DETAILED ACTION
This action is response to application number 18/284,496, amendment and remarks, dated on 01/16/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 12-17 pending.
Claims 4, 8, 10-11 and 18-20 cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant in page 6 of remarks argues that Zhang does not describe: selecting one uplink path as an initial transmission path, and only conditionally transmitting the same UL data on a second path after the initial transmission decision.
If applicant is interpreting “transmitting the same UL data on a second path after the initial transmission”, in other words, if there is a delay to be applied between the initial first path transmission and the transmission of the same UL data on a second path and the transmission on the first/initial and the transmission on the second path/duplicate path don’t occur simultaneously. This has to be claimed and it is required to particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Applicant in page 7 of remarks in regard to Zhang argues that “Instead, Zhang's disclosures focus on simultaneous or coordinated duplication, often at the PDCP or RLC level, rather than a staged UL transmission process in which one path is selected first and another path is used only if duplication conditions arise”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., not simultaneous or coordinated duplication, a staged UL transmission process) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim 1 recites, “transmitting the UL data on the first path, and on a condition that the one or more conditions for duplication are fulfilled, transmitting the UL data on the second path”.
Zhang discloses transmitting the UL data on the first path (first path or direct path/Uu between the remote UE and the network equipment/base station; Figs. 4A, 5A, 6A), and on a condition that the one or more conditions for duplication are fulfilled (based on the network condition and the WTRU condition; ¶77), transmitting the UL data on the second path (transmitting the UL data on the indirect path/relay path/duplicate path between the remote UE and the network equipment/base station), see Figs. 4A, 5A, 6A, see exemplary paragraphs (In FIG. 3A, traffic that is associated with the remote UE 306 is split or duplicated into more than one path. Two relay links or paths are shown in FIG. 3A, but more generally there may be n paths, with n being greater than or equal to 2, each carrying UC bearer traffic in some embodiments. In FIG. 3A, one path is between the network equipment 302 and the remote UE 306 through the relay UE 308, and another path is between the network equipment 302 and the remote UE 306 through the relay UE 304. These paths may be used for downlink transmission from the network equipment 302 to the remote UE 306, uplink transmission to the network equipment 302 from the remote UE 306, or both; ¶92; In FIG. 4A, traffic associated with the remote UE 406 is split or duplicated into more than one path, each carrying UC bearer traffic in some embodiments. The paths between the network equipment 402 and the remote UE 406 in the example 400 include an indirect connection through the relay UE 408 and a direct Uu path between the network equipment and the remote UE. These paths may be used for transmission from the network equipment 402 to the remote UE 406, uplink transmission to the network equipment 402 from the remote UE 406, or both; ¶103).
Applicant in page 7 of remarks, argues that “Zhang also does not disclose Configuration based path selection as claimed. Claims 1-3 and 13-15 further require that the WTRU receive configuration information regarding path selection, including configured parameters associated with network or WTRU conditions, and that the configuration information includes associations between configured parameters and the different path types. While Zhang discusses relay links and sidelink communications, Zhang does not disclose: configuration information that explicitly associates parameters with specific path types (e.g., direct VS. sidelink), nor using such associations to determine which uplink path should be selected for initial UL transmission. Zhang's path usage is reactive and protocol-driven, not configuration-driven in the manner claimed. The present claims require preconfigured associations that guide uplink path selection logic at the WTRU, which is absent from Zhang”.
Zhang's path usage is configuration-driven and the remote UE and a group of UEs are configured to operate according to the UE cooperation (UC) configuration to provide a relay and duplicate path to the remote UE for the uplink/downlink transmission, see exemplary paragraphs (Signaling to enable relay-based user equipment (UE) cooperation (UC) by a group of UEs, and a configuration including an adaptation protocol for processing of UC bearer traffic, are communicated in a wireless communication network. The UC bearer traffic includes a UC bearer and UC bearer attributes, and the UC bearer includes either a split bearer or a duplicated bearer indicated in the UC bearer attributes. In some embodiments, wireless network connectivity that is available for a relay link is determined, and the adaptation protocol is determined based on the determined connectivity. Signaling to enable configuration of the relay link in accordance with the connectivity and the adaptation protocol is communicated. A UE may receive signaling to configure the UE for such a relay link, and communicates traffic between a remote UE and the wireless communication network over the relay link; abstract; ¶10; A third aspect of the present disclosure relates to a method for a remote UE. The method involves receiving signaling to enable relay-based UE cooperation (UC) by a group of UEs, and receiving a configuration. The group of UEs includes the remote UE and a relay UE. The configuration includes adaptation information for processing of UC bearer traffic. The UC bearer traffic includes a UC bearer and UC bearer attributes, and the UC bearer includes either a split packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) bearer or a duplicated PDCP bearer indicated in the UC bearer attributes. The method further includes communicating the UC bearer traffic with the relay UE; ¶15; ¶16; ¶20; Another method involves receiving, by a UE, signaling to configure the UE for a relay link between a remote UE and a wireless communication network in accordance with wireless network connectivity that is available for the relay link and an adaptation protocol that is based on the connectivity to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link; and communicating, by the UE, traffic between the remote UE and the wireless communication network over the relay link; 24).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., configuration information that explicitly associates parameters with specific path types) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim 2 recites, the configuration information includes associations between the configured parameters and one or more direct paths and one or more sidelink paths”, and claim 3 recites, The method of claim 2, wherein the first path and the second path for transmission comprise a direct path, a sidelink path, a direct path and a sidelink path, or two sidelink paths.
