DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments—set forth at pp. 12-16 in the Remarks with respect to independent claims 1 and 14—have been fully considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection relies on one or more reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for some teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12-14, 16-19, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0239837 (hereinafter, “YE”) in view of US 2023/0209648 (hereinafter, “PARK”).
Regarding claim 1, YE discloses:
A method for selecting a transmission resource (¶ Fig. 9: sidelink DRX coordination mode in a sidelink resource selection embodiment), applied to a first terminal (UE 106), wherein the method comprises:
according to . . . transmissions of to-be-transmitted data, Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration parameters of a second terminal and resource-pool configuration parameters of the second terminal, selecting candidate transmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data in a resource selection window; and (¶ 0122: [S]idelink coordination information may include the receiving peer wireless device's sidelink DRX configuration; ¶ 0124: e.g., At block 908, the first wireless device determines a set of candidate sidelink resources for transmitting the sidelink data based on the received DRX configuration; ¶ 0118: The wireless device may also determine a resource selection window for a future time when the resources may be selected for transmission, along with a total number of candidate resources, Mtotal. A running set of candidate resources, SA may be set to all of the resources of the sidelink resources pool in the resource selection window)
selecting the transmission resource for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources according to the DRX configuration parameters; (¶ 0125: e.g., At block 910, the first wireless device may select, [from] the set of candidate sidelink resources, a sidelink resources . . . that avoid the DRX-off durations of the receiving peer wireless device. As another example, selecting a sidelink resource may include selecting a sidelink resource based on a DRX-on duration time indicated in the received DRX configuration of the second wireless device)
wherein the step of selecting the transmission resource for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources according to the DRX configuration parameters comprises:
selecting an initial-transmission resource . . . for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources; (¶ 0125: e.g., At block 910, the first wireless device may select, [from] the set of candidate sidelink resources, a sidelink resources . . . that avoid the DRX-off durations of the receiving peer wireless device. As another example, selecting a sidelink resource may include selecting a sidelink resource based on a DRX-on duration time indicated in the received DRX configuration of the second wireless device; ¶ 0118: The wireless device may also determine a resource selection window for a future time when the resources may be selected for transmission, along with a total number of candidate resources, Mtotal. A running set of candidate resources, SA may be set to all of the resources of the sidelink resources pool in the resource selection window)
. . . .
YE does not explicitly disclose:
a number of transmissions
selecting . . . N-1 retransmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources; wherein N refers to the number of transmissions;
wherein the step of selecting the N-1 retransmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources comprises:
determining an active time duration of a DRX retransmission timer that is expected to be started by the second terminal according to the initial-transmission resource that is selected and the DRX configuration parameters; and
selecting the retransmission resources among the candidate transmission resources according to an active time of the second terminal, wherein the active time comprises at least the active time duration of the DRX retransmission timer that is expected to be started by the second terminal.
In the same field of endeavor, however, PARK teaches:
a number of transmissions (¶ 0113: [W]hen a UE transmits a packet targeting a P-UE, information indicating the number of transmission resources scheduled/to be used and/or that it is the last resource among related to transmission resources may be signaled on SCI scheduling transmission resources related to the packet)
selecting . . . N-1 retransmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources; wherein N refers to the number of transmissions; (¶ 0143: [T]he transmitting UE may select resources for N transmissions within a time interval before the SL DRX inactivity timer or the SL DRX timer expires, which is started due to the first transmission)
determining an active time duration of a DRX retransmission timer that is expected to be started by the second terminal according to the initial-transmission resource that is selected and the DRX configuration parameters; and (claim 21: A method for performing, by a first device, wireless communication, the method comprising: performing resource selection for resources included in an active time of a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, based on a second device performing a SL communication based on the SL DRX configuration; ¶ 0170: [I]n step S1710, a first device may perform resource selection for resources included in active time of a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, based on a second device performing SL communication based on the SL DRX configuration. In step S1720, the first device may transmit, to the second device, information related to resources selected based on the resource selection)
