DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office Action on the merits in response to communications filed by Applicant on July 17th, 2026. Claims 1-13 and 15-26 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the Claims, filed on July 17th, 2026, have been entered. Claims 1, 7, 15-17, and 22 are currently amended, and pending, claims 3-4, 8-9, 11-13, 18-19, 21, and 23-26 are as previously presented and pending, claims 2, 5-6, 10, and 20 are original, unamended, and pending, and claim 14 has been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-13, 15-17, 19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016016516 A1 ("Sylvain") in view of US 10792809 B2 ("Bingham") in further view of US 2021/0213479 A1 ("Grass") .
Regarding claim 1, Sylvain teaches a system for handling pot lids in an aluminium production plant comprising (Sylvain: Figures 5 and 10a-12b, Abstract, “The vehicle comprises an oblong chassis (51) resting on a first axle (61) with two wheels (60) and a second axle (62) with two wheels (60) and carrying, at one of the longitudinal ends of same, a hinged arm (52) provided with a tool (56, 57), in particular for handling covers of a cell. Each of the wheels is mounted at a longitudinal end and at a lateral end of the chassis, movably about a vertical steering axis, and can be driven in one direction or the other about the axis of rotation (63) of same. Means for blocking the wheels are designed to block the wheels of one axle, relative to the steering axis, in the neutral position, when the vehicle moves in a direction such that said axle is the rear axle.”, ¶ 0079, “Each cell 3 is equipped with a hooding system. This comprises a series of removable 33 covers which are typically metallic, and more typically made of aluminum alloy. The hooding system confines the effluents within 29 of cell 3 and is connected to means (not shown) for evacuating the effluents and directing them to a treatment center.”, ¶ 0080, “The covers 33 are typically inserted into a guide groove 35 arranged along the cell 3 (in the direction Y') and are placed in abutment on a rim 31 of the superstructure 30. The covers 33 have side edges 36 and are placed side by side on a cell 3, along the direction Y'. For example, the hoods 33 may have a width (along Y') of less than one meter and a height of more than one meter. The hoods 33 may be substantially flat or curved. The covers 33 are held in position by their own weight, without any locking device. For example, the weight of a 33 hood can be around ten kilos or more. The hoods 33 are generally provided with a handle 34 intended for handling by operators.”, ¶ 0087, “In the embodiment shown, the vehicle 50 is intended for carrying out operations linked to the operation of the cells 3, in particular operations for handling the hoods 33. However, vehicle 50 can perform other operations in installation 1.”, ¶ 0092, “The vehicle 50 also includes an articulated arm 52 which has a base 53 fixed to the chassis 51 substantially at a longitudinal end of the chassis 51.”, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”. The cited figures and passages clearly shows a robotic system configured to grip and manipulate lids in an aluminum production facility.):
a robot assembly comprising at least one manipulator arm (Sylvain: Figure 4 and 5, ¶ 0087, “In the embodiment shown, the vehicle 50 is intended for carrying out operations linked to the operation of the cells 3, in particular operations for handling the hoods 33. However, vehicle 50 can perform other operations in installation 1.”, ¶ 0092, “The vehicle 50 also includes an articulated arm 52 which has a base 53 fixed to the chassis 51 substantially at a longitudinal end of the chassis 51.”, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”);
a lid gripper apparatus mounted at one end of the at least one manipulator arm, the lid gripper apparatus comprising (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”):
(a) a frame (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the gripping device is mounted to the free end of the robot arm. Figures 4 and 5 clearly shows that the gripping device includes a frame to which the griping members are attached to and that the frame connects the gripping device to the free end.);
(b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”); and
a sensor system operable to detect the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Sylvain: ¶ 0110, “At each of the longitudinal ends of the chassis 51 is fixed a positioning means 80 designed to receive data from the environment of the vehicle 50 and thus allow the vehicle 50 to locate itself in space.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the system includes a detection device used to detect the lid of the aluminium pot and a sensor system that allows the robot to locate itself in space.),
to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Sylvain: Figures 10a-12b, ¶ 0116, “Concretely, the vehicle 50 comprises a system for controlling the drive means and the articulated arm 52, which belongs for example to the centralized management system provided in the electrical cabinet 74. This control system may be preprogrammed to enable the vehicle 50 to follow at least one predefined trajectory and perform at least one predefined operation. For this purpose, the vehicle 50 can use the positioning means 85 and compare its position thus detected with a map of the installation 1 previously loaded into the centralized management system.”, ¶ 0126, “then, the chassis 51 of the vehicle 50 remaining in said predetermined position, the articulated arm 52 takes a first hood 33 from a cell 3 and places it on another hood 33 or on the floor of the installation 1, then takes a second hood 33 from the same cell 3 and places it on the first hood 33.”. The cited figures and passages shows that the system is configured to control the robot such that it moves to a position near the lid and aligns the gripper such that the robot can grasp the handle of the lid.).
Sylvain does not teach (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot; and
(c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus; and
to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and
to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation.
Bingham, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot (Bingham: Figures 2 and 3, Abstract, “A method is provided that includes controlling a robotic gripping device to cause a plurality of digits of the robotic gripping device to move towards each other in an attempt to grasp an object. The method also includes receiving, from at least one non-contact sensor on the robotic gripping device, first sensor data indicative of a region between the plurality of digits of the robotic gripping device. The method further includes receiving, from the at least one non-contact sensor on the robotic gripping device, second sensor data indicative of the region between the plurality of digits of the robotic gripping device, where the second sensor data is based on a different sensing modality than the first sensor data. The method additionally includes determining, using an object in-hand classifier that takes as input the first sensor data and the second sensor data, a result of the attempt to grasp the object.”, Column 12 lines 40-46, “FIG. 2 shows an example robotic arm 200. As shown, the robotic arm 200 includes a base 202, which may be a stationary base or may be a movable base. In the case of a movable base, the base 202 may be considered as one of the mechanical components 110 and may include wheels (not shown), powered by one or more of actuators, which allow for mobility of the entire robotic arm 200.”, Column 13 lines 28-32, “FIG. 3 shows the example robotic arm 200 with an underactuated robotic gripping device 308. Robotic gripping device 308 may be similar or identical to any of the underactuated robotic gripping devices described in more detail below.”, Column 14 lines 13-25, “Robotic gripping device 500 may include one or more physical components, including one or more digits 502A-B, 15 actuators 504, and/or springs 506. In some examples, robotic gripping device 500 may include two opposable digits, as shown in FIG. 5. In other examples, more or fewer digits may be included. Where three or more digits are included, the digits may be arranged in two groups opposing each 20 other, such that when they are actuated they close toward each other. Two digits may be positioned opposite the third, such that when the digits close they interlock. In other examples, the digits may be positioned or spaced evenly around a palm or base section. Other arrangements are 25 possible as well.”, Column 14 lines 26-35, “Each digit 502A-B may be configured to move in a gripping direction, to contact, grasp, hold, grip, or otherwise interact with an object.”);
to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Bingham: Column 10 lines 28-57, “The sensor(s) 112 may provide sensor data to the processor(s) 102 (perhaps by way of data 107) to allow for interaction of the robotic system 100 with its environment, as well as monitoring of the operation of the robotic system 100. The sensor data may be used in evaluation of various factors for activation, movement, and deactivation of mechanical components 110 and electrical components 116 by control system 118. For example, the sensor(s) 112 may capture data corresponding to the terrain of the environment or location of nearby objects, which may assist with environment recognition and navigation. In an example configuration, sensor(s) 112 may include RADAR (e.g., for long range object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), LIDAR (e.g., for short-range object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), SONAR (e.g., for underwater object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), VICON® (e.g., for motion capture), one or more cameras ( e.g., stereoscopic cameras for 3D vision), a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver, and/or other sensors for capturing information of the environment in which the robotic system 100 is operating. The sensor(s) 112 may monitor the environment in real time, and detect obstacles, elements of the terrain, weather conditions, temperature, and/or other aspects of the environment. In another example, sensor(s) 112 may capture data corresponding to one or more characteristics of a target or identified object, such as a size, shape, profile, structure, or orientation of the object.”, Column 18 lines 13-22, “Object occupancy, or detecting if an object is actually present in the gripper, may be considered the lowest complexity manipulation class. However, this manipulation class may be of particular importance when working with under actuated grippers. In some examples, sensors used to detect object occupancy may include one-dimensional (ID) time-of-flight (ToF) sensors, which may be capable of generating individual time-of-flight distance and/or reflectance measurements; red green blue (RGB) and/or infrared (IR) cameras; and microphones.”, Column 18 lines 23-30, “A somewhat more complex manipulation class may involve determining information about grasp shape, which may also be used to infer information about grasp force and grasp quality. In some examples, sensors used to detect grasp shape may include radar; commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) tactile digit pads; dynamic vision sensor (DYS) cameras; an inertial measurement unit (IMU) in each digit; and three dimensional (3D) ToF cameras.”, Column 22 lines 44-60, “At block 902, method 900 may include receiving time-of-flight distance data from a time-of-flight sensor on the palm of the gripper. The data may be indicative of a direction from the palm of the gripper toward an area between a plurality of digits ( e.g., two opposable digits) of the gripper. The time-of-flight distance data may include a distance measurement to a nearest object in the direction toward the area between the digits.”, Column 22 lines 61-67, “At block 904, method 900 may include receiving gray scale image data from an infrared camera on the palm of the gripper. The image data may also be indicative of a direction from the palm of the gripper toward an area between a plurality of digits of the gripper.”, Column 23 lines 5-21, “At block 906, method 900 may further include controlling the gripper based on the time-of-flight distance data and the grayscale image data. More specifically, data from the time-of-flight sensor and the infrared camera may be fused together, possibly in addition to data from other sensors, in order to generate control instructions for the gripper.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system is configured to generate position information for an object to be grasped based on sensor data.) and
to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Bingham: Column 10 lines 28-57, “The sensor(s) 112 may provide sensor data to the processor(s) 102 (perhaps by way of data 107) to allow for interaction of the robotic system 100 with its environment, as well as monitoring of the operation of the robotic system 100. The sensor data may be used in evaluation of various factors for activation, movement, and deactivation of mechanical components 110 and electrical components 116 by control system 118. For example, the sensor(s) 112 may capture data corresponding to the terrain of the environment or location of nearby objects, which may assist with environment recognition and navigation. In an example configuration, sensor(s) 112 may include RADAR (e.g., for long range object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), LIDAR (e.g., for short-range object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), SONAR (e.g., for underwater object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), VICON® (e.g., for motion capture), one or more cameras ( e.g., stereoscopic cameras for 3D vision), a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver, and/or other sensors for capturing information of the environment in which the robotic system 100 is operating. The sensor(s) 112 may monitor the environment in real time, and detect obstacles, elements of the terrain, weather conditions, temperature, and/or other aspects of the environment. In another example, sensor(s) 112 may capture data corresponding to one or more characteristics of a target or identified object, such as a size, shape, profile, structure, or orientation of the object.”, Column 22 lines 44-60, “At block 902, method 900 may include receiving time-of-flight distance data from a time-of-flight sensor on the palm of the gripper. The data may be indicative of a direction from the palm of the gripper toward an area between a plurality of digits ( e.g., two opposable digits) of the gripper. The time-of-flight distance data may include a distance measurement to a nearest object in the direction toward the area between the digits.”, Column 22 lines 61-67, “At block 904, method 900 may include receiving gray scale image data from an infrared camera on the palm of the gripper. The image data may also be indicative of a direction from the palm of the gripper toward an area between a plurality of digits of the gripper.”, Column 23 lines 5-21, “At block 906, method 900 may further include controlling the gripper based on the time-of-flight distance data and the grayscale image data. More specifically, data from the time-of-flight sensor and the infrared camera may be fused together, possibly in addition to data from other sensors, in order to generate control instructions for the gripper.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system is configured to control the robot arm such that the griper is properly aligned with the object to be grasped according to the position information from the sensors.).