It is reminded that there is no claim limitation of a configuration information that explicitly associates parameters with specific path types. In the contrary the claim 3 identifies the first path and the second path as a direct path, a sidelink path, a direct path and a sidelink path, or two sidelink paths without explicitly associates parameters with a specific path.
Zhang in figures 3A, 4A, 5A, 6A show the first path and the second path for transmission comprise a direct path (Uu), a sidelink path (SL), a direct path (Uu) and a sidelink path (SL), or two sidelink paths (two SLs), see exemplary paragraphs (UE cooperation (UC) designs with example protocol architectures are proposed. Such features as the following are among those described in further detail elsewhere herein: UE cooperation mechanisms with UC bearer attributes included in an adaptation protocol; L2-based Uu (i.e., a link or connection between network equipment, such as a base station, and a UE) and sidelink (SL) examples; detailed protocol architecture examples for different UE cooperation scenarios; UE cooperation with relay UEs only, direct (i.e., Uu) and indirect (e.g., Uu and SL) connections, and multi-hop connections, including support for one or more relay UE hops in some embodiments; user plane and control plane designs, including unicast and group cast (broadcast or multi-cast) designs; L2-based UC within SL only, which can be used in a combination with L3-based relaying configuration; and dual connectivity (DC) or carrier aggregation (CA) mechanisms for a remote UE via relaying UEs, where cooperation among network equipment (e.g., multiple cells or base stations) and multiple UEs (e.g., relaying UEs or helping remote UEs) can be achieved; ¶63; In FIG. 3A, traffic that is associated with the remote UE 306 is split or duplicated into more than one path. Two relay links or paths are shown in FIG. 3A, but more generally there may be n paths, with n being greater than or equal to 2, each carrying UC bearer traffic in some embodiments. In FIG. 3A, one path is between the network equipment 302 and the remote UE 306 through the relay UE 308, and another path is between the network equipment 302 and the remote UE 306 through the relay UE 304. These paths may be used for downlink transmission from the network equipment 302 to the remote UE 306, uplink transmission to the network equipment 302 from the remote UE 306, or both; ¶92; In FIG. 4A, traffic associated with the remote UE 406 is split or duplicated into more than one path, each carrying UC bearer traffic in some embodiments. The paths between the network equipment 402 and the remote UE 406 in the example 400 include an indirect connection through the relay UE 408 and a direct Uu path between the network equipment and the remote UE. These paths may be used for transmission from the network equipment 402 to the remote UE 406, uplink transmission to the network equipment 402 from the remote UE 406, or both; ¶103).
Applicant in page 8 of remarks, regarding claim 12 argues that “However, Mok's duplication mechanisms are packet-level retransmission techniques, not uplink path-aware duplication decisions. Accordingly, Mok does not teach or suggest: (1) determining time differences between uplink resource availability on different uplink paths, or (2) using such differences to trigger duplication between a first-selected uplink path and a second uplink path. Mok's duplication is agnostic to uplink path heterogeneity and does not contemplate the claimed scenario”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., uplink path-aware duplication decisions, uplink path heterogeneity, the claimed scenario) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim 12, recites “wherein the one or more conditions for duplication comprise at least one of time differences between UL resource availability on the first path and the second path or reception of a negative acknowledgement (NACK) on the first path”.