selecting the retransmission resources among the candidate transmission resources according to an active time of the second terminal, wherein the active time comprises at least the active time duration of the DRX retransmission timer that is expected to be started by the second terminal. (claim 21: [T]ransmitting, to the second device, information related to the resources selected based on the resource selection, wherein the active time includes time during which a retransmission timer of the SL DRX configuration is running; ¶ 0170: [T]he active time may include time in which a first timer related to on-duration of the SL DRX configuration or a second timer of the SL DRX configuration is running. For example, the first timer may be a SL DRX on-duration timer. For example, the second timer may be a timer that causes the second device to operate in an active mode. For example, the timer that causes to operate in an active mode may include an SL DRX inactivity timer, an SL DRX retransmission timer, and the like)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify YE’s sidelink transmission resource selection procedure to provide the active time includes time during which a retransmission timer of the SL DRX configuration is running as taught by PARK to perform resource selection for SL retransmission resources, such that user equipment may efficiently perform retransmission based on hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback. See PARK, at ¶ 0006.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the method according to claim 1. YE further discloses:
wherein the step of selecting the initial-transmission resource for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources comprises:
selecting the initial-transmission resource among the candidate transmission resources according to a DRX active time of the second terminal after a time instant n, wherein n is an arrival time of the to-be-transmitted data, or n is a triggering time of resource selection or re-selection. (¶ 0133: The receiving peer wireless device may, in this example, have a DRX on-duration window 1108. Based on the DRX configuration information received by the wireless device, the wireless device may update the resource selection window 1110 by delaying the start of the resource selection window 1106. For example, the beginning of the resource selection window 1202 may be aligned with the start of the DRX-on duration window of the receiving peer wireless device, In this case the updated resource selection window 1110 considering the receiving peer wireless device's DRX-on duration may run from time n+T1 to n+T2. The wireless device may then select a sidelink transmission resource from the updated resource selection window 1110)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the method according to claim 1. YE further discloses:
wherein the step of selecting the transmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources comprises:
determining an active time duration of a DRX retransmission timer that is expected to be started by the second terminal according to the retransmission resources that are selected and the DRX configuration parameters; and (¶ 0134: [T]he end of the resource selection window 1202 may be aligned with the expiry of the onDurationTimer of the receiving peer wireless device; ¶ 0122: The sidelink coordination information may include the receiving peer wireless device's sidelink DRX configuration [that] may indicate a state of the receiving peer wireless device, such as a starting time offset of the DRX-off occasion, whether the onDurationTimer is running (e.g., in a DRX on state); ¶ 0138: [A] DRX configuration, such as onDurationTimer, starting offset, and inactivityTimer, may be commonly configured among a set of peer wireless devices in a sidelink session, a transmitting first wireless device may benefit from tracking a receiving peer wireless device's DRX status)
selecting the retransmission resources among the candidate transmission resources according to an active time of the second terminal, (¶ 0134: The wireless device may then select a sidelink transmission resource from the updated resource selection window 1206)
YE does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the active time comprises at least the active time duration of the DRX retransmission timer that is expected to be started by the second terminal.
In the same field of endeavor, however, PARK teaches:
wherein the active time comprises at least the active time duration of the DRX retransmission timer that is expected to be started by the second terminal. (¶ 0143: [T]he transmitting UE may select resources for N transmissions within a time interval before the SL DRX inactivity timer or the SL DRX timer expires, which is started due to the first transmission; (claim 21: [T]he active time includes time during which a retransmission timer of the SL DRX configuration is running)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the method according to claim 1. YE further discloses:
wherein the step of selecting the N transmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources comprises:
selecting N transmission resources among the candidate transmission resources; (¶ 0134: The wireless device may then select a sidelink transmission resource from the updated resource selection window 1206)
according to the N transmission resources and the DRX configuration parameters, determining an active time duration of a DRX retransmission timer that is expected to be started by the second terminal; (¶ 0134: [T]he end of the resource selection window 1202 may be aligned with the expiry of the onDurationTimer of the receiving peer wireless device; ¶ 0122: The sidelink coordination information may include the receiving peer wireless device's sidelink DRX configuration [that] may indicate a state of the receiving peer wireless device, such as whether the . . . onDurationTimer is running (e.g., in a DRX on state))
