DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is reply to the Application Number 18/284,150 filed on 09/11/2025
Claims 1 and 9 – 16 are currently pending and have been examined. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 2 – 8 are cancelled. Claims 9 – 16 are new.
This action is made FINAL
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 10/14/2025 have been received and considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“start/stoppage determiner” in claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 9 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states: “the controller includes a start/stoppage determiner that determines whether automated steering should start or stop”, however it is indefinite to how the start/stoppage determiner is able to determine whether an automated steering should start or not. There is not sufficient information within the claim which provides clarify on what a determining factor is that allows the start/stoppage determiner to perform its function. For example, does the autonomous steering start in light of gathering sensor information showing an obstacle within the travel way of the vehicle and thus the start/stoppage determiner starts the autonomous steering to avoid the obstacle? The determiner can also be interpreted to start the automated steering when, for example, determining based on GPS position of the vehicle along a specified roadway. The claim lacks clarity in the structure of the start/stoppage determiner and how it is able to make its determination. Claim 13 states: “determining whether automated steering should start or stop; when it is determined that the automated steering should start,”, again for the same reasons for claim 1, it is indefinite in how it is being determined that the automated steering should start or stop.
Claim 9 states: “further comprising a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator, wherein when the operation of the steering controller is suspended for a predetermined period of time, the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should start.”, however it is indefinite to how the operation of steering controller is suspended and how it is being identified. What classifies as the operation for the steering controlling to be suspended? For example, a steering wheel able to determine if the user hands are not on the wheel by the use of pressure sensors can be interpreted as the steering controller being suspended however another interpretation can be the steering wheel being mechanically disconnected to the vehicle system, detected by a sensor, which also suspends the operation of steering control. The claim is indefinite in how the controller is able to determine that the steering operation has been suspended.
Dependent claims 9 – 10 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 1. Dependent claims 14 – 16 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 20180178838 A1) in view of Hashimoto et al. (US 20190049973 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Inoue teaches a steering control system for a work machine, comprising: (Inoue: Abstract: “A vehicle travel control device includes: an EPS device turning a wheel of a vehicle;”; Paragraph 0001: “The present disclosure relates to an autonomous driving control technique using an electric power steering (EPS) device.”)
a steering mechanism that controls a direction of travel of the work machine; (Inoue: Abstract: “calculating a target steering angle of the wheel; and actuating the EPS device to turn the wheel such that a steering angle of the wheel becomes the target steering angle.”)
a directional correction input device operated by an operator; and (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
a controller wherein
the controller includes a start/stoppage determiner that determines whether automated steering should start or stop,
when the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should start, (Inoue: Paragraph 0061: “The control device 100 controls the vehicle travel control device 10 according to the present embodiment. Typically, the control device 100 is a microcomputer including a processor, a memory, and an input/output interface. The control device 100 is also called an ECU (Electronic Control Unit). The control device 100 receives the detected information from the sensor group 70 and the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90, through the input/output interface. Based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the control device 100 performs the turning control and the autonomous driving control.”: Paragraph 0062: “The control device 100 includes a VGRS control unit 130, an EPS control unit 150, a VSC (Vehicle Stability Control) control unit 170, and an ADS (Autonomous Driving System) control unit 190, as functional blocks relating to the turning control and the autonomous driving control. These functional blocks are achieved by the processor of the control device 100 executing a control program stored in the memory. The control program may be recorded on a computer-readable recording medium.”: Paragraph 0076: “During the autonomous driving, the driving entity changes from the driver to an autonomous driving system (specifically, the ADS control unit 190).”: Paragraph 0113: “According to the present embodiment, as described above, the EPS device 50 turns the front wheel 5F during the autonomous driving. When the EPS device 50 turns the front wheel 5F, the steering wheel 21 connected to the front wheel 5F also rotates in conjunction with the turning of the front wheel 5F. Therefore, when the EPS device 50 rapidly turns the front wheel 5F, the steering wheel 21 also rotates rapidly. For example, there is a possibility that the automatic steering is performed rapidly in order to urgently avoid an obstacle in front of the vehicle 1 during the autonomous driving. In this case, the steering wheel 21 also rotates rapidly in conjunction with the rapid automatic steering. Such the rapid motion of the steering wheel 21 during the autonomous driving is not preferable from the following points of view.”,
Supplemental Note: the controller is able to perform in non-autonomous and autonomous driving modes. In the example above, the vehicle is able to steer the vehicle away from an approaching obstacle)