Mok discloses the one or more conditions for duplication comprise at least one of time differences between UL resource availability on the first path and the second path (time difference between UL resource availability to transmit the duplicate to at least two base station on the first path and the second path) or reception of a negative acknowledgement (NACK) on the first path (or reception of a NACK); see exemplary paragraphs; (to transmit the duplicate on the first path and the second path; The method comprises the steps of: generating a data packet; determining whether to perform duplicate transmission for the data packet; and if it is determined to perform duplicate transmission for the data packet, generating at least two duplicate packets by duplicating the data packet, and transmitting the respective at least two duplicate packets to at least two base stations; abstract; Furthermore, according to an embodiment of the disclosure, efficient duplication transmission is possible in a communication environment having several links; ¶17; ¶212; If two or more links performing duplication transmission have different channel states, a representative value of the channel state may be set as a minimum value or maximum value of the channel state or a combination of the two values. Whether to perform duplication transmission may be determined based on the representative value; ¶215; Referring to the embodiment of FIG. 30, a UE identifies whether duplication transmission is permitted for a corresponding bearer by identifying a bearer setup (3010). In this case, the bearer may be any one of various bearers, such as a data radio bearer (DRB), a signaling radio bearer (SRB), and an EPS bearer, based on LTE. The bearer setup may be identified based on the contents of a corresponding message when an RRC connection setup message, an RRC connection reestablishment message or an RRC connection reconfiguration message is transmitted. If duplication transmission is permitted for the corresponding bearer, the transmitter may transmit the corresponding bearer by duplicating the corresponding bearer (3020). If not, the transmitter cannot randomly perform duplication transmission, may select only one path, and may perform transmission (3030); ¶217; conditions for duplication comprising the time differences between UL resource availability on the first path and the second path; FIG. 33 shows an embodiment of duplication transmission using a duplication timer. FIG. 34 shows an embodiment of duplication transmission using a duplication timer. When duplication transmission is performed, the time taken to transmit data may be different due to a difference between times when physical resources (e.g., physical resource blocks (PRBs)) are allocated. When such a time difference occurs, if the transmission of the corresponding data is not performed through another path until a duplication timer expires after the timer operates at transmission timing of first transmitted data, the data transmission may be configured to be not performed. If the transmission of the data does not satisfy a latency requirement after the duplication timer expires, unnecessary transmission may be prevented. In the example of FIG. 33, after data is transmitted to RX1, data is transmitted to RX2 before a duplication timer expires. In contrast, in the example of FIG. 34, data is not transmitted to RX2 because a duplication timer has expired before data is transmitted to the RX2; ¶233-¶234; conditions for duplication comprising reception of a negative acknowledgement (NACK) on the first path; FIG. 35 shows an example in which duplication transmission is performed in retransmission. Retransmission in an ARQ or HARQ is performed based on the reception of negative acknowledge (NACK) (including that NACK is considered to have been received although ACK is not received for a given time). As shown in FIG. 35, if NACK is received with respect to initially transmitted data, duplication transmission may be performed on the corresponding data upon retransmission; ¶236-¶237).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated or alternatively unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0153063 A1).
Claim 1, Zhang discloses a method performed by a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU) (remote UE; Figs. 3A, 4A, 5A, 6A), the method comprising:
receiving configuration information regarding path selection (selecting paths/routes/links including a direct path (Uu), a sidelink path (SL), a direct path (Uu) and a sidelink path (SL), or two sidelink paths (SL) between remote UE and base station/gNB as shown in Figs. 3A, 4A, 5A, 6A), the configuration information including configured parameters associated with at least one of network conditions or WTRU conditions (associated with network conditions and/or WTRU conditions; One relay link technique that could be used to improve wireless communication network coverage, such as at cell edge or indoors, involves relaying the data of a remote UE through a relay UE. In an uplink operation where data is originated at the remote UE and destined for a network device, the remote UE may be known as an SUE as noted above. Another uplink technique is to improve system throughput by sharing data of an SUE to a Cooperative UE (CUE) on a sidelink between the SUE and the CUE, and then conducting joint transmission in uplink through both the Uu link and the sidelink. An SUE could be helped or assisted by each of these techniques for different scenarios. For example, if an SUE is in a coverage hole and does not have large amount of data to transmit, it could be helped by a relay UE. In another situation, if an SUE has a large amount of data to transmit and it is able to find a nearby CUE, then the SUE could share some data with the CUE on sidelink and both CUE and SUE could conduct joint uplink transmission. Therefore, it may be beneficial to support both types of uplink UE cooperation, and to support adaptation between the two types. A CUE could be configured into different uplink cooperative modes, including a relay mode and a joint transmit mode. Moreover, these two techniques could also be used together to achieve certain goals; ¶77); selecting the first path for an initial transmission of the available UL