The present application, filed on or after
March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-3 and 15-31 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species of Compound I in the Example 1, disclosed on pages 13 and 15 of the instant specification (reproduced below),
,
in the reply filed on June 5, 2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the Information Disclosure Statements filed on March 12, 2024,
July 7, 2025 and July 9, 2026. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 22-24 are objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 1, an “and” should be added after the definition of variable “n”;
in claim 2, an “and” should be added after the definition of variable “n”;
in claim 3, an “and” should be added after the definition of variable “n”;
in claim 22, an “and” should be added after the definition of variable “n”;
in claim 23, an “and” should be added after the definition of variable “n”; and
in claim 24, an “and” should be added after the definition of variable “n”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17 and 25 are rejected under
35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 lacks antecedent basis from claim 16 because there is no earlier recitation in claim 16 for the compound Tucatinib as listed in claim 17. Tucatinib has the chemical structure,
. Claim 16 does not state that the instant R3 variable can represent the substituent,
, as found in Tucatinib in instant claim 17. Therefore, claim 17 is indefinite.
Claim 17 lacks antecedent basis from claim 16 because there is no earlier recitation in claim 16 for the last compound listed in instant claim 17. Claim 16 does not state that the instant R3 variable can represent the substituent,
, when n is 2 as found in the last compound listed in instant claim 17. Therefore, claim 17 is indefinite.
Regarding claims 25 and 28, the phrases “preferably” and “further preferably”, all occurrences, renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following these phrases are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 17 fails to further limit claim 16 because claim 17 is broader in scope than claim 16 for two reasons. Firstly, claim 16 does not state that the instant R3 variable can represent the substituent,
, as found in Tucatinib in instant claim 17. Secondly, claim 16 does not state that the instant R3 variable can represent the substituent,
, when n is 2 as found in the last compound listed in instant claim 17.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 15-31 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable:
over claims 1-8 and 11-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,828,305 (see especially the compounds in claim 8); and
over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,578,074 (see especially the compounds claim 22).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the U.S. Patents claim compounds that anticipate instant Chemical formula 1. See, for example, the 4th compound claimed in columns 253-254 in claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10,828,305, which is the same as the Compound on page 7, column 1, row 3 in instant claim 17. Also see the compound in column 215, lines 30-40 in claim 22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,578,074 (which compound in this U.S. Patent is the same as the elected species of Compound I in Example 1 in the instant application). Claims 15-17 in U.S. Patent No. 10,828,305 claims a method for inhibiting ErbB2 receptor tyrosine kinase which is being administered for the treatment of breast cancer or gastric cancer. U.S. Patent No. 11,578,074 discloses that the claimed compounds have high inhibitory activity on ErbB2 tyrosine kinase and have good inhibitory activity on human breast cancer cell and human gastric cancer cell (column 2, lines 8-16). Milgram et al. {US 2023/0364070} disclose that ErbB2 is also known as HER2 {paragraphs [0003] and [0007] on page 1}. Milgram et al. disclose that it is already known in the HER2-associated cancer art that breast cancer, for instance, has been associated with mutations D769H, D769Y, V777L and R896C (see Amino Acid Positions 769, 777 and 896, respectively, in Table 3 on page 260 of Milgram et al.).
The instant application and each of the above cited U.S. Patents share at least one common inventor. Further, the instant application is not related to any of the above cited U.S. Patents and thus, no 35 USC 121 shield exists here. See MPEP §804.01. Therefore, the claims in each of the above cited U.S. Patents anticipate and/or render obvious the instant claimed invention.
Claims 1-3 and 15-31 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 11-20 of copending Application No. 18/839,040 (reference application), US 2025/0163053. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending Application No. 18/839,040 claims crystal form C of Compound 1, which Compound 1 in this copending application is a crystalline form of the elected species of Compound I in Example 1 in the instant application. Copending Application No. 18/839,040 also claims a method for inhibiting ErbB2 receptor tyrosine kinase comprising administering crystal form C of Compound 1 to a subject (claim 14) as well as treating cancer, such as breast cancer (claims 12 and 13). Milgram et al. {US 2023/0364070} disclose that ErbB2 is also known as HER2 {paragraphs [0003] and [0007] on page 1}. Milgram et al. disclose that it is already known in the HER2-associated cancer art that breast cancer, for instance, has been associated with mutations D769H, D769Y, V777L and R896C (see Amino Acid Positions 769, 777 and 896, respectively, in Table 3 on page 260 of Milgram et al.).
