DETAILED ACTION
For this Office action, Claims 1-3, 7-20, 25 and 27-28 are pending. Claims 4-6, 21-24, 26 and 29-30 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 7-17 and 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended independent Claims 1, 17 and 28 to further require that a media pack is positioned within an interior housing of the filter assembly, and applicant further argues that the cited prior art does not disclose the amended limitation. Examiner agrees after further consideration, and the grounds of rejection are withdrawn. Further search and consideration, however, yields new grounds of rejection that address the amended limitations, and the new grounds of rejection are detailed below. Since the arguments do not address these new grounds of rejection, said arguments are now considered moot and will not be further addressed at this time.
Applicant's arguments filed 26 February 2026 with respect to Claim 18 and its dependents have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Astle et al. (US Pat Pub. 2006/0060512; primary reference for rejection of Claim 18) does not disclose “a second end cap having a seal holder projecting axially therefrom and constructed and arranged for a seal member to form an inwardly directed radial seal” and “a seal member within the seal holder of the second cap”. In particular, applicant argues that Astle’s o-ring seals 27a and 27b are radially outward against the interior walls of axial bore 22 when neck portion 24 is inserted into connector head 16. The seals therefore compress radially outward to form the seal.
Upon further consideration, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in Figure 6, seals 27a and 27b form a compression on the upper neck portion 24—wherein this is seen as a radially inward compression/seal. While outward compression would occur as well, connection with the connector head 16 would further compress the ring inward against the neck to further form the seal (Figure 16; Paragraph [0053]). For these reasons, the grounds of rejection of Claims 18 and its dependents are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Astle et al. (herein referred to as “Astle”, US Pat Pub. 2006/0060512).
Regarding instant Claim 18, Astle discloses a filter cartridge for removable positioning in a bowl-cartridge filter assembly (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 16; Paragraph [0014]; Paragraph [0025]; Paragraph [0050]; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0071]; method of operating and replacing a replaceable filter assembly; water collection bowl at top of manifold/connector head 16/416 associated with inlet/outlet 18/20; see cartridge/filter assembly 14); the filter cartridge comprising:
a media pack having first and second opposite end regions (Figure 1; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0074]; cartridge has first and second opposing end regions, also includes filter media including pleated media);
a first end cap secured to the first end region of the media pack (Figure 1; Figure 19; Paragraph [0053]; see bottom end of cartridge 14);
a second end cap secured to the second end region of the media pack; the second end cap having a seal holder projecting axially therefrom and constructed and arranged for a seal member to form an inwardly directed radial seal (Figure 1; Figure 6; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0054]; Paragraph [0059]; upper surface 14a; axial projection including camming lug 26); and
a seal member within the seal holder of the second end cap (Figure 1; Figure 6; Paragraph [0053]; see o-ring seals 27a, 27b).
Regarding instant Claim 19, Claim 18, upon which Claim 19 is dependent, has been rejected above. Astle further discloses wherein the seal member is attached to the second end cap (Figure 1; Figure 6; Paragraph [0053]; o-ring seals would be attached).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8-13, 15, 17 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astle et al. (herein referred to as “Astle”, US Pat Pub. 2006/0060512) in view of Haldopoulos et al. (herein referred to as “Haldopoulos”, US Pat Pub. 2003/0178360).
Regarding instant Claim 1, Astle discloses a filter assembly (Abstract; Paragraphs [0002]-[0003]; fluid treatment system including a filter cartridge) comprising:
(a) a housing having a surrounding wall defining an interior volume; an open mouth in communication with the interior volume; an end opposite of the open mouth; and a surrounding trap in the interior volume (Figure 1; Figure 9; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0062]; housing in connector head 16, including interior volume for insertion of cartridge 14 and open mouth/interface for insertion and end opposite the open mouth at the top; trap in axial bore 22);
(i) the surrounding trap including a nonporous upright section radially spaced from the surrounding wall, and a nonporous connection section bridging the upright section an interior surface of the surrounding wall (Figure 1; Figure 7; Figure 8; Paragraph [0060]; undersurface 56 of connector head 16);
(A) the upright section having an upstream surface facing the interior surface of the surrounding wall (Figure 1; Figure 7; Figure 8; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0060]; see that undersurface 56 has multiple surfaces via ribbed construction that face axial bore 22, seen especially in Figure 1); and
(b) a filter cartridge removably positioned in the interior volume of the housing (Figure 1; Paragraph [0053]; cartridge 14); the filter cartridge having:
(i) a media pack having first and second opposite end regions (Figure 1; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0074]; cartridge has first and second opposing end regions, also includes filter media including pleated media);
(ii) a first end cap secured to the first end region of the media pack (Figure 1; Figure 19; Paragraph [0053]; see bottom end of cartridge 14);
(iii) a second end cap secured to the second end region of the media pack (Figure 1; Figure 6; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0059]; upper surface 14a);
(iv) a seal member on the second end cap and positioned to form a seal with the upstream surface of the upright section (Figure 1; Figure 6; Paragraph [0053]; see o-ring seals 27a, 27b).