Sylvain teaches system for handling pot lids in an aluminium production plant comprising: a robot assembly comprising at least one manipulator arm; a lid gripper apparatus mounted at one end of the at least one manipulator arm, the lid gripper apparatus comprising: (a) a frame; (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; and a sensor system operable to detect the at least one protruding or upstanding formation, to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation. Sylvain does not teach (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation. Bingham teaches (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system taught in Sylvain with (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation taught in Bingham. Furthermore, the system taught in Sylvain is already configured to control the robotic system based on position information of the lid, control the robot to travel to the lid, and cause the robot arm to move and grasp the handle of the lid. While Sylvain does teach that the system uses a detection device to detect the lid/handle (Sylvain: ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”), Sylvain does not explicitly teach that the detection device is used to determine the position of the handle and that said position is used to control the gripper. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognize that in order to grip the handles of the pot lids, the position of said lids must be known or determined in some fashion. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system taught in Sylvain such that the system determines the position information of the object to be grasp and controls the gripper according to this information as taught in Bingham according to methods known in the art. Additionally, while the gripping device taught in Sylvain is configured to grasp a handle of a pot lid using gripping members of the gripping device, Sylvain does not explicitly teach that these gripping members are movable form an open condition and a closed condition. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the gripping device taught in Sylvain such that the gripping members move from an open condition to a closed condition as taught in Bingham according to methods known in the art. Such modifications would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a system for handling pot lids in an aluminium production plant comprising: (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system taught in Sylvain with (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation taught in Bingham with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Sylvain in view of Bingham does not teach (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus.
Grass, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus (Grass: Figure 1, Abstract, “A system and a method are disclosed for applying a vibration to a container comprising a content, said container held by an end effector attached to a mechatronic manipulator, the system comprising a vibration generator operatively coupled to at least one of the end effector and the mechatronic manipulator at an operating distance from the container such that when said vibration generator is in operation, said vibration generator causes said container to vibrate accordingly and a controller operatively connected to the vibration generator, the controller for generating and providing a controlling signal to the vibration generator.”, ¶ 0069, “The robotic system 50 comprises, inter alia, a mechatronic manipulator 100 and an end effector 200. A container 404 comprising a content 405 is held by the end effector 200 of the robotic system 50.”, ¶ 0071, “The skilled addressee will appreciate that the mechatronic manipulator 100 may be of various types. For instance and in accordance with one embodiment, the mechatronic manipulator 100 is a six-axis robotic arm and is manufactured by Universal Robots. In another embodiment, the mechatronic manipulator 100 is a Cartesian robot and is manufactured by Yamaha Motor. In another embodiment, the mechatronic manipulator 100 is a SCARA robot and is manufactured by Epson. The skilled addressee will appreciate that various alternative embodiments may be provided for the mechatronic manipulator 100.”, ¶ 0073, “The skilled addressee will appreciate that the end effector 200 may be of various types depending for instance on the container to be held. In one embodiment, the end effector 200 is a robotic gripper manufactured by Robotiq. In another embodiment, the end effector 200 is a vacuum gripper and is manufactured by Coval. In another embodiment, the end effector 200 is a magnetic gripper and is manufactured by SMC Corporation of America. The skilled addressee will appreciate that various alternative embodiments may be provided for the end effector 200.”, ¶ 0077, “The system comprises a vibration generator operatively coupled to at least one of the end effector 200 and the mechatronic manipulator 100 at an operating distance from the container 404 such that when the vibration generator is in operation, the vibration generator causes the container 404 to vibrate accordingly.”, ¶ 0086, “More precisely, the end effector 200 is a robotic gripper comprising at least one finger used for holding the container 404. It will be appreciated that in this specific embodiment, the system for applying a vibration to the container 404 comprises a vibration generator 300 which is operatively coupled to the end effector 200. More precisely and in this specific embodiment, the vibration generator 300 is mounted inside a first finger 210a of the at least one finger of the end effector 200.”, ¶ 0113, “More specifically, in this embodiment two vibration motors 700, 702 are integrated each in a respective one of the first finger 210a and the second finger 210b of the end effector 200.”, ¶ 0125, “According to processing step 904, the determined controlling signal is provided to a vibration generator operatively coupled to at least one of the end effector and the mechatronic manipulator at an operating distance from the container such that when the vibration generator is in operation, the vibration generator causes the container to vibrate accordingly.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system comprises a robot with an end effector that has a vibrating mechanism coupled to it, wherein the system is configured to vibrate an object held by said end effector. One of ordinary skill in the art would have clearly recognized that, when the robot applies a vibration to the gripped container, the vibration would also be applied to any objects inside the container as well.).
Sylvain teaches a system and method for controlling a robot in an aluminum production facility. The robot comprises a multi-articulated arm with a gripping device mounted to the distal end of the arm. The gripping device further comprises a plurality of gripping members that are configured to grasp the handle of a pot lid. Grass teaches a system and method for controlling a robotic manipulator. The robot comprises a multi-articulated arm with a gripping device mounted to the distal end of the arm. The gripping device further comprises a vibration device that is mounted inside the digits of the gripping device. Said vibration device is configured to apply a vibration to the object gripped by the robot. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, if the gripping device of Sylvain where modified with the vibration device of Grass, when the system would apply a vibration to the handle gripped by the robot, said vibration would be transmitted through the handle and into the lid. This is because the handle is securely coupled to the lid and would clearly transmit and force or vibration applied to the handle into the lid. Therefore, the combination of Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches the limitation “(c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus”.
Sylvain in view of Bingham teaches a system for handling pot lids in an aluminium production plant comprising: a robot assembly comprising at least one manipulator arm; a lid gripper apparatus mounted at one end of the at least one manipulator mounted at one end of the at least one manipulator arm, the lid gripper apparatus comprising: (a) a frame; (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; and a sensor system operable to detect the at least one protruding or upstanding formation, to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation. Sylvain in view of Bingham does not teach (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus. Grass teaches (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system taught in Sylvain in view of Grass with (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus taught in Grass. Furthermore, the system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham is already configured to detect and determine the position of a handle of a pot lid in an aluminum production facility and cause the robot to grasp the handle of the pot lid with the gripping members of the robot’s gripping device. As such a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham with the vibration device in the gripping device that applies a vibration to a gripped object taught in Grass such that the system applies a vibration to the handle of the pot lid and therefore the lid itself. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a system for handling pot lids in an aluminum production plant comprising: (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham with (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus taught in Grass with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches wherein the at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid is a handle and/or at least one step on a pot lid (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0080, “The covers 33 are held in position under the effect of their own weight, without locking device. For example, the weight of a hood 33 may be of the order of ten kilos or more. The covers 33 are generally provided with a handle 34 intended for handling by operators.”, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”).
Regarding claim 3, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches wherein the lid gripper apparatus is configured to contact at least two surfaces or sides of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to clamp the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0080, “The covers 33 are held in position under the effect of their own weight, without locking device. For example, the weight of a hood 33 may be of the order of ten kilos or more. The covers 33 are generally provided with a handle 34 intended for handling by operators.”, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”. The cited passages and figures clearly shows that the system is configured to grip at least two sides of the handle of the pot lid.).
Regarding claim 4, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches wherein the robot assembly is movably mounted on a support, vehicle, crane, positioning system or at least one positioning member of a positioning system (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0087, “In the embodiment shown, the vehicle 50 is intended for carrying out operations linked to the operation of the cells 3, in particular operations for handling the hoods 33. However, vehicle 50 can perform other operations in installation 1.”, ¶ 0092, “The vehicle 50 also includes an articulated arm 52 which has a base 53 fixed to the chassis 51 substantially at a longitudinal end of the chassis 51.”, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.” Bingham: Column 12 lines 29-39, “As noted above, the robotic system 100 may include various types of legs, arms, wheels, end effectors, gripping devices and so on. In general, the robotic system 100 may be configured with zero or more legs. An implementation of the robotic system with zero legs may include wheels, treads, or some other form of locomotion. An implementation of the robotic system with two legs may be referred to as a biped, and an implementation with four legs may be referred as a quadruped. Implementations with six or eight legs are also possible. For purposes of illustration, robotic arm implementations of the robotic system 100 are described below.”, Column 12 lines 40-46, “FIG. 2 shows an example robotic arm 200. As shown, the robotic arm 200 includes a base 202, which may be a stationary base or may be a movable base. In the case of a movable base, the base 202 may be considered as one of the mechanical components 110 and may include wheels (not shown), powered by one or more of actuators, which allow for mobility of the entire robotic arm 200.”. The cited passages of Sylvain and Bingham clearly shows that the robot arm can be mounted on a support, vehicle, crane, positioning system or at least one positioning member of a positioning system.).
Regarding claim 9, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches wherein the sensor system comprises at least one sensor selected from the group comprising optical sensor, vision system, camera, time of flight camera, depth sensor, distance sensor, laser, ultrasound, momentum sensor, accelerometer, rotary position sensor, gyroscopic position sensor, global positioning sensor, infra-red sensor, thermal sensor, load cell and/or LIDAR (Sylvain: ¶ 0110, “At each of the longitudinal ends of the chassis 51 is fixed a positioning means 80 designed to receive data from the environment of the vehicle 50 and thus allow the vehicle 50 to locate itself in space.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.” Bingham: Column 10 lines 28-57, “The sensor(s) 112 may provide sensor data to the processor(s) 102 (perhaps by way of data 107) to allow for interaction of the robotic system 100 with its environment, as well as monitoring of the operation of the robotic system 100. The sensor data may be used in evaluation of various factors for activation, movement, and deactivation of mechanical components 110 and electrical components 116 by control system 118. For example, the sensor(s) 112 may capture data corresponding to the terrain of the environment or location of nearby objects, which may assist with environment recognition and navigation. In an example configuration, sensor(s) 112 may include RADAR (e.g., for long range object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), LIDAR (e.g., for short-range object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), SONAR (e.g., for underwater object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), VICON® (e.g., for motion capture), one or more cameras ( e.g., stereoscopic cameras for 3D vision), a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver, and/or other sensors for capturing information of the environment in which the robotic system 100 is operating. The sensor(s) 112 may monitor the environment in real time, and detect obstacles, elements of the terrain, weather conditions, temperature, and/or other aspects of the environment. In another example, sensor(s) 112 may capture data corresponding to one or more characteristics of a target or identified object, such as a size, shape, profile, structure, or orientation of the object.”).
