CTNF 18/284,522 CTNF 74628 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8, 10-20, and 29-39, 53 and 54 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 6-8, 10, 13-16, 18-20, 29-32, 34-37, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2023/0254811 A1)(hereinafter “Wang”) in view of Haustein et al. (US 20220231738 A1)(hereinafter “Haustein”) . Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses a user equipment (UE), comprising: a transceiver; memory; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (Fig. 12, [¶0576]: the terminal 1200 includes but is not limited to components such as a radio frequency unit 1201,…, a memory 1209, and a processor 1210.) , the one or more processors configured to: transmit a request for the transmission of one or more positioning signals from a base station,… (Fig. 7, [¶0539]: S702. The terminal transmits PRS request information to the serving cell or base station) ; transmit one or more signals to the base station (Fig. 7, [¶0545]: S705. The terminal reports measurement information and/or location information to the serving cell or base station.) ; and receive, from the base station, the one or more positioning signals based at least in part on the transmitted request and the one or more transmitted signals ([¶0289]: optionally, the UE uses the default QCL or beam or the QCL or beam associated with a CORESET with the lowest ID to receive the PRS or report the measurement information.) . Wang does not disclose that the request is associated with a time reversal (TR) precoding. However, Haustein discloses time reversal (TR) precoding of wireless signals ([¶0085]: time reversal (TR) precoding was motivated due to simple processing especially on the receiver side, since only a one-tap filter is needed at the detector side. The idea example of time-reversal precoding is that the conjugate inverse of the tap-delay channel is used as a precoder. Thus, the effective channel observed by the receiver is the autocorrelation function of the channel, due to the convolution of the channel with its conjugate inverse.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the request for the transmission of one or more positioning signals from a base station, as taught by Wang, for the request to be associated with a time reversal (TR) precoding, as taught by Haustein. Doing so allows for reduced processing complexity on the receive side (See Haustein [¶0085]). Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses a method for positioning in a wireless network, the method performed by a user equipment (UE) and comprising: transmitting a request for the transmission of one or more positioning signals from a base station,… (Fig. 7, [¶0539]: S702. The terminal transmits PRS request information to the serving cell or base station) ; transmitting one or more signals to the base station (Fig. 7, [¶0545]: S705. The terminal reports measurement information and/or location information to the serving cell or base station.) ; and receiving, from the base station, the one or more positioning signals based at least in part on the transmitted request and the one or more transmitted signals ([¶0289]: optionally, the UE uses the default QCL or beam or the QCL or beam associated with a CORESET with the lowest ID to receive the PRS or report the measurement information.) . Wang does not disclose that the request is associated with a time reversal (TR) precoding. However, Haustein discloses time reversal (TR) precoding of wireless signals ([¶0085]: time reversal (TR) precoding was motivated due to simple processing especially on the receiver side, since only a one-tap filter is needed at the detector side. The idea example of time-reversal precoding is that the conjugate inverse of the tap-delay channel is used as a precoder. Thus, the effective channel observed by the receiver is the autocorrelation function of the channel, due to the convolution of the channel with its conjugate inverse.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the request for the transmission of one or more positioning signals from a base station, as taught by Wang, for the request to be associated with a time reversal (TR) precoding, as taught by Haustein. Doing so allows for reduced processing complexity on the receive side (See Haustein [¶0085]). Regarding claims 2 and 14, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claims 1 and 13 as outlined above. Wang fails to disclose wherein the request is a request for the base station to transmit the one or more positioning signals using the TR precoding, and wherein the one or more received positioning signals are encoded according to the TR precoding . However, Haustein discloses time reversal (TR) precoding of wireless signals ([¶0085]: time reversal (TR) precoding was motivated due to simple processing especially on the receiver side, since only a one-tap filter is needed at the detector side. The idea example of time-reversal precoding is that the conjugate inverse of the tap-delay channel is used as a precoder. Thus, the effective channel observed by the receiver is the autocorrelation function of the channel, due to the convolution of the channel with its conjugate inverse.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the request for the transmission of one or more positioning signals from a base station and encode the received positioning signals, as taught by Wang, using time reversal (TR) precoding, as taught by Haustein. Doing so allows for reduced processing complexity on the receive side (See Haustein [¶0085]). Regarding claims 3 and 15, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claims 2 and 14 as outlined above. Wang further discloses wherein the one or more positioning signals comprise one or more positioning reference signals (PRS) ([¶0036]: the first positioning reference signal is a positioning reference signal configured by a network-side device for the terminal, including but not limited to: PRS, sounding reference signal (SRS), channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), tracking reference signal (TRS), and synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel signal block (or synchronization signal block) (Synchronization Signal and PBCH Block, SSB).) . Regarding claims 4 and 16, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claims 2 and 14 as outlined above. Wang further discloses wherein the one or more transmitted signals comprise one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) ([¶0524]: (4) reporting activation types supported by the terminal; for example, simultaneous reporting of PRS and SRS, PRS