle able to configure the start or end of automatic steering by a steering changeover switch. Inoue teaches the ability of a working vehicle able to perform automatic steering with further capabilities of the operator able to override the automatic steering by controlling the steering wheel. One of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to try to implement the function of Miyashita’s steering changeover switch with the working vehicle of Inoue as it increases the ability of the operator to further configure the automatic steering. This allows the operator increased control over the automatic steering than it currently has. For example, if the working vehicle is automatically steering towards an obstacle, the operator can now either turn the steering wheel or turn off the automatic steering by using the steering changeover switch.
Regarding claim 10, Inoue, as modified, teaches wherein every time the directional correction input device is operated by the operator, (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
the direction of travel is adjustable through a certain angle toward one of lateral sides (Inoue: Paragraphs 0073 - 0075: “The EPS control unit 150 performs “torque assist control” by the use of the EPS device 50. More specifically, the EPS control unit 150 receives the detected information of the steering torque Ta from the torque sensor 71. The EPS control unit 150 calculates an assist torque based on the steering torque Ta, and controls the EPS driver 55 such that the assist torque is obtained. For example, the EPS control unit 150 has a torque map indicating a relationship between an input parameter and the assist torque. The input parameter includes the steering torque Ta detected by the torque sensor 71. The input parameter may further include the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 74. The torque map is determined in advance in consideration of desired assist characteristics. In response to an operation of the steering wheel 21 by the driver, the EPS control unit 150 refers to the torque map to calculate the assist torque according to the input parameter. Then, the EPS control unit 150 calculates a target current command according to the assist torque and outputs the target current command to the EPS driver 55. The EPS driver 55 drives (actuates) the electric motor 51 in accordance with the target current command. A rotational torque (i.e. the assist torque) of the electric motor 51 is transmitted to the rack bar 25 through the conversion mechanism 52. As a result, turning of the front wheel 5F is assisted and thus the driver's steering load is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the EPS, which is part of the control device, is able to able to apply an assist torque based on the steering of the vehicle. This method still allows for the driver to operate the steering wheel to change the steering torque).
Regarding claim 13, Inoue teaches a steering control method for a work machine including: (Inoue: Abstract: “A vehicle travel control device includes: an EPS device turning a wheel of a vehicle;”; Paragraph 0001: “The present disclosure relates to an autonomous driving control technique using an electric power steering (EPS) device.”)
a steering mechanism that controls a direction of travel of the work machine; and (Inoue: Abstract: “calculating a target steering angle of the wheel; and actuating the EPS device to turn the wheel such that a steering angle of the wheel becomes the target steering angle.”)
a directional correction input device operated by an operator,
… a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator; (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F.”)
the steering control method comprising: (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
determining whether automated steering should start or stop; based on the start signal or the stop signal or based on an operating state of the steering controller by the operator, (Inoue: Paragraph 0114: “First, let us consider a situation (Hands Off) where the driver's hands are off the steering wheel 21 during the autonomous driving. When there is an obstacle in front of the vehicle 1, for example, there is a possibility that not only the ADS control unit 190 but also the driver recognizes the obstacle. In this case, the driver feeling danger may try to override at the same time when the ADS control unit 190 performs the automatic steering. However, a typical condition for override is that the driver grasps the steering wheel 21. Therefore, if the steering wheel 21 rotates rapidly due to the automatic steering, it is hard for the driver to override. In other words, the rapid motion of the steering wheel 21 makes it difficult for the driver to override.”; Paragraph 0120: “The steering wheel 21 rotates in conjunction with the above-described turning control using the EPS device 50. That is, the steering wheel angle φs changes. According to the modification example of the present embodiment, “steering wheel angle control” for weakening such the change in the steering wheel angle φs caused by the turning control is performed along with the turning control. In the steering wheel angle control, the VGRS device 30 is used. In other words, the VGRS device 30, which is used for the “turning control” during the non-autonomous driving, is used for the “steering wheel angle control” during the autonomous driving.”; Paragraph 0122: “the rapid motion of the steering wheel 21 during the autonomous driving is suppressed. As a result, it becomes easier for the driver to grasp the steering wheel 21. That is, it becomes easier for the driver to override. Moreover, the risk that the driver's hands are forcibly moved by the motion of the steering wheel 21 is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the VGRS is able to reduce the steering wheel turning speed, thus the driver is still able to override the steering. This is interpreted as stop signal for the automatic steering based off the overriding procedure of the driver)
