DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to claims filed on 10/1/2023.
Claim 14 has been cancelled.
Claims 1-13 and 15-21 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “… based on measurement type …” should be read as “… based on a measurement type …”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6; claim 6 recites limitations "… response to the measurement type …" in line 2 and “the intra-frequency cell measurement, the low priority inter-frequency cell measurement or the middle priority inter-frequency cell measurements” in lines 2-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 7; claim 7 recites limitations "… the measurement type …” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 8; claim 8 recites limitations "… from the first relaxation mode in …" in line 7 and “… to the second relaxation mode in …” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-6, 12 and 15-16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thangarasa et al. (US 2022/0394532 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15-16; Thangarasa discloses a method for measurement relaxation, performed by a terminal (a UE performs a relaxed measurement; see Fig. 7), comprising: performing a relaxed-measurement operation based on a relaxation sequence in response to the terminal in a predetermined state performing a relaxed measurement (the UE determines whether the UE meets one or more criteria for entering into a relaxed measurement mode (e.g. RM1, RM2 etc.); RM1 and RM2 are associated with semi-stationary UEs; the UE may switch from RM2 to RM3 as shown in Fig. 8; see paragraphs [0127], [0134] and Fig. 7, Fig. 8);
wherein the relaxation sequence indicates at least two candidate relaxation modes, and the candidate relaxation modes correspond to different relaxed-measurement parameters (the relaxation modes of different orders are called RM1, RM2, RM3 etc.; RM1 is less relaxed than RM2, RM2 is less relaxed than RM3; a relaxed measurement mode is a measurement mode in which one or more parameters of the normal measurement mode can be relaxed; see paragraphs [0093], [0127] – [0130] and Fig. 8).
Specifically for claim 15; Thangarasa discloses a communication device (a wireless communication device; see paragraph [0179] and Fig. 14), comprising: an antenna (antenna 1412; see paragraph [0179] and Fig. 14); a memory (memory 1404; see paragraph [0179] and Fig. 14); a processor, connected to the antenna and the memory respectively (processor 1402 connected to transceivers and memory; see paragraph [0179] and Fig. 14), configured to control transmission and reception of the antenna by executing a computer-executable instruction stored on the memory (a computer program including instructions; see paragraph [0180] and Fig. 14).
Specifically for claim 16; Thangarasa discloses a non- transitory computer readable storage medium having computer-executable instructions stored thereon that, when the computer-executable instructions are executed by a processor (a computer program including instructions which, when executed by at least one processor; see paragraph [0180] and Fig. 14).
Regarding claims 3 and 18; Thangarasa discloses wherein the relaxation sequence indicates at least N different candidate relaxation modes, N being an integer equal to or greater than 2, and looseness of relaxed measurements performed based on the N candidate relaxation modes are different (the relaxation modes of different orders are called RM1, RM2, RM3 etc.; RM1 is less relaxed than RM2; RM2 is less relaxed than RM3; see paragraphs [0127] – [0130]).
Regarding claims 4 and 19; Thangarasa discloses wherein the relaxation sequence is determined based on measurement type of a cell measurement (the relaxed cell monitoring criterion comprises numerous conditions to decide when then the UE can choose not to perform intra-frequency or inter-frequency measurements; see paragraph [0096]).
Regarding claims 5 and 20; Thangurasa discloses wherein the measurement type comprises one or more of: an intra-frequency cell measurement (the relaxed cell monitoring criterion comprises numerous conditions to decide when then the UE can choose not to perform intra-frequency or inter-frequency measurements; see paragraph [0096]), a low priority inter-frequency cell measurement, a middle priority inter-frequency cell measurement, and a high priority inter-frequency cell measurement (no patentable weight is given to other claim limitations due to the claim language one or more of).
Regarding claim 6; Thangurasa discloses wherein, in response to the measurement type being at least one of the intra-frequency cell measurement (the relaxed cell monitoring criterion comprises numerous conditions to decide when then the UE can choose not to perform intra-frequency or inter-frequency measurements; see paragraph [0096]), the low priority inter-frequency cell measurement or the middle priority inter-frequency cell measurement (no patentable weight is given due to a claim language at least one of),
the candidate relaxation modes comprise one or more of:
a first relaxation mode, configured to indicate relaxing a measurement period to N1 times of a time measurement interval, where N1 is a positive integer greater than 1 (no patentable weight is given due to a claim language one or more of);
a second relaxation mode, configured to indicate stopping the measurement for N2 hours, where N2 is a positive integer number (no patentable weight is given due to a claim language one or more of);
a fourth relaxation mode, configured to indicate stopping the measurement for N3 hours, where N3 is a positive integer greater than N2 (no patentable weight is given due to a claim language one or more of);
a fifth relaxation mode, configured to indicate relaxing the measurement period to N4 times of the time measurement interval, where N4 is a positive integer greater than N1 (no patentable weight is given due to a claim language one or more of);
and a sixth relaxation mode, configured to indicate stopping the measurement (the relaxed cell monitoring criterion comprises numerous conditions to decide when then the UE can choose not to perform intra-frequency or inter-frequency measurements; see paragraph [0096]).