Regarding claim 10, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches wherein the at least one sensor of the sensor system is mounted on the robot assembly, at least one manipulator arm and/or lid gripper apparatus (Bingham: Figure 7, Column 18 lines 46-55, “FIG. 7 illustrates a sensing device for a robotic gripper, in accordance with example embodiments. More specifically, printed circuit board (PCB) 700 may be configured to fit into the palm of a robotic gripper, such as an underactuated gripper described in reference to FIGS. 4 and 5. The PCB 700 may include sensors including a short-range time-of flight sensor 710, a long-range time-of-flight sensor 720, and an infrared microcamera 730 arranged on a front side of PCB 700. The PCB 700 may additionally include an IMU 740 arranged on a rear side of PCB 700.”).
Regarding claim 11, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches wherein the sensor system comprises a vision system comprising at least one optical sensor (Bingham: (Bingham: Figure 7, Column 18 lines 46-55, “FIG. 7 illustrates a sensing device for a robotic gripper, in accordance with example embodiments. More specifically, printed circuit board (PCB) 700 may be configured to fit into the palm of a robotic gripper, such as an underactuated gripper described in reference to FIGS. 4 and 5. The PCB 700 may include sensors including a short-range time-of flight sensor 710, a long-range time-of-flight sensor 720, and an infrared microcamera 730 arranged on a front side of PCB 700. The PCB 700 may additionally include an IMU 740 arranged on a rear side of PCB 700.”, The sensing system includes an infrared camera. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that this is clearly a type of optical sensor.).
Regarding claim 12, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches comprising at least one processing unit configured to process a movement path for the robot assembly, the lid gripper apparatus, the lid and/or the at least one protruding or upstanding formation based on the position information generated by the sensor system (Bingham: Column 8 lines 39-49, “Processor(s) 102 may operate as one or more general purpose hardware processors or special purpose hardware processors ( e.g., digital signal processors, application specific integrated circuits, etc.). The processor(s) 102 may be configured to execute computer-readable program instructions 106, and manipulate data 107, both of which are stored in the data storage 104. The processor(s) 102 may also directly or indirectly interact with other components of the robotic system 100, such as sensor(s) 112, power source(s) 114, mechanical components 110, and/or electrical components 116.”, Column 23 lines 5-21, “At block 906, method 900 may further include controlling the gripper based on the time-of-flight distance data and the grayscale image data. More specifically, data from the time-of-flight sensor and the infrared camera may be fused together, possibly in addition to data from other sensors, in order to generate control instructions for the gripper. The 10 data fusion may involve heuristics-based and/or machine learning models. The control instructions may relate to a first temporal phase before grasping an object (e.g., identifying an object to grasp, approaching the object, determining an appropriate stopping distance, and/or visual servoing). The 15 control instructions may also relate to a second temporal phase after an attempted grasp ( e.g., confirming grasp success, evaluating quality of the grasp, and/or determining properties of the object). The control instructions may also relate to a third temporal phase after a successful grasp ( e.g., 20 slip detection while moving a grasped object).”. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that the robot is clearly configured to generate a movement path to approach the object to be grasped based on the position information received from the sensors.).
Regarding claim 13, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches comprising at least one control unit configured to move a crane, positioning system, at least one positioning member of a positioning system, robot assembly, at least one manipulator arm of the robot and/or the lid gripper apparatus in relation to the pot, lid and/or at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Sylvain: Figures 10a-12b, ¶ 0116, “Concretely, the vehicle 50 comprises a system for controlling the drive means and the articulated arm 52, which belongs for example to the centralized management system provided in the electrical cabinet 74. This control system may be preprogrammed to enable the vehicle 50 to follow at least one predefined trajectory and perform at least one predefined operation. For this purpose, the vehicle 50 can use the positioning means 85 and compare its position thus detected with a map of the installation 1 previously loaded into the centralized management system.”, ¶ 0126, “then, the chassis 51 of the vehicle 50 remaining in said predetermined position, the articulated arm 52 takes a first hood 33 from a cell 3 and places it on another hood 33 or on the floor of the installation 1, then takes a second hood 33 from the same cell 3 and places it on the first hood 33.”, Bingham: Column 9 lines 1-10, “The controller 108 may include one or more electrical circuits, units of digital logic, computer chips, and/or microprocessors that are configured to (perhaps among other tasks), interface between any combination of the mechanical components 110, the sensor(s) 112, the power source(s) 114, the electrical components 116, the control system 118, and/or a user of the robotic system 100. In some implementations, the controller 108 may be a purpose-built embedded device for performing specific operations with one or more subsystems of the robotic device 100.”, Column 23 lines 5-21, “The control instructions may relate to a first temporal phase before grasping an object (e.g., identifying an object to grasp, approaching the object, determining an appropriate stopping distance, and/or visual servoing). The control instructions may also relate to a second temporal phase after an attempted grasp ( e.g., confirming grasp success, evaluating quality of the grasp, and/or determining properties of the object). The control instructions may also relate to a third temporal phase after a successful grasp ( e.g., 20 slip detection while moving a grasped object).”).
Regarding claim 15, Sylvain teaches a lid gripper apparatus for a lid handling system, the lid gripper apparatus comprising (Sylvain: Figures 5 and 10a-12b, Abstract, “The vehicle comprises an oblong chassis (51) resting on a first axle (61) with two wheels (60) and a second axle (62) with two wheels (60) and carrying, at one of the longitudinal ends of same, a hinged arm (52) provided with a tool (56, 57), in particular for handling covers of a cell. Each of the wheels is mounted at a longitudinal end and at a lateral end of the chassis, movably about a vertical steering axis, and can be driven in one direction or the other about the axis of rotation (63) of same. Means for blocking the wheels are designed to block the wheels of one axle, relative to the steering axis, in the neutral position, when the vehicle moves in a direction such that said axle is the rear axle.”, ¶ 0079, “Each cell 3 is equipped with a hooding system. This comprises a series of removable 33 covers which are typically metallic, and more typically made of aluminum alloy. The hooding system confines the effluents within 29 of cell 3 and is connected to means (not shown) for evacuating the effluents and directing them to a treatment center.”, ¶ 0080, “The covers 33 are typically inserted into a guide groove 35 arranged along the cell 3 (in the direction Y') and are placed in abutment on a rim 31 of the superstructure 30. The covers 33 have side edges 36 and are placed side by side on a cell 3, along the direction Y'. For example, the hoods 33 may have a width (along Y') of less than one meter and a height of more than one meter. The hoods 33 may be substantially flat or curved. The covers 33 are held in position by their own weight, without any locking device. For example, the weight of a 33 hood can be around ten kilos or more. The hoods 33 are generally provided with a handle 34 intended for handling by operators.”, ¶ 0087, “In the embodiment shown, the vehicle 50 is intended for carrying out operations linked to the operation of the cells 3, in particular operations for handling the hoods 33. However, vehicle 50 can perform other operations in installation 1.”, ¶ 0092, “The vehicle 50 also includes an articulated arm 52 which has a base 53 fixed to the chassis 51 substantially at a longitudinal end of the chassis 51.”, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”. The cited figures and passages clearly shows a robotic system configured to grip and manipulate lids in an aluminum production facility.):
(a) a frame (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the gripping device is mounted to the free end of the robot arm. Figures 4 and 5 clearly shows that the gripping device includes a frame to which the griping members are attached to and that the frame connects the gripping device to the free end.);
(b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”).
Sylvain does not teach (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot; and
(c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus.
Bingham teaches (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot (Bingham: Figures 2 and 3, Abstract, “A method is provided that includes controlling a robotic gripping device to cause a plurality of digits of the robotic gripping device to move towards each other in an attempt to grasp an object. The method also includes receiving, from at least one non-contact sensor on the robotic gripping device, first sensor data indicative of a region between the plurality of digits of the robotic gripping device. The method further includes receiving, from the at least one non-contact sensor on the robotic gripping device, second sensor data indicative of the region between the plurality of digits of the robotic gripping device, where the second sensor data is based on a different sensing modality than the first sensor data. The method additionally includes determining, using an object in-hand classifier that takes as input the first sensor data and the second sensor data, a result of the attempt to grasp the object.”, Column 12 lines 40-46, “FIG. 2 shows an example robotic arm 200. As shown, the robotic arm 200 includes a base 202, which may be a stationary base or may be a movable base. In the case of a movable base, the base 202 may be considered as one of the mechanical components 110 and may include wheels (not shown), powered by one or more of actuators, which allow for mobility of the entire robotic arm 200.”, Column 13 lines 28-32, “FIG. 3 shows the example robotic arm 200 with an underactuated robotic gripping device 308. Robotic gripping device 308 may be similar or identical to any of the underactuated robotic gripping devices described in more detail below.”, Column 14 lines 13-25, “Robotic gripping device 500 may include one or more physical components, including one or more digits 502A-B, 15 actuators 504, and/or springs 506. In some examples, robotic gripping device 500 may include two opposable digits, as shown in FIG. 5. In other examples, more or fewer digits may be included. Where three or more digits are included, the digits may be arranged in two groups opposing each 20 other, such that when they are actuated they close toward each other. Two digits may be positioned opposite the third, such that when the digits close they interlock. In other examples, the digits may be positioned or spaced evenly around a palm or base section. Other arrangements are 25 possible as well.”, Column 14 lines 26-35, “Each digit 502A-B may be configured to move in a gripping direction, to contact, grasp, hold, grip, or otherwise interact with an object.”).
Sylvain teaches a lid gripper apparatus for a lid handling system, the lid gripper apparatus comprising: (a) a frame; (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid. Sylvain does not teach (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid. Bingham teaches (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system taught in Sylvain with (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid. Furthermore, while the gripping device taught in Sylvain is configured to grasp a handle of a pot lid using gripping members of the gripping device, Sylvain does not explicitly teach that these gripping members are movable form an open condition and a closed condition. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the gripping device taught in Sylvain such that the gripping members move from an open condition to a closed condition as taught in Bingham according to methods known in the art. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a lid gripper apparatus for a lid handling system, the lid gripper apparatus comprising: (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system taught in Sylvain with (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid taught in Bingham with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Sylvain in view of Bingham does not teach (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus.
