DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/28/2023 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 12, 13, 17-19, 24, 28, 29, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2014/0233474 A1 by Wu et al. (hereafter referred to as Wu).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches an electronic device for wireless communications (see at least Fig. 16 (1302); UE), comprising:
a processing circuit (see at least Figs. 15,16) configured to:
interact with a network side device (see at least Fig. 16) to perform a joint channel estimation or a joint beam scanning in cooperation with other terminal devices in a terminal device group (see at least ¶ [0171]; “Specifically, when an E-PDCCH is transmitted on at least two PRB pairs in a PRB pair group, if the E-PDCCH and the DM RS on the at least two PRB pairs are precoded by using the same precoding matrix, the UE may perform joint channel estimation on the DM RS of the at least two PRB pairs.”), wherein all terminal devices in the terminal device group have similar channel characteristics (see at least ¶ [0171]; “That is, by associating the DM RS channels on the at least two PRB pairs, the channel of each RE on each PRB pair is obtained.”).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 1. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to:
transmit or receive a reference signal for a channel estimation based on a time resource and/or a frequency resource indicated by the network side device to perform the joint channel estimation (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0105]; “303: For each UE in the at least one UE, the base station sends the DM RS of the UE on all DM RS time-frequency resources corresponding to a DM RS port allocated to the UE in the multiplexing unit”), wherein the time resource and/or the frequency resource are different from a resource of the reference signal transmitted or received by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0105]-[0107]; “303: For each UE in the at least one UE, the base station sends the DM RS of the UE on all DM RS time-frequency resources corresponding to a DM RS port allocated to the UE in the multiplexing unit”).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 2. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the time resource is different from a time resource of the reference signal transmitted or received by other terminal devices in the terminal device group;
wherein the time resource is the same as a time resource of the reference signal transmitted or received by a first terminal device in the terminal device group; and
different from a time resource of the reference signal transmitted or received by a second terminal device in the terminal device group; or
wherein the frequency resource is in a different narrow frequency band from a frequency resource of the reference signal transmitted or received by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0105]-[0107]; “303: For each UE in the at least one UE, the base station sends the DM RS of the UE on all DM RS time-frequency resources corresponding to a DM RS port allocated to the UE in the multiplexing unit”).
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 2. wherein the joint channel estimation comprises a downlink channel estimation (see at least ¶ [0171]; “Specifically, when an E-PDCCH is transmitted on at least two PRB pairs in a PRB pair group, if the E-PDCCH and the DM RS on the at least two PRB pairs are precoded by using the same precoding matrix, the UE may perform joint channel estimation on the DM RS of the at least two PRB pairs.”), and the similar channel characteristics comprise similar downlink channel characteristics (see at least ¶ [0171]; “That is, by associating the DM RS channels on the at least two PRB pairs, the channel of each RE on each PRB pair is obtained.”), and wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
measure the received reference signal;
obtain, from each of other terminal devices in the terminal device group, a measurement result of the received reference signal by the terminal device; and
perform the downlink channel estimation based on a result of measuring the received reference signal and the obtained measurement result (see at least ¶ [0171]; “Specifically, when an E-PDCCH is transmitted on at least two PRB pairs in a PRB pair group, if the E-PDCCH and the DM RS on the at least two PRB pairs are precoded by using the same precoding matrix, the UE may perform joint channel estimation on the DM RS of the at least two PRB pairs. The joint channel estimation may be: after the DM RS channel is obtained on the at least two PRB pairs and when the channel on the data RE is obtained according to the channel of the DM RS, not only the DM RS channel on the PRB pair where the RE is located is considered, but also the DM RS channels of other PRB pairs are considered. That is, by associating the DM RS channels on the at least two PRB pairs, the channel of each RE on each PRB pair is obtained.”).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 1. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the similar channel characteristics comprise similar uplink channel characteristics (see at least ¶ [0103]-[0104]; E-PDCCH used in uplink scheduling), and wherein the processing circuit is configured to:
receive, using one or more reception beams, a downlink reference signal transmitted by the network side device using a transmission beam, so as to perform a joint beam scanning on the reception beams of the downlink reference signal, wherein the one or more reception beams are different from a reception beam used by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group to receive the downlink reference signal (see at least ¶ [0126]; The distributed E-PDCCH may be sent in a transmit diversity manner; and the localized E-PDCCH may be sent in a precoding or beam attachment manner.).