the controller identifies a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start, and carries out the automated steering (Inoue: Paragraph 0078: “More specifically, the ADS control unit 190 receives the detected information of the vehicle speed V, the actual yaw rate Yr, the actual lateral acceleration Gy, and the like from the sensor group 70. In addition, the ADS control unit 190 receives the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90. Then, based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the ADS control unit 190 creates a travel plan of the vehicle 1. A typical example of the travel plan relating to the automatic steering is a lane change”; Paragraphs 0080 – 0082: “As another example, the ADS control unit 190 recognizes an obstacle or a low-speed vehicle in front of the vehicle 1 based on the surrounding target information included in the driving environment information. In this case, the ADS control unit 190 plans to make a lane change in order to avoid the obstacle or the low-speed vehicle. As still another example, the ADS control unit 190 recognizes a roadwork section in front of the vehicle 1 based on the infrastructure provided information included in the driving environment information. In this case, the ADS control unit 190 plans to make a lane change in order to avoid the roadwork section. The ADS control unit 190 autonomously controls travel of the vehicle 1 according to the travel plan. In particular, when performing the automatic steering, the ADS control unit 190 calculates the autonomous driving steering angle δb required for the automatic steering. In addition, the ADS control unit 190 calculates a target state quantity ST of the vehicle 1 required for the automatic steering. The target state quantity ST includes the autonomous driving steering angle δb, a target yaw rate, a target lateral acceleration, and the like. According to the present embodiment, the ADS control unit 190 outputs information on the target state quantity ST to the VSC control unit 170.”,
Supplemental Note: the ADS system, which is part of the control device, is able to autonomously control the vehicle by a created travel plan. In one example, the ADS system can turn the vehicle to avoid a roadwork section, thus interpreted as traveling straight forward along a path which avoids the roadwork section according to the travel plan. The same interpretation can be made using the ADS system to avoid an obstacle or merging)
… while the automated steering is carried out, the controller controls the steering mechanism (Inoue: Paragraph 0061: “The control device 100 controls the vehicle travel control device 10 according to the present embodiment. Typically, the control device 100 is a microcomputer including a processor, a memory, and an input/output interface. The control device 100 is also called an ECU (Electronic Control Unit). The control device 100 receives the detected information from the sensor group 70 and the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90, through the input/output interface. Based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the control device 100 performs the turning control and the autonomous driving control.”)
in a manner that the target direction is adjustable through a certain angle toward one of lateral sides based on an operation command inputted through the directional correction input device. (Inoue: Paragraphs 0073 - 0075: “The EPS control unit 150 performs “torque assist control” by the use of the EPS device 50. More specifically, the EPS control unit 150 receives the detected information of the steering torque Ta from the torque sensor 71. The EPS control unit 150 calculates an assist torque based on the steering torque Ta, and controls the EPS driver 55 such that the assist torque is obtained. For example, the EPS control unit 150 has a torque map indicating a relationship between an input parameter and the assist torque. The input parameter includes the steering torque Ta detected by the torque sensor 71. The input parameter may further include the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 74. The torque map is determined in advance in consideration of desired assist characteristics. In response to an operation of the steering wheel 21 by the driver, the EPS control unit 150 refers to the torque map to calculate the assist torque according to the input parameter. Then, the EPS control unit 150 calculates a target current command according to the assist torque and outputs the target current command to the EPS driver 55. The EPS driver 55 drives (actuates) the electric motor 51 in accordance with the target current command. A rotational torque (i.e. the assist torque) of the electric motor 51 is transmitted to the rack bar 25 through the conversion mechanism 52. As a result, turning of the front wheel 5F is assisted and thus the driver's steering load is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the EPS, which is part of the control device, is able to able to apply an assist torque based on the steering of the vehicle. This method still allows for the driver to operate the steering wheel to change the steering torque)
In sum Inoue teaches a steering control system for a work machine, comprising: a steering mechanism that controls a direction of travel of the work machine; a directional correction input device operated by an operator; and a controller wherein the controller includes a start/stoppage determiner that determines whether automated steering should start or stop, when the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should start, the controller identifies a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start, and carries out the automated steering while the automated steering is carried out, the controller controls the steering mechanism in a manner that the target direction is adjustable through a certain angle toward one of lateral sides based on an operation command inputted through the directional correction input device. Inoue however does not teach so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction whereas Hashimoto does.
Hashimoto teaches that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction, and (Hashimoto: Abstract: “A control system for a work vehicle includes a sensor and a controller. The sensor outputs a signal indicating an actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller communicates with the sensor. The controller is programmed so as to execute the following processing. The controller acquires the actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller sets the actual traveling direction as a target traveling direction when a condition that indicates that the work vehicle has started straight travel has been met.”; Paragraph 0021: “The travel of the work vehicle 1 may be in the form of automated travel, semi-automated travel, or travel due to operations by an operator.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Inoue and Hashimoto teach methods of automatically controlling the steering of a vehicle. Inoue teaches methods of being able to correct the steering of a vehicle traveling non-autonomously and autonomously wherein the autonomous travel mode is able to create and travel along a travel plan (Inoue: Paragraph 0078). Hashimoto teaches a system for a work vehicle which is able to apply a technique that corrects the traveling path in an automated or semi-automated form of travel when the vehicle deviates from the straight path (Hashimoto: Paragraph 0002). One of ordinary skill in the art would find the autonomous function of Inoue and the path deviation correction function of the work vehicle as taught by Hashimoto to be combining the prior art elements according to a known method of automatic steering to yield predictable results and keeping a vehicle from deviating from a path. For example, the travel plan of Inoue and the straight path of Hashimoto are interpreted as the same element as both are a path that the traveling vehicle cannot deviate from.