Grass, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus (Grass: Figure 1, Abstract, “A system and a method are disclosed for applying a vibration to a container comprising a content, said container held by an end effector attached to a mechatronic manipulator, the system comprising a vibration generator operatively coupled to at least one of the end effector and the mechatronic manipulator at an operating distance from the container such that when said vibration generator is in operation, said vibration generator causes said container to vibrate accordingly and a controller operatively connected to the vibration generator, the controller for generating and providing a controlling signal to the vibration generator.”, ¶ 0069, “The robotic system 50 comprises, inter alia, a mechatronic manipulator 100 and an end effector 200. A container 404 comprising a content 405 is held by the end effector 200 of the robotic system 50.”, ¶ 0071, “The skilled addressee will appreciate that the mechatronic manipulator 100 may be of various types. For instance and in accordance with one embodiment, the mechatronic manipulator 100 is a six-axis robotic arm and is manufactured by Universal Robots. In another embodiment, the mechatronic manipulator 100 is a Cartesian robot and is manufactured by Yamaha Motor. In another embodiment, the mechatronic manipulator 100 is a SCARA robot and is manufactured by Epson. The skilled addressee will appreciate that various alternative embodiments may be provided for the mechatronic manipulator 100.”, ¶ 0073, “The skilled addressee will appreciate that the end effector 200 may be of various types depending for instance on the container to be held. In one embodiment, the end effector 200 is a robotic gripper manufactured by Robotiq. In another embodiment, the end effector 200 is a vacuum gripper and is manufactured by Coval. In another embodiment, the end effector 200 is a magnetic gripper and is manufactured by SMC Corporation of America. The skilled addressee will appreciate that various alternative embodiments may be provided for the end effector 200.”, ¶ 0077, “The system comprises a vibration generator operatively coupled to at least one of the end effector 200 and the mechatronic manipulator 100 at an operating distance from the container 404 such that when the vibration generator is in operation, the vibration generator causes the container 404 to vibrate accordingly.”, ¶ 0086, “More precisely, the end effector 200 is a robotic gripper comprising at least one finger used for holding the container 404. It will be appreciated that in this specific embodiment, the system for applying a vibration to the container 404 comprises a vibration generator 300 which is operatively coupled to the end effector 200. More precisely and in this specific embodiment, the vibration generator 300 is mounted inside a first finger 210a of the at least one finger of the end effector 200.”, ¶ 0113, “More specifically, in this embodiment two vibration motors 700, 702 are integrated each in a respective one of the first finger 210a and the second finger 210b of the end effector 200.”, ¶ 0125, “According to processing step 904, the determined controlling signal is provided to a vibration generator operatively coupled to at least one of the end effector and the mechatronic manipulator at an operating distance from the container such that when the vibration generator is in operation, the vibration generator causes the container to vibrate accordingly.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system comprises a robot with an end effector that has a vibrating mechanism coupled to it, wherein the system is configured to vibrate an object held by said end effector. One of ordinary skill in the art would have clearly recognized that, when the robot applies a vibration to the gripped container, the vibration would also be applied to any objects inside the container as well.).
Sylvain teaches a system and method for controlling a robot in an aluminum production facility. The robot comprises a multi-articulated arm with a gripping device mounted to the distal end of the arm. The gripping device further comprises a plurality of gripping members that are configured to grasp the handle of a pot lid. Grass teaches a system and method for controlling a robotic manipulator. The robot comprises a multi-articulated arm with a gripping device mounted to the distal end of the arm. The gripping device further comprises a vibration device that is mounted inside the digits of the gripping device. Said vibration device is configured to apply a vibration to the object gripped by the robot. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, if the gripping device of Sylvain where modified with the vibration device of Grass, when the system would apply a vibration to the handle gripped by the robot, said vibration would be transmitted through the handle and into the lid. This is because the handle is securely coupled to the lid and would clearly transmit and force or vibration applied to the handle into the lid. Therefore, the combination of Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches the limitation “(c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus”.
Sylvain in view of Bingham teaches a lid gripper apparatus for a lid handling system, the lid gripper apparatus comprising: (a) a frame; (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid. Sylvain in view of Bingham does not teach (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus. Grass teaches (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system taught in Sylvain in view of Grass with (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus taught in Grass. Furthermore, the system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham is already configured to detect and determine the position of a handle of a pot lid in an aluminum production facility and cause the robot to grasp the handle of the pot lid with the gripping members of the robot’s gripping device. As such a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham with the vibration device in the gripping device that applies a vibration to a gripped object taught in Grass such that the system applies a vibration to the handle of the pot lid and therefore the lid itself. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a lid gripper apparatus for a lid handling system, the lid gripper apparatus comprising: (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham with (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus taught in Grass with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 16, Sylvain teaches a method for handling pot lids in an aluminium production plant; the method comprising (Sylvain: Figures 5 and 10a-12b, Abstract, “The vehicle comprises an oblong chassis (51) resting on a first axle (61) with two wheels (60) and a second axle (62) with two wheels (60) and carrying, at one of the longitudinal ends of same, a hinged arm (52) provided with a tool (56, 57), in particular for handling covers of a cell. Each of the wheels is mounted at a longitudinal end and at a lateral end of the chassis, movably about a vertical steering axis, and can be driven in one direction or the other about the axis of rotation (63) of same. Means for blocking the wheels are designed to block the wheels of one axle, relative to the steering axis, in the neutral position, when the vehicle moves in a direction such that said axle is the rear axle.”, ¶ 0079, “Each cell 3 is equipped with a hooding system. This comprises a series of removable 33 covers which are typically metallic, and more typically made of aluminum alloy. The hooding system confines the effluents within 29 of cell 3 and is connected to means (not shown) for evacuating the effluents and directing them to a treatment center.”, ¶ 0080, “The covers 33 are typically inserted into a guide groove 35 arranged along the cell 3 (in the direction Y') and are placed in abutment on a rim 31 of the superstructure 30. The covers 33 have side edges 36 and are placed side by side on a cell 3, along the direction Y'. For example, the hoods 33 may have a width (along Y') of less than one meter and a height of more than one meter. The hoods 33 may be substantially flat or curved. The covers 33 are held in position by their own weight, without any locking device. For example, the weight of a 33 hood can be around ten kilos or more. The hoods 33 are generally provided with a handle 34 intended for handling by operators.”, ¶ 0087, “In the embodiment shown, the vehicle 50 is intended for carrying out operations linked to the operation of the cells 3, in particular operations for handling the hoods 33. However, vehicle 50 can perform other operations in installation 1.”, ¶ 0092, “The vehicle 50 also includes an articulated arm 52 which has a base 53 fixed to the chassis 51 substantially at a longitudinal end of the chassis 51.”, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”. The cited figures and passages clearly shows a robotic system configured to grip and manipulate lids in an aluminum production facility.):
providing a lid handling system comprising: a robot assembly comprising at least one manipulator arm (Sylvain: Figure 4 and 5, ¶ 0087, “In the embodiment shown, the vehicle 50 is intended for carrying out operations linked to the operation of the cells 3, in particular operations for handling the hoods 33. However, vehicle 50 can perform other operations in installation 1.”, ¶ 0092, “The vehicle 50 also includes an articulated arm 52 which has a base 53 fixed to the chassis 51 substantially at a longitudinal end of the chassis 51.”, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”);
a lid gripper apparatus mounted at one end of the at least one manipulator arm, the lid gripper apparatus comprising (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”):
(a) a frame (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the gripping device is mounted to the free end of the robot arm. Figures 4 and 5 clearly shows that the gripping device includes a frame to which the griping members are attached to and that the frame connects the gripping device to the free end.);
(b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”); and
a sensor system operable to detect the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Sylvain: ¶ 0110, “At each of the longitudinal ends of the chassis 51 is fixed a positioning means 80 designed to receive data from the environment of the vehicle 50 and thus allow the vehicle 50 to locate itself in space.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the system includes a detection device used to detect the lid of the aluminium pot and a sensor system that allows the robot to locate itself in space.),
to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus (Sylvain: Figures 10a-12b, ¶ 0116, “Concretely, the vehicle 50 comprises a system for controlling the drive means and the articulated arm 52, which belongs for example to the centralized management system provided in the electrical cabinet 74. This control system may be preprogrammed to enable the vehicle 50 to follow at least one predefined trajectory and perform at least one predefined operation. For this purpose, the vehicle 50 can use the positioning means 85 and compare its position thus detected with a map of the installation 1 previously loaded into the centralized management system.”, ¶ 0126, “then, the chassis 51 of the vehicle 50 remaining in said predetermined position, the articulated arm 52 takes a first hood 33 from a cell 3 and places it on another hood 33 or on the floor of the installation 1, then takes a second hood 33 from the same cell 3 and places it on the first hood 33.”. The cited figures and passages shows that the system is configured to control the robot such that it moves to a position near the lid and aligns the gripper such that the robot can grasp the handle of the lid.).
aligning the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Sylvain: Figures 10a-12b, ¶ 0116, “Concretely, the vehicle 50 comprises a system for controlling the drive means and the articulated arm 52, which belongs for example to the centralized management system provided in the electrical cabinet 74. This control system may be preprogrammed to enable the vehicle 50 to follow at least one predefined trajectory and perform at least one predefined operation. For this purpose, the vehicle 50 can use the positioning means 85 and compare its position thus detected with a map of the installation 1 previously loaded into the centralized management system.”, ¶ 0126, “then, the chassis 51 of the vehicle 50 remaining in said predetermined position, the articulated arm 52 takes a first hood 33 from a cell 3 and places it on another hood 33 or on the floor of the installation 1, then takes a second hood 33 from the same cell 3 and places it on the first hood 33.”. The cited figures and passages shows that the system is configured to control the robot such that it moves to a position near the lid and aligns the gripper such that the robot can grasp the handle of the lid.); and
gripping, by the at least one grip member, one or more protruding or upstanding formations of the at least one protruding or upstanding formations on the pot lid (Sylvain: Figures 10a-12b, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.”, ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end part of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 capable of gripping a cover 33, for example by its handle 34, and a cleaning tool, here a brush 57, capable of cleaning at least one part of a cell 3.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”, ¶ 0126, “then, the chassis 51 of the vehicle 50 remaining in said predetermined position, the articulated arm 52 takes a first hood 33 from a cell 3 and places it on another hood 33 or on the floor of the installation 1, then takes a second hood 33 from the same cell 3 and places it on the first hood 33.”. The system is clearly configured to cause the robot to grip the handle of the pot lid.).
Sylvain does not teach (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot; and
(c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus; and
to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation
to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information.
