DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a, 1) as being anticipated by Hirayama (U. S. Patent 9,397,431).
Regarding claim 1, Hirayama discloses a connector 3 for battery packs, the connector 3 comprising a housing 5, 6 to which a terminal pin 4 configured to serve as an electrical connection path is mounted, wherein the housing 5, 6 comprises: a lower end portion 6 to which the terminal pin 4 is coupled; and a main body portion 5 having a partition wall portion 35 extending around the lower end portion 6 and configured to prevent deformation of the terminal pin 4 when an external terminal is coupled to the terminal pin 4, the lower end portion 6 being mounted to the main body portion 5, and wherein the lower end portion 6 and the main body portion 5 are made of different materials.
Regarding claim 2, Hirayama discloses the main body portion 5 comprises a high heat-resistant material.
Regarding claim 5, Hirayama, see figures 2A-4B, discloses a planar size of the lower end portion 6 is equal to a planar size of an interior of the main body portion 5.
Regarding claim 6, Hirayama discloses the lower end portion 6 has a protrusion 45 projecting outwards from at least a part of an outer periphery of the lower end portion 6 thereof, the main body portion 5 defines a recess 33 extending into a part thereof to which the protrusion is mounted, and the protrusion is inserted into the recess 33, so that the lower end portion 6 is fixed to the main body portion 5.
Regarding claim 7, Hirayama discloses the lower end portion 6 comprises a plastic material having a lower melting point than a material comprising the main body portion 5.
Regarding claim 8, Hirayama discloses the terminal pin 4 is coupled to the lower end portion 6 by injection molding (column 13, lines 50-66).
Regarding claims 9, 10, Hirayama discloses the connector 3 is a low-voltage connector.
Regarding claim 11, Hirayama discloses the method comprising:
(a) locating the terminal pin 4 in a mold (column 13, lines 50-67);
(b) adding an injection material (column 13, lines 50-67) to the mold to form the lower end portion 6; and
(c) coupling the lower end portion 6 having the terminal pin 4 coupled thereto to the main body portion 5.
Regarding claim 12, Hirayama discloses a planar size of the lower end portion 6 is equal to a planar size of an interior of the main body portion 5, and step (c) the coupling is performed by interference fitting.
Regarding claim 13, Hirayama discloses the lower end portion 6 has a protrusion 45 projecting outwards from at least a part of an outer periphery thereof, the main body portion 5 defines a recess 33 extending into a part thereof to which the protrusion is mounted, and the coupling is performed by inserting the protrusion into the recess.
Regarding claim 14, Hirayama discloses the method comprising:
(a) pouring an injection material (see column, lines 50-67) into a mold to form the lower end portion 6;
(b) coupling the terminal pin 4 to the lower end portion 6; and
(c) coupling the lower end portion 6 having the terminal pin 4 coupled thereto to the main body portion 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirayama in view of Eguchi (U. S. 2014/0326207).
Regarding claim 3, Hirayama discloses the claimed invention except for the high heat-resistant material is a metal or ceramic coated with a urethane-based or inorganic-based material, and the metal is a stainless steel-based metal. Eguchi discloses the high heat-resistant material is a metal (see paragraph 0095). It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hirayama to provide such features as taught by Eguchi so as to provide for best material.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirayama.
Regarding claim 4, Hirayama discloses the claimed invention except for the high heat-resistant material has a melting point of 1,000°C or higher. It would have been obvious to ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Hirayama to provide such features so as to provide for optimum range for each application. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
/PHUONG K DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831