data (receiving configuration information as shown in Figs. 3B-3D, 4B-4D, 5B-5D and 6B to configure the remote UE and the relay UEs to select first/initial and a second/duplicate path/route/link between the remote UE and base station; Signaling to enable relay-based user equipment (UE) cooperation (UC) by a group of UEs, and a configuration including an adaptation protocol for processing of UC bearer traffic, are communicated in a wireless communication network. The UC bearer traffic includes a UC bearer and UC bearer attributes, and the UC bearer includes either a split bearer or a duplicated bearer indicated in the UC bearer attributes. In some embodiments, wireless network connectivity that is available for a relay link is determined, and the adaptation protocol is determined based on the determined connectivity. Signaling to enable configuration of the relay link in accordance with the connectivity and the adaptation protocol is communicated. A UE may receive signaling to configure the UE for such a relay link, and communicates traffic between a remote UE and the wireless communication network over the relay link; abstract; ¶10; A third aspect of the present disclosure relates to a method for a remote UE. The method involves receiving signaling to enable relay-based UE cooperation (UC) by a group of UEs, and receiving a configuration. The group of UEs includes the remote UE and a relay UE. The configuration includes adaptation information for processing of UC bearer traffic. The UC bearer traffic includes a UC bearer and UC bearer attributes, and the UC bearer includes either a split packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) bearer or a duplicated PDCP bearer indicated in the UC bearer attributes. The method further includes communicating the UC bearer traffic with the relay UE; ¶15; ¶16; ¶20; Another method involves receiving, by a UE, signaling to configure the UE for a relay link between a remote UE and a wireless communication network in accordance with wireless network connectivity that is available for the relay link and an adaptation protocol that is based on the connectivity to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link; and communicating, by the UE, traffic between the remote UE and the wireless communication network over the relay link; 24);
determining a first path and a second path for transmission of available uplink (UL) data (determining paths/routes/links for uplink transmission and downlink transmission between the remote UE and the base station; A remote UE can be in-coverage or out-of-coverage, and a remote UE can be referred to as a target UE (TUE) for downlink traffic or a source UE (SUE) for uplink traffic. In the present disclosure, reference is made primarily to uplink and downlink transmission to indicate, respectively, transmission from and to a remote UE. It should be appreciated, however, that sidelink transmissions may also or instead be referred to as upward transmissions from a remote UE or downward transmissions toward a remote UE; ¶62) based on the configuration information and the current conditions (current network condition and/or WTRU condition): receiving one or more conditions for duplication (receiving duplication information and attribute); and transmitting the UL data on the first path, and on a condition that the one or more conditions for duplication are fulfilled, transmitting the UL data on the second path (based on the current network condition and/or WTRU condition and duplication, receiving duplication attribute to transmit duplicate UC traffic to the base station via a first path and a second path (direct paths/Uu, indirect paths/relay paths); ¶11; ¶12; A third aspect of the present disclosure relates to a method for a remote UE. The method involves receiving signaling to enable relay-based UE cooperation (UC) by a group of UEs, and receiving a configuration. The group of UEs includes the remote UE and a relay UE. The configuration includes adaptation information for processing of UC bearer traffic. The UC bearer traffic includes a UC bearer and UC bearer attributes, and the UC bearer includes either a split packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) bearer or a duplicated PDCP bearer indicated in the UC bearer attributes. The method further includes communicating the UC bearer traffic with the relay UE. In an embodiment of the third aspect, the UC bearer attributes include any one or more of: a UC bearer identity; a UC bearer index; one or more destination identifiers; one or more source identifiers; a total number of UC bearer streams processed from the associated PDCP bearer; an indication of whether the UC bearer comprises a split PDCP bearer or a duplicated PDCP bearer; an indication of an identifier of a relay path or route; an indication of a total number of UC paths or routes for a UE; an indication of a time stamp or adaptation reference at each adaptation processing point over relaying; an indication as to UC or relay only traffic; an indication to a control operation; ¶15-¶16; In FIG. 3A, traffic that is associated with the remote UE 306 is split or duplicated into more than one path. Two relay links or paths are shown in FIG. 3A, but more generally there may be n paths, with n being greater than or equal to 2, each carrying UC bearer traffic in some embodiments. In FIG. 3A, one path is between the network equipment 302 and the remote UE 306 through the relay UE 308, and another path is between the network equipment 302 and the remote UE 306 through the relay UE 304. These paths may be used for downlink transmission from the network equipment 302 to the remote UE 306, uplink transmission to the network equipment 302 from the remote UE 306, or both; ¶92; In FIG. 4A, traffic associated with the remote UE 406 is split or duplicated into more than one path, each carrying UC bearer traffic in some embodiments. The paths between the network equipment 402 and the remote UE 406 in the example 400 include an indirect connection through the relay UE 408 and a direct Uu path between the network equipment and the remote UE. These paths may be used for transmission from the network equipment 402 to the remote UE 406, uplink transmission to the network equipment 402 from the remote UE 406, or both; ¶103).