Bingham, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot (Bingham: Figures 2 and 3, Abstract, “A method is provided that includes controlling a robotic gripping device to cause a plurality of digits of the robotic gripping device to move towards each other in an attempt to grasp an object. The method also includes receiving, from at least one non-contact sensor on the robotic gripping device, first sensor data indicative of a region between the plurality of digits of the robotic gripping device. The method further includes receiving, from the at least one non-contact sensor on the robotic gripping device, second sensor data indicative of the region between the plurality of digits of the robotic gripping device, where the second sensor data is based on a different sensing modality than the first sensor data. The method additionally includes determining, using an object in-hand classifier that takes as input the first sensor data and the second sensor data, a result of the attempt to grasp the object.”, Column 12 lines 40-46, “FIG. 2 shows an example robotic arm 200. As shown, the robotic arm 200 includes a base 202, which may be a stationary base or may be a movable base. In the case of a movable base, the base 202 may be considered as one of the mechanical components 110 and may include wheels (not shown), powered by one or more of actuators, which allow for mobility of the entire robotic arm 200.”, Column 13 lines 28-32, “FIG. 3 shows the example robotic arm 200 with an underactuated robotic gripping device 308. Robotic gripping device 308 may be similar or identical to any of the underactuated robotic gripping devices described in more detail below.”, Column 14 lines 13-25, “Robotic gripping device 500 may include one or more physical components, including one or more digits 502A-B, 15 actuators 504, and/or springs 506. In some examples, robotic gripping device 500 may include two opposable digits, as shown in FIG. 5. In other examples, more or fewer digits may be included. Where three or more digits are included, the digits may be arranged in two groups opposing each 20 other, such that when they are actuated they close toward each other. Two digits may be positioned opposite the third, such that when the digits close they interlock. In other examples, the digits may be positioned or spaced evenly around a palm or base section. Other arrangements are 25 possible as well.”, Column 14 lines 26-35, “Each digit 502A-B may be configured to move in a gripping direction, to contact, grasp, hold, grip, or otherwise interact with an object.”);
to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Bingham: Column 10 lines 28-57, “The sensor(s) 112 may provide sensor data to the processor(s) 102 (perhaps by way of data 107) to allow for interaction of the robotic system 100 with its environment, as well as monitoring of the operation of the robotic system 100. The sensor data may be used in evaluation of various factors for activation, movement, and deactivation of mechanical components 110 and electrical components 116 by control system 118. For example, the sensor(s) 112 may capture data corresponding to the terrain of the environment or location of nearby objects, which may assist with environment recognition and navigation. In an example configuration, sensor(s) 112 may include RADAR (e.g., for long range object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), LIDAR (e.g., for short-range object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), SONAR (e.g., for underwater object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), VICON® (e.g., for motion capture), one or more cameras ( e.g., stereoscopic cameras for 3D vision), a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver, and/or other sensors for capturing information of the environment in which the robotic system 100 is operating. The sensor(s) 112 may monitor the environment in real time, and detect obstacles, elements of the terrain, weather conditions, temperature, and/or other aspects of the environment. In another example, sensor(s) 112 may capture data corresponding to one or more characteristics of a target or identified object, such as a size, shape, profile, structure, or orientation of the object.”, Column 18 lines 13-22, “Object occupancy, or detecting if an object is actually present in the gripper, may be considered the lowest complexity manipulation class. However, this manipulation class may be of particular importance when working with under actuated grippers. In some examples, sensors used to detect object occupancy may include one-dimensional (ID) time-of-flight (ToF) sensors, which may be capable of generating individual time-of-flight distance and/or reflectance measurements; red green blue (RGB) and/or infrared (IR) cameras; and microphones.”, Column 18 lines 23-30, “A somewhat more complex manipulation class may involve determining information about grasp shape, which may also be used to infer information about grasp force and grasp quality. In some examples, sensors used to detect grasp shape may include radar; commercial off-the-shelf (COTS) tactile digit pads; dynamic vision sensor (DYS) cameras; an inertial measurement unit (IMU) in each digit; and three dimensional (3D) ToF cameras.”, Column 22 lines 44-60, “At block 902, method 900 may include receiving time-of-flight distance data from a time-of-flight sensor on the palm of the gripper. The data may be indicative of a direction from the palm of the gripper toward an area between a plurality of digits ( e.g., two opposable digits) of the gripper. The time-of-flight distance data may include a distance measurement to a nearest object in the direction toward the area between the digits.”, Column 22 lines 61-67, “At block 904, method 900 may include receiving gray scale image data from an infrared camera on the palm of the gripper. The image data may also be indicative of a direction from the palm of the gripper toward an area between a plurality of digits of the gripper.”, Column 23 lines 5-21, “At block 906, method 900 may further include controlling the gripper based on the time-of-flight distance data and the grayscale image data. More specifically, data from the time-of-flight sensor and the infrared camera may be fused together, possibly in addition to data from other sensors, in order to generate control instructions for the gripper.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system is configured to generate position information for an object to be grasped based on sensor data.) and
to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information (Bingham: Column 10 lines 28-57, “The sensor(s) 112 may provide sensor data to the processor(s) 102 (perhaps by way of data 107) to allow for interaction of the robotic system 100 with its environment, as well as monitoring of the operation of the robotic system 100. The sensor data may be used in evaluation of various factors for activation, movement, and deactivation of mechanical components 110 and electrical components 116 by control system 118. For example, the sensor(s) 112 may capture data corresponding to the terrain of the environment or location of nearby objects, which may assist with environment recognition and navigation. In an example configuration, sensor(s) 112 may include RADAR (e.g., for long range object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), LIDAR (e.g., for short-range object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), SONAR (e.g., for underwater object detection, distance determination, and/or speed determination), VICON® (e.g., for motion capture), one or more cameras ( e.g., stereoscopic cameras for 3D vision), a global positioning system (GPS) transceiver, and/or other sensors for capturing information of the environment in which the robotic system 100 is operating. The sensor(s) 112 may monitor the environment in real time, and detect obstacles, elements of the terrain, weather conditions, temperature, and/or other aspects of the environment. In another example, sensor(s) 112 may capture data corresponding to one or more characteristics of a target or identified object, such as a size, shape, profile, structure, or orientation of the object.”, Column 22 lines 44-60, “At block 902, method 900 may include receiving time-of-flight distance data from a time-of-flight sensor on the palm of the gripper. The data may be indicative of a direction from the palm of the gripper toward an area between a plurality of digits ( e.g., two opposable digits) of the gripper. The time-of-flight distance data may include a distance measurement to a nearest object in the direction toward the area between the digits.”, Column 22 lines 61-67, “At block 904, method 900 may include receiving gray scale image data from an infrared camera on the palm of the gripper. The image data may also be indicative of a direction from the palm of the gripper toward an area between a plurality of digits of the gripper.”, Column 23 lines 5-21, “At block 906, method 900 may further include controlling the gripper based on the time-of-flight distance data and the grayscale image data. More specifically, data from the time-of-flight sensor and the infrared camera may be fused together, possibly in addition to data from other sensors, in order to generate control instructions for the gripper.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system is configured to control the robot arm such that the griper is properly aligned with the object to be grasped according to the position information from the sensors.).
Sylvain teaches method for handling pot lids in an aluminium production plant; the method comprising: providing a lid handling system comprising: a robot assembly comprising at least one manipulator arm; a lid gripper apparatus mounted at one end of the at least one manipulator arm, the lid gripper apparatus comprising: (a) a frame; (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; and a sensor system operable to detect the at least one protruding or upstanding formation, to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus, aligning the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation; and gripping, by the at least one grip member, one or more protruding or upstanding formations of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation on the pot lid. Sylvain does not teach (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information. Bingham teaches (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method taught in Sylvain with (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information taught in Bingham. Furthermore, the method taught in Sylvain is already configured to control the robotic system based on position information of the lid, control the robot to travel to the lid, and cause the robot arm to move and grasp the handle of the lid. While Sylvain does teach that the system uses a detection device to detect the lid/handle (Sylvain: ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”), Sylvain does not explicitly teach that the detection device is used to determine the position of the handle and that said position is used to control the gripper. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognize that in order to grip the handles of the pot lids, the position of said lids must be known or determined in some fashion. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Sylvain such that the method determines the position information of the object to be grasp and controls the gripper according to this information as taught in Bingham according to methods known in the art. Additionally, while the gripping device taught in Sylvain is configured to grasp a handle of a pot lid using gripping members of the gripping device, Sylvain does not explicitly teach that these gripping members are movable form an open condition and a closed condition. As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the gripping device taught in Sylvain such that the gripping members move from an open condition to a closed condition as taught in Bingham according to methods known in the art. Such modifications would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method for handling pot lids in an aluminium production plant; the method comprising: (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Sylvain with (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information taught in Bingham with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Sylvain in view of Bingham does not teach (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus.
Grass, in the same field of endeavor, teaches (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus (Grass: Figure 1, Abstract, “A system and a method are disclosed for applying a vibration to a container comprising a content, said container held by an end effector attached to a mechatronic manipulator, the system comprising a vibration generator operatively coupled to at least one of the end effector and the mechatronic manipulator at an operating distance from the container such that when said vibration generator is in operation, said vibration generator causes said container to vibrate accordingly and a controller operatively connected to the vibration generator, the controller for generating and providing a controlling signal to the vibration generator.”, ¶ 0069, “The robotic system 50 comprises, inter alia, a mechatronic manipulator 100 and an end effector 200. A container 404 comprising a content 405 is held by the end effector 200 of the robotic system 50.”, ¶ 0071, “The skilled addressee will appreciate that the mechatronic manipulator 100 may be of various types. For instance and in accordance with one embodiment, the mechatronic manipulator 100 is a six-axis robotic arm and is manufactured by Universal Robots. In another embodiment, the mechatronic manipulator 100 is a Cartesian robot and is manufactured by Yamaha Motor. In another embodiment, the mechatronic manipulator 100 is a SCARA robot and is manufactured by Epson. The skilled addressee will appreciate that various alternative embodiments may be provided for the mechatronic manipulator 100.”, ¶ 0073, “The skilled addressee will appreciate that the end effector 200 may be of various types depending for instance on the container to be held. In one embodiment, the end effector 200 is a robotic gripper manufactured by Robotiq. In another embodiment, the end effector 200 is a vacuum gripper and is manufactured by Coval. In another embodiment, the end effector 200 is a magnetic gripper and is manufactured by SMC Corporation of America. The skilled addressee will appreciate that various alternative embodiments may be provided for the end effector 200.”, ¶ 0077, “The system comprises a vibration generator operatively coupled to at least one of the end effector 200 and the mechatronic manipulator 100 at an operating distance from the container 404 such that when the vibration generator is in operation, the vibration generator causes the container 404 to vibrate accordingly.”, ¶ 0086, “More precisely, the end effector 200 is a robotic gripper comprising at least one finger used for holding the container 404. It will be appreciated that in this specific embodiment, the system for applying a vibration to the container 404 comprises a vibration generator 300 which is operatively coupled to the end effector 200. More precisely and in this specific embodiment, the vibration generator 300 is mounted inside a first finger 210a of the at least one finger of the end effector 200.”, ¶ 0113, “More specifically, in this embodiment two vibration motors 700, 702 are integrated each in a respective one of the first finger 210a and the second finger 210b of the end effector 200.”, ¶ 0125, “According to processing step 904, the determined controlling signal is provided to a vibration generator operatively coupled to at least one of the end effector and the mechatronic manipulator at an operating distance from the container such that when the vibration generator is in operation, the vibration generator causes the container to vibrate accordingly.”. The cited passages clearly shows that the system comprises a robot with an end effector that has a vibrating mechanism coupled to it, wherein the system is configured to vibrate an object held by said end effector. One of ordinary skill in the art would have clearly recognized that, when the robot applies a vibration to the gripped container, the vibration would also be applied to any objects inside the container as well.).
Sylvain teaches a system and method for controlling a robot in an aluminum production facility. The robot comprises a multi-articulated arm with a gripping device mounted to the distal end of the arm. The gripping device further comprises a plurality of gripping members that are configured to grasp the handle of a pot lid. Grass teaches a system and method for controlling a robotic manipulator. The robot comprises a multi-articulated arm with a gripping device mounted to the distal end of the arm. The gripping device further comprises a vibration device that is mounted inside the digits of the gripping device. Said vibration device is configured to apply a vibration to the object gripped by the robot. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, if the gripping device of Sylvain where modified with the vibration device of Grass, when the system would apply a vibration to the handle gripped by the robot, said vibration would be transmitted through the handle and into the lid. This is because the handle is securely coupled to the lid and would clearly transmit and force or vibration applied to the handle into the lid. Therefore, the combination of Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches the limitation “(c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus”.
