DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gimkiewicz (US 20190261682).
Regarding claim 1, Gimkiewicz teaches an aerosol-generating device (100, Fig. 1) comprising: a body (10); a cartridge (12) coupled to the body and configured to store a liquid ([0042]); and a printed circuit board assembly (40) disposed at the body and positioned adjacent to the cartridge (Figs 4a and 4b), wherein the PCB assembly (Fig. 5b) comprises: a PCB (48); at least one light source, specifically an LED (42), mounted on the PCB (Fig 5b); and a first sensor (44) mounted on the PCB at a region of the PCB different than the at least one light source (Fig. 5b).
Regarding claim 2, Gimkiewicz teaches that the body (10) comprises: a lower body (24); and an upper body (22) disposed above the lower body, wherein the upper body (22) comprises an elongated column configured to face a side wall of the cartridge (Fig. 2), and wherein the PCB assembly (40) is disposed at the column (22, Fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 3, Gimkiewicz teaches further comprising a window (“aperture”, [0057]) covering the PCB assembly (48) and configured to allow light to pass therethrough ([0057]).
Regarding claim 5, Gimkiewicz teaches that the cartridge (12) comprises a first chamber configured to store the liquid ([0042]-[0043]) and an insertion space formed separately from the first chamber (space around the cartridge), and wherein the window (“aperture”) has a concave shape corresponding to a convex outer side of the cartridge adjacent to the insertion space (Fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 6, Gimkiewicz teaches the window (“aperture”) comprises at least one recess configured to accommodate the at least one light source, LED (42) (Fig. 4a, [0057]).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Gimkiewicz teaches further comprising a window (49) covering the PCB assembly (48, Fig. 5b) and configured to allow light to pass therethrough ([0059]), wherein the column (22) comprises a flange protruding inward to form an edge (“aperture,” Fig. 4a) and configured to allow a surface of the window to be attached thereto, via the PCB assembly (40, Fig. 4a).
Regarding claim 9, Gimkiewicz teaches that the PCB assembly(40) is elongated along a lengthwise direction of the column (22) (Figs. 3 and 4a).
Regarding claim 10, Gimkiewicz teaches that the PCB assembly comprises one end exposed downwards from the upper body (22) to electrically connect the PCB assembly (40) to a device provided at the lower body via connector (50) ([0057]).
Regarding claim 11, Gimkiewicz teaches that the cartridge (12) comprises a first chamber configured to store the liquid ([0042]) and an insertion space, or aperture, formed separately from the first chamber ([0057]), wherein the first sensor faces the cartridge at a position corresponding to the insertion space, or aperture ([0057]) (Fig. 4a), and wherein the at least one light source includes a plurality of light sources, LEDs (42) respectively disposed on opposite sides of the first sensor (44) (Fig. 5b).
Regarding claim 12, Gimkiewicz teaches a plate (47) attached to the PCB assembly (40) to cover a region of the PCB (48) while leaving the at least one light source exposed (Fig. 5b and [0059]).
Regarding claim 13, Gimkiewicz teaches that the first sensor (44) is configured to sense a change in electromagnetic characteristics caused by a neighboring object ([0063]-[0064]), and wherein the plate (47) is configured to allow electromagnetic waves, specifically light, to pass therethrough, via microlenses (45) ([0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Gimkiewicz teaches that the body (10) comprises: a lower body (24); and an upper body (22) disposed above the lower body (Fig. 2) and configured to allow the cartridge (12) to be coupled thereto (Fig. 2 and [0053]), wherein the upper body (22) comprises a mount (20) configured to receive a lower portion of the cartridge (Fig. 2 and [0053]).
Regarding claim 16, Gimkiewicz teaches that the upper body (22) comprises a column extending upwards adjacent to the mount (extension of upper body, 22, in the shape of a column, Fig. 2) and configured to face a side wall of the cartridge (Fig. 4a), and wherein the PCB assembly (40) is disposed at the column (Fig. 4a and [0056]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gimkiewicz.
Regarding claim 4, Gimkiewicz does not expressly teach that the window (49) is configured to contact a side wall of the cartridge (12). However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the outside edge of the window modified to contact the side wall of the cartridge (12) so that light from the LED (42) is directed only towards the first sensor (44, image detector) motivated by the desire to optimize the sensing system.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gimkiewicz as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Schennum (US 20170013875).
Regarding claim 8, Gimkiewicz teaches that the PCB (40) is attached to the window (Fig. 4a) but does not expressly teach that the PCB comprises a plurality of through-holes formed therein, and the window comprises a plurality of penetrating protrusions configured to be inserted into the through-holes.
Schennum teaches a recharging pack for an e-cigarette (abstract). Schennum teaches PCB’s that are attached to tubes by pegs that extend outwards from the walls of tube through corresponding holes in the PCB, thereby retaining the PCB in the appropriate position relative to the tubes ([0030]). Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have attached the PCB of Gimkiewicz to the window of Gimkiewicz by placing pegs on the window and making through-holes on the PCB, as suggested by Schennum, since this would retain the PCB in the appropriate position relative to the window with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results (Schennum, [0030]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Gimkiewicz as applied to claim 14, above, and further in view of Wang (US 20200297033).
Regarding claim 15, modified Gimkiewicz does not expressly teach that the cartridge is configured to be detachably coupled to the mount in a snap-fit manner.
Wang teaches an atomization generating device that includes a main body and a cartridge (abstract). Wang teaches a snap-fitting opening provided at a side wall of the exterior housing of the cartridge and a protrusion provided at the bottom base of the cartridge. The open hole at the side wall of the exterior housing of the cartridge may be configured as the snap-fitting opening and the protrusion may be disposed at the bottom base of the cartridge at a location corresponding to the snap-fitting opening. The protrusion may be configured to couple or engage with the snap-fitting opening to securely mount the bottom base of the cartridge to the exterior housing of the cartridge through the snap-fitting manner ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the cartridge of modified Gimkiewicz be detachably coupled to the mount in a snap-fit manner, as suggested by Wang, because it allows for securely mounting the cartridge to the mount (Wang, [0020]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gimkiewicz as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Cao (US 20200060345).
Regarding claim 17, Gimkiewicz teaches that the cartridge comprises a cartridge inlet (15), but does not expressly teach that the device further comprises a second sensor disposed at the lower body and adjacent to the cartridge inlet.
Cao teaches a switch control circuit for an electronic cigarette (abstract). Cao teaches a second sensor configured to sense flow of air to improve user experience ([0033]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a second sensor to sense flow of air, as suggested by Cao, in Gimkiewicz because it improves user experience (Cao, [0033]).
Modified Gimkiewicz does not expressly teach that the second sensor is accommodated when the upper body is coupled to the lower body, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have allowed the second sensor to be accommodated when the device is in use, and when the device of modified Gimkiewicz is in use, the upper body is coupled to the lower body.
Modified Gimkiewicz also does not expressly teach that the second sensor is disposed at the lower body and adjacent to the cartridge inlet adjacent to the mount. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have positioned the second sensor at the lower body and adjacent to the cartridge inlet adjacent to the mount motivated by the desire to enable the second sensor to sense flow of air to improve user experience (Cao, [0033]).
Conclusion
YANA B. KRINKER
Examiner
Art Unit 1755
/YANA B KRINKER/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755