However, Astle is silent on the media pack being positioned in the interior volume of the housing.
Haldopoulos discloses a tapered hydrophobic filter for suction canisters in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing a housing for a filter media (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0027]). Haldopoulos further discloses a housing with an interior volume, wherein a filter media can be inserted in said housing in order to both control the sequence of fluid contact and secure the fluid filter to the housing (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0027]; see lid 20 and shield 30, which serve as housing, along with filter 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interior volume of the housing and the media pack of Astle to have the media pack be placed within the interior volume of the housing as taught by Haldopoulos because Haldopoulos discloses such a configuration both controls the sequence of fluid contact and secures the fluid filter to the housing (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0027]; see lid 20 and shield 30, which serve as housing, along with filter 10).
Regarding instant Claim 2, Claim 1, upon which Claim 2 is dependent, has been rejected above. Astle further discloses wherein the seal member is attached to the second end cap (Figure 1; Figure 6; Paragraph [0053]; o-ring seals would be attached).
Regarding instant Claim 3, Claim 1, upon which Claim 3 is dependent, has been rejected above. Astle further discloses wherein:
the media pack comprises a cylinder of pleated media (Figure 1; Paragraph [0074]; cylindrical cartridge 14 may comprise pleated media);
the second end cap includes a seal holder projecting axially from the second end cap and holding the seal member (Figure 6; Paragraph [0054]; axial projection including camming lug 26);
a diameter of the upstream surface of the upright section is greater than 80% of an outer diameter of the media pack; and
a diameter of the upstream surface of the upright section is less than 120% of an outer diameter of the media pack (Figure 1; Paragraph [0060]; diameter of undersurface 56 and upper end of cartridge 14 are relatively the same or 100%).
Regarding instant Claim 8, Claim 1, upon which Claim 8 is dependent, has been rejected above. Astle further discloses wherein the housing includes a water collection bowl with a valve opening at the end opposite of the open mouth (Figure 1; Figure 16; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0071]; water collection bowl at top of manifold/connector head 16/416 associated with inlet/outlet 18/20; valve 425).
Regarding instant Claim 9, Claim 8, upon which Claim 9 is dependent, has been rejected above. Astle further discloses wherein the trap is located between the second end cap and the water collection bowl (Figure 1; Figure 9; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0062]; axial bore 22 is between cartridge top and collection bowl at top of connector head 16).
Regarding instant Claim 10, Claim 1, upon which Claim 10 is dependent, has been rejected above. Astle further discloses a plurality of ribs along the interior surface of the surrounding wall (Figure 1; Figure 7; Figure 8; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0060]; see ribs on connector head 16).
Regarding instant Claim 11, Claim 1, upon which Claim 11 is dependent, has been rejected above. Astle further discloses wherein the upright section has a downstream surface on an opposite side from the upstream surface, and further including a plurality of ribs along the downstream surface of the upright surface (Figure 1; Figure 7; Figure 8; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0060]; see ribs on connector head 16 that lead to outwardly radial surface of undersurface 56).
Regarding instant Claim 12, Claim 1, upon which Claim 12 is dependent, has been rejected above. Astle further discloses wherein a terminal end of the upright section is axially between the second end region of the media pack and the connection section of the trap (Figure 1; Figure 7; Figure 8; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0060]; upright section/ribbed section of underside ends at mouth of connector head 16).
Regarding instant Claim 13, Claim 1, upon which Claim 13 is dependent, has been rejected above. Astle further discloses wherein an exterior of the surrounding wall includes a threaded section adjacent to the mouth and a seal member (Figure 6; Paragraph [0054]; Paragraph [0067]; Paragraph [0081]; see keyed camming lugs 26 and rotational aspect of manifold with cartridge).
Regarding instant Claim 15, Claim 1, upon which Claim 15 is dependent, has been rejected above. Astle further discloses wherein the second end cap has an open center (Figure 6; Paragraph [0053]; axial outlet port 25b).