Claims 2, 14, Zhang discloses wherein the configuration information includes associations between the configured parameters and one or more direct paths and one or more sidelink paths (configuration information including associations of attributes and the configured parameters with the direct paths (Uu) and the sidelink paths (SL) as shown in Fig. 4A; ¶63; FIG. 4A is a block diagram of another example communication system illustrating a mixed direct link and relay link scenario, and FIG. 4B is a block diagram illustrating an embodiment of a UC protocol stack architecture related to the scenario shown in FIG. 4A. In the example 400 in FIG. 4A, the difference from the example 300 in FIG. 3A is that the remote UE 406 is in-coverage in FIG. 4A. However, there are still two links in the example 400, including one direct Uu link 410 between the network equipment 402 and the remote UE 406, and one relay link including a Uu segment between the network equipment 402 and the relay UE 408 and a sidelink segment between the relay UE 408 and the remote UE 406 through the sidelink 414; ¶102; In FIG. 4A, traffic associated with the remote UE 406 is split or duplicated into more than one path, each carrying UC bearer traffic in some embodiments. The paths between the network equipment 402 and the remote UE 406 in the example 400 include an indirect connection through the relay UE 408 and a direct Uu path between the network equipment and the remote UE. These paths may be used for transmission from the network equipment 402 to the remote UE 406, uplink transmission to the network equipment 402 from the remote UE 406, or both; ¶103).
Claims 3, 15, Zhang discloses wherein the first path and the second path for transmission comprise a direct path, a sidelink path, a direct path and a sidelink path, or two sidelink paths (selecting direct paths and/or sidelink paths according to Figs. 3A, 4A, 5A, 6A for UC traffic communication between the remote UE and the base station; UE cooperation (UC) designs with example protocol architectures are proposed. Such features as the following are among those described in further detail elsewhere herein: UE cooperation mechanisms with UC bearer attributes included in an adaptation protocol; L2-based Uu (i.e., a link or connection between network equipment, such as a base station, and a UE) and sidelink (SL) examples; detailed protocol architecture examples for different UE cooperation scenarios; UE cooperation with relay UEs only, direct (i.e., Uu) and indirect (e.g., Uu and SL) connections, and multi-hop connections, including support for one or more relay UE hops in some embodiments; user plane and control plane designs, including unicast and group cast (broadcast or multi-cast) designs; L2-based UC within SL only, which can be used in a combination with L3-based relaying configuration; and dual connectivity (DC) or carrier aggregation (CA) mechanisms for a remote UE via relaying UEs, where cooperation among network equipment (e.g., multiple cells or base stations) and multiple UEs (e.g., relaying UEs or helping remote UEs) can be achieved; ¶63; ¶77).
Claims 5, 17, Zhang discloses wherein one or more of the configured parameters are associated with WTRU conditions and include one or more of a buffer level or a bearer type (configured attributes are associated with UE conditions having large or small data buffered to transmit and associated with UC bearer traffic type; Issues can arise in current networks for UE relaying functionality. For example, a remote UE and a relay UE can be mobile UEs, and thus channel conditions of either or both of a sidelink (SL) and a Uu link between a base station and a UE can vary over time. This can make relaying functionality unstable or unreliable for a given relaying association between the remote UE and the relay UE. Moreover, due to channel or bandwidth limitations, it can be challenging for a remote UE to support large data rates. For example, a public safety service may require a transmission rate of 12 Mpbs within a limited time window. In some cases such as indoor communications, coverage can also be an issue for a remote UE, and thus using only a single relay link might not be very reliable. For at least certain use cases such as in industrial applications, container applications (e.g., each of the goods in a shipping container having a sensor to communicate each other), health care applications, etc, it may be desirable to support multi-hop relaying with more than one relay UE to forward traffic, in order to extend coverage while avoiding more base station deployments; ¶59; UE cooperation (UC) designs with example protocol architectures are proposed. Such features as the following are among those described in further detail elsewhere herein: UE cooperation mechanisms with UC bearer attributes included in an adaptation protocol; L2-based Uu (i.e., a link or connection between network equipment, such as a base