DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission dated 15 Dec. 2025—in which claim 2 is canceled, claims 1, 5, and 6 are amended, and new claims 7 and 8 are added—has been entered into the record and is considered herein. Claims 1 and 5-8 remain pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments—set forth at pp. 5-7 in the Remarks with respect to
independent claims 1, 5, and 6—have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection relies on one or more reference not applied in the prior
rejection of record for some teaching or matter specifically challenged in the
argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented
in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP
§ 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in
37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2018/0376457 (hereinafter, “TSENG”) in view of US 2020/0077312 (hereinafter, “TSUBOI”).
Regarding claim 1, TSUBOI discloses:
A radio base station (base station apparatus 3) that configures a terminal (terminal apparatus 2) with a master cell group including a primary cell and a secondary cell and with a secondary cell group including a primary secondary cell and a secondary cell, comprising: (¶ 0047: [M]ultiple serving cells are configured for the terminal apparatus 2, multiple configured serving cells may include one primary cell and one or more secondary cells. The primary cell may be a serving cell in which an initial connection establishment procedure has been performed, a serving cell in which a connection re-establishment procedure has been initiated, or a cell indicated as the primary cell by a handover procedure. One or more secondary cells may be configured at a point of time at which a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection is established or after the RRC connection is established. A cell group (also referred to as a master cell group (MCG)) including one or more serving cells including a primary cell (PCell), and one or more cell groups (also referred to as secondary cell groups (SCGs)) including one or more serving cells not including a primary cell and including a primary secondary cell (PSCell) in which at least a random access procedure can be performed and which does not become a deactivated state may be configured for the terminal apparatus 2. The master cell group includes one primary cell and zero or more secondary cells. The secondary cell group includes one primary secondary cell and zero or more secondary cells)
a processor (higher layer processing unit 34) that configures different values for a secondary cell identifier assigned to the secondary cell in the secondary cell group, and (¶ 0243: The SN selects the SCellIndex that does not overlap SCellIndex already assigned to the SCG SCell from the list of values or the range of a value, and assigns the selected SCellIndex to the added cell (step S806)) . . . ; and
a transmitter (radio transmission and/or reception unit 30) that transmits the secondary cell identifier and the serving cell identifier to the terminal. (¶ 0243: The SN transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration message including the SCell configuration information (such as an SCG RRC connection reconfiguration message) to the terminal apparatus 2 (step S808))
TSUBOI does not explicitly disclose:
configur[ing] different values for . . . a serving cell identifier assigned to the primary secondary cell in the secondary cell group; and
In the same field of endeavor, however, TSENG teaches:
configuring different values for . . . a serving cell identifier assigned to the primary secondary cell in the secondary cell group; and (¶ 0010: [T]he Serving Cell index value=0 is mapped to a special cell of a cell group corresponding to the at least one logical channel, the special cell is . . . a primary secondary cell (PSCell) in a secondary cell group (SCG); ¶ 0086: [T]o a logical channel of SCG, the ServCellIndex=0 may be applied to indicate the PSCell in the SCG [TSENG’s mapping of an index value=0 to a “special cell” implies that index values mapped to non-PSCells in the SCG are something other than zero.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TSUBOI’s primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition and SCell addition procedures to provide a defined index value (i.e., 0) as taught by TSENG to map to a “special cell” (i.e., a PSCell in a secondary cell group (SCG) such that in a multiple cell group environment, a base station and a terminal can communicate efficiently. See TSENG, at ¶¶ 0010, 0015. Thus, the Examiner finds that considering the inferences and creative steps—or even routine steps—that one of ordinary skill in the art would have employed at the date of filing of the application, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of TSUBOI and TSENG to render obvious the claimed feature of configur[ing] different values for a secondary cell identifier assigned to the secondary cell in the secondary cell group, and a serving cell identifier assigned to the primary secondary cell in the secondary cell group. See MPEP § 2143.