when it is determined that the automated steering should start, (Inoue: Paragraph 0061: “The control device 100 controls the vehicle travel control device 10 according to the present embodiment. Typically, the control device 100 is a microcomputer including a processor, a memory, and an input/output interface. The control device 100 is also called an ECU (Electronic Control Unit). The control device 100 receives the detected information from the sensor group 70 and the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90, through the input/output interface. Based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the control device 100 performs the turning control and the autonomous driving control.”: Paragraph 0062: “The control device 100 includes a VGRS control unit 130, an EPS control unit 150, a VSC (Vehicle Stability Control) control unit 170, and an ADS (Autonomous Driving System) control unit 190, as functional blocks relating to the turning control and the autonomous driving control. These functional blocks are achieved by the processor of the control device 100 executing a control program stored in the memory. The control program may be recorded on a computer-readable recording medium.”: Paragraph 0076: “During the autonomous driving, the driving entity changes from the driver to an autonomous driving system (specifically, the ADS control unit 190).”: Paragraph 0113: “According to the present embodiment, as described above, the EPS device 50 turns the front wheel 5F during the autonomous driving. When the EPS device 50 turns the front wheel 5F, the steering wheel 21 connected to the front wheel 5F also rotates in conjunction with the turning of the front wheel 5F. Therefore, when the EPS device 50 rapidly turns the front wheel 5F, the steering wheel 21 also rotates rapidly. For example, there is a possibility that the automatic steering is performed rapidly in order to urgently avoid an obstacle in front of the vehicle 1 during the autonomous driving. In this case, the steering wheel 21 also rotates rapidly in conjunction with the rapid automatic steering. Such the rapid motion of the steering wheel 21 during the autonomous driving is not preferable from the following points of view.”,
Supplemental Note: the controller is able to perform in non-autonomous and autonomous driving modes. In the example above, the vehicle is able to steer the vehicle away from an approaching obstacle)
identifying a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start, and carrying out the automated steering of a steering operation by the steering mechanism (Inoue: Paragraph 0078: “More specifically, the ADS control unit 190 receives the detected information of the vehicle speed V, the actual yaw rate Yr, the actual lateral acceleration Gy, and the like from the sensor group 70. In addition, the ADS control unit 190 receives the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90. Then, based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the ADS control unit 190 creates a travel plan of the vehicle 1. A typical example of the travel plan relating to the automatic steering is a lane change”; Paragraphs 0080 – 0082: “As another example, the ADS control unit 190 recognizes an obstacle or a low-speed vehicle in front of the vehicle 1 based on the surrounding target information included in the driving environment information. In this case, the ADS control unit 190 plans to make a lane change in order to avoid the obstacle or the low-speed vehicle. As still another example, the ADS control unit 190 recognizes a roadwork section in front of the vehicle 1 based on the infrastructure provided information included in the driving environment information. In this case, the ADS control unit 190 plans to make a lane change in order to avoid the roadwork section. The ADS control unit 190 autonomously controls travel of the vehicle 1 according to the travel plan. In particular, when performing the automatic steering, the ADS control unit 190 calculates the autonomous driving steering angle δb required for the automatic steering. In addition, the ADS control unit 190 calculates a target state quantity ST of the vehicle 1 required for the automatic steering. The target state quantity ST includes the autonomous driving steering angle δb, a target yaw rate, a target lateral acceleration, and the like. According to the present embodiment, the ADS control unit 190 outputs information on the target state quantity ST to the VSC control unit 170.”,
Supplemental Note: the ADS system, which is part of the control device, is able to autonomously control the vehicle by a created travel plan. In one example, the ADS system can turn the vehicle to avoid a roadwork section, thus interpreted as traveling straight forward along a path which avoids the roadwork section according to the travel plan. The same interpretation can be made using the ADS system to avoid an obstacle or merging)
… controlling the steering mechanism during the automated steering (Inoue: Paragraph 0061: “The control device 100 controls the vehicle travel control device 10 according to the present embodiment. Typically, the control device 100 is a microcomputer including a processor, a memory, and an input/output interface. The control device 100 is also called an ECU (Electronic Control Unit). The control device 100 receives the detected information from the sensor group 70 and the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90, through the input/output interface. Based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the control device 100 performs the turning control and the autonomous driving control.”)
