DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 7, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 2 line 5; claim 7 line 3; claim 15 line 3, "[[the]] another"
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the phrase "having a rim shape". The phrase is unclear and raises the questions—is said casing shaped as a rim; does said casing comprise a rim? The metes and bounds are indefinite.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the two adjacent unit discharge electrodes" in line 10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation "two adjacent unit discharge electrodes," nor "adjacent unit discharge electrodes," were not previously recited. Also see the limitation "the two adjacent unit discharge electrodes" at claim 2 in line 3.
Claim 2 recites the phrase “wherein connection parts are respectively provided at two opposite ends of each of the plurality of unit discharge electrodes” in lines 1-2 [emphasis added]. However, the limitations "the other side connection part" and "one side connection part" in lines 7, 9, 11, and 13, respectively, raise the following: what is the frame of reference for the limitations “one side” and “other side”?
The limitation "connection parts…at two opposite ends" does not clearly establish an antecedent basis for the limitations “one side” and “other side”. Applicant should consider amending the limitations as "a first connection part" and "a second connection," respectively. Also, see claim 3 in lines 3 and 4; claim 4 in line 5; claim 7 in lines 2-4; claim 8 in lines 2 and 3; claim 9 in lines 3, 4, 5, 8, 9, and 12; claim 12 in lines 1-3; claim 13 in lines 2-3; claim 15 in line 4; and claims 16 in lines 2, 3, 5, and 7.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the unit discharge electrode" in lines 3 and 5. The limitation "a unit discharge electrode" was not previously recited; instead, the limitation "a plurality of unit discharge electrodes" was previously recited [emphasis added].
Claim 2 recites the limitation "one side of the connecting terminal" in line 7. Is this limitation distinct from or the same as the limitation "one side of the connecting terminal" recited in line 4 of claim 2?
For examination on the merits, if prior art discloses a plurality of discharge electrodes; wherein the plurality of discharge electrodes comprises an individual, integrally connected strand configured as a discharge electrode and arranged with two sides of said discharge electrode in parallel having opposing ends that are perpendicular to the two sides; wherein the opposing ends are attached to a fastener; and wherein the plurality of discharge electrodes are arranged within a frame, then the prior art will be interpreted as teaching the limitations of claim 2.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the form" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation "a form"/"form" was not previously recited.
Claim 4 recites the limitations "the connecting terminal fixing structure … of a partition wall" in lines 1-2 and "the partition wall of the connect terminal" in lines 3-4. A nexus fails to exit that associate these limitations. The following is offered as a suggested amendment: "partition wall of the connecting terminal fixing structure… protrudes higher than the connecting terminal…"
Claim 7 recites the limitation “end portion” in line 3. The limitation was not previously recited; instead, the limitation "end portions" was previously recited.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "one rim side" in line 2. Claim 17 recites the limitations "one rim side" in lines 4-5 and "the other rim side" lines 6-7. The frame of reference that defines these limitations are unclear.
Claims 15 recites the limitations "one side" in line 2 and "the other side" in line 3. The frame of reference that defines these limitations are unclear. See Claim Objections.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "one side fixing structure" in line 6. Claim 16 recites the limitation "one side fixing structure" in lines 6 and 8. The frame of reference that defines this limitation are unclear—“one-side fixing structure” or “one (1) side fixing structure”?
Claim 16 recites the limitation "one side fixing structure" in lines 3 and 6. Is this limitation distinct from or the same as the limitation "one side fixing structure" recited in line 5 of claim 15.
Dependent claims 5-6, 10-11, and 18-20 that depend from rejected claim 1 are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 14, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Loup (US 20070028775 A1).
For claim 1, Loup discloses an electrification unit, which is configured to apply electric charges to dust particles by receiving a voltage, the electrification unit comprising: a casing having a rim shape (Figs. 1, 2, 5-7, 9; par [0029], chassis 13); a plurality of electrification electrodes disposed in the casing and spaced apart from one another (Figs. 2, 4, 9; par [0032], first electrode 8); and a discharge electrode disposed (Fig. 8; par [0030], second electrode 9) between the plurality of electrification electrodes and spaced apart from the plurality of electrification electrodes (Figs. 1-3; pars [0027] - [0030]), wherein the discharge electrode includes a plurality of unit discharge electrodes connected in a row (Figs. 8-9; pars [0030]-[0031], [0039]), wherein the two adjacent unit discharge electrodes are connected to each other by means of a connecting terminal (Fig. 5, 8; pars [0030]-[0031], [0039]), and wherein a connecting terminal fixing structure for accommodating the connecting terminal is provided in the casing (Figs. 2, 5-7; pars [0030]-[0031], [0034]-[0039]).