Regarding claim 10, Inoue, as modified, teaches wherein every time the directional correction input device is operated by the operator, (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
the direction of travel is adjustable through a certain angle toward one of lateral sides. (Inoue: Paragraphs 0073 - 0075: “The EPS control unit 150 performs “torque assist control” by the use of the EPS device 50. More specifically, the EPS control unit 150 receives the detected information of the steering torque Ta from the torque sensor 71. The EPS control unit 150 calculates an assist torque based on the steering torque Ta, and controls the EPS driver 55 such that the assist torque is obtained. For example, the EPS control unit 150 has a torque map indicating a relationship between an input parameter and the assist torque. The input parameter includes the steering torque Ta detected by the torque sensor 71. The input parameter may further include the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 74. The torque map is determined in advance in consideration of desired assist characteristics. In response to an operation of the steering wheel 21 by the driver, the EPS control unit 150 refers to the torque map to calculate the assist torque according to the input parameter. Then, the EPS control unit 150 calculates a target current command according to the assist torque and outputs the target current command to the EPS driver 55. The EPS driver 55 drives (actuates) the electric motor 51 in accordance with the target current command. A rotational torque (i.e. the assist torque) of the electric motor 51 is transmitted to the rack bar 25 through the conversion mechanism 52. As a result, turning of the front wheel 5F is assisted and thus the driver's steering load is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the EPS, which is part of the control device, is able to able to apply an assist torque based on the steering of the vehicle. This method still allows for the driver to operate the steering wheel to change the steering torque)
Regarding claim 13, Inoue teaches a steering control method for a work machine including: (Inoue: Abstract: “A vehicle travel control device includes: an EPS device turning a wheel of a vehicle;”; Paragraph 0001: “The present disclosure relates to an autonomous driving control technique using an electric power steering (EPS) device.”)
a steering mechanism that controls a direction of travel of the work machine; and (Inoue: Abstract: “calculating a target steering angle of the wheel; and actuating the EPS device to turn the wheel such that a steering angle of the wheel becomes the target steering angle.”)
a directional correction input device operated by an operator, the steering control method comprising: (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
determining whether automated steering should start or stop;
when it is determined that the automated steering should start, (Inoue: Paragraph 0061: “The control device 100 controls the vehicle travel control device 10 according to the present embodiment. Typically, the control device 100 is a microcomputer including a processor, a memory, and an input/output interface. The control device 100 is also called an ECU (Electronic Control Unit). The control device 100 receives the detected information from the sensor group 70 and the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90, through the input/output interface. Based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the control device 100 performs the turning control and the autonomous driving control.”: Paragraph 0062: “The control device 100 includes a VGRS control unit 130, an EPS control unit 150, a VSC (Vehicle Stability Control) control unit 170, and an ADS (Autonomous Driving System) control unit 190, as functional blocks relating to the turning control and the autonomous driving control. These functional blocks are achieved by the processor of the control device 100 executing a control program stored in the memory. The control program may be recorded on a computer-readable recording medium.”: Paragraph 0076: “During the autonomous driving, the driving entity changes from the driver to an autonomous driving system (specifically, the ADS control unit 190).”: Paragraph 0113: “According to the present embodiment, as described above, the EPS device 50 turns the front wheel 5F during the autonomous driving. When the EPS device 50 turns the front wheel 5F, the steering wheel 21 connected to the front wheel 5F also rotates in conjunction with the turning of the front wheel 5F. Therefore, when the EPS device 50 rapidly turns the front wheel 5F, the steering wheel 21 also rotates rapidly. For example, there is a possibility that the automatic steering is performed rapidly in order to urgently avoid an obstacle in front of the vehicle 1 during the autonomous driving. In this case, the steering wheel 21 also rotates rapidly in conjunction with the rapid automatic steering. Such the rapid motion of the steering wheel 21 during the autonomous driving is not preferable from the following points of view.”,
Supplemental Note: the controller is able to perform in non-autonomous and autonomous driving modes. In the example above, the vehicle is able to steer the vehicle away from an approaching obstacle)
identifying a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start, and carrying out the automated steering of a steering operation by the steering mechanism (Inoue: Paragraph 0078: “More specifically, the ADS control unit 190 receives the detected information of the vehicle speed V, the actual yaw rate Yr, the actual lateral acceleration Gy, and the like from the sensor group 70. In addition, the ADS control unit 190 receives the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90. Then, based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the ADS control unit 190 creates a travel plan of the vehicle 1. A typical example of the travel plan relating to the automatic steering is a lane change”; Paragraphs 0080 – 0082: “As another example, the ADS control unit 190 recognizes an obstacle or a low-speed vehicle in front of the vehicle 1 based on the surrounding target information included in the driving environment information. In this case, the ADS control unit 190 plans to make a lane change in order to avoid the obstacle or the low-speed vehicle. As still another example, the ADS control unit 190 recognizes a roadwork section in front of the vehicle 1 based on the infrastructure provided information included in the driving environment information. In this case, the ADS control unit 190 plans to make a lane change in order to avoid the roadwork section. The ADS control unit 190 autonomously controls travel of the vehicle 1 according to the travel plan. In particular, when performing the automatic steering, the ADS control unit 190 calculates the autonomous driving steering angle δb required for the automatic steering. In addition, the ADS control unit 190 calculates a target state quantity ST of the vehicle 1 required for the automatic steering. The target state quantity ST includes the autonomous driving steering angle δb, a target yaw rate, a target lateral acceleration, and the like. According to the present embodiment, the ADS control unit 190 outputs information on the target state quantity ST to the VSC control unit 170.”,