reporting, SRS reporting, and PRS&SRS reporting) . Regarding claims 6 and 18, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claims 2 and 14 as outlined above. Wang further discloses wherein the one or more transmitted signals are based at least in part on channel state information (CSI) measured from a previously received positioning signal received from the base station ([¶0036]: in this embodiment of this application, the first positioning reference signal is a positioning reference signal configured by a network-side device for the terminal, including but not limited to: … channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)...) . Regarding claims 7 and 19, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claims 2 and 14 as outlined above. Wang further discloses wherein the one or more transmitted signals indicate channel state information (CSI) derived from one or more CSI reference signals (CSI-RS) received by the UE ([¶0036]: in this embodiment of this application, the first positioning reference signal is a positioning reference signal configured by a network-side device for the terminal, including but not limited to: … channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)...) . Regarding claims 8 and 20, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claims 7 and 19 as outlined above. Wang dose not disclose wherein the one or more transmitted signals include CSI comprising one or more of a channel impulse response, a channel frequency response, a partial channel impulse response, a shortened channel impulse response, a power delay profile (PDP), a wideband channel frequency response, a narrowband frequency response, or a doppler shift measurement. However, Haustein discloses wherein the one or more transmitted signals include CSI comprising one or more of a channel impulse response, a channel frequency response, a partial channel impulse response, a shortened channel impulse response, a power delay profile (PDP), a wideband channel frequency response, a narrowband frequency response, or a doppler shift measurement ([¶0135]: in other words, embodiments relate to signaling needed conditions: [¶0136]: 1. Channel impulse response (CIR), advantageously with high resolution in time (delay) domain, has to be obtained and to be available at the transmitter side [¶0137]: this can be obtained from previously transmitted pilots, e.g. in 5G NR this can be SRS in uplink or CSI-RS in downlink or DM-RS in uplink or downlink directions.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the CSI, as taught by Wang, to include a channel impulse response, as taught by Haustein. Doing so allows for matching the precoder to channel conditions to improve channel utilization efficiency. (See Haustein [¶0117]). Regarding claim 10, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above. Wang further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, prior to transmitting the one or more signals to the base station, receive a request to transmit the one or more signals at a specified time, wherein the one or more signals are transmitted at the specified time ([¶0119]: in a possible implementation, the first activation state list and/or the second activation state list may include various activation state lists. For example, the first activation state list and/or the second activation state list includes at least one of the following: [¶0121] (2) an aperiodic activation state list, where a positioning reference signal in the aperiodic activation state list is an aperiodic positioning reference signal. That is, in the aperiodic activation state list, a positioning reference signal associated with the activation state information (including the first activation state information and/or the second activation state information) is an aperiodic positioning reference signal; or [¶0122] (3) an on-demand activation state list, where a first positioning reference signal in the on-demand activation state list is an on-demand positioning reference signal. That is, in the on-demand activation state list, a positioning reference signal associated with the activation state information (including the first activation state information and/or the second activation state information) is an on-demand positioning reference signal. The on-demand positioning reference signal may be a semi-static positioning reference signal or an aperiodic positioning reference signal.) . Regarding claim 29, Wang discloses a base station, comprising: a transceiver; memory; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (Fig. 13, [¶0588]: the network-side device 1300 includes an antenna 1301, a radio frequency apparatus 1302, and a baseband apparatus 1303. [¶0589]: the method performed by the network-side device in the foregoing embodiments may be implemented in the baseband apparatus 1303, and the baseband apparatus 1303 includes a processor 1304 and a memory 1305.) , the one or more processors configured to: receive a request for the transmission of one or more positioning signals from the base station to a user equipment (UE),… (Fig. 7, [¶0539]: S702. The terminal transmits PRS request information to the serving cell or base station) ; receive one or more signals from the UE (Fig. 7, [¶0545]: S705. The terminal reports measurement information and/or location information to the serving cell or base station.) ; and transmit the one or more positioning signals to the UE based at least in part on the received request and the one or more received signals ([¶0289]: optionally, the UE uses the default QCL or beam or the QCL or beam associated with a CORESET with the lowest ID to receive the PRS or report the measurement information.) . Wang does not disclose that the request is associated with a time reversal (TR) precoding. However, Haustein discloses time reversal (TR) precoding of wireless signals ([¶0085]: time reversal (TR) precoding was motivated due to simple processing especially on the receiver side, since only a one-tap filter is needed at the detector side. The idea example of time-reversal precoding is that the conjugate inverse of the tap-delay channel is used as a precoder. Thus, the effective channel observed by the receiver is the autocorrelation function of the channel, due to the convolution of the channel with its conjugate inverse.