DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant’s arguments, and amendments filed on March 09, 2026 in which claims 1-3 have been amended. Claims 1-3 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
D1:“3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT; Technical Specification Group
Services and System Aspects; Study on enhanced support of Non-Public Networks (NPN). (Release 17) [online]. 3GPP TR 23.700-07 V17.0.0 (2021-03). Technical Report. [retrieval date 14 June 2022]. 31 March 2021, internet sections 6.2.3, 6.5, 6.6, 6.43.2.3.1” in view of D2: “3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT; Technical Specification Group Core Network and Terminals; Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) functions related to Mobile Station (MS) in idle mode. (Release 17) [online]. 3GPP TS 23.122 V17.2.0 (2021-03). Technical Specification. [retrieval date 15 June 2022], 01 April 2021, internet section 4.9”
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches a User Equipment (UE) comprising: a controller (typical feature UE) wherein the controller is configured to: select a Stand-alone Non-Public Network (SNPN) for an onboarding service to be provisioned with SNPN credentials, based on Default UE credentials (section 6.5 (6.5 Solution #5: UE Onboarding and provisioning for an SNPN), more particularly, the description in section 6.5.1 (6.5.1 Introduction) that "The solution enables UEs to get network connectivity to an O-SNPN ("onboarding SNPN'')"; the O-SNPN operator has access to a Default Credential Server (DCS), which is used to verify that UE is subject to onboarding based on UE identifier and the associated default UE credentials)); and perform a registration procedure for an onboarding service (The description in section 6.5.2.1 (6.5.2.1 Introduction) that "The UE selects the O-SNPN based on information broadcasted by the O-SNPN and registers to it for on boarding service to obtain connectivity to the Provisioning Server." Referring to said descriptions, it is considered that document 1 discloses that the UE selects the O-SNPN (corresponding to "selects an SNPN for onboarding service"), and said UE performs registration to the O-SNPN for the onboarding service (corresponding to "executes a registration procedure for the onboarding service").
D1 is not very clear with respect to the UE selects an SNPN for onboarding service "when operating in Stand-alone Non-Public Network (SNPN) access mode."
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. A person skilled in the art could easily have conceived of the features constituting this difference on the basis of the disclosed matter of document 1, the suggestion indicated below, and the disclosed matter of document 2. In particular, referring to document 1, section 6.43.2.3.1 (6.43.2.3.1 Re-using SNPN Access Mode (preferred)), etc., it is disclosed that the PLMN selection is carried out when the UE is not in SNPN access mode (SNPN Access Mode), and that SNPN selection (SNPN selection) is carried out when said UE is in SNPN access mode. When consideration is given to the disclosed matter in section 6.5 and the disclosed matter in the above-noted section 6.43.2.3.1 of document 1, it is considered to be suggested that the UE selects the O-SNPN when in the SNPN access mode. Also, referring to section 4.9 (4.9 SNPN selection process) of document 2, more particularly, section 4.9.1 (4.9.1 General) where it is stated that "The MS operating in SNPN access mode shall perform the SNPN selection process" and "The MS not operating in SNPN access mode shall not perform the SNPN selection process," it is considered that technical matter is disclosed in which only the MS (Mobile Station) operating in SNPN access (SNPN access mode) mode can perform SNPN selection procedures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique that only the MS operating in SNPN access mode can perform SNPN selection in the UE disclosed in document 2 within the system of D1of D2when consideration is given to the above-noted suggestion and the technical matter that only the MS operating in SNPN access mode can perform SNPN selection in the UE disclosed in document 2 in order to allow the UE to independently select whether or not to perform the SNPN selection process.
Regarding claim 2, D1 in view of D2 teaches all the limitations above. D1 further teaches the UE further comprises a transmission and/or reception unit, wherein the transmission and/or reception unit is configured to transmit, in the registration procedure, a registration request message including information relating to onboarding, the information indicating a requested type of the registration procedure (the description in section 6.6 of document 1 (6.6 Solution #6: Control Plane-Base d UE Onboarding and Provisioning Solution), more particularly, "Then the UE sends ... and Registration Request (Registration type set to "onboarding", Onboarding SUPI, and PEI)" of step 3 in section 6.6.3.2 (6.6.3.2. Initial Access/ Registration)). A person skilled in the art could have easily conceived of the invention of claim 2 based on the disclosure of D1 above.
Regarding claim 3, D1 teaches a communication control method performed by a User Equipment (UE), the communication control method comprising: selecting a Stand-alone Non-Public Network (SNPN) for an onboarding service to be provisioned with SNPN credentials, based on Default UE credentials (section 6.5 (6.5 Solution #5: UE Onboarding and provisioning for an SNPN), more particularly, the description in section 6.5.1 (6.5.1 Introduction) that "The solution enables UEs to get network connectivity to an O-SNPN ("onboarding SNPN'')"; the O-SNPN operator has access to a Default Credential Server (DCS), which is used to verify that UE is subject to onboarding based on UE identifier and the associated default UE credentials)); and performing a registration procedure for an onboarding service (The description in section 6.5.2.1 (6.5.2.1 Introduction) that "The UE selects the O-SNPN based on information broadcasted by the O-SNPN and registers to it for on boarding service to obtain connectivity to the Provisioning Server." Referring to said descriptions, it is considered that document 1 discloses that the UE selects the O-SNPN (corresponding to "selects an SNPN for onboarding service"), and said UE performs registration to the O-SNPN for the onboarding service (corresponding to "executes a registration procedure for the onboarding service").