Regarding claim 12; Thangurasa discloses determining, according to a configuration result of a predetermined information field, whether to allow performing the relaxed measurement based on the relaxation sequence (a UE obtains information for determining whether the UE meets one or more criteria for entering into a relaxed measurement mode or not; the relaxation modes have different orders; see paragraph [0127] – [0130] and Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangurasa; in view of Thangurasa2 et al. (US 2023/0102370 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 17; Thangarasa discloses a UE performs a relaxed measurement when a UE is in a semi-stationary state or a stationary state.
Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose the relaxed measurement is performed when a moving speed is less than a speed threshold.
Thangarasa2 discloses performing the relaxed-measurement operation based on the relaxation sequence in response to the terminal with a moving speed less than a speed threshold performing the relaxed measurement; or, performing the relaxed-measurement operation based on the relaxation sequence in response to the terminal in a stationary state performing the relaxed measurement (in OS#1 (low mobility) mode, the UE may be stationary or moving with a speed below certain threshold; a measurement relaxation factor K1 is used for adapting the measurement procedure when the UE is operating in OS #1; see paragraphs [0055], [0058] and [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangurasa and Thangurasa2 to perform the relaxed measurement when the UE is stationary or its moving speed is less than a speed threshold to meet different measurement accuracy level (see paragraph [0025] of Thangurasa2).
Regarding claim 7; Thangurasa discloses a UE performs a relaxed measurement operation based on a relaxation sequence.
Thangurasa does not explicitly disclose when a measurement type is a high priority inter-frequency cell measurement, the measurement period is a1 seconds.
Thangurasa2 discloses wherein, in response to the measurement type being a high priority inter-frequency cell measurement (a UE performs measurement on its serving cell and one or more neighbor cells with higher priority carriers; see paragraph [0076]),
the candidate relaxation modes comprise one or more of:
a first relaxation mode, configured to indicate relaxing a measurement period to N1 times of a time measurement interval, where N1 is a positive integer greater than 1 (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language one or more of);
a second relaxation mode, configured to indicate stopping a measurement for N2 hours, where N2 is a positive integer (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language one or more of);
a third relaxation mode, configured to indicate relaxing the measurement period to a measurement interval of a1 seconds, where a1 is a positive integer (carriers of higher priority are required to be search by the UE periodically but with very long periodicity e.g., once every 60 seconds; see paragraph [0076]);
a fourth relaxation mode, configured to indicate stopping the measurement for N3 hours, where N3 is a positive integer greater than N2 (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language one or more of);
a fifth relaxation mode, configured to indicate relaxing the measurement period to N4 times of the time measurement interval, where N4 is a positive integer greater than N1 (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language one or more of);
a sixth relaxation mode, configured to indicate stopping the measurement (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language one or more of);
and a seventh relaxation mode, configured to indicate relaxing the measurement period to a measurement interval of a2 seconds, where a2 is greater than a1 (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language one or more of).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangurasa and Thangurasa2 to configure a measurement period in seconds when the measurement type being a high priority inter-frequency cell measurement to improve UE power consumption (see paragraph [0048]).
Claims 8-9 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangurasa; in view of Thangurasa2; and in further view of Cui et al. (US 2022/0303905 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 21; Thangarasa discloses a UE performs a relaxed measurement when a UE is in a semi-stationary state or a stationary state.
Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose the relaxed measurement is performed when a moving speed is less than a speed threshold.
Thangarasa2 discloses wherein the predetermined state comprises a stationary or a moving state with a moving speed less than a speed threshold (in OS#1 (low mobility) mode, the UE may be stationary or moving with a speed below certain threshold; a measurement relaxation factor K1 is used for adapting the measurement procedure when the UE is operating in OS #1; see paragraphs [0055], [0058] and [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangurasa and Thangurasa2 to perform the relaxed measurement when the UE is stationary or its moving speed is less than a speed threshold to meet different measurement accuracy level (see paragraph [0025] of Thangurasa2).
Thangurasa discloses a UE performs a relaxed measurement operation based on a relaxation sequence.
The combination of Thangurasa and Thangurasa2 does not explicitly disclose switching to a more relaxed measurement mode when the measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge is met.