in a manner that the target direction is adjustable through a certain angle toward one of lateral sides based on an operation command inputted through the directional correction input device (Inoue: Paragraphs 0073 - 0075: “The EPS control unit 150 performs “torque assist control” by the use of the EPS device 50. More specifically, the EPS control unit 150 receives the detected information of the steering torque Ta from the torque sensor 71. The EPS control unit 150 calculates an assist torque based on the steering torque Ta, and controls the EPS driver 55 such that the assist torque is obtained. For example, the EPS control unit 150 has a torque map indicating a relationship between an input parameter and the assist torque. The input parameter includes the steering torque Ta detected by the torque sensor 71. The input parameter may further include the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 74. The torque map is determined in advance in consideration of desired assist characteristics. In response to an operation of the steering wheel 21 by the driver, the EPS control unit 150 refers to the torque map to calculate the assist torque according to the input parameter. Then, the EPS control unit 150 calculates a target current command according to the assist torque and outputs the target current command to the EPS driver 55. The EPS driver 55 drives (actuates) the electric motor 51 in accordance with the target current command. A rotational torque (i.e. the assist torque) of the electric motor 51 is transmitted to the rack bar 25 through the conversion mechanism 52. As a result, turning of the front wheel 5F is assisted and thus the driver's steering load is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the EPS, which is part of the control device, is able to able to apply an assist torque based on the steering of the vehicle. This method still allows for the driver to operate the steering wheel to change the steering torque).
In sum, Inoue teaches a steering control method for a work machine including: a steering mechanism that controls a direction of travel of the work machine; and a directional correction input device operated by an operator, a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator; the steering control method comprising: determining whether automated steering should start or stop; based on the start signal or the stop signal or based on an operating state of the steering controller by the operator, when it is determined that the automated steering should start, identifying a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start, and carrying out the automated steering of a steering operation by the steering mechanism controlling the steering mechanism during the automated steering in a manner that the target direction is adjustable through a certain angle toward one of lateral sides based on an operation command inputted through the directional correction input device. Inoue however does not teach the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction.
Hashimoto teaches so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction; and (Hashimoto: Abstract: “A control system for a work vehicle includes a sensor and a controller. The sensor outputs a signal indicating an actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller communicates with the sensor. The controller is programmed so as to execute the following processing. The controller acquires the actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller sets the actual traveling direction as a target traveling direction when a condition that indicates that the work vehicle has started straight travel has been met.”; Paragraph 0021: “The travel of the work vehicle 1 may be in the form of automated travel, semi-automated travel, or travel due to operations by an operator.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Miyashita teaches an automatic control device that generates a start signal or a stop signal of automatic steering based on an operation by the operator; (Miyashita: Paragraph 0174: “The working vehicle 1 includes the steering changeover switch 52 to be switched between the start and end of the automatic steering, and the controller device 60B starts the automatic steering by the steering device 11 when the steering changeover switch 52 is switched to the start of the automatic steering under the condition where the automatic steering is permitted. According to this configuration, the steering changeover switch 52 allows the operator to command the start of the automatic steering at the time when the operator needs to perform the start of the automatic steering.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Miyashita with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 15, Inoue, as modified, teaches wherein every time the directional correction input device is operated by the operator, (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
the direction of travel is adjustable through a certain angle toward one of lateral sides (Inoue: Paragraphs 0073 - 0075: “The EPS control unit 150 performs “torque assist control” by the use of the EPS device 50. More specifically, the EPS control unit 150 receives the detected information of the steering torque Ta from the torque sensor 71. The EPS control unit 150 calculates an assist torque based on the steering torque Ta, and controls the EPS driver 55 such that the assist torque is obtained. For example, the EPS control unit 150 has a torque map indicating a relationship between an input parameter and the assist torque. The input parameter includes the steering torque Ta detected by the torque sensor 71. The input parameter may further include the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 74. The torque map is determined in advance in consideration of desired assist characteristics. In response to an operation of the steering wheel 21 by the driver, the EPS control unit 150 refers to the torque map to calculate the assist torque according to the input parameter. Then, the EPS control unit 150 calculates a target current command according to the assist torque and outputs the target current command to the EPS driver 55. The EPS driver 55 drives (actuates) the electric motor 51 in accordance with the target current command. A rotational torque (i.e. the assist torque) of the electric motor 51 is transmitted to the rack bar 25 through the conversion mechanism 52. As a result, turning of the front wheel 5F is assisted and thus the driver's steering load is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the EPS, which is part of the control device, is able to able to apply an assist torque based on the steering of the vehicle. This method still allows for the driver to operate the steering wheel to change the steering torque).