Supplemental Note: the ADS system, which is part of the control device, is able to autonomously control the vehicle by a created travel plan. In one example, the ADS system can turn the vehicle to avoid a roadwork section, thus interpreted as traveling straight forward along a path which avoids the roadwork section according to the travel plan. The same interpretation can be made using the ADS system to avoid an obstacle or merging)
… controlling the steering mechanism during the automated steering (Inoue: Paragraph 0061: “The control device 100 controls the vehicle travel control device 10 according to the present embodiment. Typically, the control device 100 is a microcomputer including a processor, a memory, and an input/output interface. The control device 100 is also called an ECU (Electronic Control Unit). The control device 100 receives the detected information from the sensor group 70 and the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90, through the input/output interface. Based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the control device 100 performs the turning control and the autonomous driving control.”)
in a manner that the target direction is adjustable through a certain angle toward one of lateral sides based on an operation command inputted through the directional correction input device. (Inoue: Paragraphs 0073 - 0075: “The EPS control unit 150 performs “torque assist control” by the use of the EPS device 50. More specifically, the EPS control unit 150 receives the detected information of the steering torque Ta from the torque sensor 71. The EPS control unit 150 calculates an assist torque based on the steering torque Ta, and controls the EPS driver 55 such that the assist torque is obtained. For example, the EPS control unit 150 has a torque map indicating a relationship between an input parameter and the assist torque. The input parameter includes the steering torque Ta detected by the torque sensor 71. The input parameter may further include the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 74. The torque map is determined in advance in consideration of desired assist characteristics. In response to an operation of the steering wheel 21 by the driver, the EPS control unit 150 refers to the torque map to calculate the assist torque according to the input parameter. Then, the EPS control unit 150 calculates a target current command according to the assist torque and outputs the target current command to the EPS driver 55. The EPS driver 55 drives (actuates) the electric motor 51 in accordance with the target current command. A rotational torque (i.e. the assist torque) of the electric motor 51 is transmitted to the rack bar 25 through the conversion mechanism 52. As a result, turning of the front wheel 5F is assisted and thus the driver's steering load is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the EPS, which is part of the control device, is able to able to apply an assist torque based on the steering of the vehicle. This method still allows for the driver to operate the steering wheel to change the steering torque)
In sum, Inoue teaches steering control method for a work machine including: a steering mechanism that controls a direction of travel of the work machine; and a directional correction input device operated by an operator, the steering control method comprising: determining whether automated steering should start or stop; when it is determined that the automated steering should start, identifying a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start, and carrying out the automated steering of a steering operation by the steering mechanism controlling the steering mechanism during the automated steering in a manner that the target direction is adjustable through a certain angle toward one of lateral sides based on an operation command inputted through the directional correction input device. Inoue however does not teach the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction whereas Hashimoto does.
Hashimoto teaches so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction; and (Hashimoto: Abstract: “A control system for a work vehicle includes a sensor and a controller. The sensor outputs a signal indicating an actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller communicates with the sensor. The controller is programmed so as to execute the following processing. The controller acquires the actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller sets the actual traveling direction as a target traveling direction when a condition that indicates that the work vehicle has started straight travel has been met.”; Paragraph 0021: “The travel of the work vehicle 1 may be in the form of automated travel, semi-automated travel, or travel due to operations by an operator.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 15, Inoue, as modified, teaches wherein every time the directional correction input device is operated by the operator, (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
the direction of travel is adjustable through a certain angle toward one of lateral sides. (Inoue: Paragraphs 0073 - 0075: “The EPS control unit 150 performs “torque assist control” by the use of the EPS device 50. More specifically, the EPS control unit 150 receives the detected information of the steering torque Ta from the torque sensor 71. The EPS control unit 150 calculates an assist torque based on the steering torque Ta, and controls the EPS driver 55 such that the assist torque is obtained. For example, the EPS control unit 150 has a torque map indicating a relationship between an input parameter and the assist torque. The input parameter includes the steering torque Ta detected by the torque sensor 71. The input parameter may further include the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 74. The torque map is determined in advance in consideration of desired assist characteristics. In response to an operation of the steering wheel 21 by the driver, the EPS control unit 150 refers to the torque map to calculate the assist torque according to the input parameter. Then, the EPS control unit 150 calculates a target current command according to the assist torque and outputs the target current command to the EPS driver 55. The EPS driver 55 drives (actuates) the electric motor 51 in accordance with the target current command. A rotational torque (i.e. the assist torque) of the electric motor 51 is transmitted to the rack bar 25 through the conversion mechanism 52. As a result, turning of the front wheel 5F is assisted and thus the driver's steering load is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the EPS, which is part of the control device, is able to able to apply an assist torque based on the steering of the vehicle. This method still allows for the driver to operate the steering wheel to change the steering torque)
Claims 9, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 20180178838 A1) and Hashimoto et al. (US 20190049973 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hee et al. (KR 20190073789 A).
