DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group V, claims 18-22, in the reply filed on 6/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-12, 15-17, 23-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/1/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19, 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN106252621A, refer to English machine translation) in view of Tian et al. (CN112259730A, refer to English equivalent US 2023/0227321A1).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses a negative electrode for a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (see Title, Abstract), the negative electrode comprising a negative electrode active material and an iron cyanide complex (Prussian blue derivative and carbon material, see Abstract).
However, Li does not disclose particles of the iron cyanide complex have an average particle size of 1 μm or more and 50 μm or less.
Tian discloses a Prussian blue-like transition metal cyanide incorporated in an electrode plate, the Prussian blue-like transition metal cyanide comprising secondary particles which comprise a plurality of primary particles, wherein the primary particles may have a spherical or spherical-like morphology having an average particle size greater than or equal to 1 µm, optionally 2-50 µm (see Title, Abstract, [0011]). Tian further teaches an appropriate particle size range is beneficial to the increase of the compacted density of the electrode plate, and therefore it is helpful to improve the energy density and rate performance of a battery ([0011]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the Prussian blue derivative particle diameter in order to arrive at a desired compacted density of the electrode plate and energy density and rate performance of the battery (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 19, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses the iron cyanide complex is at least one selected from the group consisting of ferrocyanide and ferricyanide (Prussian blue derivative structure [0009]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Li further discloses a negative electrode mixture layer including the negative electrode active material (slurry [0033]), a negative electrode current collecting sheet supporting the negative electrode mixture layer (slurry coated on a current collector [0033]), and the iron cyanide complex attached to a surface of the negative electrode mixture layer at an opposite side to a surface supported by the negative electrode current collecting sheet (composite of Prussian blue derivative and carbon material [0033], and thus is necessarily ‘coated’ with the Prussian blue derivative).
Regarding claim 22, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Although Li does not expressly disclose the surface of the negative electrode mixture layer is covered by the iron cyanide complex with a coverage of 5% or more and 95% or less, Examples 1-5 of Li discloses varying amounts of carbon and cyanogen salt, wherein the specific capacity and rate performance of the material can be improved, giving the lithium-ion battery good cycle stability ([0007], [0027]-[0031]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the ratio of carbon and cyanogen salt, and thereby the surface coverage of the Prussian blue derivative on carbon, in order to arrive at a desired specific capacity and rate performance of the material, and to obtain good battery cycle stability (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN106252621A, refer to English machine translation) in view of Tian et al. (CN112259730A, refer to English equivalent US 2023/0227321A1), as applied to claims 18-19, 21-22 above, and further in view of Tang et al. (CN108172896A, refer to English machine translation).
Regarding claim 20, modified Li discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Although Li further discloses the Prussian blue derivative has the general formula AdNe[M(CN)6]f(H2O), wherein N, M are transition gold Belonging to, N and M can be same class transition metal, the one or two kinds of in Fe, Co, Ni, Mn, V, Cr, and wherein N is preferably One or more in Fe, Ni, Co, M is preferably Fe, Co mono-kind, more preferably Fe.A is alkali metal, in K or Na A kind of;D, e, f are stoichiometric number, 0≤d < 0.5,1≤e, f≤4, the reference does not expressly disclose the iron cyanide complex is at least one selected from the group consisting of potassium ferrocyanide, sodium ferrocyanide, calcium ferrocyanide, ammonium ferrocyanide, potassium ferricyanide, sodium ferricyanide, calcium ferricyanide, and ammonium ferricyanide.
Tang discloses a negative electrode active material is selected from one or more of carbon materials, Prussian blue and its analogs, etc., wherein preferably the Prussian blue and its analogues are selected from potassium ferrocyanide (see Title, Abstract, [0018], [0020]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select potassium ferrocyanide as the Prussian blue derivative to be used along a carbon material because it would amount to nothing more than a use of a known Prussian blue derivative for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely expected result.
Conclusion
/James Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 6/26/2026