Claims 9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 20180178838 A1), Hashimoto et al. (US 20190049973 A1) and Miyashita et al. (US 20210114659 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hee et al. (KR 20190073789 A).
Regarding claim 9, Inoue, as modified, teaches further comprising a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator, (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
… and the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should discontinue in response to receipt of a sensing signal indicating that the steering controller has been operated during the automated steering (Inoue: Paragraph 0114: “First, let us consider a situation (Hands Off) where the driver's hands are off the steering wheel 21 during the autonomous driving. When there is an obstacle in front of the vehicle 1, for example, there is a possibility that not only the ADS control unit 190 but also the driver recognizes the obstacle. In this case, the driver feeling danger may try to override at the same time when the ADS control unit 190 performs the automatic steering. However, a typical condition for override is that the driver grasps the steering wheel 21. Therefore, if the steering wheel 21 rotates rapidly due to the automatic steering, it is hard for the driver to override. In other words, the rapid motion of the steering wheel 21 makes it difficult for the driver to override.”; Paragraph 0120: “The steering wheel 21 rotates in conjunction with the above-described turning control using the EPS device 50. That is, the steering wheel angle φs changes. According to the modification example of the present embodiment, “steering wheel angle control” for weakening such the change in the steering wheel angle φs caused by the turning control is performed along with the turning control. In the steering wheel angle control, the VGRS device 30 is used. In other words, the VGRS device 30, which is used for the “turning control” during the non-autonomous driving, is used for the “steering wheel angle control” during the autonomous driving.”; Paragraph 0122: “the rapid motion of the steering wheel 21 during the autonomous driving is suppressed. As a result, it becomes easier for the driver to grasp the steering wheel 21. That is, it becomes easier for the driver to override. Moreover, the risk that the driver's hands are forcibly moved by the motion of the steering wheel 21 is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the VGRS is able to reduce the steering wheel turning speed, thus the driver is still able to override the steering. This is interpreted as stop signal for the automatic steering based off the overriding procedure of the driver).
In sum, Inoue teaches a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator and the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should discontinue in response to receipt of a sensing signal indicating that the steering controller has been operated during the automated steering. Inoue however does not teach wherein when the operation of the steering controller is suspended for a predetermined period of time, the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should start.
Hee teaches wherein when the operation of the steering controller is suspended for a predetermined period of time, the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should start (Hee: Paragraph 0008: “the steps of inputting an autonomous mode switching request from a driver while driving in a driver's driving mode, confirming whether the driver holds the steering wheel, determining whether the driver is holding the steering wheel, Controlling the steering wheel to return to the self-running system and retracting the steering wheel to a retracted position in front of the vehicle when the driver is determined not to hold the steering wheel; and monitoring the steering intention of the driver Controlling the vehicle to be switched to a driver's driving mode when the driver's intention to steer is detected before the retraction of the steering wheel is completed; and if the driver's steering intention is not detected until the retraction of the steering wheel is completed, And controlling to switch to the self-running mode. A switching control method can be provided.”,
Supplemental Note: based on the driver not holding the steering wheel or any intention of controlling the vehicle, the steering wheel can be retracted and a self-running mode is applied. The predetermined period of time is interpreted the time it takes for the steering wheel to retract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hee with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Inoue and Hee teach the ability of a vehicle to be able to drive autonomously, Hee further teaches the ability to detect if a user has their hands on the steering wheel to confirm to start autonomous control. One with knowledge in the art would find this function of Hee to be a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way with the vehicle system of Inoue. For example, the driver of a vehicle may select an autonomous driving mode but may still want to control the vehicle due to some unforeseen road conditions (sudden movement of adjacent vehicles, potholes, work zones, etc.), thus the vehicle will not start the autonomous vehicle mode if the driver still has their hands on the wheel. In the same embodiment, if the driver lets go of the wheel, the vehicle can determine that no driver is controlling the vehicle and therefore start the autonomous function. Inoue mentions a situation of where a vehicle is performing autonomous driving while the driver’s hands are on the wheel to be dangerous as the driver hands are forcibly moved by the steering wheel (Inoue: Paragraph 0115), this incorporation of Hee mitigates this dangerous scenario, thus increasing the safety of the passengers.