Regarding claim 9, Inoue, as modified, teaches further comprising a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator, (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
In sum, Inoue teaches a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator. Inoue however does not teach wherein when the operation of the steering controller is suspended for a predetermined period of time, the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should start whereas Hee does.
Hee teaches wherein when the operation of the steering controller is suspended for a predetermined period of time, the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should start. (Hee: Paragraph 0008: “the steps of inputting an autonomous mode switching request from a driver while driving in a driver's driving mode, confirming whether the driver holds the steering wheel, determining whether the driver is holding the steering wheel, Controlling the steering wheel to return to the self-running system and retracting the steering wheel to a retracted position in front of the vehicle when the driver is determined not to hold the steering wheel; and monitoring the steering intention of the driver Controlling the vehicle to be switched to a driver's driving mode when the driver's intention to steer is detected before the retraction of the steering wheel is completed; and if the driver's steering intention is not detected until the retraction of the steering wheel is completed, And controlling to switch to the self-running mode. A switching control method can be provided.”,
Supplemental Note: based on the driver not holding the steering wheel or any intention of controlling the vehicle, the steering wheel can be retracted and a self-running mode is applied. The predetermined period of time is interpreted the time it takes for the steering wheel to retract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hee with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Inoue and Hee teach the ability of a vehicle to be able to drive autonomously, Hee further teaches the ability to detect if a user has their hands on the steering wheel to confirm to start autonomous control. One with knowledge in the art would find this function of Hee to be a use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way with the vehicle system of Inoue. For example, the driver of a vehicle may select an autonomous driving mode but may still want to control the vehicle due to some unforeseen road conditions (sudden movement of adjacent vehicles, potholes, work zones, etc.), thus the vehicle will not start the autonomous vehicle mode if the driver still has their hands on the wheel. In the same embodiment, if the driver lets go of the wheel, the vehicle can determine that no driver is controlling the vehicle and therefore start the autonomous function. Inoue mentions a situation of where a vehicle is performing autonomous driving while the driver’s hands are on the wheel to be dangerous as the driver hands are forcibly moved by the steering wheel (Inoue: Paragraph 0115), this incorporation of Hee mitigates this dangerous scenario, thus increasing the safety of the passengers.
Regarding claim 11, Inoue, as modified, teaches the controller carries out the automated steering by controlling the steering mechanism so that the work machine travels along a predefined travel course using a satellite positioning system (Inoue: Paragraphs 0056 – 0057: “The driving environment detection device 90 acquires “driving environment information” used for the autonomous driving control of the vehicle 1. The driving environment information is exemplified by position-orientation information, lane information, surrounding target information, infrastructure provided information, and so forth. In order to acquire such the driving environment information, the driving environment detection device 90 includes a GPS (Global Positioning System) device, a map database, a sensor, and a communication device, for example. The GPS device receives signals transmitted from a plurality of GPS satellites and calculates a position and a posture (i.e. orientation) of the vehicle 1 based on the received signals. The GPS device sends the calculated position-orientation information to the control device 100.”’; Paragraph 0078: “More specifically, the ADS control unit 190 receives the detected information of the vehicle speed V, the actual yaw rate Yr, the actual lateral acceleration Gy, and the like from the sensor group 70. In addition, the ADS control unit 190 receives the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90. Then, based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the ADS control unit 190 creates a travel plan of the vehicle 1. A typical example of the travel plan relating to the automatic steering is a lane change.”)
In sum, Inoue teaches the controller carries out the automated steering by controlling the steering mechanism so that the work machine travels along a predefined travel course using a satellite positioning system. Inoue however does not teach further comprising a mode selector for automated steering, wherein when a first mode is selected through the mode selector, the controller identifies a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start when a second mode is selected through the mode selector whereas Hee does.