Regarding claim 5, TSUBOI discloses:
A radio communication method performed by a radio base station (base station apparatus 3) that configures a terminal (terminal apparatus 2) with a master cell group including a primary cell and a secondary cell and with a secondary cell group including a primary secondary cell and a secondary cell, comprising: (¶ 0047: [M]ultiple serving cells are configured for the terminal apparatus 2, multiple configured serving cells may include one primary cell and one or more secondary cells. The primary cell may be a serving cell in which an initial connection establishment procedure has been performed, a serving cell in which a connection re-establishment procedure has been initiated, or a cell indicated as the primary cell by a handover procedure. One or more secondary cells may be configured at a point of time at which a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection is established or after the RRC connection is established. A cell group (also referred to as a master cell group (MCG)) including one or more serving cells including a primary cell (PCell), and one or more cell groups (also referred to as secondary cell groups (SCGs)) including one or more serving cells not including a primary cell and including a primary secondary cell (PSCell) in which at least a random access procedure can be performed and which does not become a deactivated state may be configured for the terminal apparatus 2. The master cell group includes one primary cell and zero or more secondary cells. The secondary cell group includes one primary secondary cell and zero or more secondary cells)
configuring different values for a secondary cell identifier assigned to the secondary cell in the secondary cell group, and (¶ 0243: The SN selects the SCellIndex that does not overlap SCellIndex already assigned to the SCG SCell from the list of values or the range of a value, and assigns the selected SCellIndex to the added cell (step S806)) . . . ; and
transmitting the secondary cell identifier and the serving cell identifier to the terminal. (¶ 0243: The SN transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration message including the SCell configuration information (such as an SCG RRC connection reconfiguration message) to the terminal apparatus 2 (step S808))
TSUBOI does not explicitly disclose:
configuring different values for . . . a serving cell identifier assigned to the primary secondary cell in the secondary cell group; and
In the same field of endeavor, however, TSENG teaches:
configuring different values for . . . a serving cell identifier assigned to the primary secondary cell in the secondary cell group; and (¶ 0010: [T]he Serving Cell index value=0 is mapped to a special cell of a cell group corresponding to the at least one logical channel, the special cell is . . . a primary secondary cell (PSCell) in a secondary cell group (SCG); ¶ 0086: [T]o a logical channel of SCG, the ServCellIndex=0 may be applied to indicate the PSCell in the SCG [TSENG’s mapping of an index value=0 to a “special cell” implies that index values mapped to non-PSCells in the SCG are something other than zero.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TSUBOI’s primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition and SCell addition procedures to provide a defined index value (i.e., 0) as taught by TSENG to map to a “special cell” (i.e., a PSCell in a secondary cell group (SCG) such that in a multiple cell group environment, a base station and a terminal can communicate efficiently. See TSENG, at ¶¶ 0010, 0015. Thus, the Examiner finds that considering the inferences and creative steps—or even routine steps—that one of ordinary skill in the art would have employed at the date of filing of the application, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of TSUBOI and TSENG to render obvious the claimed feature of configuring different values for a secondary cell identifier assigned to the secondary cell in the secondary cell group, and, and a serving cell identifier assigned to the primary secondary cell in the secondary cell group. See MPEP § 2143.
