Detail Action
This office action is a response to an amendment submitted on 03/03/2026.
Claims 1- 20 are pending for examination.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/27/2023. These drawings are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 12, 14 and 16-20 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
The objection to title has been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amended title.
Applicant's arguments filed on 03/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are summarized a following;
Applicant argued that “Tsai discloses “a threshold”, … however, Tsai is silent as to whether the “report of UE-specific TA/UE information” ever indicate the threshold” ; and the combined Tsai in view of Kunt does not teaches “receiving, from an access network node during a connection setup procedure, information identifying a threshold associated with a respective timing advance value for communication with the access network node via the non-terrestrial network; and determining whether to transmit a timing advance report to the network node based on a timing advance value used for the communication and the threshold”; and regarding claims 8, 14, 18, and 20; prior arts do not teach “information for predicting a timing advance value”.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the current above arguments.
In response to applicant's argument that Tsai is silent on threshold and not teaching “receiving... during a connection setup procedure”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, Tsai teaches the claimed threshold associated with timing advance in a non-terrestrial network. With respect to the limitation reciting “receiving from an access network during connection setup procedure, information identifying a threshold associated with a respective timing advance value for communication, “ Tsai teaches that the UE receives satellite location information [Fig. 12] which may implement to calculate the threshold based on value of TA [par. 217] and indication associated with timing advance/ TA value, the indication comprising a value [Par. 139; 189, 216- 221] , calculates propagation delay based on received TA values, compares the delay to a threshold, and trigger TA report when the threshold condition is met [Figs. 11- 15]. The disclosure implies the access node transmit to the UE to have threshold criteria associated with the timing advance/ delay determination, and the claim only requires information identifying a threshold associated with a timing advance value, not a report explicitly containing threshold text. The claim does not require the exact terminology used by applicant, only the functional relationships recited. Therefore, the cited reference render obvious the disputed limitations.
Further, applicant claims that “Tsai does not teach receiving... during a connection setup procedure” is not persuasive. Tsai’s disclosure relates to satellite communication initialization and initiating of random access (RA) procedure which is reasonably interpreted as occurring in the course of access/network setup for NTN operation [See Tsai: Fig. 10; Par. 18 discloses receive, from a base station (BS), an indication associated with a UE-specific timing advance (TA) report, the indication comprising a value; initiate a random access (RA) procedure; Par. 137]. The reference needs not disclose the exact words of the claim and the citied portions , when reasonably interpreted, teach the recited claim language.
With respect to the limitation reciting “determining whether to transmit a timing advance report to the access network node based on a timing advance value used for the communication and the threshold”, Kunt expressly teaches that a UE may initiate a TA report when TA value is outside of threshold. This is a direct disclosure of determining whether to transmit a TA report based on a TA value and a threshold [Kunt: Par. 30, 55] and therefore fully consistent with the claimed threshold based reporting. The claim does not require a particular mathematical form of the threshold, only that the report decision is based on a timing advance value and the threshold. Accordingly, when combining the teaching of Kunt for determining whether to transmit the TA report into Tsai aspect of the receiving information identifying a threshold associated with a respective timing advance value, the combination renders the claim obvious.
In response to applicant’s argument regarding claims 8, 14, 18, and 20; prior arts do not teach “information for predicting a timing advance value” that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the combined prior arts Tsai in view of Kunt teaches receiving satellite information from network node during RA procedure, UE determine and may calculate propagation delay between UE and access node to generate a report [Tsai: Fig. 10; Par. 212-226] using predict model such as service link or feeder link [Par. 156, 167, 185]. This disclosure teaches the same core functionality as the claimed limitations because the UE necessarily relies on received information and delay based calculation to predict or derive TA information for communication with the network. A reference need not use the applicant’s terminology if it reasonably teaches the same functional limitation. Therefore, the citied references teach or render obvious the argued claim limitations.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Tsai et al. (US 20220086780 A1), hereinafter “Tsai”; and in further view of Kunt et al. (US 20230189179 A1), hereinafter “Kunt”.