Hee teaches further comprising a mode selector for automated steering, wherein when a first mode is selected through the mode selector, (Hee: Paragraph 0007: “One embodiment includes a mode switching request input unit for inputting a request for switching an autonomous mode from a driver, a steering column adjusting unit for moving the steering wheel between a retracted position and a deployed position in front of the vehicle, A load sensing unit for sensing a load signal generated by an external force applied to the steering wheel in the direction of travel of the steering wheel; A steering wheel grip determination unit for determining whether the driver holds the steering wheel based on the torque signal detected by the torque sensor and the torque sensor detected by the torque sensor during switching from the driver's running mode to the self- A steering apparatus for determining a steering intention of a driver based on a load signal detected by a sensing unit And a control unit for controlling a driving mode of the vehicle on the basis of the determination results of the steering wheel grasp determining unit and the steering intention determining unit.”; Paragraph 0037: “The autonomous mode switching request can be input by recognizing the driver's voice and receiving the input or operating the button.”)
the controller identifies a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start, and (Hee: Paragraphs 0018 – 0019: “In the autonomous mode, the steering gear 44 connects the steering control of the autonomous navigation system with the rotation of the road wheel 46. The decoupling section 130 separates the steering column shaft 16 and the steering gear 44 in the autonomous running mode and locks the steering wheel 18 so that the driver cannot rotate the steering wheel 18 It hangs. Alternatively, the decoupling unit 130 may be configured to rotate the steering wheel 18 in the self-traveling mode such that the steering wheel 18 is not rotated by steering control of the autonomous navigation system, Can be provided.”,
Supplemental Note: the autonomous navigation system takes over once the steering wheel is retracted, thus identifying a current direction when the autonomous driving is started)
when a second mode is selected through the mode selector, (Hee: Paragraph 0007: “One embodiment includes a mode switching request input unit for inputting a request for switching an autonomous mode from a driver, a steering column adjusting unit for moving the steering wheel between a retracted position and a deployed position in front of the vehicle, A load sensing unit for sensing a load signal generated by an external force applied to the steering wheel in the direction of travel of the steering wheel; A steering wheel grip determination unit for determining whether the driver holds the steering wheel based on the torque signal detected by the torque sensor and the torque sensor detected by the torque sensor during switching from the driver's running mode to the self- A steering apparatus for determining a steering intention of a driver based on a load signal detected by a sensing unit And a control unit for controlling a driving mode of the vehicle on the basis of the determination results of the steering wheel grasp determining unit and the steering intention determining unit.”; Paragraph 0037: “The autonomous mode switching request can be input by recognizing the driver's voice and receiving the input or operating the button.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hee with a reasonable expectation of success. Both Inoue and Hee teach the ability to perform autonomous travel, Inoue further teaches various different modes that the vehicle can be in while driving. Inoue however does not teach a method of which a selector is present to select which one of the vehicle modes to select whereas Hee teaches a mode switching request input unit to switch driver modes. One with knowledge in the art would find this function of Hee to be obvious to try to combine with the vehicle of Inoue. For example, incorporating a mode switching request input allows the driver of the vehicle to select the autonomous driving mode by voice or by operating the button. This increases the options the driver has to mode switch (button or voice command) best suited to them, thus increasing usability of the vehicle. Furthermore, once the steering wheel is retracted and the vehicle of Hee is in autonomous travel mode, the current direction it is traveling would be maintained by the autonomous function until another maneuver is needed. For example, if starting the autonomous mode along a straight path, the vehicle maintains the direction of the vehicle unless the vehicle determines it needs to adjust. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the autonomous function of Inoue and this function of Hee as combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results as both prior art teach the ability to start autonomous driving while the vehicle is on the road and maintaining a current direction until the roadway needs a vehicle parameter (such as speed or steering) to be adjusted for safe travel. Inoue in view of Hee however still do not teach carries out the automated steering so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction whereas Hashimoto does.
Hashimoto teaches carries out the automated steering so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction, and (Hashimoto: Abstract: “A control system for a work vehicle includes a sensor and a controller. The sensor outputs a signal indicating an actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller communicates with the sensor. The controller is programmed so as to execute the following processing. The controller acquires the actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller sets the actual traveling direction as a target traveling direction when a condition that indicates that the work vehicle has started straight travel has been met.”; Paragraph 0021: “The travel of the work vehicle 1 may be in the form of automated travel, semi-automated travel, or travel due to operations by an operator.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 12, Inoue, as modified, teaches wherein when an input is received through the directional correction input device (Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
… the controller offsets the predefined travel course toward one of lateral sides relative to the direction of travel. (Inoue: Paragraphs 0073 - 0075: “The EPS control unit 150 performs “torque assist control” by the use of the EPS device 50. More specifically, the EPS control unit 150 receives the detected information of the steering torque Ta from the torque sensor 71. The EPS control unit 150 calculates an assist torque based on the steering torque Ta, and controls the EPS driver 55 such that the assist torque is obtained. For example, the EPS control unit 150 has a torque map indicating a relationship between an input parameter and the assist torque. The input parameter includes the steering torque Ta detected by the torque sensor 71. The input parameter may further include the vehicle speed V detected by the vehicle speed sensor 74. The torque map is determined in advance in consideration of desired assist characteristics. In response to an operation of the steering wheel 21 by the driver, the EPS control unit 150 refers to the torque map to calculate the assist torque according to the input parameter. Then, the EPS control unit 150 calculates a target current command according to the assist torque and outputs the target current command to the EPS driver 55. The EPS driver 55 drives (actuates) the electric motor 51 in accordance with the target current command. A rotational torque (i.e. the assist torque) of the electric motor 51 is transmitted to the rack bar 25 through the conversion mechanism 52. As a result, turning of the front wheel 5F is assisted and thus the driver's steering load is reduced.”,
Supplemental Note: the EPS, which is part of the control device, is able to able to apply an assist torque based on the steering of the vehicle. This method still allows for the driver to operate the steering wheel to change the steering torque)
In sum, Inoue teaches wherein when an input is received through the directional correction input device the controller offsets the predefined travel course toward one of lateral sides relative to the direction of travel. Inoue however does not teach while the second mode is selected through the mode selector whereas Hee does.