The instant application and copending Application No. 18/839,040 share at least one common inventor. Further, the instant application is not related to copending Application No. 18/839,040 and thus, no
35 USC 121 shield exists here. See MPEP §804.01. Therefore, the claims in copending Application No. 18/839,040 anticipate and/or render obvious the instant claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented. However, copending Application No. 18/839,040 has now been allowed but has not yet been patented as of the time of this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 15-31 are rejected under
35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by:
Xia et al. {WO 2019/042409 A1 – a machine generated English translation has been provided with this Office Action} – who disclose that his compounds (such as Example 44 in paragraph [0809] on page 77 of the provided English translation) have high inhibitory activity on ErbB2 tyrosine kinase and have good inhibitory activity on human breast cancer cell and human gastric cancer cell {paragraph [0008] on page 2 of the provided English translation}
[a compound of instant Chemical formula 1,
wherein
R1 = C1 alkyl (i.e., methyl);
R2 =
;
one R3 =
and the
other R3 =
; and
n = 2];
Xia et al. {WO 2017/148391 A1 – a machine generated English translation has been provided with this Office Action} – who disclose a method for inhibiting ErbB2 receptor tyrosine kinase for the treatment of breast cancer or gastric cancer by administering to a subject, for instance, the Compound in paragraph [0187], row 1, column 2, on page 23 of the provided English translation,
[a compound of instant Chemical formula 1,
wherein
R1 = C1 alkyl (i.e., methyl);
R2 =
;
R3 =
; and
n = 1]; and
Li et al. {Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (March 23, 2022), 65(7), 5334-5354} – who disclose, for instance, that compound SPH 5030 showed excellent activities against four frequent kinds of HER2 mutants and significant in vivo antitumor efficacy (see the Abstract on page 5334 and the “Conclusions” on page 5344),
[a compound of instant Chemical formula 1,
wherein
R1 = C1 alkyl (i.e., methyl);
R2 =
;
one R3 =
and the
other R3 =
; and
n = 2].
Example 44 in Xia et al. {WO 2019/042409 A1} and compound SPH 5030 in Li et al. is the same compound as the elected species of the instant application. The compound disclosed in paragraph [0187], row 1, column 2, on page 23 of Xia et al. {WO 2017/148391 A1 is the same compound as found in instant claim 17 on page 7, 3rd row, 1st column. Milgram et al. {US 2023/0364070} disclose that ErbB2 is also known as HER2 {paragraphs [0003] and [0007] on page 1}. Milgram et al. disclose that it is already known in the HER2-associated cancer art that breast cancer, for instance, has been associated with mutations D769H, D769Y, V777L and R896C (see Amino Acid Positions 769, 777 and 896, respectively, in Table 3 on page 260 of Milgram et al.). A compound and its properties are inseparable. In re Papesch, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP §2112.01(I) and (II). Therefore, each of the above cited prior art anticipate the instant claimed invention.
The elected species of Compound I in the Example 1, (disclosed on pages 13 and 15 of the instant specification), is not allowable for the instant claimed methods of use. See, for instance, Example 44 in Xia et al. {WO 2019/042409 A1}.
Reminder to Applicant
As a reminder, Applicant should specifically point out the support in the original disclosure {i.e., page number(s) and line number(s)} for any new claims or amended claims and for any amendments made to the disclosure. Making generic statements such as “all amendments are fully supported in the originally filed disclosure or the originally filed claims” without specifying page numbers and originally filed claim numbers are insufficient. See MPEP §714.02 and MPEP §2163.06(I).
Telephone Inquiry
Laura L. Stockton
(571) 272-0710.
The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:30 am to 6 pm, Eastern Standard Time.
James Alstrum-Acevedo can be reached on 571/272-5548. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/LAURA L STOCKTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626 Work Group 1620
Technology Center 1600
August 3, 2026
Book XXIX, page 57