station, and a UE) and sidelink (SL) examples; detailed protocol architecture examples for different UE cooperation scenarios; UE cooperation with relay UEs only, direct (i.e., Uu) and indirect (e.g., Uu and SL) connections, and multi-hop connections, including support for one or more relay UE hops in some embodiments; user plane and control plane designs, including unicast and group cast (broadcast or multi-cast) designs; L2-based UC within SL only, which can be used in a combination with L3-based relaying configuration; and dual connectivity (DC) or carrier aggregation (CA) mechanisms for a remote UE via relaying UEs, where cooperation among network equipment (e.g., multiple cells or base stations) and multiple UEs (e.g., relaying UEs or helping remote UEs) can be achieved; ¶66; One relay link technique that could be used to improve wireless communication network coverage, such as at cell edge or indoors, involves relaying the data of a remote UE through a relay UE. In an uplink operation where data is originated at the remote UE and destined for a network device, the remote UE may be known as an SUE as noted above. Another uplink technique is to improve system throughput by sharing data of an SUE to a Cooperative UE (CUE) on a sidelink between the SUE and the CUE, and then conducting joint transmission in uplink through both the Uu link and the sidelink. An SUE could be helped or assisted by each of these techniques for different scenarios. For example, if an SUE is in a coverage hole and does not have large amount of data to transmit, it could be helped by a relay UE. In another situation, if an SUE has a large amount of data to transmit and it is able to find a nearby CUE, then the SUE could share some data with the CUE on sidelink and both CUE and SUE could conduct joint uplink transmission. Therefore, it may be beneficial to support both types of uplink UE cooperation, and to support adaptation between the two types. A CUE could be configured into different uplink cooperative modes, including a relay mode and a joint transmit mode. Moreover, these two techniques could also be used together to achieve certain goals; ¶77).
Claim 6, Zhang discloses wherein the configured parameters include one or more thresholds for user plane (UP) data transmissions and one or more thresholds for control plane (CP) data transmissions (the configured attribute parameter identifying the total number of bearer segmentation available to a remote UE, identifying the number or UC bearer streams of the remote UE and identifying the total number of UC paths for the remote UE, limiting within a threshold the transmission of the UE cooperation bearer (UC bearer) including the user dedicated radio bearer DRB (user plane (UP) data) and the signaling radio bearer (control plane (CP) data) from the remote UE to the base station; Illustrative examples of UC bearer attributes include the following, any one or more of which may be used in embodiments: a bearer identity, also referred to herein as a UC bearer identity, such as a number or other identifier; a UC bearer index; one or more destination identifiers; one or more source identifiers; a total number of bearer segmentations allocated to or otherwise associated with a UE; a total number of UC bearer streams processed from the associated PDCP bearer(s) being split or duplicated in the UC bearer, identified by an identity such as an AP generation reference number; an indication as to whether a bearer is a duplicate bearer or multiplexing bearer to one or more other bearers, such as whether the UC bearer includes a split PDCP bearer or a duplicated PDCP bearer generated by a split or multiplexing operation or a duplication operation; an indication of a path or route number or index or other identifier of a relay path or route; an indication of a total number of UC paths or routes for a UE; an indication of a time stamp or adaptation reference of a relaying bearer for use in adaptation point processing; an indication of a time stamp or adaptation reference at each adaptation processing point over relaying an indication as to UC or relay only traffic; and an indication to a control operation. An indication to a control operation may be or include a relaying strategy for example, which may involve conditional relaying, unconditional relaying, one or more bearer drop criteria, etc. In some embodiments, such an indication may specify when to drop UC bearer traffic based on certain criteria, such as a latency limit and/or other conditions; ¶86; In general, UC may involve UC bearer traffic with at least one AP header or sub-header and at least one processed (i.e., split or duplicated) bearer from an original traffic bearer such as DRB or SRB. The format for UC bearer traffic or a message shown in FIG. 2 is just an example to implement an AP for UC. In another embodiment, an AP may include one header to indicate how many sub-headers are included; ¶82).
