DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This is the response to the Amendment/Request for Reconsideration filed on 12/26/2025.
Claims 1-9 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miyazaki et al. (US 2015/0136221).
Addressing claims 1 and 9, Miyazaki discloses a photoelectric conversion element (solar cell element) and a method for manufacturing a photoelectric conversion element, comprising:
forming a photoelectric conversion portion (2+3+6) configured to perform photoelectric conversion (inherent function of the photoelectric conversion portion),
forming a first infrared emission layer (layer 13 adjacent to the passivation layer 6 in combination with the third oxide layer 31; layer 13 includes a composite of zirconium oxide or hafnium oxide with aluminum oxide, which are materials that have infrared emissivity; additionally, layer 31 is made of either zirconium oxide or hafnium oxide [0036], which are also materials that have infrared emissivity; therefore, collectively the combination of layer 13 and 31 corresponds to the claimed first infrared emission layer) in direct contact with the photoelectric conversion portion (fig. 5 shows the layer 13+31 is formed directly on the passivation layer 6 of the photoelectric conversion portion) using a first material selected from hafnium oxide or zirconium oxide [0036], and
forming a second infrared emission layer (the combination of the interface layer 13 and layer 32) on and in direct contact with the first infrared emission layer (fig. 5, [0036]) using a second material selected from at least one of SiO2 and Al2O3 (layer 13 includes aluminum oxide and layer 32 is made of aluminum oxide, which has infrared emissivity; therefore, the combination of the layer 13 and 32 corresponds to the claimed second infrared emission layer).
Addressing claim 2, layer 5 in fig. 3 is the claimed substrate on which the photoelectric conversion portion is formed.
Addressing claim 3, paragraphs [0021-0022] disclose the photoelectric conversion portion includes a semiconductor substrate (2 or 3).
Addressing claim 5, fig. 5 shows the first infrared emission layer (13+31) is stacked films in which two or more types of the first material are stacked (layers 13 and 31 both include hafnium oxide material, the claim does not require the types from two layers to be different).
Addressing claim 7, fig. 5 shows the second infrared emission layer (13+32) is stacked films in which layers including two types of the second material are stacked (layers 13 and 32 both include aluminum oxide material, the claim does not require the types from two layers to be different).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimazaki (US 2006/0243320) in view of Terakado (EP0087217). Further evidence is provided by Sun et al.
Addressing claims 1 and 9, Shimazaki discloses a photoelectric conversion element (1, figs. 1-2) and a method for manufacturing a photoelectric conversion element, comprising:
a photoelectric conversion portion (thin-film solar cell 3) configured to perform photoelectric conversion (it is the inherent function of the solar cell);
a first infrared emission layer (SiO2 layer 6) that is formed on and is in direct contact with the photoelectric conversion portion (layer 5 is optional, which implies the SiO2 layer 6 is formed on and is in direct contact with the photoelectric conversion portion 3), and
a second infrared emission layer Al2O3 that is formed on and in direct contact with the first infrared emission layer.
Shimazaki is silent regarding the first infrared emission layer includes the claimed materials.
Terakado discloses metal oxides such as ZrO2 or SiO2 are used as infrared radiative layer (page 10 lines 5-6).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, one with ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the first infrared emission layer of Shimazaki by substituting the known SiO2 infrared radiative material with the known ZrO2 infrared radiative material of Terakado in order to obtain the predictable result of forming an infrared emissivity enhancing coating for releasing heat from the solar cell to maintain desired cell efficiency (Rationale B, KSR decision, MPEP 2143). Furthermore, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2144.07); in instant situation, the selection of the known ZrO2 material, in place of the known infrared radiative SiO2 material, based on its suitability for its intended use as an infrared radiative layer as shown by Terakado would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Addressing claim 2, fig. 2 of Shimazaki shows the photoelectric conversion portion 3 is formed on a substrate 2.
Addressing claim 4, paragraph [0036] of Shimazaki discloses the first infrared emission layer has a thickness between 1000 to 3000 nm that falls within the claimed range.
Addressing claim 6, paragraph [0036] of Shimazaki discloses the second infrared emission layer has a thickness from 100 to 500 nm, which falls within the claimed range.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
With regard to the 35 USC 102 rejection of claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 9 as being anticipated by Miyazaki, the Applicants argued Miyazaki does not teach or suggest “a first infrared emission layer … in direct contact with the photoelectric conversion portion configured to perform photoelectric conversion” as claimed because the first infrared emission layer of Miyazaki is in direct contact with the passivation layer 6, which is not configured to perform photoelectric conversion. The argument is not persuasive when the limitation is read in light of the specification. The rejection equates the combination of the semiconductor layers 2, 3 and the passivation layer 6 as the structural equivalence to the claimed photoelectric conversion portion configured to perform photoelectric conversion similarly to the way in which the photoelectric conversion portion 12 of current application is composed of the first electrode layer 21, the photoelectric conversion layer 22, the buffer layer 23 and the second electrode layer 24. Fig. 1 of current application shows that the first infrared emission layer 13a is in direct contact with the second electrode 24, which is not configured to perform photoelectric conversion. Therefore, the limitation “a first infrared emission layer that is formed on and is in direct contact with the photoelectric conversion portion” when read in light of the specification means the first infrared layer is in contact with a layer of the photoelectric conversion portion that is not, in and of itself, configured to perform photoelectric conversion but is a part of the photoelectric conversion portion configured to perform photoelectric conversion. This is satisfied by the teaching of Miyazaki since the first infrared emission layer is in contact with the passivation layer 6 layer of the photoelectric conversion portion configured to perform photoelectric conversion. For the reasons above, Examiner maintains the position that claims 1-3, 5, 7 and 9 are anticipated by Miyazaki.
With regard to the 35 USC 103 rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 6 and 9 as being unpatentable over the disclosure of Shimazaki in view of Terakado, the Applicants argued that since the SiO2 layer of Shimizaki is required in combination with the Al2O3 layer, substituting the SiO2 material of Shimizaki with the ZrO2 material of Terakado would render the prior art invention being modified unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. The argument is not persuasive because the intended purpose of the layer SiO2 is for infrared emissivity or is used as an infrared radiative layer. Terakado discloses that the ZrO2 material has the same infrared radiative property as that of SiO2. In other words, the ZrO2 material serves the same intended purpose of providing infrared radiative property as the SiO2 material when they are used in an infrared radiative layer. Therefore, preponderance of evidence indicates that substituting the known SiO2 material with the known ZrO2 material to serve the same intended purpose as an infrared radiative layer as discussed in the proposed modification would not render the device of Shimizaki unsatisfactory for its intended purpose. Furthermore, the preponderance of evidence indicates reasonable expectation of success that the resulting photoelectric conversion element would function as intended since both SiO2 and ZrO2 materials serve the same intended purpose as infrared radiative materials. For the reasons above, Examiner maintains the position that claims 1-2, 4, 6 and 9 are unpatentable over the disclosure of Shimizaki in view of Terakado.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BACH T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726 01/12/2026