DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election of Group I, claims 1-13 was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 5, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1 and a2) as anticipated by Mauro (USPub2010242375) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mauro (USPub2010242375) in view of USPub20130216775.
Regarding claim 1: Mauro teaches the following laminated glass article wherein the cladding and core are fused (abstract) and the cladding has a porous region at the surface (see Figure 3, 0044 and entire disclosure regarding phase separating the glass cladding into first and second phases and then etching the cladding to remove the second phase making the cladding porous).
While Mauro may not disclose the transmittance and reflectance properties as required by claims 1-6, average pore size and porosity as required by claims 7-9, the thickness of the porous region as required by claims 10-12 or a roughness as recited in claim 13, the Examiner notes the following.
Initially, Applicants disclosed cladding and core are of compositions (see published specification 0078-0086, 0099-0104 and Examples) which are substantially similar to that disclosed by Mauro (see 0028-0037, 0055 and Examples).
Applicants disclose their article being made by first heat treating the article at temperatures of 500-1100C for a duration of 1min to 24hours to phase separate the cladding glass into first and second phases (published specification par 0054-0055, Example, Applicants claims 14-16) and Mauro similarly heat treats their article to phase separate their cladding glass into first and second phases at temperatures and durations falling within Applicants’ disclosed ranges (see 0063-0064 and 0071).
Applicants disclose that their article is then etched in an etchant solution for a duration of 60-120seconds to remove the second phase and create the porous region wherein the etchant solution includes 0.5-10vol% of an acid such as HF, etc. (see published specification 0057-0062, Example, Applicants’ claims 17-18). Mauro similarly discloses their article being then etched in an etchant solution to remove the second phase and create the porous region wherein the etchant solution includes an acid such as HF, etc. (0067), the etchant solution can include a content of acid falling within the range disclosed by Applicants and a duration of etching also falling within the range disclosed by Applicants (see Mauro’s Example).
As shown above, Applicants’ article and method appears to be substantially similar to that of Mauro.
While the Office does acknowledge that Applicants additionally appear to disclose in their specification that after the etching treatment, the “article may, according to embodiments, be submerged in a room temperature water bath for a time period that is greater than or equal to 5 seconds and less than or equal to 300 seconds” (see published par 0062) which is not explicitly disclosed in Mauro, note that the “may, according to embodiments” language does not appear to make it a requirement to arrive at the claimed properties. As such, on its face, even though Mauro may not mention a last water treatment step, given that Mauro teaches the claimed article and their method appears to meet all the required steps of Applicants’ method, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties and features to result (MPEP 2112).
Alternatively, in the instance Applicants show that their disclosed water treatment would be required to meet the property and features claimed, the following is noted.
Initially, Mauro does not exclude such a treatment but Mauro is related to phase separation glass wherein the glass is heated to phase separate and then acid etched to remove a phase and create porosity in the glass.
As ‘775, who similarly teaches phase separation glass wherein the glass is heated to phase separate and then acid etched to remove a phase and create porosity in the glass, discloses that it is desirable to water treat after acid etching by submerging in room temperature to 100oC water for a duration of 1-50hours in order to suppress residing components from attaching to the porous glass skeletons, and consequently, a porous glass having a higher porosity can be provided (0100, 0101), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of invention to modify Mauro to include a water treatment step after their acid etching by submerging in room temperature to 100oC water for a duration of 1-50hours in order to suppress residing components from attaching to their porous glass skeletons, and thereby create higher porosity if desired.
As Mauro teaches the claimed article and their method meet all required steps of Applicants’ method, one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude the same properties and features to result (MPEP 2112).
Conclusion
LAUREN ROBINSON COLGAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/LAUREN R COLGAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784