For claim 2, as interpreted above (see Section 112), Loup discloses further connection parts are respectively provided at two opposite ends of each of the plurality of unit discharge electrodes (Figs. 2, 5-8; pars [0030]-[0031], [0034], [0039]), wherein the unit discharge electrode of the two adjacent unit discharge electrodes, which is positioned at one side of the connecting terminal, is a first unit discharge electrode (Figs. 5-8; pars [0030]-[0031], [0034]-[0039]), and the unit discharge electrode positioned at the other side of the connecting terminal is a second unit discharge electrode (Figs. 2, 8; pars [0030]-[0031], [0034]-[0039]), wherein one side of the connecting terminal is connected to the other side connection part of the first unit discharge electrode, and the other side of the connecting terminal is connected to one side connection part of the second unit discharge electrode, and wherein the other side connection part of the first unit discharge electrode (Figs. 2, 8; pars [0030]-[0031], [0034]-[0039]), the connecting terminal, and one side connection part of the second unit discharge electrode are fixed by means of the connecting terminal fixing structure (Figs. 2, 5-8; pars [0030]-[0031], [0034]-[0039]).
For claim 14, Loup further discloses wherein the connecting terminal fixing structure is provided at one rim side of the casing (Figs. 2, 5-8; pars [0034]-[0039]).
For claim 18, Loup discloses wherein the discharge electrode is configured as a wire (pars [0030]-[0031]), and wherein the wire includes a plurality of unit wires connected in a row, and the two adjacent unit wires (Figs. 7-8; par 30), among the unit wires connected in a row, are connected to each other by means of the connecting terminal (Figs. 5, 8; par [0039]).
For claim 19, Loup discloses wherein the plurality of unit wires each defines a closed loop as a whole and is disposed to surround any one of the plurality of electrification electrodes (Figs. 2, 5-7; par [0028], [0030]).
For claim 20, Loup discloses further an electrostatic precipitator comprising the electrification unit of claim 1 and a dust collection part configured to collect dust particles having passed through the electrification unit (Fig. 1; par [0026]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-13, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loup.
For claim 3, the prior art is relied upon as set for the above. Loup discloses further wherein the connecting terminal fixing structure and the other side connection part of the first unit discharge electrode, the connecting terminal, and one side connection part of the second unit discharge electrode are inserted into the groove (Fig. 5; pars [0034]-[0036], [0039]). Loup does not appear to teach explicitly a groove having a shape corresponding to the connecting terminal. Instead, Loup discloses a unitary structure (support 16, 17 and fingers 15 in par [0031]; where the loop design structure of second electrodes 9 are held by fingers 15 assembled on the supports 16, 17). Also see Figs, 5-7; pars [0034]-[0035]. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to separate the unitary structure of Loup into separate parts; wherein the connection part of the first unit discharge electrode, the connecting terminal, and the connection part of the second unit discharge electrode are inserted at a separation distance for accurate positioning, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04 (V‐C).
For claim 4, Loup further discloses wherein the connecting terminal fixing structure is formed in the form of a partition wall protruding by a predetermined height from a bottom surface of the casing (15 illustrated in Figs. 6-8), and a portion of the partition wall of the connecting terminal protrudes higher than the connecting terminal inserted into the connecting terminal fixing structure and the connection part of the unit discharge electrode (finger 15 illustrated in Figs. 6-8).
For claim 5, Loup further discloses wherein a guide groove (notch 26 in Figs. 5-7) through which the unit discharge electrode passes is formed in a wall of the connecting terminal fixing structure (Figs. 5-7; par [0034]).
For claim 6, Loup further teaches wherein the connecting terminal has a plate shape and includes a middle portion and end portions respectively provided at two opposite ends of the middle portion (finger 15 illustrated in Fig. 7).
For claim 7, the phrase “wherein one end portion of the connecting terminal and the other side connection part of the first unit discharge electrode are stacked on each other, and the other end portion of the connecting terminal and one side connection part of the second unit discharge electrode are stacked on each other” is considered an intended result. The instant invention is an apparatus. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114.
For claim 8, Loup further teaches wherein one end portion of the connecting terminal and the other side connection part of the first unit discharge electrode have the same cross-sectional shape, and the other end portion of the connecting terminal and one side connection part of the second unit discharge electrode have the same cross-sectional shape (Figs. 5, 8).
For claim 9, the teaching of Loup is set forth above. Loup teaches “wherein one end portion of the connecting terminal and the other side connection part of the first unit discharge electrode are fastened to each other by means of fastening means,” and “wherein the other end portion of the connecting terminal and one side connection part of the second unit discharge electrode are fastened to each other by means of fastening means” (Fig. 5; par [0034]) but does not explicitly disclose "wherein through-holes are respectively formed in one end portion and the other end portion of the connecting terminal, a through-hole is formed in the other side connection part of the first unit discharge electrode, and a through-hole is formed in one side connection part of the second unit discharge electrode, wherein one end portion of the connecting terminal and the other side connection part of the first unit discharge electrode are fastened to each other by means of fastening means that penetrate the through-hole of one end portion of the connecting terminal and the through-hole of the other side connection part of the first unit discharge electrode, and wherein the other end portion of the connecting terminal and one side connection part of the second unit discharge electrode are fastened to each other by means of fastening means that penetrate the through-hole of the other end portion of the connecting terminal and the through-hole of one side connection part of the second unit discharge electrode” [emphasis added, which identify fastening attachment, i.e., assembling structures ]. Loup discloses the embodiments of the invention are assembled to facilitate positioning during manufacture (par [0038]-[0039]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to substitute the assembly structures of Loup in place the through-holes as equivalent materials for use in the assembly art and the selection of any of these known equivalents for the purpose of assembly, i.e., fastening, would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.06.