Regarding claim 6, TSUBOI discloses:
A radio communication system comprising:
a radio base station (base station apparatus 3) that configures a terminal (terminal apparatus 2) with a master cell group including a primary cell and a secondary cell and with a secondary cell group including a primary secondary cell and a secondary cell; and (¶ 0047: [M]ultiple serving cells are configured for the terminal apparatus 2, multiple configured serving cells may include one primary cell and one or more secondary cells. The primary cell may be a serving cell in which an initial connection establishment procedure has been performed, a serving cell in which a connection re-establishment procedure has been initiated, or a cell indicated as the primary cell by a handover procedure. One or more secondary cells may be configured at a point of time at which a Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection is established or after the RRC connection is established. A cell group (also referred to as a master cell group (MCG)) including one or more serving cells including a primary cell (PCell), and one or more cell groups (also referred to as secondary cell groups (SCGs)) including one or more serving cells not including a primary cell and including a primary secondary cell (PSCell) in which at least a random access procedure can be performed and which does not become a deactivated state may be configured for the terminal apparatus 2. The master cell group includes one primary cell and zero or more secondary cells. The secondary cell group includes one primary secondary cell and zero or more secondary cells)
the terminal,
wherein the radio base station includes:
a processor (higher layer processing unit 34) that configures different values for a secondary cell identifier assigned to the secondary cell in the secondary cell group, and . . . ; and
a transmitter (radio transmission and/or reception unit 30) that transmits the secondary cell identifier and the serving cell identifier to the terminal, and (¶ 0243: The SN transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration message including the SCell configuration information (such as an SCG RRC connection reconfiguration message) to the terminal apparatus 2 (step S808))
the terminal includes:
a receiver (radio transmission and/or reception unit 20) that receives the secondary cell identifier and the serving cell identifier from the radio base station. (¶ 0243: [T]erminal apparatus 2 configured with the SCell transmits an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message)
TSUBOI does not explicitly disclose:
configur[ing] different values for . . . a serving cell identifier assigned to the primary secondary cell in the secondary cell group; and
In the same field of endeavor, however, TSENG teaches:
configur[ing] different values for . . . a serving cell identifier assigned to the primary secondary cell in the secondary cell group; and (¶ 0010: [T]he Serving Cell index value=0 is mapped to a special cell of a cell group corresponding to the at least one logical channel, the special cell is . . . a primary secondary cell (PSCell) in a secondary cell group (SCG); ¶ 0086: [T]o a logical channel of SCG, the ServCellIndex=0 may be applied to indicate the PSCell in the SCG [TSENG’s mapping of an index value=0 to a “special cell” implies that index values mapped to non-PSCells in the SCG are something other than zero.])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify TSUBOI’s primary secondary cell (PSCell) addition and SCell addition procedures to provide a defined index value (i.e., 0) as taught by TSENG to map to a “special cell” (i.e., a PSCell in a secondary cell group (SCG) such that in a multiple cell group environment, a base station and a terminal can communicate efficiently. See TSENG, at ¶¶ 0010, 0015. Thus, the Examiner finds that considering the inferences and creative steps—or even routine steps—that one of ordinary skill in the art would have employed at the date of filing of the application, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of TSUBOI and TSENG to render obvious the claimed feature of configuring different values for a secondary cell identifier assigned to the secondary cell in the secondary cell group, and a serving cell identifier assigned to the primary secondary cell in the secondary cell group. See MPEP § 2143.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of TSENG and TSUBOI, as applied above, renders obvious the radio base station of claim 1. TSUBOI further discloses:
wherein the processor configures different values for serving cell identifiers each of which is assigned to the primary cell in the master cell group and the primary secondary cell in the secondary cell group. (¶¶ 0219, 0229: [A]n index (ServCellIndex) for identifying all serving cells including the SCellIndex and an index of the PCell (index 0) may be defined)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of TSENG and TSUBOI, as applied above, renders obvious the radio base station of claim 1. TSUBOI further discloses:
wherein the processor configures different values for secondary cell identifiers each of which is assigned to the secondary cell in the master cell group and the secondary cell in the secondary cell group. (¶ 0229: The SCG-ConfigInfo may include information indicating a value or range of the SCellIndex that can be used in the SCG. This allows the SN to configure the SCellIndex independently from the MN without the SCellIndex overlapping those of the MCG; ¶ 0242: In a case that the MN adds the SCell in the MCG, SCellIndex that does not overlap SCellIndex already assigned to the MCG SCell or SCellIndex already assigned to the SCG SCell is selected and assigned to an added cell; ¶ 0243: The SN selects the SCellIndex that does not overlap SCellIndex already assigned to the SCG SCell from the list of values or the range of a value, and assigns the selected SCellIndex to the added cell (step S806); ¶ 0244: [W]ith reference to FIG. 9[, t]he SN selects the SCellIndex that does not overlap SCellIndex already assigned to the MCG SCell or SCellIndex already assigned to the SCG SCell)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-720-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/SAID M ELNOUBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2644