Claim 7, Zhang discloses wherein the WTRU determines a first path for UP data transmissions and a second path for CP data transmissions (remote UE determining transmission of the UE cooperation bearer (UC bearer) including the user dedicated radio bearer DRB (user plane (UP) data) and the signaling radio bearer (control plane (CP) data) on different paths/routes/links from the remote UE to the base station; In a session of a UE application, a logical flow pipe used for transmitting such traffic in the network may be known as a “bearer”, which may also be interchangeably referred to as a “radio bearer” or “traffic bearer” herein. The bearer optionally includes quality of service (QoS) requirements associated with the session. A radio bearer may in general have two types: (user) dedicated radio bearer (DRB) and signaling radio bearer (SRB). A DRB is used to transmit the user data traffic (a DRB is sometimes informally referred to as user data traffic). An SRB is used to transmit control messages such as higher-layer signaling or configuration messages (SRBs are sometimes informally referred to as control messages or signaling messages). A UE cooperation bearer (UC bearer or UC radio bearer) is defined herein as a “split” bearer (e.g., a split of PDCP DRB(s) and/or SRB(s) or a split of PDCP bearer or bearers); OR as a “duplicated” bearer (e.g., a duplication of PDCP bearer(s) or a duplication of PDCP DRB(s) and/or PDCP SRB(s)). A “split” operation associated with a split bearer may also be called a multiplexing operation, and a split bearer may also be called a multiplexed bearer; ¶54; In an embodiment, a PDCP bearer includes (user) data radio bearer (DRB) and signaling radio bearer (SRB), and thus a split PDCP bearer or duplicated PDCP bearer is either split DRB/SRB or duplicated DRB/SRB (i.e., either split PDCP bearer or duplicated PDCP bearer). Each split or duplicated DRB/SRB, or UC bearer in the case of UC configuration, will enter into (or be served by) one RLC stream or entity; ¶56; Thus multiple RLC streams (or entities) are provided in some embodiments to support a split or duplicated PDCP bearer in a UC scheme; however, the same DRB identity may be used for each spilt DRB in each of the RLC streams (or entities). The DRB identity should be unique for one application within the scope of the UE to make UC reverse processing possible at a reception end, and this is the case for SRB as well; ¶57; In general, UC may involve UC bearer traffic with at least one AP header or sub-header and at least one processed (i.e., split or duplicated) bearer from an original traffic bearer such as DRB or SRB. The format for UC bearer traffic or a message shown in FIG. 2 is just an example to implement an AP for UC. In another embodiment, an AP may include one header to indicate how many sub-headers are included; ¶82).
Claim 9, Zhang discloses randomly selecting one of the first path or the second path, and transmitting the UL data on the randomly selected path (dynamically and randomly selecting direct paths and/or sidelink paths according to Figs. 3A, 4A, 5A, 6A for the uplink UC traffic transmission from the remote UE to the base station based on the varying network condition, measurements, CBR and sidelink-RSRPs; The remote UE is configurable to switch service under certain conditions and switching criteria such as channel quality measurement(s) and/or channel quality threshold(s) between more than one relay UE, where a switching notification or request to the network equipment can done by both remote UE and one relay UE (either currently served relay UE or to be served relay UE); ¶129; Other features may also or instead be provided in some embodiments. Relay UE switching, for UC or other related aspects, is an example. This may be especially useful for mobile UEs, where any of relay UE(s) and remote UE(s) can be moving around such that one or more connections among network equipment, relay UE(s), and remote UE(s) can vary; ¶181; Network equipment, a relay UE, and/or a remote UE in a UC group may trigger a connection change, connection switching, or re-establishing a connection; ¶182; Network equipment, a relay UE, and/or remote UE may keep a list of connection quality indications for one or more UEs, including connected relay UE(s) and/or remote UE(s) in the UC group, to enable fast connection switching or changes. In some embodiments, measurement information may include sensing based channel busy ratio (CBR) and sidelink-RSRP; ¶183).
Claim 13, limitation of claim 13 analyzed with respect to claim 1, the further limitation of claim 13 disclosed by Zhang a Wireless Transmit/Receive Unit (WTRU) comprising (remote UE; Figs. 3A, 4A, 5A, 6A) a receiver (transceiver; Fig. 17A, el. 1702), a processor (processing unit; Fig. 17A, el. 1700) and a transmitter (transceiver; Fig. 17A, el. 1702) (A fourth aspect of the present disclosure relates to a remote UE apparatus. The apparatus includes a communication interface; a processor, coupled to the communication interface; and a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, coupled to the processor, storing programming for execution by the processor. The programming includes instructions to perform a method of the third aspect or of any embodiment thereof; ¶19; The ED 1710 also includes at least one transceiver 1702. The transceiver 1702 is configured to modulate data or other content for transmission by at least one antenna or NIC (Network Interface Controller) 1704. The transceiver 1702 is also configured to demodulate data or other content received by the at least one antenna 1704. Each transceiver 1702 includes any suitable structure for generating signals for wireless transmission and/or processing signals received wirelessly or by wire. Each antenna 1704 includes any suitable structure for transmitting and/or receiving wireless signals. One or multiple transceivers 1702 could be used in the ED 1710, and one or multiple antennas 1704 could be used in the ED 1710. Although shown as a single functional unit, a transceiver 1702 could be implemented using at least one transmitter and at least one separate receiver; ¶247).
