DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure. The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The present application discloses,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “comprising,” should be avoided. Additionally, typographical errors should be corrected.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(1). When an exploded view is shown in a figure which is on the same sheet as another figure, the exploded view should be placed in brackets. See Figures 1 and 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jia et al. (US 2023/0240048).
Regarding claim 1, Jia discloses a connection device, comprising a housing (4) and a heat dissipation block (5), wherein the housing is provided with an accommodation cavity for insertion of a plug connector and with a heat dissipation window (402) in communication with the accommodation cavity, the heat dissipation block is disposed on a side of the housing provided with the heat dissipation window, wherein the connection device further comprises an adjustment assembly (6, 7, 501) for adjusting the heat dissipation block so as to make the heat dissipation block close to or distant from the accommodation cavity; and the heat dissipation block comprises a thermally conductive connection state (Fig. 10) in which the heat dissipation block approaches to abut against the plug connector after the plug connector is inserted in place.
Regarding claim 2, Jia discloses the adjustment assembly comprising an inclined guide surface (at 501) and a guide matching part (6), the inclined guide surface is located on the heat dissipation block and is disposed away from the housing, the inclined guide surface is inclined toward the housing in an insertion direction of the plug connector, and the guide matching part is fixedly arranged relative to the housing and is slidingly fitted with the inclined guide surface.
Regarding claim 3, Jia discloses an angle between a plane where the inclined guide surface located and the insertion direction of the plug connector is 20-45 degrees.
Regarding claim 4, Jia discloses the heat dissipation block comprising a guide hole (501), and a part of a hole wall of the guide hole facing away from the housing forms the inclined guide surface; the connection device comprises a fixed rod fixedly arranged relative to the housing and matched to an inside of the guide hole, and a part of the fixed rod fitted in the guide hole forms the guide matching part.
Regarding claim 5, Jia discloses the heat dissipation block comprising a plurality of fins extending in a same direction as the insertion direction of the plug connector, and the guide hole is located on an outermost fin of the fins (Figs. 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 11, Jia discloses the adjustment assembly further comprising a protruding part (503) fixed to the heat dissipation block, and the protruding part protrudes into an inside of the accommodation cavity for abutting against the plug connector to push the heat dissipation block when the plug connector is inserted.
Regarding claim 12, Jia discloses the connection device further comprising an elastic member (8), and an elastic force of the elastic member enables the heat dissipation block to have a tendency to move away from the housing.
Regarding claim 13, Jia discloses the plug connector being an optical module (1).
Regarding claim 14, Jia discloses an insertion direction of the plug connector being parallel to a plane where the heat dissipation window is located (Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Chen et al. (US 7,667,972).
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches an adjustment assembly comprising a horizontal guide surface (at 103a, Fig. 3A) extending in a same direction as the insertion direction of the plug connector, and the horizontal guide surface is connected to an end of the inclined guide surface away from the accommodation cavity. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a horizontal guide surface, as taught by Chen, in order to provide a stable positioning of the heat dissipation block.
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia in view of Reddy et al. (US 10,212,852).
Regarding claim 7, Jia discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the position of the include guide surface and the guide matching part. Reddy teaches an adjustment assembly comprising an inclined guide surface (104) and a guide matching part (404), the inclined guide surface is located on the housing and is disposed away from the heat dissipation block, the inclined guide surface is inclined toward the heat dissipation block in a direction opposite to an insertion direction of the plug connector (Fig. 3), and the guide matching part is fixedly arranged relative to the heat dissipation block and is slidingly fitted with the inclined guide surface (Fig. 4). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to rearrange the location of the include guide surface and the guide matching part, as taught by Reddy, in order to meet environmental and design preferences and since rearranging the location of parts are within the skill of ordinary worker in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Reddy teaches an angle between a plane where the inclined guide surface located and the insertion direction of the plug connector is 20-45°.
Regarding claim 9, Reddy teaches the housing comprising a guide hole (104), and a part of a hole wall of the guide hole facing away from the heat dissipation block forms the inclined guide surface; the connection device comprises a fixed rod (404) fixedly arranged relative to the heat dissipation block and matched to an inside of the guide hole, and a part of the fixed rod fitted in the guide hole forms the guide matching part.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia and Reddy, and further in view of Chen et al.
regarding claim 10, Chen teaches an adjustment assembly further comprises a horizontal guide surface (at 103a, Fig. 3A) extending in a same direction as the insertion direction of the plug connector, and the horizontal guide surface is connected to an end of the inclined guide surface away from the heat dissipation block. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a horizontal guide surface, as taught by Chen, in order to provide a stable positioning of the heat dissipation block.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833