if at least M transmission resources among the N transmission resources are located within the active time of the second terminal, determining the N transmission resources to be the transmission resources for transmitting the to-be-transmitted data, wherein the active time comprises at least the N-1 active time durations; and
(¶ 0118: The wireless device may also determine a resource selection window for a future time when the resources may be selected for transmission, along with a total number of candidate resources, Mtotal. A running set of candidate resources, SA may be set to all of the resources of the sidelink resources pool in the resource selection window. The wireless device may sense the physical medium during a sensing window. If a candidate resource is not sensed during the sensing window with configured resource reservation periods prior to the resource selection window, the candidate resources may be excluded from the running set SA; ¶ 0119: If the number of resources in the running set SA, after exclusions, is above the certain percentage, then the wireless device may select from the running set SA, resources for to use for the sidelink transmission. This running set SA, after exclusions, may be referred to as the candidate resource set from which a sidelink transmission resource may be selected)
if at least M transmission resources among the N transmission resources are not located within the active time, re-selecting N transmission resources among the candidate transmission resources; wherein M is a positive integer smaller than or equal to N. (¶ 0118: If a number of resources in the running set SA drops below a certain percentage of the initial total number of candidate resources, Mtotal, then the RSRP threshold may be adjusted, such as by increasing the RSRP threshold, resetting the resources in the running set SA, and re-sensing the physical medium to determine whether to exclude resources from the running set SA, as discussed above)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the method according to claim 1. YE further discloses:
wherein the candidate transmission resources comprise:
Y candidate slots, wherein at least some of the Y candidate slots are located within a DRX active time of the second terminal after a time instant n, and Y is greater than or equal to a minimum number of candidate slots that are configured by a network or pre-configured. (¶ 0112: FIG. 8 illustrates DRX operation on a sidelink 800 [in which] resources of a remote wireless device may be segmented into periods of time or slots 802. . . . DRX mechanisms may be used so that the remote wireless device can monitor 804 a subset of the sidelink resources pool 808; ¶ 0113: Each sidelink may include a dedicated resource pool for a sidelink comprising the monitoring resources 810 and non-monitoring resources 808. The remote wireless device may monitor for a signal on the sidelink using the monitoring resources 810 in an active state and enter a sleep state during the non-monitoring resources 808. The monitoring periods or resources 804 may be configured by either a relay wireless device or a wireless node, as discussed above. A dedicated resource pool includes part of whole resource pools; ¶ 0114: [T]he remote wireless device monitors part of a whole dedicated resource pool. For example, in some embodiments, only a few slots in the time-domain may be monitored, allowing the remote wireless device to enter a sleep state during the remaining subframes. In FIG. 8, the whole RX resource pool for device-to-device communication includes time periods or subframes designated as the monitoring resources 810 and non-monitoring resources 808. The monitoring resources 810 in reference to FIG. 8 indicate periods of times where the remote wireless device monitors (e.g., does reception operation) on the sidelink interface. Non-monitoring resources 808 are subframes in which the wireless device may enter a sleep state or receive additional data based on a scheduling signal received during the monitoring resources 810)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the method according to claim 7. YE further discloses:
wherein the step of, according to the number of transmissions of the to-be-transmitted data, the Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration parameters of the second terminal and the resource-pool configuration parameters of the second terminal, selecting the candidate transmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data in the resource selection window comprises:
determining a time-domain starting position of the candidate transmission resources as n+T1+X, wherein n+T1+X is located within the DRX active time of the second terminal after the time instant n, n+T1 is the starting time of the resource selection window, and X is a first slot interval. (Figs. 8, 11-13; ¶ 0115: [A] corresponding dedicated TX resource pool may include a starting subframe to transmit data through the sidelink to the remote wireless device during the monitoring resources 810; ¶ 0113: Each sidelink may include a dedicated resource pool for a sidelink comprising the monitoring resources 810 and non-monitoring resources 808. The remote wireless device may monitor for a signal on the sidelink using the monitoring resources 810 in an active state and enter a sleep state during the non-monitoring resources 808. The monitoring periods or resources 804 may be configured)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the method according to claim 1. YE further discloses:
wherein if the candidate transmission resources comprise Y candidate slots, the step of selecting the transmission resource for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources according to the DRX configuration parameters comprises:
selecting one initial-transmission resource among the candidate transmission resources, wherein the initial-transmission resource is located within a DRX active time of the second terminal after a time instant n; and (¶ 0125: At block 910, the first wireless device may select, form the set of candidate sidelink resources, a sidelink resources. For example, the wireless device may select . . . a sidelink resource may include selecting a sidelink resource based on a DRX-on duration time indicated in the received DRX configuration of the second wireless device)