Regarding claim 11, Inoue, as modified, teaches the controller carries out the automated steering by controlling the steering mechanism so that the work machine travels along a predefined travel course using a satellite positioning system (Inoue: Paragraphs 0056 – 0057: “The driving environment detection device 90 acquires “driving environment information” used for the autonomous driving control of the vehicle 1. The driving environment information is exemplified by position-orientation information, lane information, surrounding target information, infrastructure provided information, and so forth. In order to acquire such the driving environment information, the driving environment detection device 90 includes a GPS (Global Positioning System) device, a map database, a sensor, and a communication device, for example. The GPS device receives signals transmitted from a plurality of GPS satellites and calculates a position and a posture (i.e. orientation) of the vehicle 1 based on the received signals. The GPS device sends the calculated position-orientation information to the control device 100.”’; Paragraph 0078: “More specifically, the ADS control unit 190 receives the detected information of the vehicle speed V, the actual yaw rate Yr, the actual lateral acceleration Gy, and the like from the sensor group 70. In addition, the ADS control unit 190 receives the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90. Then, based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the ADS control unit 190 creates a travel plan of the vehicle 1. A typical example of the travel plan relating to the automatic steering is a lane change.”)
In sum, Inoue teaches the controller carries out the automated steering by controlling the steering mechanism so that the work machine travels along a predefined travel course using a satellite positioning system. Inoue however does not teach further comprising a mode selector for automated steering, wherein when a first mode is selected through the mode selector, the controller identifies a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start when a second mode is selected through the mode selector.
Hee teaches further comprising a mode selector for automated steering, wherein when a first mode is selected through the mode selector, (Hee: Paragraph 0007: “One embodiment includes a mode switching request input unit for inputting a request for switching an autonomous mode from a driver, a steering column adjusting unit for moving the steering wheel between a retracted position and a deployed position in front of the vehicle, A load sensing unit for sensing a load signal generated by an external force applied to the steering wheel in the direction of travel of the steering wheel; A steering wheel grip determination unit for determining whether the driver holds the steering wheel based on the torque signal detected by the torque sensor and the torque sensor detected by the torque sensor during switching from the driver's running mode to the self- A steering apparatus for determining a steering intention of a driver based on a load signal detected by a sensing unit And a control unit for controlling a driving mode of the vehicle on the basis of the determination results of the steering wheel grasp determining unit and the steering intention determining unit.”; Paragraph 0037: “The autonomous mode switching request can be input by recognizing the driver's voice and receiving the input or operating the button.”)
the controller identifies a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start, and (Hee: Paragraphs 0018 – 0019: “In the autonomous mode, the steering gear 44 connects the steering control of the autonomous navigation system with the rotation of the road wheel 46. The decoupling section 130 separates the steering column shaft 16 and the steering gear 44 in the autonomous running mode and locks the steering wheel 18 so that the driver cannot rotate the steering wheel 18 It hangs. Alternatively, the decoupling unit 130 may be configured to rotate the steering wheel 18 in the self-traveling mode such that the steering wheel 18 is not rotated by steering control of the autonomous navigation system, Can be provided.”,
Supplemental Note: the autonomous navigation system takes over once the steering wheel is retracted, thus identifying a current direction when the autonomous driving is started)
when a second mode is selected through the mode selector, (Hee: Paragraph 0007: “One embodiment includes a mode switching request input unit for inputting a request for switching an autonomous mode from a driver, a steering column adjusting unit for moving the steering wheel between a retracted position and a deployed position in front of the vehicle, A load sensing unit for sensing a load signal generated by an external force applied to the steering wheel in the direction of travel of the steering wheel; A steering wheel grip determination unit for determining whether the driver holds the steering wheel based on the torque signal detected by the torque sensor and the torque sensor detected by the torque sensor during switching from the driver's running mode to the self- A steering apparatus for determining a steering intention of a driver based on a load signal detected by a sensing unit And a control unit for controlling a driving mode of the vehicle on the basis of the determination results of the steering wheel grasp determining unit and the steering intention determining unit.”; Paragraph 0037: “The autonomous mode switching request can be input by recognizing the driver's voice and receiving the input or operating the button.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hee with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Inoue and Hee teach the ability to perform autonomous travel, Inoue further teaches various different modes that the vehicle can be in while driving. Inoue however does not teach a method of which a selector is present to select which one of the vehicle modes to select whereas Hee teaches a mode switching request input unit to switch driver modes. One with knowledge in the art would find this function of Hee to be obvious to try to combine with the vehicle of Inoue. For example, incorporating a mode switching request input allows the driver of the vehicle to select the autonomous driving mode by voice or by operating the button. This increases the options the driver has to mode switch (button or voice command) best suited to them, thus increasing usability of the vehicle. Furthermore, once the steering wheel is retracted and the vehicle of Hee is in autonomous travel mode, the current direction it is traveling would be maintained by the autonomous function until another maneuver is needed. For example, if starting the autonomous mode along a straight path, the vehicle maintains the direction of the vehicle unless the vehicle determines it needs to adjust. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the autonomous function of Inoue and this function of Hee as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results as both prior art teach the ability to start autonomous driving while the vehicle is on the road and maintaining a current direction until the roadway needs a vehicle parameter (such as speed or steering) to be adjusted for safe travel. Inoue in view of Hee however still do not teach carries out the automated steering so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction.
