DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/09/2025 have been fully considered but they moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “suction unit” in claim 62.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 61, 63-65, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) and 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Yang [US 20190076119 A1].
As per claim 61, Yang teaches a transparent-ultrasonic-sensor-based (Yang ¶0098 “an optically-transparent array transducer”) optical-ultrasonic integrated endoscopic probe (Yang Figs 1-2), comprising:
an optical fiber laser unit emitting light (Yang Fig , ¶0114 laser source 2000 that provides pulse-type light energy);
a transparent ultrasonic sensor (Yang ¶0123 “optically-transparent array transducer 1111”)
arranged between an object to be measured and the optical fiber laser unit to transmit, therethrough, the light emitted from the optical fiber laser unit (Yang Fig 2, ¶0131 arrangement as claimed implied),
coaxially aligned with the light emitted from the optical fiber laser unit (Yang Fig 2, ¶0131, ¶0137, ¶0155 coaxial arrangement of ring-shaped array transducer 1111, with light from fiber 1113),
radiating ultrasonic waves at the object (), and receiving reflected ultrasonic waves (Yang ¶0131 “the ring-shaped array transducer 1111 …also be configured to generate ultrasonic pulses or detect the ultrasonic or photoacoustic waves propagating from the target point”);
and a camera acquiring an image of the object through the transparent ultrasonic sensor (Yang Fig 1 ¶0143-¶0144 images formed from PA imaging and ultrasound imaging at 3000);
and an optical lens arranged between the transparent ultrasonic sensor and the optical fiber laser unit (Yang Fig 2, ¶0138 “Thus, the construction of the light diffuser 1112 may utilize such optical elements as lenses…”), and adjusting characteristics of light from the optical fiber laser unit (Implied as property of diffuser /lenses).
As per claim 63, Yang further teaches a reflector changing a path of light from the optical fiber laser unit to a preset angle (Yang Figs 5A-5D, reflections at prism into different angles preset by shape of the prism used).
As per claim 65, Yang further teaches wherein the optical lens is provided in plurality (Yang ¶0138 “lenses”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 62 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang as applied to claim 61 above, and further in view of Morishima ‘655 [US 20200100655 A1], and further in view of Morishima ‘265 [US 20210145265 A1].
As per claim 62, Yang does not expressly teach a suction unit sucking a pre-set substance; a plurality of forceps holes performing a pre-set medical function; and at least one of water nozzles spraying water.
Morishima ‘655, in a related field of endoscope (a medical imaging device) teaches a suction unit sucking a pre-set substance (Morishima’655 ¶0049 “a suction nipple (made of a resin)”, ¶0110 “…a suction passage…The electrical switch operates suctioning”); a
Morishima ‘655 teaches for endoscope that can provide inspection, while maintaining a high cleaning level at all times. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in Yang by integrating components as in Morishima ‘655 that provides omits a labor for cleaning the endoscope device (Morishima’655 ¶0005).
Yang in view of Morishima ‘655 does not expressly teach a plurality of forceps holes.
Morishima ‘265, in a related field teaches a plurality of forceps holes in an endoscope (Morishima ‘265 ¶0158 “The endoscope 100 may have a plurality of forceps ports 121a”).
As per MPEP 2144.04.VI.B, “…mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced”. In the instant case, the claim merely recites multiple holes for the forceps. This is known as evidenced by Morishima ‘265. The modification of Yang in view of Morishima ‘655, using plurality of forceps holes would be obvious since no unexpected result, other than use for multiple forceps are produced.
Conclusion
/Oommen Jacob/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797