DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim 1 , 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Baumstuemmler US 20190030497 . Regarding claim s 1 and 14 , Baumstuemmler teaches a method of preparing emulsions (Abstract). Baumstuemmler also teaches that pre-emulsions are prepared from a pre-emulsion prepared from 2 non-intermixable (Paragraph [011]). Baumstuemmler teaches that two liquid streams are formed from pre-emulsion and the flow velocity of the streams is 10m/s or more (Paragraph [0011]). This falls within the claimed range of 5 m/s or more. Baumstuemmler also teaches that the liquid streams coll ide at a collision point in a space (Paragraph [0011]). Baumstuemmler also teaches the space can be filled with a solvent (Paragraph [0022]). In Example 5, Baumstuemmler teaches an essential oil emulsified with an aqueous solution in a microjet react or (Paragraph [0046]). Essential oil reads on the claimed “oil.” This reads on the claimed “oil in water pre-emulsion containing an oil phase”. In Example 5, Baumstuemmler teaches the emulsion is processed against an aqueous xanthan solution (Paragraph [0046]). This reads on the claimed “second aqueous phase.” Therefore, Baumstuemmler reads on the limitations of claim 1 and 14 . Regarding claim 17, Baumstuemmler teaches the pre-emulsion is pumped through “nozzles” (Claim 14). This reads on the limitation of “nozzles.” Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim s 7 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baumstuemmler US 20190030497 . Regarding claim 7, Baumstuemmler teaches that the oil droplet size in the pre-emulsion after one cycle through the two inlets is 650 nm. This overlaps with the claimed range of 2000 microns or less. Regarding claim 18, Baumstuemmler teaches the diameter of the nozzles is 10-5,000 microns (Claim 15). This overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01-20 mm. Regarding claim 19, Baumstuemmler teaches the flow velocity of the streams is 10m/s or more (Paragraph [0011]). This overlaps with the claimed range of 10m/s-100m/s. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 2-6, 8-13, 15-16, and 20-21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claims 2-3, Baumstuemmler is silent on the viscosity of the second aqueous phase. Regarding claim 4 , Baumstuemmler teaches an prior to entering the microjet reactor the oil in water pre-emulsion can be formed from conventional stirring (Paragraph [0012]). Baumstuemmler teaches the secondary aqueous phase is introduced in the space where the liquid streams collide (Paragraph [0027]). This reads on the claimed “blending tank.” However, Baumstuemmler is silent about the conventional stirring occurring inside a blending tank. Therefore, Baumstuemmler does not read on the limitations of claim 4. Regarding claims 5-6, Baumstuemmler is silent on the mass ratio of the oil phase to the first aqueous phase. Therefore Baumstuemmler does not teach on the limitations of claims 5-6. Regarding claims 8-9, Baumstuemmler teaches that the oil droplet size in the pre-emulsion after one cycle through the two inlets is 650 nm. This falls significantly outside the claimed range of 1-500 microns and 10-100 microns. Therefore, Baumstuemmler does not teach on the limitations of claims 8-9. Regarding claims 10-12, Baumstuemmler is silent on the viscosity of the pre-emulsion. Regarding claim 13, Baumstuemmler teaches the second aqueous phase has a different constituent component than the first aqueous phase (Paragraph [0046]). Therefore, Baumstuemmler does not read on the limitations of claim 13. Regarding claims 15-16, Baumstuemmler teaches the resulting microcapsules of example 5 have a size of 50-100 microns. This does not overlap with the claimed range of 35 microns or less or 1-20 microns. Regarding claim 20-21, Baumstuemmler is silent on the shear rate of the pre-emulsion during the addition of the jet of the pre-emulsion to the second aqueous phase. Relevant Prior Art Lightcap US007022651 B1 teaches a method where a pre-emulsion concentrate is drawn into water to form an oil in water emulsion. (Col. 3 Lines 38-43 and Col. 4 Lines 15-20). However, Lightcap does not provide further detail of this method for example the velocity of the pre-emulsion concentrate added to the water, and therefore does not read on the limitations of claim 1. Jasper US 20190169501A 1 teaches an aqueous oil-in-water emulsion. Jasper teaches the oil in water emulsion is formed by first adding the oil phase to water then stirring to obtain a pre-emulsion which is then homogenized (Paragraph [0075]). Jasper teaches the homogenizer can be a high pressure homogenizer which has a nozzle [0089]). However, Jasper is silent on the oil in water pre-emulsion being added via jetting to a second aqueous phase. Therefore, Jasper does not read on the limitations of claim 1. Weitz US009039273B2 teaches a method of producing triple emulsions comprising an outer conduit, a first injection tube, and a second injection tube, and a collection tube (Col. 10 Lines 43-65). However, Weitz does not teach the apparatus comprises a jet stream or a pre-emulsion. Additionally, while, Weitz teaches multiple emulsion systems Weitz does not teach an oil in water pre-emulsion jetted into a secondary aqueous phase. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT LILY K SLOAN whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (703)756-5875 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Friday 9:00-5:30 ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Robert Jones can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-7733 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LILY K SLOAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1762 /ROBERT S JONES JR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762