Hashimoto teaches carries out the automated steering so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction, and (Hashimoto: Abstract: “A control system for a work vehicle includes a sensor and a controller. The sensor outputs a signal indicating an actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller communicates with the sensor. The controller is programmed so as to execute the following processing. The controller acquires the actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller sets the actual traveling direction as a target traveling direction when a condition that indicates that the work vehicle has started straight travel has been met.”; Paragraph 0021: “The travel of the work vehicle 1 may be in the form of automated travel, semi-automated travel, or travel due to operations by an operator.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 12, Inoue, as modified, teaches wherein when an input is received through the directional correction input device (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
… the controller offsets the predefined travel course toward one of lateral sides relative to the direction of travel (Inoue: Paragraphs 0073 - 0075: “The EPS control unit 150 performs “torque assist control” by the use of the EPS device 50. More specifically, the EPS control unit 150 receives the detected information of the steering torque Ta from the torque sensor 71. The EPS control unit 150 calculates an assist torque based on the steering torque Ta, and controls the EPS driver 55 such that the assist torque is obtained. For example, the EPS control unit 150 has a torque map indicating a relationship between an input parameter and the assist torque. The input parameter includes the steering torque Ta detected by the torque sensor 71. The input parameter may further include the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 74. The torque map is determined in advance in consideration of desired assist characteristics. In response to an operation of the steering wheel 21 by the driver, the EPS control unit 150 refers to the torque map to calculate the assist torque according to the input parameter. Then, the EPS control unit 150 calculates a target current command according to the assist torque and outputs the target current command to the EPS driver 55. The EPS driver 55 drives (actuates) the electric motor 51 in accordance with the target current command. A rotational torque (i.e. the assist torque) of the electric motor 51 is transmitted to the rack bar 25 through the conversion mechanism 52. As a result, turning of the front wheel 5F is assisted and thus the driver's steering load is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the EPS, which is part of the control device, is able to able to apply an assist torque based on the steering of the vehicle. This method still allows for the driver to operate the steering wheel to change the steering torque).
In sum, Inoue teaches wherein when an input is received through the directional correction input device the controller offsets the predefined travel course toward one of lateral sides relative to the direction of travel. Inoue however does not teach while the second mode is selected through the mode selector whereas Hee does.
Hee teaches while the second mode is selected through the mode selector, (Hee: Paragraph 0007: “One embodiment includes a mode switching request input unit for inputting a request for switching an autonomous mode from a driver, a steering column adjusting unit for moving the steering wheel between a retracted position and a deployed position in front of the vehicle, A load sensing unit for sensing a load signal generated by an external force applied to the steering wheel in the direction of travel of the steering wheel; A steering wheel grip determination unit for determining whether the driver holds the steering wheel based on the torque signal detected by the torque sensor and the torque sensor detected by the torque sensor during switching from the driver's running mode to the self- A steering apparatus for determining a steering intention of a driver based on a load signal detected by a sensing unit And a control unit for controlling a driving mode of the vehicle on the basis of the determination results of the steering wheel grasp determining unit and the steering intention determining unit.”; Paragraph 0037: “The autonomous mode switching request can be input by recognizing the driver's voice and receiving the input or operating the button.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 11 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 20180178838 A1), Hashimoto et al. (US 20190049973 A1) and Miyashita et al. (US 20210114659 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Hee et al. (KR 20190073789 A).