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 12. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to:
obtain scanning beam information indicating the one or more reception beams from the network side device or a first terminal device in the terminal device group; and
report a measurement result of the downlink reference signal that is received by using the one or more reception beams to the network side device or the first terminal device;
obtain optimal beam information from the network side device or a first terminal device, wherein the optimal beam information indicates an optimal reception beam determined based on a measurement result by each of the terminal devices in the terminal device group; or
provide, to each of other terminal devices in the terminal device group, scanning beam information that indicates one or more reception beams used by the terminal device to receive the downlink reference signal;
obtain a measurement result of the downlink reference signal that is received by using the indicated reception beams from each of the other terminal devices; and
determine an optimal reception beam based on a measurement result by each of the terminal devices in the terminal device group (see at least [0110]; “If the same DM RS port is allocated to the at least two UEs in the multiple UEs, each UE allocated the same DM RS port may use different precoding matrixes, but the DM RS port of each UE interferes with each other, and the effect of channel estimation is poor. Alternatively, the UEs allocated the same DM RS port may also use the same precoding matrix for precoding, but cannot perform precoding for each UE by using the optimal precoding matrix, and cannot obtain the optimal beamforming gain (beamforming gain). Therefore, preferably, different DM RS ports are allocated to the multiple UEs. For example, two UEs perform multiplexing, the DM RS port allocated to UE 1 is port 7 (port 7), and the DM RS port allocated to UE 2 is port 8 (port 8), which are not specifically limited in the embodiment of the present invention. Different UEs use different DM RS ports, so when sending the E-PDCCH to each UE, the base station may perform precoding for each user by using the optimal precoding matrix.”).
Regarding claim 17, Wu teaches An electronic device for wireless communications (see at least Fig. 16 (1301); Base Station), comprising:
a processing circuit (see at least Figs. 14,16) configured to:
interact with a terminal device (see at least Fig. 16) in a terminal device group, wherein the terminal device performs a joint channel estimation or a joint beam scanning in cooperation with other terminal devices in the terminal device group (see at least ¶ [0171]; “Specifically, when an E-PDCCH is transmitted on at least two PRB pairs in a PRB pair group, if the E-PDCCH and the DM RS on the at least two PRB pairs are precoded by using the same precoding matrix, the UE may perform joint channel estimation on the DM RS of the at least two PRB pairs.”), wherein all terminal devices in the terminal device group have similar channel characteristics (see at least ¶ [0171]; “That is, by associating the DM RS channels on the at least two PRB pairs, the channel of each RE on each PRB pair is obtained.”).
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 17. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to: indicate a time resource and/or a frequency resource of a reference signal for a channel estimation to the terminal device, so that the terminal device transmits or receives the reference signal based on the time resource and/or the frequency resource to perform the joint channel estimation (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0105]; “303: For each UE in the at least one UE, the base station sends the DM RS of the UE on all DM RS time-frequency resources corresponding to a DM RS port allocated to the UE in the multiplexing unit”), wherein the time resource and/or the frequency resource are different from a resource of the reference signal transmitted or received by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0105]; “303: For each UE in the at least one UE, the base station sends the DM RS of the UE on all DM RS time-frequency resources corresponding to a DM RS port allocated to the UE in the multiplexing unit”).
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 18. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the time resource is different from a time resource of the reference signal transmitted or received by other terminal devices in the terminal device group; wherein the time resource is the same as a time resource of the reference signal transmitted or received by a first terminal device in the terminal device group, and different from a time resource of the reference signal transmitted or received by a second terminal device in the terminal device group; or wherein the frequency resource is in a different narrow frequency band from a frequency resource of the reference signal transmitted or received by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group (see at least Fig. 3 and ¶ [0105]-[0107]; “303: For each UE in the at least one UE, the base station sends the DM RS of the UE on all DM RS time-frequency resources corresponding to a DM RS port allocated to the UE in the multiplexing unit”).
Regarding claim 24, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 18. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the joint channel estimation comprises an uplink channel estimation, and the similar channel characteristics comprise similar uplink channel characteristics (see at least ¶ [0103]-[0104]; E-PDCCH used in uplink scheduling), and wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: measure the reference signal received from each of the terminal devices in the terminal device group; and perform the uplink channel estimation based on a result of the measurement (see at least ¶ [0171]; “Specifically, when an E-PDCCH is transmitted on at least two PRB pairs in a PRB pair group, if the E-PDCCH and the DM RS on the at least two PRB pairs are precoded by using the same precoding matrix, the UE may perform joint channel estimation on the DM RS of the at least two PRB pairs. The joint channel estimation may be: after the DM RS channel is obtained on the at least two PRB pairs and when the channel on the data RE is obtained according to the channel of the DM RS, not only the DM RS channel on the PRB pair where the RE is located is considered, but also the DM RS channels of other PRB pairs are considered. That is, by associating the DM RS channels on the at least two PRB pairs, the channel of each RE on each PRB pair is obtained.”).