Regarding instant Claim 17, Astle discloses a method of servicing a bowl cartridge filter assembly; the filter assembly having a housing and a removable filter cartridge therein (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 16; Paragraph [0014]; Paragraph [0025]; Paragraph [0050]; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0071]; method of operating and replacing a replaceable filter assembly; water collection bowl at top of manifold/connector head 16/416 associated with inlet/outlet 18/20; see cartridge/filter assembly 14); the method comprising:
removing the filter cartridge from an interior volume of the housing (Figure 1; Figure 1; Figure 9; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0062]; housing in connector head 16, including interior volume for insertion of cartridge 14; cartridge removed and replaced when necessary);
providing a new filter cartridge having a filter media pack (Figure 1; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0062]; Paragraph [0074]; cartridge has first and second opposing end regions, also includes filter media including pleated media); and
positioning the new filter cartridge in the interior volume of the housing to orient a seal member secured to the filter cartridge against an upstream surface of an upright section of a trap radially spaced from, and facing, an interior surface of the housing (Figure 1; Figure 7; Figure 8; Figure 9; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0060]; Paragraph [0062]; housing in connector head 16, including interior volume for insertion of cartridge 14, including open mouth/interface for insertion and end opposite the open mouth at the top; trap in axial bore 22; undersurface 56 of connector head 16
see that undersurface 56 has multiple surfaces via ribbed construction that face axial bore 22, seen especially in Figure 1).
However, Astle is silent on the media pack being positioned in the interior volume of the housing.
Haldopoulos discloses a tapered hydrophobic filter for suction canisters in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing a housing for a filter media (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0027]). Haldopoulos further discloses a housing with an interior volume, wherein a filter media can be inserted in said housing in order to both control the sequence of fluid contact and secure the fluid filter to the housing (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0027]; see lid 20 and shield 30, which serve as housing, along with filter 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interior volume of the housing and the media pack of Astle to have the media pack be placed within the interior volume of the housing as taught by Haldopoulos because Haldopoulos discloses such a configuration both controls the sequence of fluid contact and secures the fluid filter to the housing (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0027]; see lid 20 and shield 30, which serve as housing, along with filter 10).
Regarding instant Claim 28, Astle discloses a method of servicing a filter assembly (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 16; Paragraph [0014]; Paragraph [0025]; Paragraph [0050]; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0071]; method of operating and replacing a replaceable filter assembly; see cartridge/filter assembly 14); the method comprising:
removing the filter cartridge from an interior volume of the housing, the housing having an interior surface (Figure 1; Figure 1; Figure 9; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0062]; housing in connector head 16, including interior volume for insertion of cartridge 14 and open mouth/interface for insertion and end opposite the open mouth at the top cartridge removed and replaced when necessary);
providing a new cartridge having a seal member and a media pack (Figure 1; Paragraph [0053]; Paragraph [0062]; Paragraph [0074]; new cartridge with seals 27a/27b; also includes filter media including pleated media);
positioning the new filter cartridge in the interior volume of the housing such that the seal member does not come into contact with the interior surface of the housing before reaching an installed position (Figure 6; Figure 9; Figure 13; Paragraph [0054]; Paragraph [0060]; axial projection including camming lug 26 prevents sealing until proper installation and alignment of cartridge).
However, Astle is silent on the media pack being positioned in the interior volume of the housing.
Haldopoulos discloses a tapered hydrophobic filter for suction canisters in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing a housing for a filter media (Abstract; Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0027]). Haldopoulos further discloses a housing with an interior volume, wherein a filter media can be inserted in said housing in order to both control the sequence of fluid contact and secure the fluid filter to the housing (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0027]; see lid 20 and shield 30, which serve as housing, along with filter 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interior volume of the housing and the media pack of Astle to have the media pack be placed within the interior volume of the housing as taught by Haldopoulos because Haldopoulos discloses such a configuration both controls the sequence of fluid contact and secures the fluid filter to the housing (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0027]; see lid 20 and shield 30, which serve as housing, along with filter 10).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astle et al. (herein referred to as “Astle”, US Pat Pub. 2006/0060512) in view of Haldopoulos et al. (herein referred to as “Haldopoulos”, US Pat Pub. 2003/0178360) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Campbell et al. (herein referred to as “Campbell”, US Pat Pub. 2015/0292448).
Regarding instant Claim 7, Claim 1, upon which Claim 7 is dependent, has been rejected above.
However, the combined references are silent on the first end cap including a seal holder.
Campbell discloses filter arrangements; components; assemblies and methods in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing configurations of filter cartridges (Abstract). Campbell further discloses a filter cartridge comprising a first end cap including a seal holder projecting axially from the first end cap and holding a seal member to form an outwardly directed radial seal in order to engage with an external housing or connection (Figure 2; Paragraph [0084]; engagement 28, which may be comprise a soft sealing material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first end cap of Astle to further comprise the seal holder and seal member of Campbell because Campbell discloses such a seal holder aids in engage with an external housing or connection (Campbell, Figure 2; Paragraph [0084]).