selecting N-1 transmission resources among the candidate transmission resources, wherein the retransmission resources are located within an active time of the second terminal, and the active time is a time duration that is decided according to the DRX configuration parameters. (¶ 0125: At block 910, the first wireless device may select, form the set of candidate sidelink resources, a sidelink resources. For example, the wireless device may select . . . a sidelink resource may include selecting a sidelink resource based on a DRX-on duration time indicated in the received DRX configuration of the second wireless device [The Examiner finds that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before Applicant’s application was filed, by drawing a reasonable inference and/or employing routine steps to substitute CAO’s retransmission resources for YE’s transmission resources in the selecting step to yield the predictable result of resource selection for retransmission occurrences. See MPEP § 2143])
Regarding claim 12, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the method according to claim 1. YE further discloses:
wherein if the candidate transmission resources comprise Y candidate slots, the step of selecting the transmission resource for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources according to the DRX configuration parameters comprises:
selecting N transmission resources from the Y candidate slots; (¶ 0134: The wireless device may then select a sidelink transmission resource from the updated resource selection window 1206)
if at least M transmission resources among the N transmission resources are located within an active time of the second terminal, determining the N transmission resources to be the transmission resources for transmitting the to-be-transmitted data, wherein the active time is a time duration that is decided according to the DRX configuration parameters and the N transmission resources; and (¶ 0118: The wireless device may also determine a resource selection window for a future time when the resources may be selected for transmission, along with a total number of candidate resources, Mtotal. A running set of candidate resources, SA may be set to all of the resources of the sidelink resources pool in the resource selection window. The wireless device may sense the physical medium during a sensing window. If a candidate resource is not sensed during the sensing window with configured resource reservation periods prior to the resource selection window, the candidate resources may be excluded from the running set SA; ¶ 0119: If the number of resources in the running set SA, after exclusions, is above the certain percentage, then the wireless device may select from the running set SA, resources for to use for the sidelink transmission. This running set SA, after exclusions, may be referred to as the candidate resource set from which a sidelink transmission resource may be selected)
if at least M transmission resources among the N transmission resources are not located within the active time, re-selecting N transmission resources from the Y candidate slots; wherein M is a positive integer smaller than or equal to N. (¶ 0118: If a number of resources in the running set SA drops below a certain percentage of the initial total number of candidate resources, Mtotal, then the RSRP threshold may be adjusted, such as by increasing the RSRP threshold, resetting the resources in the running set SA, and re-sensing the physical medium to determine whether to exclude resources from the running set SA, as discussed above)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the method according to claim 1. YE further discloses:
wherein if the candidate transmission resources comprise N candidate-transmission-resource groups, the step of selecting the transmission resource for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources according to the DRX configuration parameters comprises:
selecting one transmission resource from each of candidate-transmission-resource groups; (¶ 0134: The wireless device may then select a sidelink transmission resource from the updated resource selection window 1206)
if at least M transmission resources among N transmission resources are located within an active time of the second terminal, determining the N transmission resources to be the transmission resources for transmitting the to-be-transmitted data, wherein the active time duration is a time duration that is decided according to the DRX configuration parameters and the N transmission resources; and (¶ 0118: The wireless device may also determine a resource selection window for a future time when the resources may be selected for transmission, along with a total number of candidate resources, Mtotal. A running set of candidate resources, SA may be set to all of the resources of the sidelink resources pool in the resource selection window. The wireless device may sense the physical medium during a sensing window. If a candidate resource is not sensed during the sensing window with configured resource reservation periods prior to the resource selection window, the candidate resources may be excluded from the running set SA; ¶ 0119: If the number of resources in the running set SA, after exclusions, is above the certain percentage, then the wireless device may select from the running set SA, resources for to use for the sidelink transmission. This running set SA, after exclusions, may be referred to as the candidate resource set from which a sidelink transmission resource may be selected)
