DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 has been obviated by the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained for the reasons of record.
Applicant has amended the claims to specify at least two “free” amino acids of leucine, isoleucine and valine are supplied. Applicant's arguments filed 2/5/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim(s) 11, 14 & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 6806686 (Asashi) & Ledesma et al (J Applied Bacteriology).
Asashi discloses a proliferation agent for beneficial intestinal bacteria, comprising branched chain amino acids selected from valine, leucine, isoleucine and the like, wherein the beneficial intestinal bacteria can be lactic acid bacteria [0050]-[0056].
Asashi also indicates that the proliferation agent can be used as a functional food, a dietary supplement, or an additive for animal feed [0087]; that that the balance of the intestinal flora of a subject can be maintained through the increase or proliferation of lactic acid bacteria, which are beneficial bacteria, in the intestine and discloses the feature of being usable as a functional food, a dietary supplement, or an additive for animal feed [0087] [0098]. Asashi also teaches that the lactic acid bacteria are Lactobacillus sp., such as Lactobacillus casei,Lactobacillus plantarum, and Lactobacillus paracasei [0066-7].
Asashi does not explicitly teach using at least two branched chain amino acids selected from the group consisting of leucine, isoleucine and valine. However it would have been obvious at the time the invention was field to use leucine, isoleucine and valine together as they are known to be beneficial separately. It is a well established proposition of patent law that no patentable invention resides in combining old ingredients of known characteristics where the results obtained thereby are no more than the additive effect of the ingredients. See In re Sussman, 1943 C.D. 518; In re Huellmantel 139 USPQ 496; In re Crockett et al, 1266 USPQ 186.
Asashi does not teach that the amino acids are free amino acids but it was old and well known in the art at the time the invention was made that valine, leucine, isoleucine are amino acids that promote the growth of lactic acid bacteria as shown by Ledesma. Therefor even though Asashi complexes their amino acids, it would have been obvious to supply the same amino acids in their free from. It would have been obvious to administer any known beneficial nutrients to a patient to enhance the growth of probiotic microorganisms.
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was made especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657