Sylvain in view of Bingham teaches a method for handling pot lids in an aluminium production plant; the method comprising: providing a lid handling system comprising: a robot assembly comprising at least one manipulator arm; a lid gripper apparatus mounted at one end of the at least one manipulator mounted at one end of the at least one manipulator arm, the lid gripper apparatus comprising: (a) a frame; (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid; and a sensor system operable to detect the at least one protruding or upstanding formation, to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information; aligning the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation; and gripping, by the at least one grip member, one or more protruding or upstanding formations of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation on the pot lid. Sylvain in view of Bingham does not teach (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus. Grass teaches (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method taught in Sylvain in view of Grass with (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus taught in Grass. Furthermore, the method taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham is already configured to detect and determine the position of a handle of a pot lid in an aluminum production facility and cause the robot to grasp the handle of the pot lid with the gripping members of the robot’s gripping device. As such a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham with the vibration device in the gripping device that applies a vibration to a gripped object taught in Grass such that the method applies a vibration to the handle of the pot lid and therefore the lid itself. Such a modification would not have changed or introduced new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method for handling pot lids in an aluminum production plant; the method comprising: (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham with (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus taught in Grass with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 17, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches comprising using data acquired by the sensor system to move the lid gripper apparatus into alignment with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation on the pot lid (Sylvain: Figures 10a-12b, ¶ 0116, “Concretely, the vehicle 50 comprises a system for controlling the drive means and the articulated arm 52, which belongs for example to the centralized management system provided in the electrical cabinet 74. This control system may be preprogrammed to enable the vehicle 50 to follow at least one predefined trajectory and perform at least one predefined operation. For this purpose, the vehicle 50 can use the positioning means 85 and compare its position thus detected with a map of the installation 1 previously loaded into the centralized management system.”, ¶ 0126, “then, the chassis 51 of the vehicle 50 remaining in said predetermined position, the articulated arm 52 takes a first hood 33 from a cell 3 and places it on another hood 33 or on the floor of the installation 1, then takes a second hood 33 from the same cell 3 and places it on the first hood 33.”. The cited figures and passages shows that the system is configured to control the robot such that it moves to a position near the lid and aligns the gripper such that the robot can grasp the handle of the lid. Bingham: Column 23 lines 5-21, “At block 906, method 900 may further include controlling the gripper based on the time-of-flight distance data and the grayscale image data. More specifically, data from the time-of-flight sensor and the infrared camera may be fused together, possibly in addition to data from other sensors, in order to generate control instructions for the gripper. The data fusion may involve heuristics-based and/or machine learning models. The control instructions may relate to a first temporal phase before grasping an object (e.g., identifying an object to grasp, approaching the object, determining an appropriate stopping distance, and/or visual servoing). The control instructions may also relate to a second temporal phase after an attempted grasp ( e.g., confirming grasp success, evaluating quality of the grasp, and/or determining properties of the object). The control instructions may also relate to a third temporal phase after a successful grasp ( e.g., 20 slip detection while moving a grasped object).”. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that the robot is configured to identify the object to be grasped, and move to and align itself with the object to be grasped.).
Regarding claim 19, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches comprising moving a support, vehicle, crane, positioning system and/or at least one positioning member of a positioning system on which the robot assembly is mounted (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0087, “In the embodiment shown, the vehicle 50 is intended for carrying out operations linked to the operation of the cells 3, in particular operations for handling the hoods 33. However, vehicle 50 can perform other operations in installation 1.”, ¶ 0092, “The vehicle 50 also includes an articulated arm 52 which has a base 53 fixed to the chassis 51 substantially at a longitudinal end of the chassis 51.”, ¶ 0093, “The articulated arm 52 further has a succession of portions linked to each other, typically according to pivot connections of distinct axes. This could include a six-axis anthropomorphic arm. Thus, the articulated arm 52 comprises in particular a first portion 54 which is integral with the base 53 and a free end portion 55 which is equipped with at least one tool, for example removably mounted on the articulated arm 52.” Bingham: Column 12 lines 29-39, “As noted above, the robotic system 100 may include various types of legs, arms, wheels, end effectors, gripping devices and so on. In general, the robotic system 100 may be configured with zero or more legs. An implementation of the robotic system with zero legs may include wheels, treads, or some other form of locomotion. An implementation of the robotic system with two legs may be referred to as a biped, and an implementation with four legs may be referred as a quadruped. Implementations with six or eight legs are also possible. For purposes of illustration, robotic arm implementations of the robotic system 100 are described below.”, Column 12 lines 40-46, “FIG. 2 shows an example robotic arm 200. As shown, the robotic arm 200 includes a base 202, which may be a stationary base or may be a movable base. In the case of a movable base, the base 202 may be considered as one of the mechanical components 110 and may include wheels (not shown), powered by one or more of actuators, which allow for mobility of the entire robotic arm 200.”. The cited passages of Sylvain and Bingham clearly shows that the robot arm can be mounted on a support, vehicle, crane, positioning system or at least one positioning member of a positioning system.).
Regarding claim 22, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches comprising detecting the position of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation on the lid using sensor data from the sensor system (Sylvain: ¶ 0110, “At each of the longitudinal ends of the chassis 51 is fixed a positioning means 80 designed to receive data from the environment of the vehicle 50 and thus allow the vehicle 50 to locate itself in space.”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 from the cells 3, for the subsequent performance of operations in these cells, such as changing the anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of members to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of suction cups. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and, then, to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the cover(s) 33.”. The cited passage clearly shows that the system includes a detection device used to detect the lid of the aluminium pot and a sensor system that allows the robot to locate itself in space. Bingham: Column 23 lines 5-21, “At block 906, method 900 may further include controlling the gripper based on the time-of-flight distance data and the grayscale image data. More specifically, data from the time-of-flight sensor and the infrared camera may be fused together, possibly in addition to data from other sensors, in order to generate control instructions for the gripper. The data fusion may involve heuristics-based and/or machine learning models. The control instructions may relate to a first temporal phase before grasping an object (e.g., identifying an object to grasp, approaching the object, determining an appropriate stopping distance, and/or visual servoing).”).
Regarding claim 24, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches comprising lifting the lid a first distance from the pot before moving the lid in at least one direction to move adjacent pot lids laterally along the pot to increase or create a space between the lid and the laterally adjacent lids (Sylvain: ¶ 0126, “Then, the chassis 51 of the vehicle 50 remaining in said predetermined position, the articulated arm 52 takes a first cover 33 of a cell 3 and deposits it on another cover 33 or on the floor of the installation 1, then takes a second cover 33 of the same cell 3 and the deposit on the first cover 33.”. As can be seen from the cited passage, the robot is configured to lift a cover off the pot and move it laterally to place it on an adjacent cover in order to create an opening in the pot.).
Claim(s) 5-7, 20-21, and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016016516 A1 ("Sylvain") in view of US 10792809 B2 ("Bingham") in further view of US 2021/0213479 A1 ("Grass") in further view of US 11865707 B2 ("Kalouche").
Regarding claim 5, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass does not teach wherein the support, vehicle, crane, positioning system, or positioning member comprise a plurality of positional markers.
Kalouche, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the support, vehicle, crane, positioning system, or positioning member comprise a plurality of positional markers (Kalouche: Column 14 lines 1-42, “The local feature positioning system on the other hand may utilize conductive, capacitive, infrared (IR) or other sensors used to detect features within the warehouse, for example, a sensor to detect and count rail or grid space crossings, a magnetic sensor designed to detect magnets or ferrous material in grid 126, an imager to read barcodes or AR/QR codes on bins 110, the rails or other structures (which can subsequently be relayed to the remote processor 103 to determine the location of the mobile manipulator robot), an imager capable of performing simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM), encoders in the mobility assembly 204 to measure distances traveled, magnetic, NFC, RFID, or any other type of positioning sensor within any of the mobile robots described herein and/or the grid so long as the remote computer can determine the location of each individual mobile robot and control the position of each individual mobile robot.”, Column 31 lines 28-51, “Container retrieval device 668 may further include a sensor 688 such as a camera, depth imager, or similar device to align the hoist plate to the top of container 110. The sensor can use markers such as AR tags or barcodes on containers 110, or otherwise use features of the container itself, to facilitate proper alignment.”).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art does not combine the system for handling potlids and the use of positional markers into a single reference. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system for handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the method of using positional markers taught in Kalouche. Furthermore, the robotic system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass discloses a positioning system used to control the position of the robotic system, so modifying the robotic system such that it uses positional markers would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a robotic system that uses positional markers.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine system for handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the plurality of positional markers taught in Kalouche with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass in further view of Kalouche teaches wherein the plurality of positional markers is selected from the group comprising barcodes, data matrix codes, quick response codes and/or colour codes (Kalouche: Column 14 lines 1-42, “The local feature positioning system on the other hand may utilize conductive, capacitive, infrared (IR) or other sensors used to detect features within the warehouse, for example, a sensor to detect and count rail or grid space crossings, a magnetic sensor designed to detect magnets or ferrous material in grid 126, an imager to read barcodes or AR/QR codes on bins 110, the rails or other structures (which can subsequently be relayed to the remote processor 103 to determine the location of the mobile manipulator robot), an imager capable of performing simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM), encoders in the mobility assembly 204 to measure distances traveled, magnetic, NFC, RFID, or any other type of positioning sensor within any of the mobile robots described herein and/or the grid so long as the remote computer can determine the location of each individual mobile robot and control the position of each individual mobile robot.”, Column 31 lines 28-51, “Container retrieval device 668 may further include a sensor 688 such as a camera, depth imager, or similar device to align the hoist plate to the top of container 110. The sensor can use markers such as AR tags or barcodes on containers 110, or otherwise use features of the container itself, to facilitate proper alignment.”).
Regarding claim 7, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass in further view of Kalouche teaches wherein the sensor system comprises at least one sensor configured to detect at least one of the plurality of positional markers to accurately locate and/or move the position of the support, vehicle, crane, positioning system and/or at least one positioning member (Kalouche: Column 14 lines 1-42, “The local feature positioning system on the other hand may utilize conductive, capacitive, infrared (IR) or other sensors used to detect features within the warehouse, for example, a sensor to detect and count rail or grid space crossings, a magnetic sensor designed to detect magnets or ferrous material in grid 126, an imager to read barcodes or AR/QR codes on bins 110, the rails or other structures (which can subsequently be relayed to the remote processor 103 to determine the location of the mobile manipulator robot), an imager capable of performing simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM), encoders in the mobility assembly 204 to measure distances traveled, magnetic, NFC, RFID, or any other type of positioning sensor within any of the mobile robots described herein and/or the grid so long as the remote computer can determine the location of each individual mobile robot and control the position of each individual mobile robot.”, Column 31 lines 28-51, “Container retrieval device 668 may further include a sensor 688 such as a camera, depth imager, or similar device to align the hoist plate to the top of container 110. The sensor can use markers such as AR tags or barcodes on containers 110, or otherwise use features of the container itself, to facilitate proper alignment.”. The cited passage clearly shows that a camera or other similar visual sensor is used to detect the markers and use them to properly align the robot, as well as determine the location of the robotic manipulator.).
Regarding claim 20, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass does not teach comprising detecting at least one positional marker on a support, vehicle, crane, positioning system and/or at least one positioning member of a positioning system to accurately locate the position of the robot assembly.