if at least M transmission resources among the N transmission resources are not located within the active time, re-selecting one transmission resource from each of the candidate-transmission-resource groups; wherein M is a positive integer smaller than or equal to N. (¶ 0118: If a number of resources in the running set SA drops below a certain percentage of the initial total number of candidate resources, Mtotal, then the RSRP threshold may be adjusted, such as by increasing the RSRP threshold, resetting the resources in the running set SA, and re-sensing the physical medium to determine whether to exclude resources from the running set SA, as discussed above)
Regarding claim 14, YE discloses:
A terminal (UE 106), wherein the terminal is a first terminal, and comprises
a transceiver (wireless communication circuitry 330 / antenna 335), a memory (memory 306), a processor (processor 302) and a computer program stored in the memory and executed in the processor (¶ 0077: [P]rocessor 302 of the communication device 106 may be configured to implement part or all of the features described herein, e.g., by executing program instructions stored on a memory medium (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable memory medium)), and the processor, when executing the computer program, implements the operations comprising:
according to . . . transmissions of to-be-transmitted data, Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration parameters of a second terminal and resource-pool configuration parameters of the second terminal, selecting candidate transmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data in a resource selection window; and (¶ 0122: [S]idelink coordination information may include the receiving peer wireless device's sidelink DRX configuration; ¶ 0124: e.g., At block 908, the first wireless device determines a set of candidate sidelink resources for transmitting the sidelink data based on the received DRX configuration; ¶ 0118: e.g., The wireless device may also determine a resource selection window for a future time when the resources may be selected for transmission, along with a total number of candidate resources, Mtotal. A running set of candidate resources, SA may be set to all of the resources of the sidelink resources pool in the resource selection window)
selecting the transmission resource for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources according to the DRX configuration parameters; (¶ 0125: e.g., At block 910, the first wireless device may select, [from] the set of candidate sidelink resources, a sidelink resources . . . that avoid the DRX-off durations of the receiving peer wireless device. As another example, selecting a sidelink resource may include selecting a sidelink resource based on a DRX-on duration time indicated in the received DRX configuration of the second wireless device)
wherein the operation of selecting the transmission resource for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources according to the DRX configuration parameters comprises:
selecting an initial-transmission resource . . . for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources; (¶ 0125: e.g., At block 910, the first wireless device may select, [from] the set of candidate sidelink resources, a sidelink resources . . . that avoid the DRX-off durations of the receiving peer wireless device. As another example, selecting a sidelink resource may include selecting a sidelink resource based on a DRX-on duration time indicated in the received DRX configuration of the second wireless device; ¶ 0118: The wireless device may also determine a resource selection window for a future time when the resources may be selected for transmission, along with a total number of candidate resources, Mtotal. A running set of candidate resources, SA may be set to all of the resources of the sidelink resources pool in the resource selection window)
. . . .
YE does not explicitly disclose:
a number of transmissions
selecting . . . N-1 retransmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources; wherein N refers to the number of transmissions;
wherein the operation of selecting the N-1 retransmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources comprises:
determining an active time duration of a DRX retransmission timer that is expected to be started by the second terminal according to the initial-transmission resource that is selected and the DRX configuration parameters; and
selecting the retransmission resources among the candidate transmission resources according to an active time of the second terminal, wherein the active time comprises at least the active time duration of the DRX retransmission timer that is expected to be started by the second terminal.
In the same field of endeavor, however, PARK teaches:
a number of transmissions (¶ 0113: [W]hen a UE transmits a packet targeting a P-UE, information indicating the number of transmission resources scheduled/to be used and/or that it is the last resource among related to transmission resources may be signaled on SCI scheduling transmission resources related to the packet)
selecting . . . N-1 retransmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources; wherein N refers to the number of transmissions; (¶ 0143: [T]he transmitting UE may select resources for N transmissions within a time interval before the SL DRX inactivity timer or the SL DRX timer expires, which is started due to the first transmission)
wherein the operation of selecting the N-1 retransmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources comprises: (¶ 0143: [T]he transmitting UE may select resources for N transmissions within a time interval before the SL DRX inactivity timer or the SL DRX timer expires, which is started due to the first transmission)