Regarding claim 1, Tsai teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a non-terrestrial network [Tsai: Abstract disclosed method for UE in NTN network for receiving/transmitting TA report], the method comprising:
receiving, from an access network node, during a connection setup procedure [Tsai: step 1004] information identifying a threshold associated with a respective timing advance value for communication with the access node via the non-terrestrial network [Tsai: Fig. 10; Par. 189 teaches UE transmitting TA report based on values to BS in NTN network; Par. 216 further teaches the values are threshold based on propagation delay and UE trigger a report to transmit BS based on the threshold]; and
However, Tsai does not teach determining whether to transmit a timing advance report to the access network node based on a timing advance value used for the communication and the threshold.
Nevertheless, Kunt, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches determining whether to transmit a timing advance report to the access node based on a timing advance value used for the communication and the threshold [Kunt: Fig. 3; 13, Par. 55 and Par. 124-127 teaches UE may initiated new TA report to the network node based on the predetermined threshold based on previous TA values in previous TA reports]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kunt for using triggering TA report. The teaching of Kunt, when implemented in the Tsai system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform TA reporting by UE. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kunt in the Tsai system in order to whether initiate TA report by UE [Kunt: Par. 11].
Regarding claim 2, the combined Tsai in view of Kunt teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Tsai in view of Kunt further teaches deriving a timing offset for the communication based on the timing advance value [Tsai: Fig; 13 step 1304; Par. 192 teaches deriving TA information based on deriving an offset/ value for time window].
Regarding claim 3, the combined Tsai in view of Kunt teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Tsai in view of Kunt further teaches determining whether the timing advance value has changed over the threshold [Tsai: Par. 216 teaches UE trigger TA report base on the calculated TA value with threshold]; and
transmitting the timing advance report to the access network node based on the determining whether the timing advance value has changed over the threshold [Tsai: See Fig. 13].
Regarding claim 4, the combined Tsai in view of Kunt teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Tsai in view of Kunt further teaches receiving, from the access network node, a Time Alignment Timer (TAT) associated with the timing advance value [Tsai: Par. 216].
Regarding claim 5, the combined Tsai in view of Kunt teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Tsai in view of Kunt further teaches comprising transmitting, to the access network node, information indicating whether the UE is configured to use an open-loop timing advance control or a closed-loop timing advance control [Tsai: Par. 147 teaches TA can be acquired by UE autonomously].
Regarding claim 6, the combined Tsai in view of Kunt teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Tsai in view of Kunt further teaches comprising determining the timing advance value based on a location of the UE obtained using a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) [Tsai: par. 148 teaches of GNSS].
Regarding claim 7, the combined Tsai in view of Kunt teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 1. Tsai in view of Kunt further teaches comprising determining the timing advance value based on a prediction model relating to at least one of: a service link [Tsai: Par. 149 teaches of using Service link for TA reporting].
Regarding claim 8, Tsai teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a non-terrestrial network [Tsai: Abstract disclosed method for UE in NTN network for receiving/transmitting TA report], the method comprising:
receiving, from a access network node, information for predicting [Tsai: Par. 184] a timing advance value for communication with the access network node [Tsai: Fig. 10; Par. 189 teaches UE transmitting TA report based on values to BS in NTN network; Par. 216 further teaches the values are threshold based on propagation delay and UE trigger a report to transmit BS based on the threshold];
and deriving a predicted timing advance value based on the information [Tsai: Fig. 10 and Par. 145, 189 teaches deriving time advance values based on the TA report].
However, Tsai does not teach determining whether to transmit a timing advance report to the access network node based on a timing advance value used for the communication and the predicted timing advance value.