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the request for the transmission of one or more positioning signals from a base station, as taught by Wang, for the request to be associated with a time reversal (TR) precoding, as taught by Haustein. Doing so allows for reduced processing complexity on the receive side (See Haustein [¶0085]). Regarding claim 30, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claim 29 as outlined above. Wang fails to disclose wherein the request is a request for the base station to transmit the one or more positioning signals using the TR precoding, and wherein the one or more received positioning signals are encoded according to the TR precoding . However, Haustein discloses time reversal (TR) precoding of wireless signals ([¶0085]: time reversal (TR) precoding was motivated due to simple processing especially on the receiver side, since only a one-tap filter is needed at the detector side. The idea example of time-reversal precoding is that the conjugate inverse of the tap-delay channel is used as a precoder. Thus, the effective channel observed by the receiver is the autocorrelation function of the channel, due to the convolution of the channel with its conjugate inverse.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the request for the transmission of one or more positioning signals from a base station and encode the received positioning signals, as taught by Wang, using time reversal (TR) precoding, as taught by Haustein. Doing so allows for reduced processing complexity on the receive side (See Haustein [¶0085]). Regarding claim 31, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claim 30 as outlined above. Wang further discloses wherein the one or more positioning signals comprise one or more positioning reference signals (PRS) ([¶0036]: the first positioning reference signal is a positioning reference signal configured by a network-side device for the terminal, including but not limited to: PRS, sounding reference signal (SRS), channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), tracking reference signal (TRS), and synchronization signal and physical broadcast channel signal block (or synchronization signal block) (Synchronization Signal and PBCH Block, SSB).) . Regarding claim 32, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claim 30 as outlined above. Wang further discloses wherein the one or more transmitted signals comprise one or more sounding reference signals (SRS) ([¶0524]: (4) reporting activation types supported by the terminal; for example, simultaneous reporting of PRS and SRS, PRS reporting, SRS reporting, and PRS&SRS reporting) . Regarding claim 34, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claim 30 as outlined above. Wang further discloses wherein the one or more transmitted signals are based at least in part on channel state information (CSI) measured from a previously received positioning signal received from the base station ([¶0036]: in this embodiment of this application, the first positioning reference signal is a positioning reference signal configured by a network-side device for the terminal, including but not limited to: … channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)...) . Regarding claim 35, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claim 30 as outlined above. Wang further discloses wherein the one or more transmitted signals indicate channel state information (CSI) derived from one or more CSI reference signals (CSI-RS) received by the UE ([¶0036]: in this embodiment of this application, the first positioning reference signal is a positioning reference signal configured by a network- side device for the terminal, including but not limited to: … channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS)...) . Regarding claim 36, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claim 35 as outlined above. Wang dose not disclose wherein the one or more transmitted signals include CSI comprising one or more of a channel impulse response, a channel frequency response, a partial channel impulse response, a shortened channel impulse response, a power delay profile (PDP), a wideband channel frequency response, a narrowband frequency response, or a doppler shift measurement. However, Haustein discloses wherein the one or more transmitted signals include CSI comprising one or more of a channel impulse response, a channel frequency response, a partial channel impulse response, a shortened channel impulse response, a power delay profile (PDP), a wideband channel frequency response, a narrowband frequency response, or a doppler shift measurement ([¶0135]: in other words, embodiments relate to signaling needed conditions: [¶0136]: 1. Channel impulse response (CIR), advantageously with high resolution in time (delay) domain, has to be obtained and to be available at the transmitter side [¶0137]: this can be obtained from previously transmitted pilots, e.g. in 5G NR this can be SRS in uplink or CSI-RS in downlink or DM-RS in uplink or downlink directions.) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the CSI, as taught by Wang, to include a channel impulse response, as taught by Haustein. Doing so allows for matching the precoder to channel conditions to improve channel utilization efficiency. (See Haustein [¶0117]). Regarding claim 37, Wang in view of Haustein discloses all features of claim 30 as outlined above. Wang further discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to, prior to transmitting the one or more signals to the base station, receive a request to transmit the one or more signals at a specified time, wherein the one or more signals are transmitted at the specified time ([¶0119]: in a possible implementation, the first activation state list and/or the second activation state list may include various activation state lists. For example, the first activation state list and/or the second activation state list includes at least one of the following: [¶0121] (2) an aperiodic activation state list, where a positioning reference signal in the aperiodic activation state list is an aperiodic positioning reference signal. That is, in the aperiodic activation state list, a positioning reference signal associated with the activation state information (including the first activation state information and/or the second activation state information) is an aperiodic positioning reference signal; or [¶0122] (3) an on-demand activation state list, where a first positioning reference signal in the on-demand activation state list is an on-demand positioning reference signal. That is, in the on-demand activation state list, a positioning reference signal associated with the activation state information (including the first activation state information and/or the second activation state information) is an on-demand positioning reference signal. The on- demand positioning reference signal may be a semi-static