determining an active time duration of a DRX retransmission timer that is expected to be started by the second terminal according to the initial-transmission resource that is selected and the DRX configuration parameters; and (claim 21: A method for performing, by a first device, wireless communication, the method comprising: performing resource selection for resources included in an active time of a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, based on a second device performing a SL communication based on the SL DRX configuration; ¶ 0170: [I]n step S1710, a first device may perform resource selection for resources included in active time of a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration, based on a second device performing SL communication based on the SL DRX configuration. In step S1720, the first device may transmit, to the second device, information related to resources selected based on the resource selection)
selecting the retransmission resources among the candidate transmission resources according to an active time of the second terminal, wherein the active time comprises at least the active time duration of the DRX retransmission timer that is expected to be started by the second terminal. (claim 21: [T]ransmitting, to the second device, information related to the resources selected based on the resource selection, wherein the active time includes time during which a retransmission timer of the SL DRX configuration is running; ¶ 0170: [T]he active time may include time in which a first timer related to on-duration of the SL DRX configuration or a second timer of the SL DRX configuration is running. For example, the first timer may be a SL DRX on-duration timer. For example, the second timer may be a timer that causes the second device to operate in an active mode. For example, the timer that causes to operate in an active mode may include an SL DRX inactivity timer, an SL DRX retransmission timer, and the like)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify YE’s sidelink transmission resource selection procedure to provide the active time includes time during which a retransmission timer of the SL DRX configuration is running as taught by PARK to perform resource selection for SL retransmission resources, such that user equipment may efficiently perform retransmission based on hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) feedback. See PARK, at ¶ 0006.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. YE further discloses:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements the steps of the method for selecting a transmission resource according to claim 1. (¶ 0237: [A] non-transitory computer-readable memory medium may be configured so that it stores program instructions and/or data, where the program instructions, if executed by a computer system, cause the computer system to perform a method, e.g., any of a method aspects described herein, or, any combination of the method aspects described herein, or, any subset of any of the method aspects described herein, or, any combination of such subsets)
Regarding claim 19, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the terminal according to claim 14. YE further discloses:
wherein the candidate transmission resources comprise:
Y candidate slots, wherein at least some of the Y candidate slots are located within a DRX active time of the second terminal after a time instant n, and Y is greater than or equal to a minimum number of candidate slots that are configured by a network or pre-configured. (¶ 0112: FIG. 8 illustrates DRX operation on a sidelink 800 [in which] resources of a remote wireless device may be segmented into periods of time or slots 802. . . . DRX mechanisms may be used so that the remote wireless device can monitor 804 a subset of the sidelink resources pool 808; ¶ 0113: Each sidelink may include a dedicated resource pool for a sidelink comprising the monitoring resources 810 and non-monitoring resources 808. The remote wireless device may monitor for a signal on the sidelink using the monitoring resources 810 in an active state and enter a sleep state during the non-monitoring resources 808. The monitoring periods or resources 804 may be configured by either a relay wireless device or a wireless node, as discussed above. A dedicated resource pool includes part of whole resource pools; ¶ 0114: [T]he remote wireless device monitors part of a whole dedicated resource pool. For example, in some embodiments, only a few slots in the time-domain may be monitored, allowing the remote wireless device to enter a sleep state during the remaining subframes. In FIG. 8, the whole RX resource pool for device-to-device communication includes time periods or subframes designated as the monitoring resources 810 and non-monitoring resources 808. The monitoring resources 810 in reference to FIG. 8 indicate periods of times where the remote wireless device monitors (e.g., does reception operation) on the sidelink interface. Non-monitoring resources 808 are subframes in which the wireless device may enter a sleep state or receive additional data based on a scheduling signal received during the monitoring resources 810)
Regarding claim 21, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the terminal according to claim 14. YE further discloses:
wherein the operation of selecting the transmission resource for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources according to the DRX configuration parameters comprises:
selecting N transmission resources from the Y candidate slots; (¶ 0125: At block 910, the first wireless device may select, form the set of candidate sidelink resources, a sidelink resources. For example, the wireless device may select . . . a sidelink resource may include selecting a sidelink resource based on a DRX-on duration time indicated in the received DRX configuration of the second wireless device)