Regarding claim 28, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 17. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the similar channel characteristics comprise similar uplink channel characteristics (see at least ¶ [0103]-[0104]; E-PDCCH used in uplink scheduling), and wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: transmit a downlink reference signal to the terminal device in the terminal device group by using a transmission beam, so that the terminal device receives the downlink reference signal by using one or more reception beams to perform a joint beam scanning on the reception beams of the downlink reference signal, wherein the one or more reception beams are different from a reception beam used by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group to receive the downlink reference signal (see at least ¶ [0126]; The distributed E-PDCCH may be sent in a transmit diversity manner; and the localized E-PDCCH may be sent in a precoding or beam attachment manner.).
Regarding claim 29, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 28. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: provide, to each of the terminal devices in the terminal device group, scanning beam information indicating one or more reception beams to the terminal device; obtain, from each of the terminal devices in the terminal device group, a measurement result of the downlink reference signal that is received by using the indicated one or more reception beams; and determine an optimal reception beam based on the obtained measurement result (see at least [0110]; “If the same DM RS port is allocated to the at least two UEs in the multiple UEs, each UE allocated the same DM RS port may use different precoding matrixes, but the DM RS port of each UE interferes with each other, and the effect of channel estimation is poor. Alternatively, the UEs allocated the same DM RS port may also use the same precoding matrix for precoding, but cannot perform precoding for each UE by using the optimal precoding matrix, and cannot obtain the optimal beamforming gain (beamforming gain). Therefore, preferably, different DM RS ports are allocated to the multiple UEs. For example, two UEs perform multiplexing, the DM RS port allocated to UE 1 is port 7 (port 7), and the DM RS port allocated to UE 2 is port 8 (port 8), which are not specifically limited in the embodiment of the present invention. Different UEs use different DM RS ports, so when sending the E-PDCCH to each UE, the base station may perform precoding for each user by using the optimal precoding matrix.”).
Regarding claim 31, Wu teaches A wireless communication method, comprising: interacting with a network side device to perform a joint channel estimation or a joint beam scanning in cooperation with other terminal devices in a terminal device group (see at least ¶ [0171]; “Specifically, when an E-PDCCH is transmitted on at least two PRB pairs in a PRB pair group, if the E-PDCCH and the DM RS on the at least two PRB pairs are precoded by using the same precoding matrix, the UE may perform joint channel estimation on the DM RS of the at least two PRB pairs.”), wherein all terminal devices in the terminal device group have similar channel characteristics (see at least ¶ [0171]; “That is, by associating the DM RS channels on the at least two PRB pairs, the channel of each RE on each PRB pair is obtained.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 7, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, in view of EP 4207624 A1 by Luo et al. (hereafter referred to as Luo).
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 1. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to:
transmit or receive a precoded reference signal for a channel estimation based on precoding information indicated by the network side device to perform the joint channel estimation.
Wu does not appear to specifically teach wherein a phase of the reference signal is different from a phase of the reference signal transmitted or received by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group.
In the same field of endeavor, Luo teaches wherein a phase of the reference signal is different from a phase of the reference signal transmitted or received by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group (see at least abstract; “The beam generation method in the embodiments of this application includes: A terminal device receives M reference signal resources sent by an access network device; the terminal device measures each of the M reference signal resources to obtain first measurement information, where the first measurement information includes first phase information, the first phase information is phase information obtained by the terminal device by measuring each of N reference signal resources in the M reference signal resources, both N and M are integers greater than or equal to 1, and M is greater than or equal to N”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the reference signal taught by Wu with the reference signals taught by Luo in order to improve performance of communication between an access network device and a terminal device (Luo ¶ [0005]).
Regarding claim 23, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 17. In addition, Wu teaches wherein the processing circuit is configured to: indicate precoding information to the terminal device, so that the terminal device transmits or receives a precoded reference signal for a channel estimation based on the precoding information to perform the joint channel estimation.
Wu does not appear to specifically teach wherein a phase of the reference signal is different from a phase of the reference signal transmitted or received by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group.