Kalouche, in the same field of endeavor, teaches comprising detecting at least one positional marker on a support, vehicle, crane, positioning system and/or at least one positioning member of a positioning system to accurately locate the position of the robot assembly (Kalouche: Column 14 lines 1-42, “The local feature positioning system on the other hand may utilize conductive, capacitive, infrared (IR) or other sensors used to detect features within the warehouse, for example, a sensor to detect and count rail or grid space crossings, a magnetic sensor designed to detect magnets or ferrous material in grid 126, an imager to read barcodes or AR/QR codes on bins 110, the rails or other structures (which can subsequently be relayed to the remote processor 103 to determine the location of the mobile manipulator robot), an imager capable of performing simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM), encoders in the mobility assembly 204 to measure distances traveled, magnetic, NFC, RFID, or any other type of positioning sensor within any of the mobile robots described herein and/or the grid so long as the remote computer can determine the location of each individual mobile robot and control the position of each individual mobile robot.”. As can be seen from the cited passage, the markers can be used to determine the position of the robotic manipulator.).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art does not combine the system for handling potlids and method of using positional markers to determine the location of the robot assembly into a single reference. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system for handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with method of using positional markers to determine the location of the robot assembly taught in Kalouche. Furthermore, the robotic system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass discloses a positioning system used to control the position of the robotic system, so modifying the robotic system such that it uses positional markers would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a robotic system that uses positional markers to determine the location of the robot assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine method for handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the method of using positional markers to determine the location of the robot assembly taught in Kalouche with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 21, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass does not teach comprising moving the support, vehicle, crane, positioning system and/or at least one positioning member of a positioning system support to align with at least one positional marker to accurately relocate the position of the robot assembly.
Kalouche, in the same field of endeavor, teaches comprising moving the support, vehicle, crane, positioning system and/or at least one positioning member of a positioning system support to align with at least one positional marker to accurately relocate the position of the robot assembly (Kalouche: Column 31 lines 28-51, “Container retrieval device 668 may further include a sensor 688 such as a camera, depth imager, or similar device to align the hoist plate to the top of container 110. The sensor can use markers such as AR tags or barcodes on containers 110, or otherwise use features of the container itself, to facilitate proper alignment.”. The cited passage clearly shows that a camera or other similar visual sensor is used to detect the markers and use them to properly align the robot.).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art does not combine the system for handling potlids and method of using positional markers to relocate the position of the robot assembly into a single reference. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the system for handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with method of using positional markers to relocate the position of the robot assembly taught in Kalouche. Furthermore, the robotic system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass discloses a positioning system used to control the position of the robotic system, so modifying the robotic system such that it uses positional markers would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a robotic system that uses positional markers to relocate the position of the robot assembly.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine method for handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the method of using positional markers to relocate the position of the robot assembly taught in Kalouche with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 25, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches moving the lid (Sylvain: ¶ 0126, “Then, the chassis 51 of the vehicle 50 remaining in said predetermined position, the articulated arm 52 takes a first cover 33 of a cell 3 and deposits it on another cover 33 or on the floor of the installation 1, then takes a second cover 33 of the same cell 3 and the deposit on the first cover 33.”).
Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass does not teach comprising moving the lid to a lid storage area and verifying the correct placement of the lid in the lid storage area using the sensor system.
Kalouche, in the same field of endeavor, teaches comprising moving the lid to a lid storage area and verifying the correct placement of the lid in the lid storage area using the sensor system (Kalouche: Column 19 lines 26-55, “FIGS. 12A and 12B illustrate an example embodiment of picking arm 206 coupled to pneumatic gripping tool 248. Picking arm 206 is moveable with several degrees of freedom to position pneumatic gripping tool 248 relative to inventory stored in any location within a container 110 and has long stroke (in the Z-direction) to allow robot 200 to lift any sized item from the container and to deposit the item in order bin 214.”, Column 24 lines 29-58, “ Referring back to FIG. 9B, one or more sensors 264, such as a scanner, may be positioned on the vehicle body 202 or the picking arm 206 of robot 200 to scan picked products and determine and/or verify which order bin 214 the picked product should be deposited. The scanning field of the scanners may be multiplied by positioning mirrors on the inner surfaces of sidewalls 208. Sensors 264 or another sensor may be used to capture an image or data of a grasped product after it has been picked (and before it has been deposited in order bins 214) to identify and/or determine the size and dimensions of the item.”).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art does not combine the method for handling potlids and the method for moving the lids to a storage area and verifying the correct placement of the lid into a single reference. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method of handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the method for moving the lids to a storage area and verifying the correct placement of the lid taught in Kalouche. Furthermore, the robotic system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass is configured to verify if a grasping attempt was successful and is configured to move and store the lids on top of an adjacent lid that is still attached to the cell, so modifying the system such that it moves the lids to a storage area and verifies their placement as taught in Kalouche would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method for handling potlids that stores the lids in a storage area and verifies their placement.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method of handling pot lids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the method of storing the lids in a storage area and verifying their placement taught in Kalouche with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 26, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches comprising gripping at least one protruding or upstanding formation of a lid and returning the lid to a pot and verifying the correct placement of the lid on the pot using the sensor system (Sylvain: ¶ 0094, “In the embodiment shown, the free end portion of the articulated arm 52 is equipped with a gripping device 56 adapted to grip a cover 33, for example by its handle 34,…”, ¶ 0117, “Then the vehicle 50 performs the task by means of the articulated arm 52. The vehicle 50 can then confirm that the task has been correctly completed…”, ¶ 0118, “In the embodiment described, the task of the vehicle 50 is to remove one or more covers 33 of the cells 3, for subsequent operations in these cells, such as the change of anode for example. For this purpose, the articulated arm 52 can be equipped with a detection device (not shown) of a cover 33. As for the gripping device 56, it can use a plurality of organs to grip the cover 33 and be devoid of cupping. Indeed, these require a bulky and energy-consuming pneumatic system which would considerably limit the autonomy of the vehicle 50. Another task of the articulated arm 52 of the vehicle 50 and then to clean the guide groove 35 of the cell, by means of of the cleaning tool 57, and finally to replace the (s) hood (s) 33.”. As can be seen from the cited passages, the robotic system is configured to remove and the return the lids to the pot and confirm the task has been completed correctly.).
Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass does not teach comprising gripping at least one protruding or upstanding formation of a lid located in a lid storage area.
Kalouche, in the same field of endeavor, teaches comprising gripping at least one protruding or upstanding formation of a lid located in a lid storage area (Kalouche: Column 19 lines 26-55, “FIGS. 12A and 12B illustrate an example embodiment of picking arm 206 coupled to pneumatic gripping tool 248. Picking arm 206 is moveable with several degrees of freedom to position pneumatic gripping tool 248 relative to inventory stored in any location within a container 110 and has long stroke (in the Z-direction) to allow robot 200 to lift any sized item from the container and to deposit the item in order bin 214.”, Column 24 lines 29-58, “ Referring back to FIG. 9B, one or more sensors 264, such as a scanner, may be positioned on the vehicle body 202 or the picking arm 206 of robot 200 to scan picked products and determine and/or verify which order bin 214 the picked product should be deposited. The scanning field of the scanners may be multiplied by positioning mirrors on the inner surfaces of sidewalls 208. Sensors 264 or another sensor may be used to capture an image or data of a grasped product after it has been picked (and before it has been deposited in order bins 214) to identify and/or determine the size and dimensions of the item.”).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art does not combine the method for handling potlids and the method for removing the lids from a storage area into a single reference. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method of handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the method of removing the lids from a storage area taught in Kalouche. Furthermore, even though Kalouche does not explicitly disclose removing the items placed in the order bin, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the method taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with a similar method of storage without changing or introducing new functionality. Additionally, modifying the method to remove the lids from the storage area would not change or introduce new functionality, as the general method of grasping and transporting the lids remains the same regardless of where the lids are located. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method of handling potlids that removes the lids from a storage area.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method of handling pot lids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the method of removing the lids from a storage area taught in Kalouche with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have yielded predictable results.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016016516 A1 ("Sylvain") in view of US 10792809 B2 ("Bingham") in further view of US 2021/0213479 A1 ("Grass") in further view of US 11097418 B2 ("Nagarajan").
Regarding claim 8, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass does not teach wherein the sensor system is configured to generate 3D position information of a pot, a pot lid, a lid handle, a lid step, a potline, a pot room and/or a part of the pot room, the robot assembly, at least one manipulator arm and/or lid gripper apparatus.
Nagarajan, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the sensor system is configured to generate 3D position information of a pot, a pot lid, a lid handle, a lid step, a potline, a pot room and/or a part of the pot room, the robot assembly, at least one manipulator arm and/or lid gripper apparatus (Nagarajan: Column 9 lines 13-43, “Stereographic camera 184 is also illustrated in FIG. 1. In some implementations, a stereographic camera includes two or more sensors ( e.g., charge-coupled devices (CCDs )), each at a different vantage point and each generating image data. Each of the two sensors generates image data and the image data from each sensor at a given instance may be utilized to generate a two-dimensional ("2D") image at the given instance. Moreover, based on image data generated by the two sensors, three-dimensional ("3D") vision data may also be generated in the form of an image with a "depth" channel, where each of the points of the 3D vision data defines a 3D coordinate of a surface of a corresponding object.”, Column 10 lines 4-18, “The robot 190 also includes a monographic camera 196A and a 3D laser scanner 196B. A monographic camera captures image data and the image data at a given instance may be utilized to generate a two-dimensional ("2D") image at the given instance. A 3D laser scanner includes one or more lasers that emit light and one or more sensors that generate sensor data related to reflections of the emitted light. The generated sensor data from a 3D laser scanner may be utilized to generate a 3D point cloud, where each of the 3D points of the 3D point cloud defines a 3D coordinate of a surface of a corresponding object. A 3D laser scanner may be, for example, a time-of-flight 3D laser scanner or a triangulation based 3D laser seamier and may include a position sensitive detector (PSD) or other optical position sensor.”. Even though the cited passage does not explicitly teach generating 3D position information of a pot, a pot lid, a lid handle, a lid step, a potline, a pot room and/or a part of the pot room, one of ordinary skill in the art would see that by using a stereoscopic camera or a 3D laser scanner to generate position information of objects, the system taught in the cited passage would be fully capable of generating 3D position information of a pot, a pot lid, a lid handle, a lid step, a potline, a pot room and/or a part of the pot room.).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art does not combine the system for handling potlids and the method of generating 3D position information into a single reference. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have combine the method of generating 3D position information taught in Nagarajan with the system for handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass. Furthermore, the system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches using sensors that supply 3D position information and teaches using the position information to control the robot, but does not explicitly teach that the position information being used is three-dimensional. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass to use the 3D position information from the sensors as taught in Nagarajan without changing or introducing new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a system for handling potlids that generates 3D position information using the sensing system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the system for handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the method of generating 3D position information taught in Nagarajan with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because it would have yielded predictable results.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016016516 A1 ("Sylvain") in view of US 10792809 B2 ("Bingham") in further view of US 2021/0213479 A1 ("Grass") in further view of CN 108621175 A ("Liu").
Regarding claim 18, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass does not teach comprising verifying that the lid is attached to the at least one protruding or upstanding formation on the lid using data acquired by the sensor system.
