DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on July 8, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 14-20 were added by Applicant. Claims 1-20 are pending with claims 11-20 withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102012007384A1 (“Hornburg”; citations taken from Applicant-provided machine translation).
Regarding claims 1-8 and 10, Hornburg teaches a fuel cell typically consists of a large number of individual PEM cells, which are stacked in the fuel cell to form a so-called fuel cell stack ([0003]). The fuel cell stack has an anode compartment and a cathode compartment. Air or a medium containing oxygen is typically supplied to the cathode compartment, and hydrogen or a medium containing hydrogen is supplied to the anode compartment. An anode circuit for a fuel cell includes a recirculation line which connects an output of the anode space of the fuel cell to the input of the anode space of the fuel cell, and which typically has a recirculation conveying device. An excess of fuel can be used through the anode circuit, since unused exhaust gas is transported from the anode space of the fuel cell back into the anode space of the fuel cell via the recirculation conveying device. It is then typically mixed with fresh fuel and fed to the anode compartment of the fuel cell ([0003]).
Hornburg teaches that in the anode circuit according to the invention it is provided that a valve device for shutting off a flow through the recirculation line is arranged in the recirculation line ([0008]). Regardless of how the recirculation conveying device is constructed, such a valve device can prevent recirculation extremely easily and efficiently by shutting off the recirculation line in certain operating situations ([0008]). The valve can be designed as a shut-off valve or flap ([0009]). The valve device is designed to be integrated into the recirculation conveying device ([0010]), and such a valve device can be placed very easily in the already existing connection area for the recirculation conveying device ([0010]).
Hornburg also teaches the valve device can be designed as a solenoid valve (reads on claim 3), as indicated in Fig. 1, or as a simple actively operable flap or the like ([0023]).
As to claims 2 and 7, Hornburg does not teach slide valves or seat valves. However, slide valves and seat valves are well known in the art to control the flow of fluids (liquids, gases, or steam).
As to claim 4, Hornburg depicts in Fig. 3 a double-sided arrow representing two-way movement which would be provided by a restoring mechanism.
As to claim 5, valves are known in the art to control flow of fluid from no flow to full flow/leakage.
As to claim 6, Hornburg teaches solenoid valves, as discussed above, which can be designed to be pressure compensated (their output flow can be proportional to the control signal even when upstream pressure changes).
As to claim 8, controlling flow / metering with a valve are well known in the art, as discussed above. Hornburg teaches the valve device is designed to be integrated into the recirculation conveying device ([0010]), and such a valve device can be placed very easily in the already existing connection area for the recirculation conveying device ([0010]).
As to claim 10, metal and plastic are well known in the art as materials useful for making valves.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hornburg as applied above, and further in view of Poux et al. (“Poux”, US 2021/0108656).
Regarding claim 9, Hornburg does not teach pneumatic end position damping. However, Poux teaches using an end stop damping device (abstract) provides advantages such as wear reduction and noise reduction ([0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use end position damping to reduce wear and noise, as taught by Poux.
Conclusion
DANIEL H. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/DANIEL H LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746