In the same field of endeavor, Luo teaches wherein a phase of the reference signal is different from a phase of the reference signal transmitted or received by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group (see at least abstract; “The beam generation method in the embodiments of this application includes: A terminal device receives M reference signal resources sent by an access network device; the terminal device measures each of the M reference signal resources to obtain first measurement information, where the first measurement information includes first phase information, the first phase information is phase information obtained by the terminal device by measuring each of N reference signal resources in the M reference signal resources, both N and M are integers greater than or equal to 1, and M is greater than or equal to N”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the reference signal taught by Wu with the reference signals taught by Luo in order to improve performance of communication between an access network device and a terminal device (Luo ¶ [0005]).
11. Claim(s) 9, 10, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, in view of CN 105122877 by Zhang et al. (cited by applicant, hereafter referred to as Zhang).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 1.
Wu does not appear to specifically teach wherein the similar channel characteristics comprise similar uplink channel characteristics, and the processing circuit is further configured to: transmit an uplink reference signal to the network side device by using one or more transmission beams to perform a joint beam scanning on the transmission beams of the uplink reference signal, wherein the one or more transmission beams are different from a transmission beam used by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group to transmit the uplink reference signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the similar channel characteristics comprise similar uplink channel characteristics, and the processing circuit is further configured to:
transmit an uplink reference signal to the network side device by using one or more transmission beams to perform a joint beam scanning on the transmission beams of the uplink reference signal, wherein the one or more transmission beams are different from a transmission beam used by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group to transmit the uplink reference signal (see at least S602; “The base station utilizes the reciprocity of the uplink channel and the downlink channel in the TDD system, according to the first pilot reference signal and the second pilot reference signal, to determine the downlink transmission configuration information for the signal sent to the second terminal, so as to A signal that the configuration information is sent to the second terminal is sent downlink.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu with Zhang in order to improve the overall performance gain of the system (Zhang S602).
Regarding claim 10, Wu in view of Zhang teaches the electronic device according to claim 9. In the obvious combination, Wu teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: obtain scanning beam information indicating the one or more transmission beams from the network side device or from another terminal device in the terminal device group; and/or
receive optimal beam information from the network side device, wherein the optimal beam information indicates an optimal transmission beam determined by the network side device based on the uplink reference signal received from each of the terminal devices in the terminal device group that is transmitted by using the respective transmission beam (see at least ¶ [0110]; “Alternatively, the UEs allocated the same DM RS port may also use the same precoding matrix for precoding, but cannot perform precoding for each UE by using the optimal precoding matrix, and cannot obtain the optimal beamforming gain (beamforming gain).”).
Regarding claim 25, Wu teaches the electronic device according to claim 17.
Wu does not appear to specifically teach wherein the similar channel characteristics comprise similar uplink channel characteristics, and the processing circuit is configured to: receive an uplink reference signal that is transmitted by using one or more respective transmission beams from each of the terminal devices in the terminal device group, so as to perform a joint beam scanning on the transmission beams of the uplink reference signal, wherein a transmission beam of each of the terminal devices is different from a transmission beam used by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group to transmit the uplink reference signal.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhang teaches wherein the similar channel characteristics comprise similar uplink channel characteristics, and the processing circuit is configured to: receive an uplink reference signal that is transmitted by using one or more respective transmission beams from each of the terminal devices in the terminal device group, so as to perform a joint beam scanning on the transmission beams of the uplink reference signal, wherein a transmission beam of each of the terminal devices is different from a transmission beam used by at least another terminal device in the terminal device group to transmit the uplink reference signal (see at least S602; “The base station utilizes the reciprocity of the uplink channel and the downlink channel in the TDD system, according to the first pilot reference signal and the second pilot reference signal, to determine the downlink transmission configuration information for the signal sent to the second terminal, so as to A signal that the configuration information is sent to the second terminal is sent downlink.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Wu with Zhang in order to improve the overall performance gain of the system (Zhang S602).
Regarding claim 26, Wu in view of Zhang teaches the electronic device according to claim 25. In the obvious combination Zhang teaches wherein the processing circuit is further configured to: transmit scanning beam information indicating the one or more transmission beams to the terminal device in the terminal device group; and/or determine an optimal transmission beam based on the uplink reference signal received from each of the terminal devices in the terminal device group that is transmitted using the respective transmission beam; and transmit optimal beam information indicating the optimal transmission beam to each of the terminal devices in the terminal device group (see at least ¶ [0110]; “Alternatively, the UEs allocated the same DM RS port may also use the same precoding matrix for precoding, but cannot perform precoding for each UE by using the optimal precoding matrix, and cannot obtain the optimal beamforming gain (beamforming gain).”).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NATASHA W COSME/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465