Regarding claim 14, Inoue, as modified, teaches wherein the work machine further includes a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator, and
(Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
when the operation of the steering controller is suspended for a predetermined period of time, the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should start (Hee: Paragraph 0008: “the steps of inputting an autonomous mode switching request from a driver while driving in a driver's driving mode, confirming whether the driver holds the steering wheel, determining whether the driver is holding the steering wheel, Controlling the steering wheel to return to the self-running system and retracting the steering wheel to a retracted position in front of the vehicle when the driver is determined not to hold the steering wheel; and monitoring the steering intention of the driver Controlling the vehicle to be switched to a driver's driving mode when the driver's intention to steer is detected before the retraction of the steering wheel is completed; and if the driver's steering intention is not detected until the retraction of the steering wheel is completed, And controlling to switch to the self-running mode. A switching control method can be provided.”,
Supplemental Note: based on the driver not holding the steering wheel or any intention of controlling the vehicle, the steering wheel can be retracted and a self-running mode is applied. The predetermined period of time is interpreted the time it takes for the steering wheel to retract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 9 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 16, Inoue, as modified, teaches the automated steering is carried out by controlling the steering mechanism so that the work machine travels along a predefined travel course using a satellite positioning system (Inoue: Paragraphs 0056 – 0057: “The driving environment detection device 90 acquires “driving environment information” used for the autonomous driving control of the vehicle 1. The driving environment information is exemplified by position-orientation information, lane information, surrounding target information, infrastructure provided information, and so forth. In order to acquire such the driving environment information, the driving environment detection device 90 includes a GPS (Global Positioning System) device, a map database, a sensor, and a communication device, for example. The GPS device receives signals transmitted from a plurality of GPS satellites and calculates a position and a posture (i.e. orientation) of the vehicle 1 based on the received signals. The GPS device sends the calculated position-orientation information to the control device 100.”’; Paragraph 0078: “More specifically, the ADS control unit 190 receives the detected information of the vehicle speed V, the actual yaw rate Yr, the actual lateral acceleration Gy, and the like from the sensor group 70. In addition, the ADS control unit 190 receives the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90. Then, based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the ADS control unit 190 creates a travel plan of the vehicle 1. A typical example of the travel plan relating to the automatic steering is a lane change.”).
In sum, Inoue teaches the automated steering is carried out by controlling the steering mechanism so that the work machine travels along a predefined travel course using a satellite positioning system. Inoue however does not teach wherein the work machine further includes a mode selector for automated steering, wherein when a first mode is selected through the mode selector a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start is identified, and when a second mode is selected through the mode selector.
Hee teaches wherein the work machine further includes a mode selector for automated steering, wherein when a first mode is selected through the mode selector, (Hee: Paragraph 0007: “One embodiment includes a mode switching request input unit for inputting a request for switching an autonomous mode from a driver, a steering column adjusting unit for moving the steering wheel between a retracted position and a deployed position in front of the vehicle, A load sensing unit for sensing a load signal generated by an external force applied to the steering wheel in the direction of travel of the steering wheel; A steering wheel grip determination unit for determining whether the driver holds the steering wheel based on the torque signal detected by the torque sensor and the torque sensor detected by the torque sensor during switching from the driver's running mode to the self- A steering apparatus for determining a steering intention of a driver based on a load signal detected by a sensing unit And a control unit for controlling a driving mode of the vehicle on the basis of the determination results of the steering wheel grasp determining unit and the steering intention determining unit.”; Paragraph 0037: “The autonomous mode switching request can be input by recognizing the driver's voice and receiving the input or operating the button.”)
