Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/9/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 3/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 13 is a dependent of claim 12 wherein the instant claim 12 contains the phrase: “the tobacco medium portion comprises a plurality of segments”; the instant claim 13 contains the phrase: “wherein at least one of the plurality of segments comprises a tobacco medium”. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 (a dependent of claim 12 which depends on claim 1) contains the phrase: “a tobacco medium”. It’s not clear if “a tobacco medium” in the instant claim 13 is different from “tobacco medium” of claim 12 and claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Minzoni (US Pub. No. 2019021392).
Regarding claim 1, Minzoni discloses an aerosol-generating article comprising:
a tobacco medium portion (20, fig. 1);
a filter portion (50, fig. 1) disposed to be spaced apart from the tobacco medium portion; and
a tubular cooling portion (40, fig. 1) disposed between the tobacco medium portion and the filter portion, wherein the tubular cooling portion comprises a body with a cooling material [0065-0067].
Regarding claim 2, Minzoni discloses the cooling material comprises activated carbon [0065].
Regarding claim 11, Minzoni discloses the tubular cooling portion comprises a cellulose acetate tow [0065] [0073].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minzoni (US Pub. No. 2019021392).
Regarding claim 4, Minzoni discloses the activated carbon has a surface area in a range [0051] overlapping with the claimed range of 600 to 3,000 m2/g; in case of overlapping ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pick the claimed range.
Regarding claims 5-6, Minzoni suggests the cooling material is disposed in the tubular cooling portion along a longitudinal direction of the tubular cooling portion by incorporating the particles during manufacture of the filaments [0073-0074]. Since there are a finite number of solutions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the cooling material uniformly disposed or non-uniformly disposed (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claim 7, similar to the discussion above, there is a binary choice for the concentration of the cooling material between the inlet side and the outlet side of the tubular cooling portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a concentration of the cooling material in the tubular cooling portion at an inlet side of the tubular cooling portion adjacent to the tobacco medium portion is greater than at an outlet side of the tubular cooling portion adjacent to the filter portion (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claim 8, similar to the discussion above, there is a binary choice for the concentration of the cooling material between the inlet side and the outlet side of the tubular cooling portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a concentration of the cooling material in the tubular cooling portion at an inlet side of the tubular cooling portion adjacent to the tobacco medium portion is less than at an outlet side of the tubular cooling portion adjacent to the filter portion (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claim 9, similar to the discussion above, there is a binary choice for the concentration of the cooling material between a central region of the tubular cooling portion and an opposite end regions of the tubular cooling portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a concentration of the cooling material at a central region of the tubular cooling portion is greater than at opposite end regions of the tubular cooling portion (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claim 10, similar to the discussion above, there is a binary choice for the concentration of the cooling material between a central region of the tubular cooling portion and an opposite end regions of the tubular cooling portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a concentration of the cooling material at a central region of the tubular cooling portion is less than at opposite end regions of the tubular cooling portion (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minzoni (US Pub. No. 2019021392) in view of Carpenter et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20110271968).
Regarding claim 3, Minzoni does not expressly disclose the mesh size of the activated carbon. Carpenter discloses particle sizes can be about 30 mesh to 200 mesh ([0003] and [0042]) overlapping with the claimed range of 20 to 100 mesh. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use activated carbon with the particle size taught by Carpenter for its adsorbent property in the device of Minzoni; in case of overlapping ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pick the claimed range.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Minzoni (US Pub. No. 2019021392) in view of Li et al. (CN 208540741).
Regarding claims 12-13, Minzoni does not expressly disclose the tobacco medium portion comprises a plurality of segments of tobacco medium. Li discloses an aerosol generating article comprises a tobacco medium portion wherein the tobacco medium portion comprises a plurality of segments of tobacco medium for preferred heating schemes (112, 114 of figs. 2-8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the tim the invention was made to make the tobacco medium portion of Minzoni with plurality of segments of tobacco medium as taught by Li.
Conclusion
/PHU H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747