Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McIntosh (US 2,075,952). McIntosh discloses an expansion anchor comprising: an anchor bolt (40); an expansion sleeve (20) around the bolt; a wedge body (30) in a front region of the anchor bolt for expanding the sleeve; the expansion sleeve has a front face facing the wedge body and an expansion slit (23) originating at the front face of the expansion sleeve; the slit including a stem and an adjoining head (24) which is wider than the stem; the stem being located between the head and the front face; the head is off center relative to the stem (Fig. 9 and 10); and the head is elongated perpendicular to the stem. And the sleeve has a non-consistent wall thickness because it tapers towards the from face (first column, paragraph beginning line 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McIntosh (US 2,075,952) in view of Schaffer (US 5,716,177). McIntosh discloses an expansion anchor including an expansion sleeve as described above but, does not disclose the expansion slit to include a tail to defining a through slit. Schaffer discloses an expansion anchor similar to McIntosh including an expansion sleeve (1) with an expansion slit (4) but Schaffer further teaches the expansion slit to have a tail (4a) extending from end-to-end (Fig. 3). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the expansion slit of McIntosh with a tail as disclosed in Schaffer in order to facilitate the manufacture of the sleeve as discussed in Schaffer (column 3, lines 32-36).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-12 are allowable. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art does not disclose the off-center head at an end of the stem. There would be no reason to change the location of the head disclosed in McIntosh to an end of the stem.
Conclusion
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are now moot with the indication of allowable subject matter.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675