a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start is identified, and (Hee: Paragraphs 0018 – 0019: “In the autonomous mode, the steering gear 44 connects the steering control of the autonomous navigation system with the rotation of the road wheel 46. The decoupling section 130 separates the steering column shaft 16 and the steering gear 44 in the autonomous running mode and locks the steering wheel 18 so that the driver cannot rotate the steering wheel 18 It hangs. Alternatively, the decoupling unit 130 may be configured to rotate the steering wheel 18 in the self-traveling mode such that the steering wheel 18 is not rotated by steering control of the autonomous navigation system, Can be provided.”,
Supplemental Note: the autonomous navigation system takes over once the steering wheel is retracted, thus identifying a current direction when the autonomous driving is started)
when a second mode is selected through the mode selector, (Hee: Paragraph 0007: “One embodiment includes a mode switching request input unit for inputting a request for switching an autonomous mode from a driver, a steering column adjusting unit for moving the steering wheel between a retracted position and a deployed position in front of the vehicle, A load sensing unit for sensing a load signal generated by an external force applied to the steering wheel in the direction of travel of the steering wheel; A steering wheel grip determination unit for determining whether the driver holds the steering wheel based on the torque signal detected by the torque sensor and the torque sensor detected by the torque sensor during switching from the driver's running mode to the self- A steering apparatus for determining a steering intention of a driver based on a load signal detected by a sensing unit And a control unit for controlling a driving mode of the vehicle on the basis of the determination results of the steering wheel grasp determining unit and the steering intention determining unit.”; Paragraph 0037: “The autonomous mode switching request can be input by recognizing the driver's voice and receiving the input or operating the button.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 11 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Inoue in view of Hee however still do not teach the automated steering is carried out so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction.
Hashimoto teaches the automated steering is carried out so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction, and (Hashimoto: Abstract: “A control system for a work vehicle includes a sensor and a controller. The sensor outputs a signal indicating an actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller communicates with the sensor. The controller is programmed so as to execute the following processing. The controller acquires the actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller sets the actual traveling direction as a target traveling direction when a condition that indicates that the work vehicle has started straight travel has been met.”; Paragraph 0021: “The travel of the work vehicle 1 may be in the form of automated travel, semi-automated travel, or travel due to operations by an operator.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) of the REMARKS, filed 03/16/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) claim interpretation of claims 1 and 9 regarding the “start/stoppage determiner” have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant states that the term is not presented in a “means plus function” or “step plus function”. Examiner disagrees. Regarding the determiner, claim 1 states: “a start/stoppage determiner that determines whether automated steering should start or stop”. Performing the 3-prong 35 U.S.C. 112(f) analysis (MPEP 2181) as an example for claim 1 is stated below with each corresponding claim limitation:
the claim limitation uses the term "means" or "step" or a term used as a substitute for "means" that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; - “determiner that”
the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word "for" (e.g., "means for") or another linking word or phrase, such as "configured to" or "so that"; - “that determines whether automated steering should start or stop”
the term "means" or "step" or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. – “that determines” is not modified by sufficient structure to perform the claimed function.
Claim 9 also lacks sufficient structure for the “start/stoppage determiner”. For these reasons, the claim interpretation for claims 1 and 9 stand.
Applicant’s arguments, see section Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) of the REMARKS, filed 03/16/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) claim indefiniteness rejection of claims 1 and 9 – 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) claim indefiniteness rejection of claims 1 and 9 – 16 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see section Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 of the REMARKS, filed 03/16/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 prior art rejection of claims 1 and 9 – 16 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant states a concise and accurate summary of both prior arts of Inoue and Hashimoto, in which applicant submits that neither of the prior art teach the amended claim limitations regarding an “an automatic control device that generates a start signal or a stop signal of automatic steering based on an operation by the operator: a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator” and a start/stoppage determiner also being able to determine whether or not automated steering should start or stop “based on the start signal or the stop signal or based on an operating state of the steering controller by the operator”. Regarding the amended claim limitation of “an automatic control device that generates a start signal or a stop signal of automatic steering based on an operation by the operator;”, Examiner agrees with Applicant that the prior art of Inoue or Hashimoto do not teach these limitations. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Miyashita (US 20210114659 A1). Regarding the amended claim limitations of “a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator” and a start/stoppage determiner also being able to determine whether or not automated steering should start or stop “based on the start signal or the stop signal or based on an operating state of the steering controller by the operator”, the Examiner states is taught by the prior art of Inoue. Inoue teaches a steering wheel in which the driver is able to turn to operate the steering (Inoue: Paragraph 0043). Furthermore, Inoue teaches the ability of overriding an automatic steering function by being able to control the steering wheel (Inoue: Paragraph 0114; Paragraph 0120; Paragraph 0122). Therefore based on the operating state of the steering wheel by the driver, the automatic steering be overriding, thus stopping the automatic steering function. Please refer to section Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 for more details.
Conclusion
/SHIVAM SHARMA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/Erin D Bishop/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665