For claim 10, Loup discloses the fastening means as set forth above. The phrase “a bolt, and a screw groove having a screw thread formed therein is formed in a bottom of the connecting terminal fixing structure so that the bolt is fastened to the screw groove” is considered an intended use or result. The instant invention is an apparatus. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114.
For claim 11, Loup discloses the middle portion of the connecting terminal as set forth above. The phrase “elongated, and a width of the end portion is larger than a width of the middle portion” is considered an intended use or result. Apparatus claims are distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than intended use or function. See MPEP § 2114.
For claim 12, the teaching of Loup is set forth above. Loup does not appear to disclose specifically wherein upper exposed portions of the other side connection part of the first unit discharge electrode, the connecting terminal, and one side connection part of the second unit discharge electrode are coated with an insulating material. Loup does teach insulating material (chassis 13) is used in order to prevent electrical contact between electrodes (Fig. 9; par [0029]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to coat the side connection part of the first unit discharge electrode, the connecting terminal, and the side connection part of the second unit discharge electrode as taught in Loup to prevent electrical contact with a reasonable expectation of success.
For claim 13, the teaching of Loup is set forth above and further discloses a cover is provided on upper exposed portions of the other side connection part of the first unit discharge electrode, the connecting terminal, and one side connection part of the second unit discharge electrode and closes the upper exposed portions (Fig. 9; par [0029]).
Regarding claim 15, Loup discloses the plurality of unit discharge electrodes as set forth above in claim 2 but does not appear to teach the following features explicitly—the unit discharge electrode positioned at one side outermost periphery is a third unit discharge electrode, and the unit discharge electrode positioned at the other side outermost periphery is a fourth unit discharge electrode, and wherein one side fixing structure for accommodating one side connection part of the third unit discharge electrode is further provided in the casing, and the other side fixing structure for accommodating the other side connection part of the fourth unit discharge electrode is further provided in the casing. These features are considered duplication of parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to duplicate the features since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI‐B).
Regarding claim 16, Loup discloses the plurality of unit discharge electrodes as set forth above that includes the working parts but does not appear to teach the following multiple features explicitly—wherein a groove having a shape corresponding to one side connection part of the third unit discharge electrode is formed in one side fixing structure, and one side connection part of the third unit discharge electrode is inserted into the groove of one side fixing structure, and wherein a groove having a shape corresponding to the other side connection part of the fourth unit discharge electrode is formed in the other side fixing structure, and the other side connection part of the fourth unit discharge electrode is inserted into the groove of the other side fixing structure. These features are considered duplication of parts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to duplicate the features since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(VI‐B).
Regarding claim 17, the teaching of Loup is set forth above. Loup discloses casing has a structure made by coupling a casing main body and a casing cover (Fig. 9; par [0040]) but does not appear to state explicitly the casing cover comprises: a first casing cover detachably provided at one rim side inside the casing main body and configured to close one rim side; and a second casing cover detachably provided at the other rim side inside the casing main body and configured to close the other rim side. These structures of Loup are instead integrally constructed. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current invention to separate structures into separate parts, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04(V‐C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure for example:
US 20200230611 A1 discloses all of the limitations recited in instant claim 1. See Figs. 4, 5; pars [0013], [0044], [0048].
US 20170120256 A1 discloses an electric dust collector comprising an electrification unit for generating an electric field and a dust collection unit for collecting dust particles.
US 20150290352 A1 discloses a charging-section high-voltage electrode unit including a plurality of charging-section high-voltage electrodes, and a charging-section ground electrode unit includes a plurality of charging-section ground electrodes formed by flat plates.
US 20170120181 A1 discloses an electrification unit includes discharge electrodes and opposite electrodes arranged parallel to the discharge electrodes.
US 3997304 A discloses a mounting system of ionizing wires for an electrostatic precipitator. US 4022594 A discloses an electrostatic precipitator with a frame defining a through-extending open central portion, a group of continuously connected longitudinally extending spaced-apart configurated electrically conductive plate portions mounted within said open portion, a continuous ionizing wire length having a pair of opposed rows of end-positioned connecting loop portions and a series of substantially parallel length portions in a spaced relation along and between adjacent pairs of said plate portions, cooperating spring means; a pair of opposed and spaced-apart bar members extending along outer reaches of said rows of connecting loop portions and means for maintaining said bars members in a self-adjusting outwardly flexibly spread-apart positioned relation with respect to each other for positioning said rows in an electrically insulated self-adjustably tensioned relation along said bar members within the open central portion of said frame.
KR 20170082018 A discloses a charging unit and a dust collecting part; wherein, the charging unit includes a wire discharge electrode and an opposing electrode portion provided apart from the wire discharge electrode.
/SONJI TURNER/Examiner, Art Unit 1776 December 12, 2025
/Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776