Hee teaches while the second mode is selected through the mode selector, (Hee: Paragraph 0007: “One embodiment includes a mode switching request input unit for inputting a request for switching an autonomous mode from a driver, a steering column adjusting unit for moving the steering wheel between a retracted position and a deployed position in front of the vehicle, A load sensing unit for sensing a load signal generated by an external force applied to the steering wheel in the direction of travel of the steering wheel; A steering wheel grip determination unit for determining whether the driver holds the steering wheel based on the torque signal detected by the torque sensor and the torque sensor detected by the torque sensor during switching from the driver's running mode to the self- A steering apparatus for determining a steering intention of a driver based on a load signal detected by a sensing unit And a control unit for controlling a driving mode of the vehicle on the basis of the determination results of the steering wheel grasp determining unit and the steering intention determining unit.”; Paragraph 0037: “The autonomous mode switching request can be input by recognizing the driver's voice and receiving the input or operating the button.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 11 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al. (US 20180178838 A1) and Hashimoto et al. (US 20190049973 A1) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Hee et al. (KR 20190073789 A).
Regarding claim 14, Inoue, as modified, teaches wherein the work machine further includes a steering controller that drives the steering mechanism based on the operation by the operator, and
(Inoue: Paragraph 0043: “The steering wheel 21 is used for a steering operation by a driver. That is, the driver turns the steering wheel 21 when the driver wants to turn the front wheel 5F. The upper steering shaft 22 is connected to the steering wheel 21. One end of the lower steering shaft 23 is connected to the upper steering shaft 22 through the VGRS device 30, and the other end thereof is connected to the pinion gear 24. The pinion gear 24 engages with the rack bar 25. Both ends of the rack bar 25 are respectively connected to the left and right front wheels 5F through the tie rods 26. A rotation of the steering wheel 21 is transmitted to the pinion gear 24 through the upper steering shaft 22, the VGRS device 30, and the lower steering shaft 23. A rotational motion of the pinion gear 24 is converted into a linear motion of the rack bar 25, and thereby a steering angle of the front wheel 5F changes.”)
when the operation of the steering controller is suspended for a predetermined period of time, the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should start. (Hee: Paragraph 0008: “the steps of inputting an autonomous mode switching request from a driver while driving in a driver's driving mode, confirming whether the driver holds the steering wheel, determining whether the driver is holding the steering wheel, Controlling the steering wheel to return to the self-running system and retracting the steering wheel to a retracted position in front of the vehicle when the driver is determined not to hold the steering wheel; and monitoring the steering intention of the driver Controlling the vehicle to be switched to a driver's driving mode when the driver's intention to steer is detected before the retraction of the steering wheel is completed; and if the driver's steering intention is not detected until the retraction of the steering wheel is completed, And controlling to switch to the self-running mode. A switching control method can be provided.”,
Supplemental Note: based on the driver not holding the steering wheel or any intention of controlling the vehicle, the steering wheel can be retracted and a self-running mode is applied. The predetermined period of time is interpreted the time it takes for the steering wheel to retract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 9 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Regarding claim 16, Inoue, as modified, teaches the automated steering is carried out by controlling the steering mechanism so that the work machine travels along a predefined travel course using a satellite positioning system (Inoue: Paragraphs 0056 – 0057: “The driving environment detection device 90 acquires “driving environment information” used for the autonomous driving control of the vehicle 1. The driving environment information is exemplified by position-orientation information, lane information, surrounding target information, infrastructure provided information, and so forth. In order to acquire such the driving environment information, the driving environment detection device 90 includes a GPS (Global Positioning System) device, a map database, a sensor, and a communication device, for example. The GPS device receives signals transmitted from a plurality of GPS satellites and calculates a position and a posture (i.e. orientation) of the vehicle 1 based on the received signals. The GPS device sends the calculated position-orientation information to the control device 100.”’; Paragraph 0078: “More specifically, the ADS control unit 190 receives the detected information of the vehicle speed V, the actual yaw rate Yr, the actual lateral acceleration Gy, and the like from the sensor group 70. In addition, the ADS control unit 190 receives the driving environment information from the driving environment detection device 90. Then, based on the detected information and the driving environment information, the ADS control unit 190 creates a travel plan of the vehicle 1. A typical example of the travel plan relating to the automatic steering is a lane change.”)
