DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 6/8/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/8/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Onikubo et al. (JP 2020086074 A, “Onikubo”).
Regarding claim 1, Onikubo teaches a composition comprising a monomer corresponding to claimed Formula (I) (e.g., phenoxyethylacrylate or isostearyl acrylate, p. 6, 16; see also present specification, citing to PG Pub. 2024/0182782, at [0037]), a photoinitiator (e.g., p. 7, Irgacure), may include a sensitizer (e.g., 2,4, diethylthioxanthone, p. 7), and quantum dots (e.g., p. 11).
Regarding claims 2-4, Onikuba additionally teaches, for example, a monomer that may be isostearyl acrylate (see, e.g., p. 6; see also isostearyl acrylate described in claim 4) and thus may read on at least one of the formulas of each of claims 2-4.
Regarding claim 5, Onikuba additionally teaches that the polymerizable monomer may be a diacrylate, for example, neopentyl glycol diacrylate, that would have a structure reading on those claimed (p. 6; neopentyl glycol diacrylate reproduced below).
Regarding claim 8, Onikuba additionally teaches that various quantum dot compositions may be used, including combinations of InP and ZnS or CdSe/ZnS (see p. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onikubo as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Smetana (US 2014/0243452, “Smetana”)
Regarding claim 6, Onikuba teaches generally the inclusion of sensitizing compounds (pp. 7-9) but fails to specifically teach the sensitizing compounds claimed. However, in the same field of endeavor of compounds for use in quantum dot dispersion, coatings, and cured articles ([0003] – [0005]), Smetena teaches to include various sensitizing compounds, including cyanine and merocyanine, may improve transfer of energy to the photoinitiators used in the composition (Smetena, [0084], [0085]) and therefore the substitution of the compounds described by Smetena for those of Onikuba would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. Additionally, the simple substitution of one known element or component for another that would have provided predictable results (in this case, effectively providing a sensitizing function for the composition of Onikuba) would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing. MPEP. 2143.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onikubo as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Nishiura (US 2019/0315981, “Nishiura”).
Regarding claim 7, while Onikuba teaches to include various photo initiators (p. 7), Onikuba fails to specifically teach the claimed photoinitiators. In the same field of endeavor of curable resin compositions ([0002] – [0010], including, e.g., acrylic compounds), Nishiura teaches that it is known to use N3B or P3B as initiators and that these are acceptable compounds to initiate polymerization and provide excellent sensitivity to light (e.g., [0094], [0095]) and it therefore would have been obvious to have substituted the initiators of Nishiura for those of Onikuba (Nishiura, [0094]). Additionally, the simple substitution of one known element or component for another that would have provided predictable results (in this case, effective initiation of polymerization of the composition of Onikuba) would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of filing. MPEP. 2143.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onikubo as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 2021/0024819, “Kang”).
Regarding claim 9, Onikuba teaches generally the inclusion of ligand structures on the outside of the quantum dots (pp. 3-4) but fails to teach the claimed ligand structures. In the same field of endeavor of quantum dot compositions ([0003] – [0010]), Kang teaches to surface modify a quantum dot with a ligand in order to more easily apply it to photocurable compositions ([0040]) and teaches a ligand structure that reads on that claimed (see [0014], [0043], wherein the R1 group may be an ester or carbonyl group thus reading on the claimed structure). It therefore would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have adopted the ligand surface modifications taught by Kang for the quantum dots of Onikuba so as to more easily apply the quantum dots to the polymerizable composition of Onikuba (see Kang, [0040], [0050]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
Park et al. US 2017/005244 discloses a photosensitive polymeric composition for use in a quantum dot polymer composite.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY J FROST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782