Nevertheless, Kunt, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches determining whether to transmit a timing advance report to the access network node based on a timing advance value used for the communication and the predicted timing advance value [Kunt: Fig. 3; 13, Par. 55 and Par. 124-127 teaches UE may initiated new TA report to the network node based on the predetermined threshold based on previous TA values in previous TA reports]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kunt for using triggering TA report. The teaching of Kunt, when implemented in the Tsai system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform TA reporting by UE. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kunt in the Tsai system in order to whether initiate TA report by UE [Kunt: Par. 11].
Regarding claim 9, the combined Tsai in view of Kunt teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 8. Tsai in view of Kunt further teaches wherein the information includes a set of parameters for predicting the timing advance value [Tsai: Fig; 13 step 1304; Par. 192 teaches deriving TA information based on deriving an offsets/ value for time window].
Regarding claim 10, the combined Tsai in view of Kunt teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 9. Tsai in view of Kunt further teaches wherein the set of parameters is used for deriving a timing offset for the communication [Tsai: Fig; 13 step 1304; Par. 192 teaches deriving TA information based on deriving an offsets/ value for time window].
Regarding claim 11, the combined Tsai in view of Kunt teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 8. Tsai in view of Kunt further teaches wherein the receiving the information is performed at initial access or in response to the transmitting the timing advance report [Tsai: Par. 145].
Regarding claim 12, Tsai teaches A method performed by a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a non-terrestrial network [Tsai: Abstract disclosed method for UE in NTN network for receiving/transmitting TA report], the method comprising:
transmitting, to the UE during a connection setup procedure [Tsai: step 1004], information identifying a threshold associated with a respective timing advance value for communication with the UE via the non-terrestrial network [Tsai: Fig. 10; Par. 189 teaches UE transmitting TA report based on values to BS in NTN network; Par. 216 further teaches the values are threshold based on propagation delay and UE trigger a report to transmit BS based on the threshold];
receiving, from the UE, a timing advance value for the communication [Tsai: Fig. 10 and Par. 145, 189 teaches deriving time advance values based on the TA report].
However, Tsai does not teach receiving a timing advance report from the UE based on the threshold and the timing advance value.
Nevertheless, Kunt, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches receiving a timing advance report from the UE based on the threshold and the timing advance value [Kunt: Fig. 3; 13, Par. 55 and Par. 124-127 teaches UE may initiated new TA report to the network node based on the predetermined threshold based on previous TA values in previous TA reports]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kunt for using triggering TA report. The teaching of Kunt, when implemented in the Tsai system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform TA reporting by UE. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kunt in the Tsai system in order to whether initiate TA report by UE [Kunt: Par. 11].
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 4.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 12.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 11.
Regarding claim 16, the combined Tsai in view of Kunt teaches all the limitations in the parent claim 12. Tsai in view of Kunt further teaches wherein the access network node includes a gateway, a base station, or a satellite having a gateway or base station functionality [Tsai: Par. 145].
Regarding claim 17, Tsai teaches A user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a non-terrestrial network, the UE comprising:
a memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor configured to process the instructions to [Tsai: Abstract disclosed method for UE in NTN network for receiving/transmitting TA report], receive, from an access network node during a connection setup procedure, information identifying a threshold associated with a respective timing advance value for communication with the access network node via the non-terrestrial network [Tsai: Fig. 10; Par. 189 teaches UE transmitting TA report based on values to BS in NTN network; Par. 216 further teaches the values are threshold based on propagation delay and UE trigger a report to transmit BS based on the threshold];
However, Tsai does not teach determine whether to transmit a timing advance report to the access network node based on a timing advance value used for the communication and the threshold.
Nevertheless, Kunt, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches determine whether to transmit a timing advance report to the access network node based on a timing advance value used for the communication and the threshold [Kunt: Fig. 3; 13, Par. 55 and Par. 124-127 teaches UE may initiated new TA report to the network node based on the predetermined threshold based on previous TA values in previous TA reports]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kunt for using triggering TA report. The teaching of Kunt, when implemented in the Tsai system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform TA reporting by UE. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kunt in the Tsai system in order to whether initiate TA report by UE [Kunt: Par. 11].