In sum, Inoue teaches the automated steering is carried out by controlling the steering mechanism so that the work machine travels along a predefined travel course using a satellite positioning system. Inoue however does not teach wherein the work machine further includes a mode selector for automated steering, wherein when a first mode is selected through the mode selector a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start is identified, and when a second mode is selected through the mode selector whereas Hee does.
Hee teaches wherein the work machine further includes a mode selector for automated steering, wherein when a first mode is selected through the mode selector, (Hee: Paragraph 0007: “One embodiment includes a mode switching request input unit for inputting a request for switching an autonomous mode from a driver, a steering column adjusting unit for moving the steering wheel between a retracted position and a deployed position in front of the vehicle, A load sensing unit for sensing a load signal generated by an external force applied to the steering wheel in the direction of travel of the steering wheel; A steering wheel grip determination unit for determining whether the driver holds the steering wheel based on the torque signal detected by the torque sensor and the torque sensor detected by the torque sensor during switching from the driver's running mode to the self- A steering apparatus for determining a steering intention of a driver based on a load signal detected by a sensing unit And a control unit for controlling a driving mode of the vehicle on the basis of the determination results of the steering wheel grasp determining unit and the steering intention determining unit.”; Paragraph 0037: “The autonomous mode switching request can be input by recognizing the driver's voice and receiving the input or operating the button.”)
a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start is identified, and (Hee: Paragraphs 0018 – 0019: “In the autonomous mode, the steering gear 44 connects the steering control of the autonomous navigation system with the rotation of the road wheel 46. The decoupling section 130 separates the steering column shaft 16 and the steering gear 44 in the autonomous running mode and locks the steering wheel 18 so that the driver cannot rotate the steering wheel 18 It hangs. Alternatively, the decoupling unit 130 may be configured to rotate the steering wheel 18 in the self-traveling mode such that the steering wheel 18 is not rotated by steering control of the autonomous navigation system, Can be provided.”,
Supplemental Note: the autonomous navigation system takes over once the steering wheel is retracted, thus identifying a current direction when the autonomous driving is started)
when a second mode is selected through the mode selector, (Hee: Paragraph 0007: “One embodiment includes a mode switching request input unit for inputting a request for switching an autonomous mode from a driver, a steering column adjusting unit for moving the steering wheel between a retracted position and a deployed position in front of the vehicle, A load sensing unit for sensing a load signal generated by an external force applied to the steering wheel in the direction of travel of the steering wheel; A steering wheel grip determination unit for determining whether the driver holds the steering wheel based on the torque signal detected by the torque sensor and the torque sensor detected by the torque sensor during switching from the driver's running mode to the self- A steering apparatus for determining a steering intention of a driver based on a load signal detected by a sensing unit And a control unit for controlling a driving mode of the vehicle on the basis of the determination results of the steering wheel grasp determining unit and the steering intention determining unit.”; Paragraph 0037: “The autonomous mode switching request can be input by recognizing the driver's voice and receiving the input or operating the button.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 11 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses. Inoue in view of Hee however still do not teach the automated steering is carried out so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction whereas Hashimoto does.
Hashimoto teaches the automated steering is carried out so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction, and (Hashimoto: Abstract: “A control system for a work vehicle includes a sensor and a controller. The sensor outputs a signal indicating an actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller communicates with the sensor. The controller is programmed so as to execute the following processing. The controller acquires the actual traveling direction of the work vehicle. The controller sets the actual traveling direction as a target traveling direction when a condition that indicates that the work vehicle has started straight travel has been met.”; Paragraph 0021: “The travel of the work vehicle 1 may be in the form of automated travel, semi-automated travel, or travel due to operations by an operator.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have been modified the invention disclosed by Inoue with the teachings of Hashimoto with a reasonable expectation of success. Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 as both claim the same function and therefore rejected under the same pretenses.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see section Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 of the REMARKS, filed 09/11/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 103 prior art rejections of claims 1 – 8 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant states the prior art of Inoue does not teach the amended claim limitations of claim 1: “when the start/stoppage determiner determines that the automated steering should start, the controller identifies a current direction at a time of the determination that the automated steering should start, and carries out the automated steering so that the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction,”. Applicant states Inoue teaches a target steering angle as the sum of an autonomous driving steering angle and a counter steering angle, which differs from the claim limitation as the current direction in which the autonomous control is started is defined as the target direction. Examiner respectfully disagrees. The start/stoppage determiner for example is indefinite in how it is able to determine when the automated steering is to start within the claim limitation. Please see section Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 above for the corresponding rejection. Therefore, the Inoue teaching the ABS system able to create a travel plan and steer the vehicle accordingly is interpreted as the start/stoppage determiner able to determine that automated steering should start. Inoue teaches an example where the vehicle approaching a roadwork section is able to autonomously adjust its travel path, thus determining when to start the automatic steering (Inoue: Paragraphs 0080 – 0082). In regards to the amended claim limitation of “the work machine travels straight forward along the identified current direction as a target direction,”, is now taught in view of Hashimoto. Please see rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIVAM SHARMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665