D1 is not very clear with respect to the UE selects an SNPN for onboarding service "when operating in Stand-alone Non-Public Network (SNPN) access mode."
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. A person skilled in the art could easily have conceived of the features constituting this difference on the basis of the disclosed matter of document 1, the suggestion indicated below, and the disclosed matter of document 2. In particular, referring to document 1, section 6.43.2.3.1 (6.43.2.3.1 Re-using SNPN Access Mode (preferred)), etc., it is disclosed that the PLMN selection is carried out when the UE is not in SNPN access mode (SNPN Access Mode), and that SNPN selection (SNPN selection) is carried out when said UE is in SNPN access mode. When consideration is given to the disclosed matter in section 6.5 and the disclosed matter in the above-noted section 6.43.2.3.1 of document 1, it is considered to be suggested that the UE selects the O-SNPN when in the SNPN access mode.
Also, referring to section 4.9 (4.9 SNPN selection process) of document 2, more particularly, section 4.9.1 (4.9.1 General) where it is stated that "The MS operating in SNPN access mode shall perform the SNPN selection process" , it is considered that technical matter is disclosed in which only the MS (Mobile Station) operating in SNPN access (SNPN access mode) mode can perform SNPN selection procedures. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique that only the MS operating in SNPN access mode can perform SNPN selection in the UE disclosed in document 2 within the system of D1of D2when consideration is given to the above-noted suggestion and the technical matter that only the MS operating in SNPN access mode can perform SNPN selection in the UE disclosed in document 2 in order to allow the UE to independently select whether or not to perform the SNPN selection process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that D1 fails to disclose, teach, or suggest, at least, "the controller is configured to: select a Stand-alone Non-Public Network (SNPN) for an onboarding service, in a case that the UE is operating in an SNPN access mode to be provisioned with SNPN credentials, based on Default UE credentials," as recited in amended claim 1. Additionally, D2 does not teach, disclose, or suggest the emphasized features recited in amended claim 1, nor has D2 been cited in such a capacity, and, therefore, cannot cure the above discussed deficiencies of D1. Therefore, amended independent claim 1 is patentably distinguishable over D1 and D2, either singly or in any combination thereof, for at least the same reasons as presented above. In addition, independent claim 3 recites, at least, features similar to those recited in amended independent claim 1. Therefore, amended independent claim 3 is also patentably distinguishable over D1 and D2, either singly or in any combination thereof, for at least the same reasons as presented above with regards to amended independent claim 1.
However, the Examiner disagrees with the preceding assertion and maintains that the prior arts of record disclose the claims limitations wherein D1 discloses solution for UE onboarding and provisioning for an SNPN (section 6.5). The solution enables UEs to get network connectivity to an O-SNPN ("onboarding SNPN'')"; the O-SNPN operator has access to a Default Credential Server (DCS), which is used to verify that UE is subject to onboarding based on UE identifier and the associated default UE credentials. .. The UE is provisioned with default UE credentials that allows for successful UE authentication (step B1 or D) and a unique UE identifier. If an agreement was in place between the UE and the SNPN, the UE might have been provisioned with some initial default configuration… The UE provides the provisioning server with the unique UE identifier, the default UE credentials, optionally the identity of the selected SO-SNPN, and the priority of the SO-SNPNs. Onboarding SNPN may also assist UE in discovery of Provisioning Server address as defined in clause 6.5.3.2. The provisioning server may discover and connect the DCS using the realm part of the unique UE identity and may authenticate the UE and make a secure connection for provisioning with the UE, based on the default UE credentials out of scope of 3GPP. Furthermore, with respect to the selection, document 1, section 6.43.2.3.1 (6.43.2.3.1 Re-using SNPN Access Mode (preferred)), etc., it is disclosed that the PLMN selection is carried out when the UE is not in SNPN access mode (SNPN Access Mode), and that SNPN selection (SNPN selection) is carried out when said UE is in SNPN access mode. When consideration is given to the disclosed matter in section 6.5 and the disclosed matter in the above-noted section 6.43.2.3.1 of document 1, it is considered to be suggested that the UE selects the O-SNPN when in the SNPN access mode. Therefore, the claims are rejected for reasons recited above and the rejections are final.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kolekar et al. (US 2022/0330022) (us-provisional-application US 63135436 filed on 01/08/2021) teaches Onboarding of UEs for SNPNs is specified in clause 5.30.2.10 of TS 23.501. Onboarding of UEs for SNPNs allows the UE to access an Onboarding Network (ONN) based on Default UE credentials for the purpose of provisioning the UE with SNPN credentials and any other necessary information ([0074]-[0077] , [0202]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643