Regarding claim 18, Tsai teaches A user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a non-terrestrial network, the UE comprising:
a memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor configured to process the instructions to [Tsai: Abstract disclosed method for UE in NTN network for receiving/transmitting TA report], receive, from a access network node, information identifying a threshold associated with a respective timing advance value for communication with the access network node via the non-terrestrial network [Tsai: Fig. 10; Par. 189 teaches UE transmitting TA report based on values to BS in NTN network; Par. 216 further teaches the values are threshold based on propagation delay and UE trigger a report to transmit BS based on the threshold];
derive a predicted timing advance value based on the information [Tsai: Fig. 10 and Par. 145, 189 teaches deriving time advance values based on the TA report].
However, Tsai does not teach determine whether to transmit a timing advance report to the access network node based on a timing advance value used for the communication and the predicted timing advance value.
Nevertheless, Kunt, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches determine whether to transmit a timing advance report to the access network node based on a timing advance value used for the communication and the predicted timing advance value [Kunt: Fig. 3; 13, Par. 55 and Par. 124-127 teaches UE may initiated new TA report to the network node based on the predetermined threshold based on previous TA values in previous TA reports]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kunt for using triggering TA report. The teaching of Kunt, when implemented in the Tsai system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform TA reporting by UE. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kunt in the Tsai system in order to whether initiate TA report by UE [Kunt: Par. 11].
Regarding claim 19, Tsai teaches A access network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a non-terrestrial network, the access network node comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to [Tsai: Abstract disclosed method for UE in NTN network for receiving/transmitting TA report], transmit, to the UE during a connection setup procedure, information identifying a threshold associated with a respective timing advance value for communication with the UE via the non-terrestrial network [Tsai: Fig. 10; Par. 189 teaches UE transmitting TA report based on values to BS in NTN network; Par. 216 further teaches the values are threshold based on propagation delay and UE trigger a report to transmit BS based on the threshold]; receive, from the UE, a timing advance value for the communication [Tsai: Fig. 10]
However, Tsai does not teach receive a timing advance report from the UE based on the threshold and the timing advance value.
Nevertheless, Kunt, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches receive a timing advance report from the UE based on the threshold and the timing advance value [Kunt: Fig. 3; 13, Par. 55 and Par. 124-127 teaches UE may initiated new TA report to the network node based on the predetermined threshold based on previous TA values in previous TA reports]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kunt for using triggering TA report. The teaching of Kunt, when implemented in the Tsai system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform TA reporting by UE. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kunt in the Tsai system in order to whether initiate TA report by UE [Kunt: Par. 11].
Regarding claim 20, Tsai teaches access network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a non-terrestrial network, the access network node comprising:
a memory storing instructions; and
at least one processor configured to process the instructions to [Tsai: Abstract disclosed method for UE in NTN network for receiving/transmitting TA report], transmit, to the UE, information for predicting a timing advance value for communication between the UE and the access network node [Tsai: Fig. 10; Par. 189 teaches UE transmitting TA report based on values to BS in NTN network; Par. 216 further teaches the values are threshold based on propagation delay and UE trigger a report to transmit BS based on the threshold];
However, Tsai does not teach receive a timing advance report from the UE based on the predicted timing advance value.
Nevertheless, Kunt, in the similar filed of endeavor, teaches receive a timing advance report from the UE based on the predicted timing advance value [Kunt: Fig. 3; 13, Par. 55 and Par. 124-127 teaches UE may initiated /to predict new TA report to the network node based on the predetermined threshold based on previous TA values in previous TA reports]
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made to utilize the teachings of Kunt for using triggering TA report. The teaching of Kunt, when implemented in the Tsai system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to perform TA reporting by UE. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Kunt in the Tsai system in order to whether initiate TA report by UE [Kunt: Par. 11].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYAW Z SOE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412