Cui discloses wherein the terminal is a non-cell-center terminal (a terminal may be a non-cell center terminal; see paragraph [0056]), and performing the relaxed-measurement operation based on the relaxation sequence in response to the terminal in the predetermined state performing the relaxed measurement (when the UE is in low mobility state, the UE may perform RRM measurements with longer intervals; see paragraph [0029]).
performing the relaxed-measurement operation comprises at least one of:
in response to a measurement relaxation criterion of low mobility and a measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge configured by a network being satisfied and the terminal being in the predetermined state, switching from the first relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to the second relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to perform the relaxed measurement (no patentable with is given due to the claim language at least one of);
in response to one of the measurement relaxation criterion of low mobility or the measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge configured by the network being satisfied and the terminal being in the predetermined state, switching from the first relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to the second relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to perform the relaxed measurement (no patentable with is given due to the claim language at least one of);
in response to the measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge configured by the network being satisfied and the terminal being in the predetermined state, switching from the first relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to the second relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to perform the relaxed measurement (when the UE is in low mobility state, the UE may perform RRM measurements with longer intervals; when switching from a second scenario (low mobility) to a third scenario (low mobility and not at a cell edge), the UE may suspend a subset of the RRM measurement; see paragraphs [0029] and [0032]);
or,
in response to the measurement relaxation criterion of low mobility configured by the network being satisfied and the terminal being in the predetermined state, switching from the first relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to the second relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to perform the relaxed measurement (no patentable with is given due to the claim language at least one of);
looseness of the relaxed measurement performed based on the second relaxation mode is greater than looseness of the relaxed measurement performed based on the first relaxation mode (when the UE is in the low mobility scenario, the RRM measurements are relaxed but none are suspended; when the UE in the low mobility and not-at-cell-edge scenario, some RRM measurements are suspended; therefore, it has a more relaxed configuration than the low mobility only scenario; see paragraphs [0029] and [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangurasa, Thangurasa2 and Cui to switch to a more relaxed measurements when the measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge is met to achieve more power saving in RRM measurements (see Abstract of Cui).
Regarding claim 9; Thangarasa discloses a UE performs a relaxed measurement when a UE is in a semi-stationary state or a stationary state.
Thangarasa does not explicitly disclose the relaxed measurement is performed when a moving speed is less than a speed threshold.
Thangarasa2 discloses wherein the predetermined state comprises a stationary or a moving state with a moving speed less than a speed threshold (in OS#1 (low mobility) mode, the UE may be stationary or moving with a speed below certain threshold; a measurement relaxation factor K1 is used for adapting the measurement procedure when the UE is operating in OS #1; see paragraphs [0055], [0058] and [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangurasa and Thangurasa2 to perform the relaxed measurement when the UE is stationary or its moving speed is less than a speed threshold to meet different measurement accuracy level (see paragraph [0025] of Thangurasa2).
Thangurasa discloses a UE performs a relaxed measurement operation based on a relaxation sequence.
The combination of Thangurasa and Thangurasa2 does not explicitly disclose switching to a more relaxed measurement mode when the measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge is met.
Cui discloses wherein the terminal is a cell-center terminal (a terminal may be at cell of a cell; see paragraph [0004]), and performing the relaxed-measurement operation based on the relaxation sequence in response to the terminal in the predetermined state performing the relaxed measurement (when the UE is in low mobility state, the UE may perform RRM measurements with longer intervals; see paragraph [0029]).
performing the relaxed-measurement operation comprises at least one of:
in response to a measurement relaxation criterion of low mobility and a measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge configured by a network being satisfied and the terminal being in the predetermined state, switching from the first relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to the second relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to perform the relaxed measurement (no patentable with is given due to the claim language at least one of);
in response to one of the measurement relaxation criterion of low mobility or the measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge configured by the network being satisfied and the terminal being in the predetermined state, switching from the first relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to the second relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to perform the relaxed measurement (no patentable with is given due to the claim language at least one of);
in response to the measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge configured by the network being satisfied and a determination result indicating that the terminal is being in the predetermined state, switching from the first relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to the second relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to perform the relaxed measurement (when the UE is in low mobility state, the UE may perform RRM measurements with longer intervals; when switching from a second scenario (low mobility) to a third scenario (low mobility and not at a cell edge), the UE may suspend a subset of the RRM measurement; see paragraphs [0029] and [0032]);
or,
in response to the measurement relaxation criterion of low mobility configured by the network being satisfied and the determination result indicating that the terminal is being in the predetermined state, switching from the first relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to the second relaxation mode in the candidate relaxation modes to perform the relaxed measurement (no patentable with is given due to the claim language at least one of);
looseness of the relaxed measurement performed based on the second relaxation mode is greater than looseness of the relaxed measurement performed based on the first relaxation mode (when the UE is in the low mobility scenario, the RRM measurements are relaxed but none are suspended; when the UE in the low mobility and not-at-cell-edge scenario, some RRM measurements are suspended; therefore, it has a more relaxed configuration than the low mobility only scenario; see paragraphs [0029] and [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangurasa, Thangurasa2 and Cui to switch to a more relaxed measurements when the measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge is met to achieve more power saving in RRM measurements (see Abstract of Cui).