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astle et al. (herein referred to as “Astle”, US Pat Pub. 2006/0060512) in view of Haldopoulos et al. (herein referred to as “Haldopoulos”, US Pat Pub. 2003/0178360) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Traina et al. (herein referred to as “Traina”, US 5458010).
Regarding instant Claim 14, Claim 1, upon which Claim 14 is dependent, has been rejected above. However, the combined references are silent on an open filter interior and a hydrophobic mesh media member in the open filter interior.
Traina discloses a vacuum distillation extraction gas sampling system in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing filters for the removal of contaminants from fluid (Col. 8, Lines 1-40). Traina further discloses including an open filter interior and a hydrophobic mesh media member in the open filter interior that coalesces moisture in order to enhance removal of particulate from other downstream filters (Figure 6; Figure 7; Col. 8, Lines 1-40; course mesh filter 120 in the open interior of annular flange/collar 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the filter assembly of Astle to further include the open filter interior and a hydrophobic mesh media member in the open filter interior as taught by Traina because Traina discloses such a media member coalesces moisture in order to enhance removal of particulate from other downstream filters (Traina, Figure 6; Figure 7; Col. 8, Lines 1-40; course mesh filter 120 in the open interior of annular flange/collar 108).
Regarding instant Claim 16, Claim 14, upon which Claim 16 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the first end cap has a fluid opening containing the hydrophobic mesh media member (Traina, Figure 6; Figure 7; Col. 8, Lines 1-40; course mesh filter 120 in the open interior of annular flange/collar 108; see that hydrophobic mesh media member is placed on open side of cartridge).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astle et al. (herein referred to as “Astle”, US Pat Pub. 2006/0060512) in view of Campbell et al. (herein referred to as “Campbell”, US Pat Pub. 2015/0292448).
Regarding instant Claim 20, Claim 18, upon which Claim 20 is dependent, has been rejected above. Astle further discloses wherein:
the media pack comprises a cylinder of pleated media (Figure 1; Paragraph [0074]; cylindrical cartridge 14 may comprise pleated media);
an inner diameter of the seal member is greater than 80% of an outer diameter of the media pack (Figure 1; Figure 5; Figure 6; Figure 19; Paragraph [0060]; Paragraph [0074]; o-ring diameter can be sized about even with the included media pack; see central tube)
an inner diameter of the seal member is less than 120% of an outer diameter of the media pack (Figure 1; Figure 5; Figure 6; Figure 19; Paragraph [0060]; Paragraph [0074]; o-ring diameter can be sized about even with the included media pack; see central tube); and
the second end cap has an open center (Figure 6; Paragraph [0053]; axial outlet port 25b).
However, Astle is silent on the first end cap including a seal holder.
Campbell discloses filter arrangements; components; assemblies and methods in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing configurations of filter cartridges (Abstract). Campbell further discloses a filter cartridge comprising a first end cap including a seal holder projecting axially from the first end cap and holding a seal member to form an outwardly directed radial seal in order to engage with an external housing or connection (Figure 2; Paragraph [0084]; engagement 28, which may be comprise a soft sealing material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first end cap of Astle to further comprise the seal holder and seal member of Campbell because Campbell discloses such a seal holder aids in engage with an external housing or connection (Campbell, Figure 2; Paragraph [0084]).
Claims 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Astle et al. (herein referred to as “Astle”, US Pat Pub. 2006/0060512) in view of Traina et al. (herein referred to as “Traina”, US 5458010).
Regarding instant Claim 25, Claim 18, upon which Claim 25 is dependent, has been rejected above. However, Astle is silent on an open filter interior and a hydrophobic mesh media member in the open filter interior.
Traina discloses a vacuum distillation extraction gas sampling system in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing filters for the removal of contaminants from fluid (Col. 8, Lines 1-40). Traina further discloses including an open filter interior and a hydrophobic mesh media member in the open filter interior that coalesces moisture in order to enhance removal of particulate from other downstream filters (Figure 6; Figure 7; Col. 8, Lines 1-40; course mesh filter 120 in the open interior of annular flange/collar 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the filter assembly of Astle to further include the open filter interior and a hydrophobic mesh media member in the open filter interior as taught by Traina because Traina discloses such a media member coalesces moisture in order to enhance removal of particulate from other downstream filters (Traina, Figure 6; Figure 7; Col. 8, Lines 1-40; course mesh filter 120 in the open interior of annular flange/collar 108).
Regarding instant Claim 27, Claim 25, upon which Claim 27 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the first end cap has a fluid opening containing the hydrophobic mesh media member (Traina, Figure 6; Figure 7; Col. 8, Lines 1-40; course mesh filter 120 in the open interior of annular flange/collar 108; see that hydrophobic mesh media member is placed on open side of cartridge).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD C GURTOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773 04/23/2026