if at least M transmission resources among the N transmission resources are located within an active time of the second terminal, determining the N transmission resources to be the transmission resources for transmitting the to-be-transmitted data, wherein the active time is a time duration that is decided according to the DRX configuration parameters and/or the N transmission resources; and (¶ 0118: The wireless device may also determine a resource selection window for a future time when the resources may be selected for transmission, along with a total number of candidate resources, Mtotal. A running set of candidate resources, SA may be set to all of the resources of the sidelink resources pool in the resource selection window. The wireless device may sense the physical medium during a sensing window. If a candidate resource is not sensed during the sensing window with configured resource reservation periods prior to the resource selection window, the candidate resources may be excluded from the running set SA; ¶ 0119: If the number of resources in the running set SA, after exclusions, is above the certain percentage, then the wireless device may select from the running set SA, resources for to use for the sidelink transmission. This running set SA, after exclusions, may be referred to as the candidate resource set from which a sidelink transmission resource may be selected)
if at least M transmission resources among the N transmission resources are not located within the active time, re-selecting N transmission resources from the Y candidate slots; wherein M is a positive integer smaller than or equal to N. (¶ 0118: If a number of resources in the running set SA drops below a certain percentage of the initial total number of candidate resources, Mtotal, then the RSRP threshold may be adjusted, such as by increasing the RSRP threshold, resetting the resources in the running set SA, and re-sensing the physical medium to determine whether to exclude resources from the running set SA, as discussed above)
Regarding claim 22, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the terminal according to claim 14. YE further discloses:
wherein the candidate transmission resources comprise:
N candidate-transmission-resource groups (Fig. 13; ¶ 0118: A running set of candidate resources, SA may be set to all of the resources of the sidelink resources pool in the resource selection window [e.g., corresponding to updated resource selection windows 1306]), wherein a first candidate-transmission- resource group is located within the DRX active time (Fig. 13: DRX-on duration, N + T1,1 and N + T2,1) of the second terminal after the time instant n;
wherein N refers to the number of transmissions, and n is an arrival time of the to-be-transmitted data, or n is a triggering time of resource selection or re-selection. (Fig. 13; ¶ 0133: At time n 1104, the wireless device may determine that the wireless device has sidelink data to transmit to a receiving peer wireless device)
Regarding claim 23, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the terminal according to claim 22. YE further discloses:
wherein the step of, according to the number of transmissions of the to-be-transmitted data, the Discontinuous Reception (DRX) configuration parameters of the second terminal and the resource-pool configuration parameters of the second terminal, selecting the candidate transmission resources for the to-be-transmitted data in the resource selection window comprises:
determining a time-domain starting position of the first candidate-transmission-resource group as n+T1+X, wherein the first candidate-transmission-resource group is located within the DRX active time of the second terminal after the time instant n, n+T1 is a starting time of the resource selection window, and X is a first slot interval; (Figs. 8, 11-13; ¶ 0115: [A] corresponding dedicated TX resource pool may include a starting subframe to transmit data through the sidelink to the remote wireless device during the monitoring resources 810; ¶ 0113: Each sidelink may include a dedicated resource pool for a sidelink comprising the monitoring resources 810 and non-monitoring resources 808. The remote wireless device may monitor for a signal on the sidelink using the monitoring resources 810 in an active state and enter a sleep state during the non-monitoring resources 808. The monitoring periods or resources 804 may be configured)
according to the DRX configuration parameters and the resource-pool configuration parameters, determining the other N-1 candidate-transmission-resource groups than the first candidate-transmission-resource group; and (Fig. 13: DRX-on duration, N + T1,2 and N + T2,2 corresponding to second updated resource selection window 1306)
if it is determined that the last slot of an N-th candidate-transmission-resource group exceeds an ending time of the resource selection window (Fig. 13: N + T2 of resource selection window 1302), adjusting at least one of the following parameters:
a number of slots within the candidate-transmission-resource groups; slot intervals between two neighboring instances of the candidate- transmission-resource groups; and a starting position of the first candidate-transmission-resource group. (¶ 0135: FIG. 13 is a timing diagram 1300 illustrating updating a resource selection window, in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. In this example, wireless device may, as discussed above, determine the resource selection window 1302, which entirely includes one or more DRX on-duration windows 1304 of the receiving peer wireless device. Based on the DRX configuration information received by the wireless device, the wireless device may update the resource selection window 1306 based on the one or more DRX on-duration windows 1304 of the receiving peer wireless device [E.g., starting position N + T1 of resource selection window 1302 is adjusted to N + T1,1 of updated resource selection window 1306])
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over YE in view of PARK, and further in view of US 2020/0322100 (hereinafter, “CAO”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the method according to claim 1. YE further discloses:
wherein if the candidate transmission resources comprise N candidate-transmission-resource groups, the step of selecting the transmission resource for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources according to the DRX configuration parameters comprises:
selecting one initial-transmission resource from a first candidate-transmission-resource group; and (¶ 0134: The wireless device may then select a sidelink transmission resource from the updated resource selection window 1206)
YE does not explicitly disclose:
selecting N-1 retransmission resources from N-1 candidate-transmission-resource groups other than the first candidate-transmission-resource group, wherein the retransmission resources are located within an active time of the second terminal, and the active time is a time duration that is decided according to the DRX configuration parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CAO teaches:
selecting N-1 retransmission resources from N-1 candidate-transmission-resource groups other than the first candidate-transmission-resource group, wherein the retransmission resources are located within an active time of the second terminal, and the active time is a time duration that is decided according to the DRX configuration parameters. (Abstract: A first UE transmits at least one sidelink (SL) transmission of a first set of SL transmissions . . . comprising an initial SL transmission and a set number of SL retransmissions; ¶ 0081: The transmissions may include the initial transmission and retransmissions of the same TB. The initial transmission and retransmission of the TB may sometimes also be referred to as repetitions. In some embodiments, each transmission pattern may represent transmissions of one transport block (TB))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify YE's resource selection procedure to provide a transmission pattern as taught by CAO to define the resources used for a number of data transmissions to provide for early termination of feedback in a HARQ process associated with the transmissions, such that transmitting fewer than all of the set number of transmissions can free up transmission resources for other purposes as needed. See CAO, at Abstract.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of YE and PARK, as applied above, renders obvious the terminal according to claim 14. YE further discloses:
wherein the operation of selecting the transmission resource for the to-be-transmitted data among the candidate transmission resources according to the DRX configuration parameters comprises:
selecting one initial-transmission resource among the candidate transmission resources, wherein the initial-transmission resource is located within a DRX active time of the second terminal after a time instant n; and (¶ 0112: FIG. 8 illustrates DRX operation on a sidelink 800 [in which] resources of a remote wireless device may be segmented into periods of time or slots 802. . . . DRX mechanisms may be used so that the remote wireless device can monitor 804 a subset of the sidelink resources pool 808; ¶ 0113: Each sidelink may include a dedicated resource pool for a sidelink comprising the monitoring resources 810 and non-monitoring resources 808. The remote wireless device may monitor for a signal on the sidelink using the monitoring resources 810 in an active state and enter a sleep state during the non-monitoring resources 808. The monitoring periods or resources 804 may be configured by either a relay wireless device or a wireless node, as discussed above. A dedicated resource pool includes part of whole resource pools; ¶ 0114: [T]he remote wireless device monitors part of a whole dedicated resource pool. For example, in some embodiments, only a few slots in the time-domain may be monitored, allowing the remote wireless device to enter a sleep state during the remaining subframes. In FIG. 8, the whole RX resource pool for device-to-device communication includes time periods or subframes designated as the monitoring resources 810 and non-monitoring resources 808. The monitoring resources 810 in reference to FIG. 8 indicate periods of times where the remote wireless device monitors (e.g., does reception operation) on the sidelink interface. Non-monitoring resources 808 are subframes in which the wireless device may enter a sleep state or receive additional data based on a scheduling signal received during the monitoring resources 810)
YE does not explicitly disclose:
selecting N-1 retransmission resources among the candidate transmission resources, wherein the retransmission resources are located within an active time of the second terminal, and the active time is a time duration that is decided according to the DRX configuration parameters.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CAO teaches:
selecting N-1 retransmission resources among the candidate transmission resources, wherein the retransmission resources are located within an active time of the second terminal, and the active time is a time duration that is decided according to the DRX configuration parameters. ((Abstract: A first UE transmits at least one sidelink (SL) transmission of a first set of SL transmissions . . . comprising an initial SL transmission and a set number of SL retransmissions; ¶ 0081: The transmissions may include the initial transmission and retransmissions of the same TB. The initial transmission and retransmission of the TB may sometimes also be referred to as repetitions. In some embodiments, each transmission pattern may represent transmissions of one transport block (TB))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify YE's resource selection procedure to provide a transmission pattern as taught by CAO to define the resources used for a number of data transmissions to provide for early termination of feedback in a HARQ process associated with the transmissions, such that transmitting fewer than all of the set number of transmissions can free up transmission resources for other purposes as needed. See CAO, at Abstract.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644