Claims 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thangurasa; in view of He (US 2021/0352507 A1).
Regarding claim 10; Thangurasa discloses a UE performs a relaxed measurement operation based on a relaxation sequence.
Thangurasa does not explicitly disclose performing the relaxed measurement based on a relaxation mode of stopping the measurement.
He discloses determining, according to a configuration result of a predetermined information field, whether to allow performing the relaxed measurement based on a relaxation mode of stopping the measurement (the RRM measurement relaxation criteria include a second indication to stop the RRM measurements for the stationary UE; see paragraph [0113]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangurasa and He to perform the relaxed measurement based on a relaxation mode of stopping the measurement to improve the efficient allocation of resources for a UE (see paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 11; Thangurasa discloses a UE performs a relaxed measurement operation based on a relaxation sequence.
Thangurasa does not explicitly disclose the predetermined information field indicates whether a non-cell-center terminal performing an intra-frequency measurement.
He discloses wherein the predetermined information field comprises one or more of:
a first predetermined information field, configured to indicate whether a non-cell-center terminal performing at least one of an intra-frequency measurement (the RRM measurement relaxation criteria include a second indication to stop the RRM measurements for the stationary UE; if the UE is in an RRC idle state, the UE may skip the one or more RRM measurement (e.g., intra-frequency measurement) independent of a location of the UE within the cell; see paragraphs [0073], [0077], [0113] and Fig. 5), a low priority inter- frequency cell measurement or a middle priority inter-frequency measurement is allowed to use a relaxation mode of stopping the measurement to perform the relaxed measurement (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language at least one of);
a second predetermined information field, configured to indicate whether a non-cell-center terminal performing a high priority inter-frequency cell measurement is allowed to use the relaxation mode of stopping the measurement to perform the relaxed measurement (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language one or more of);
and a third predetermined information field, configured to indicate whether a cell-center terminal performing a high priority inter-frequency cell measurement is allowed to use the relaxation mode of stopping the measurement to perform the relaxed measurement (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language one or more of).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangurasa and He to configure the predetermined information field indicating whether a non-cell-center terminal performing an intra-frequency measurement to improve the efficient allocation of resources for a UE (see paragraph [0007]).
Regarding claim 13; Thangurasa discloses a UE performs a relaxed measurement operation based on a relaxation sequence.
Thangurasa does not explicitly disclose configuring whether the terminal is allowed to perform the relaxed measurement in response to a network configuration.
He discloses wherein the predetermined information field comprises one or more of:
a fourth predetermined information field, configured to indicate whether the terminal is allowed to perform the relaxed measurement based on the relaxation sequence in response to a network configuring a measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge and a non- cell-edge terminal performing at least one of an intra-frequency cell measurement (when the RRM relaxation criteria for a stationary UE is met, if the UE is in an RRC idle or inactive state, the UE may skip the one or more RRM measurement independent of a location of the UE within a cell; skipping one or more RRM measurement includes an intra-frequency measurement; see paragraphs [0077], [0113] and Fig. 5) or a low priority inter-frequency cell measurement being in the predetermined state (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language or);
a fifth predetermined information field, configured to indicate whether the terminal is allowed to perform the relaxed measurement based on the relaxation sequence in response to the network configuring a measurement relaxation criterion of low mobility and a cell-center terminal performing a high priority inter-frequency cell measurement satisfying the low mobility (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language one or more of);
a sixth predetermined information field, configured to indicate whether the terminal is allowed to perform the relaxed measurement based on the relaxation sequence in response to the network configuring the measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge and the cell-center terminal performing the high priority inter-frequency cell measurement being in the predetermined state (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language one or more of);
and a seventh predetermined information field, configured to indicate whether the terminal is allowed to perform the relaxed measurement based on the relaxation sequence in response to the network configuring a measurement relaxation criterion of not located at a cell edge and a non- cell-edge terminal performing a high priority inter-frequency cell measurement being in the predetermined state (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language one or more of);
wherein the predetermined state comprises a stationary state (determining whether the UE meets RRM measurement relaxation criteria for a stationary UE; see paragraph [0073] and Fig. 5) or a moving state with a moving speed less than a speed threshold (no patentable weight is given due to the claim language or).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Thangurasa and He to configure whether the terminal is allowed to perform the relaxed measurement in response to a network configuration to improve the efficient allocation of resources for a UE (see paragraph [0007]).
Conclusion
/N.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/MANSOUR OVEISSI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415