Liu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches comprising verifying that the lid is attached to the at least one protruding or upstanding formation on the lid using data acquired by the sensor system (Liu: Abstract, “A three-dimensional positioning object handle is a handle which can be attached to a wide variety of articles and is provided with a rectangular coordinate system, and is used for identifying, positioning and grabbing the object with a household service robot. The robot only needs to visually identify, locate and grasp the three-dimensional positioning object handle, so that the object does not need to be recognized and grasped. By means of the three-dimensional positioning object handle, the robot visual identification algorithm can be greatly simplified, and the robot can accurately call objects attached with the three-dimensional positioning object handle.”, ¶ 0008, “In this way, although the objects are diverse and have different shapes, the three-dimensional positioning handle is of a standard shape. After the three-dimensional positioning handle is attached to the object, it can be recognized and grasped by the robot.”. One of ordinary skill in the art would see that because the robot is configured to grasp the handle to the object, the robot first determines that the handle is attached to an object. This is obvious because the robot only grips objects with the handle.).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art does not combine the method for handling potlids and the method for determining if a protrusion is attached to the lid into a single reference. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method for handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the method of determining if the protrusion is attached to the lid taught in Liu. Furthermore, the method taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass is already configured to be able to perform object identification and gasp success determination based on sensor data, so modifying the method to make an additional determination using sensor data that has already been received, such as determining if the handle is connected to the lid, would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method for handling potlids that determines if the protrusion is attached to the lid.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine the method for handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the method of determining if the protrusion is attached to the lid taught in Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have yielded to predictable results.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016016516 A1 ("Sylvain") in view of US 10792809 B2 ("Bingham") in further view of US 2021/0213479 A1 ("Grass") in further view of US 9020636 B2 ("Tadayon").
Regarding claim 23, Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass does not teach comprising applying a force and/or energy to the lid via the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to remove dust and/or debris from a surface of the lid.
Tadayon, in the same field of endeavor, teaches comprising applying a force and/or energy to the lid via the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to remove dust and/or debris from a surface of the lid (Tadayon: Column 14 lines 5-17, “ In one embodiment, FIG. 16b shows a robot in action/cleaning, which is monitored in real-time or on-spot, using a camera connected to HQ, with a light illuminating the panel for inspection, analyzing the images at HQ, for pattern recognition or surface analysis, to stop the cleaning or do more, depending the quality (status) of the surface, if needed, based on some threshold or range of cleanliness, as a number, percentage, or parameter for quantization of surface status. The brush can have a sensor, e.g. on the back, such as using piezoelectric sensor, to measure pressure, for adjustment of the force behind the arm/brush, for good attachment to the surface, without too much force, as a feedback, to prevent damage to the brush or robot or panel.”. As can be seen from the cited passage, the robot is clearly configured to apply a force to clean the object.).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is that the prior art does not combine the method for handling potlids and the method of applying a force to the lid to clean it into a single combine reference. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the technological capabilities required to have modified the method for handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the method of applying a force to the potlid to clean it taught in Tadayon. Furthermore, the robotic system taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass is already configured to apply a vibrational force to a gripped object, so modifying the robot such that it applies a force for the purposes of cleaning would not change or introduce new functionality. No inventive effort would have been required. The combination would have yielded the predictable result of a method for handling potlids that applies a force to the lid to clean it.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have combine method for handling potlids taught in Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass with the method of applying a force to the lid taught in Tadayon with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because it would have yielded predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 15, and 16, on Pages 12-14 of Applicant’s arguments specifically regarding the arguments that the secondary reference Tedbury does not teach or suggest the limitiaon “(c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus”, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed July 17th, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On Pages 12-16, Applicant argues that the prior art on record does not teach or suggest the limitations of the amended independent claims 1, 15, and 16.
Specifically on Pages 13-14, Applicant argues that the combination of Bingham in view of Tedbury in further view of Grass does not teach the limitation “(c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As can be seen in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section above, the combination of Bingham in view of Tedbury in further view of Grass was no longer relied upon to teach the limitations of the independent claims, and instead rely upon the combination Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass. Specifically, the primary reference Sylvain teaches a system for handling pot lids in an aluminium production plant comprising (Sylvain: Figures 5 and 10a-12b, Abstract, ¶ 0079, ¶ 0080, ¶ 0087, ¶ 0092, ¶ 0093, ¶ 0094): a robot assembly comprising at least one manipulator arm (Sylvain: Figure 4 and 5, ¶ 0087, ¶ 0092, ¶ 0093, ¶ 0094); a lid gripper apparatus mounted at one end of the at least one manipulator arm, the lid gripper apparatus comprising (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0093, ¶ 0094, ¶ 0118): (a) a frame (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0093, ¶ 0094, ¶ 0118); (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot lid (Sylvain: Figures 4 and 5, ¶ 0093, ¶ 0094, ¶ 0118); and a sensor system operable to detect the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Sylvain: ¶ 0110, ¶ 0118), to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Sylvain: Figures 10a-12b, ¶ 0116, ¶ 0126). Sylvain teaches a system and method for controlling a robot in an aluminum production facility. The robot comprises a multi-articulated arm with a gripping device mounted to the distal end of the arm. The gripping device further comprises a plurality of gripping members that are configured to grasp the handle of a pot lid. The system is additionally configured to position itself near the pot lids using onboard position sensors and is further configured with a detection device that detects the handle/pot lid itself. The secondary reference Bingham teaches (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot (Bingham: Figures 2 and 3, Abstract, Column 12 lines 40-46, Column 13 lines 28-32Column 14 lines 13-25, Column 14 lines 26-35); to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Bingham: Column 10 lines 28-57, Column 18 lines 13-22, Column 18 lines 23-30, Column 22 lines 44-60, Column 22 lines 61-67, Column 23 lines 5-21) and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Bingham: Column 10 lines 28-57, Column 22 lines 44-60, Column 22 lines 61-67, Column 23 lines 5-21). Bingham teaches a system and method for controlling a robotic gripping device. The robot is configured with a gripping device at the distal end of a robotic arm, wherein the gripping device comprises two or more gripping members that are configured to move from and open state to a closed state in order to grasp an object. The system is configured with a plurality of sensors that are used to determine the location of the object and cause the robot to move to the object and grasp it. The sensors are additionally used to acquire information that is used to determine whether or not the grasp was successful. The system is further configured with a plurality of sensors that allow the robot to capture specific information of the object to be grasped, such as size, shape, profile, structure, or orientation of the object. The secondary reference Grass teaches (c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus (Grass: Figure 1, Abstract, ¶ 0069, ¶ 0071, ¶ 0073, ¶ 0077, ¶ 0086, ¶ 0113, ¶ 0125). Grass teaches a system and method for controlling a robotic manipulator. The robot comprises a multi-articulated arm with a gripping device mounted to the distal end of the arm. The gripping device further comprises a vibration device that is mounted inside the digits of the gripping device. Said vibration device is configured to apply a vibration to the object gripped by the robot. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that, if the gripping device of Sylvain where modified with the vibration device of Grass, when the system would apply a vibration to the handle gripped by the robot, said vibration would be transmitted through the handle and into the lid. This is because the handle is securely coupled to the lid and would clearly transmit and force or vibration applied to the handle into the lid. Therefore, the combination of Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches the limitation “(c) at least one vibration device, knocking device and/or impact device mounted on the at least one grip member or frame of the lid gripper apparatus and configured to transmit vibrational waves and/or impact forces through the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus and through the at least one protruding or upstanding formation to the pot lid while the at least one protruding or upstanding formation is gripped by the at least one grip member of the lid gripper apparatus”.
Specifically on Pages 14-15, Applicant argues that the combination of Bingham in view of Tedbury in further view of Grass does not teach the limitation “a sensor system operable to detect the at least one protruding or upstanding formation, to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As can be seen in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section above, the combination of Bingham in view of Tedbury in further view of Grass was no longer relied upon to teach the limitations of the independent claims, and instead rely upon the combination Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass. As was stated in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section and above with reference to previous arguments, the primary reference Sylvain teaches a system and method for controlling a robot in an aluminum production facility. The robot comprises a multi-articulated arm with a gripping device mounted to the distal end of the arm. The gripping device further comprises a plurality of gripping members that are configured to grasp the handle of a pot lid. The system is additionally configured to position itself near the pot lids using onboard position sensors and is further configured with a detection device that detects the handle/pot lid itself. Sylvain clearly shows that the system is configured to control the robotic system based on position information of the lid, control the robot to travel to the lid, and cause the robot arm to move and grasp the handle of the lid. While Sylvain does teach that the system uses a detection device to detect the lid/handle (Sylvain: ¶ 0118), Sylvain does not explicitly teach that the detection device is used to determine the position of the handle and that said position is used to control the gripper. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognize that in order to grip the handles of the pot lids, the position of said lids must be known or determined in some fashion. The secondary reference Bingham teaches (b) at least one grip member mounted to the frame and operable to move between an open condition and a closed condition to grip at least one protruding or upstanding formation on a pot (Bingham: Figures 2 and 3, Abstract, Column 12 lines 40-46, Column 13 lines 28-32Column 14 lines 13-25, Column 14 lines 26-35); to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Bingham: Column 10 lines 28-57, Column 18 lines 13-22, Column 18 lines 23-30, Column 22 lines 44-60, Column 22 lines 61-67, Column 23 lines 5-21) and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation (Bingham: Column 10 lines 28-57, Column 22 lines 44-60, Column 22 lines 61-67, Column 23 lines 5-21). Bingham teaches a system and method for controlling a robotic gripping device. The robot is configured with a gripping device at the distal end of a robotic arm, wherein the gripping device comprises two or more gripping members that are configured to move from and open state to a closed state in order to grasp an object. The system is configured with a plurality of sensors that are used to determine the location of the object and cause the robot to move to the object and grasp it. The sensors are additionally used to acquire information that is used to determine whether or not the grasp was successful. The system is further configured with a plurality of sensors that allow the robot to capture specific information of the object to be grasped, such as size, shape, profile, structure, or orientation of the object. Bingham clearly teaches that the sensors of the system is configured to gather specific information regarding the object to be grasped, such as size, shape, profile, structure, or orientation of the object (Bingham: Column 10 lines 28-57), and controls the robot to grasp the object according to the object according to the above sensor data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognize that sensors that detect the size, shape, profile, structure, and orientation of an object would allow the robot to detect the position of a specific segment of the object (such as a handle) and grasped said segment because information such as profile, structure, and orientation would allow specific segments to be identified. As such, because Sylvain is configured to detect the pot lid/handle and control the robot to grasp the handle of the pot lid based on the result of the detection device and that Bingham is configured to use the sensors on board the robot to detect information about the object to be grasped such as size, shape, profile, structure, or orientation, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to modify the system taught in Sylvain such that the system determines the position information of the handle and controls the gripper according to this information as taught in Bingham. Therefore, the combination of Sylvain in view of Bingham in further view of Grass teaches the limitation “a sensor system operable to detect the at least one protruding or upstanding formation, to generate position information of the at least one protruding or upstanding formation and to control the position of the at least one manipulator arm and/or the lid gripper apparatus based on said position information, so as to align the at least one grip member with the at least one protruding or upstanding formation”.
Therefore, based on the reason stated above and in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection section, the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of independent claims 1, 15, and 16 is maintained.
Conclusion
/N.W.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/Ramon A. Mercado/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3658