Claim 16, Zhang discloses wherein one or more of the configured parameters are associated with network conditions and include one or more of a radio threshold, a signal quality threshold, or a channel busy ratio/channel occupancy ratio (CBR/CR) threshold (under certain conditions switching between the relay UEs based on the channel quality measurement(s) and/or channel quality threshold(s) and CBR criteria; Solution 1: one remote UE can be configured with more than one L3 relay UE where each L3 relay UE will provide relaying help to the remote UE by configuring associated parameters (e.g., remote UE addressing) and report to network equipment on the relaying group configuration. The network equipment may configure IP layer information such as the relay UE IP address and remote UE port number for more than one relaying group associated with same remote UE, such that the network equipment is able to deal with transmissions of multiple paths to or from one remote UE via more than one relay UE. Multiple path transmissions may include duplication packets or multiplexing packets, for example. One remote UE will have more than one path to connect with the network equipment, and there are two operation modes in some embodiments. According to an operation mode 1: The remote UE is configurable to switch service under certain conditions and switching criteria such as channel quality measurement(s) and/or channel quality threshold(s) between more than one relay UE, where a switching notification or request to the network equipment can done by both remote UE and one relay UE (either currently served relay UE or to be served relay UE). According to an operation mode 2: The remote UE is configured to be served by more than one relay (i.e., more than one relay UE is activated or active to help the remote UE). For UL, the remote UE may transmit independent packets or duplicated packets to the network equipment via one or more L3 relay UEs; for DL, the remote UE may be able to receive duplicated or multiplexed packets that are transmitted towards it; ¶129; Network equipment, a relay UE, and/or remote UE may keep a list of connection quality indications for one or more UEs, including connected relay UE(s) and/or remote UE(s) in the UC group, to enable fast connection switching or changes. In some embodiments, measurement information may include sensing based channel busy ratio (CBR) and sidelink-RSRP; ¶183).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0153063 A1) in view of Mok et al. (US 2019/0327641 A1).
Claim 12, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more conditions for duplication comprise at least one of time differences between UL resource availability on the first path and the second path or reception of a negative acknowledgement (NACK) on the first path.
Mok in the same field of endeavor, determining whether to perform duplicate transmission for the data packet and if it is determined to perform duplicate transmission for the data packet, generating at least two duplicate packets by duplicating the data packet, and transmitting the respective at least two duplicate packets (abstract) discloses wherein the one or more conditions for duplication comprise at least one of time differences between UL resource availability on the first path and the second path or reception of a negative acknowledgement (NACK) on the first path (Fig. 33; Fig. 34; Fig. 35; FIG. 33 shows an embodiment of duplication transmission using a duplication timer. FIG. 34 shows an embodiment of duplication transmission using a duplication timer. When duplication transmission is performed, the time taken to transmit data may be different due to a difference between times when physical resources (e.g., physical resource blocks (PRBs)) are allocated. When such a time difference occurs, if the transmission of the corresponding data is not performed through another path until a duplication timer expires after the timer operates at transmission timing of first transmitted data, the data transmission may be configured to be not performed. If the transmission of the data does not satisfy a latency requirement after the duplication timer expires, unnecessary transmission may be prevented. In the example of FIG. 33, after data is transmitted to RX1, data is transmitted to RX2 before a duplication timer expires. In contrast, in the example of FIG. 34, data is not transmitted to RX2 because a duplication timer has expired before data is transmitted to the RX2; ¶233-¶234; FIG. 35 shows an example in which duplication transmission is performed in retransmission. Retransmission in an ARQ or HARQ is performed based on the reception of negative acknowledge (NACK) (including that NACK is considered to have been received although ACK is not received for a given time). As shown in FIG. 35, if NACK is received with respect to initially transmitted data, duplication transmission may be performed on the corresponding data upon retransmission; ¶236-¶237).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide one or more conditions for duplication comprise at least one of time differences between UL resource availability on the first path and the second path or reception of a negative acknowledgement (NACK) on the first path as taught by Mok to modify Zhang’s method and system in order to determining whether to perform duplicate transmission for the data packet and if it is determined to perform duplicate transmission for the data packet, generating at least two duplicate packets by duplicating the data packet, and transmitting the respective at least two duplicate packets (abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KOUROUSH MOHEBBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471