positioning reference signal or an aperiodic positioning reference signal.) . Regarding claim 39, Wang discloses a method for positioning in a wireless network, the method performed by a base station and comprising: receiving a request from a user equipment (UE) for transmission of one or more positioning signals from the base station, … (Fig. 7, [¶0539]: S702. The terminal transmits PRS request information to the serving cell or base station) ; receiving one or more signals from the UE (Fig. 7, [¶0545]: S705. The terminal reports measurement information and/or location information to the serving cell or base station.) ; and transmitting the one or more positioning signals to the UE based at least in part on the received request and the one or more received signals ([¶0289]: optionally, the UE uses the default QCL or beam or the QCL or beam associated with a CORESET with the lowest ID to receive the PRS or report the measurement information.) . Wang does not disclose that the request is associated with a time reversal (TR) precoding. However, Haustein discloses time reversal (TR) precoding of wireless signals ([¶0085]: time reversal (TR) precoding was motivated due to simple processing especially on the receiver side, since only a one-tap filter is needed at the detector side. The idea example of time-reversal precoding is that the conjugate inverse of the tap-delay channel is used as a precoder. Thus, the effective channel observed by the receiver is the autocorrelation function of the channel, due to the convolution of the channel with its conjugate inverse.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit the request for the transmission of one or more positioning signals from a base station, as taught by Wang, for the request to be associated with a time reversal (TR) precoding, as taught by Haustein. Doing so allows for reduced processing complexity on the receive side (See Haustein [¶0085]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 53 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (US 2021/0006372 A1)(hereinafter “Cha”) in view of Haustein Regarding claim 53, Cha discloses a location server (Fig. 33: location server 90) , comprising: a transceiver (Fig. 33: transceiver 91) ; memory (Fig. 33: memory 94) ; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory (Fig. 33: transceiver 91) , the one or more processors configured to: request transmission of one or more positioning signals from a base station to a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 18, [¶0218]: the location server may transmit PRS resource configuration information to the BS and/or the UE, and the BS may transmit the PRS resource configuration to the UE (S1801 to S1805). If the location server transmits the PRS resource configuration information only to the BS, the BS may transmit the PRS resource configuration information to the UE.)… ; receive one or more signals from the base station, the one or more signals associated with channel state information (CSI) from the UE (Fig. 18, [¶0219]: the UE may transmit a report related to the at least one of the PRS, the SS/PBCH block, or the CSI-RS to the BS and/or the location server, and the BS may transmit the report related to the at least one of the PRS, the SS/PBCH block, or the CSI-RS to the location server (S1809 to S1813). If the UE transmits the report only to the BS, the BS may forward the report to the location server.) ; and transmit an indication to the base station ([¶0210]: the BS may receive information about a PRS resource configuration from the location server and configure the PRS resources based on the information about the PRS resource configuration. [¶0224]: the location server or the BS may configure/indicate for/to the UE that different PRSs (e.g., PRS resources or PRS IDs) transmitted in a specific PRS resource group/set are on the same Tx beam.) , … . Cha does not disclose that the one or more positioning signals are associated with a time reversal (TR) precoding or that the indication is associated with the TR precoding. However, Haustein discloses time reversal (TR) precoding of wireless signals ([¶0085]: time reversal (TR) precoding was motivated due to simple processing especially on the receiver side, since only a one-tap filter is needed at the detector side. The idea example of time-reversal precoding is that the conjugate inverse of the tap-delay channel is used as a precoder. Thus, the effective channel observed by the receiver is the autocorrelation function of the channel, due to the convolution of the channel with its conjugate inverse.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the location server to request transmission of one or more position signals from a base station to a UE and transmit an indication to the base station, as taught by Cha, in which positioning signals and an indication to a base station are associated with a TR precoding, as taught by Haustein. Doing so allows for reduced processing complexity on the receive side (See Haustein [¶0085]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5, 9, 11-12, 17, 33, 38, and 54-56 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Faxer et al. (US 2020/0336264 A1) – Sounding Reference Transmission. Bengtsson (US 2020/0067572 A1) – Time Reverse Transmission Mode. Xi et al. (US 2019/0222279 A1) - Systems and Methods For Beam Management. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MICHAEL W MADDOX whose telephone number is (571)272-5834. The examiner can normally be reached M-Th 7:30am-5:00pm, 1st F 7:30am-4:00pm, 2nd F off. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Asad M Nawaz can be reached at 571-272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463 /CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 2 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 4 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 5 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 6 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 7 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 8 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 9 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 10 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 11 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 12 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 13 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 14 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 15 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 16 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 17 Art Unit: 2463 Application/Control Number: 18/284,522 Page 18 Art Unit: 2463