DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The art rejections still anticipates the claims though the rejections have been modified due to amendment.
It is the Office’s position that the summary of Applicant’s arguments and indeed their invention amounts to the discovery of a new property of a known material. Table 2 partially reproduced in the arguments and instant paragraphs 107-110 establish that test samples (1-12) with r values within the claimed range amount to a high electrical conductivity (via higher Peel strength) and the samples without those r values (13-16) have lower Peel strength and thus lower electrical conductivities. But according to Table 1, test samples 13-16 don’t have a nickel plating. In other words, every sample that had a base material and Ni plating layer (the only structural elements claimed) exhibited the claimed properties, including the newly recited Ra and D values. Further, in paragraph 82, Applicant asserts “The method for preparing the base material is not particularly limited, and it suffices that a well-known method is used.” In paragraph 86, Applicant asserts “Note that, the method for forming the Ni plating layer is not particularly limited, and it suffices to use a well-known method.” Therefore, Applicant’s own specification states clearly that there is nothing novel about the material or how it’s made and that the claimed values are intrinsic to the claimed material. Something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property. See MPEP 2112 I. It is also evidence that prior art which discloses a base layer with nickel plating would possess these properties. Applicant’s ostensible discovery of a relationship between Ra, D, r, Peel strength, and electrical conductivity is not grounds for patentability absent a claimed novel and nonobvious structure or device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kinugawa (US 2021/0234169 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kinugawa discloses an apparatus comprising: a nickel-plating layer formed on the surface of base material (paragraph 80). Something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property. See MPEP 2112 I.
Regarding claims 6-8, Kinugawa discloses that a steel sheet current collector with an electrode mixture is 0.1 to 1000 μm thick (paragraph 67).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Kinugawa discloses a battery with separator and electrolyte (paragraph 3).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fukui (US 2009/0305129 A1).
Fukui discloses an apparatus comprising: a nickel-plating layer formed on the surface of base material (paragraph 92). Something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property. See MPEP 2112 I.
Claims 5 and 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawasaki (US 2023/0043755 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Kawasaki discloses an apparatus comprising: a nickel-plating layer formed on the surface of base material (paragraph 35). Something which is old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property. See MPEP 2112 I.
Regarding claim 6, Kawasaki discloses that the base layer is 6-35 microns (paragraph 29).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725