DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/28/2023 & 3/11/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: "which the building material is arranged" in line 4 of the claim should read "which the. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: "according to claim 9, wherein a mold carrier" in lines 1-2 of the claim should read "according to claim 9, comprising a mold carrier ". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Specifically, “heating means” in claims 1, 3, 5-7, 9, 11-12 and 15-18 is interpreted to cover the structures and equivalents as disclosed in paragraphs 0015, 0020, 00321 of the published application; “transport means” in claims 3-5, 7, 11-12 and 14-18 is interpreted to cover the structures and equivalents as disclosed in paragraph 0046 of the published application; “cooling means” in claims 6-7, 13-14, and 16-17 is interpreted to cover the structures and equivalents as disclosed in paragraph 0032 of the published application; “mold element receiving means” in claims 10, 16 and 19 is interpreted to cover the structures and equivalents as disclosed in paragraph 0051 of the published application; “receiving means” in claim 16 is interpreted to cover the structures and equivalents as disclosed in paragraph 0044 of the published application; “transfer means” in claims 17-18 and 20 is interpreted to cover the structures and equivalents as disclosed in paragraph 0074 of the published application; “pushing means” in claims 18 and 20 is interpreted to cover the structures and equivalents as disclosed in paragraph 0055 of the published application; “pulling means” in claim 18 is interpreted to cover the structures and equivalents as disclosed in paragraph 0055 of the published application;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "heating the preform building material for producing the preform" in 11 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as no “preform” has been referenced to warrant the use of “the preform”. The limitation has been interpreted as “heating the preform building material for producing a preform”.
Claims 2-20 are rejected for dependence on claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the mold transport means with one or more mold elements" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim ”one or more mold elements” has not been established in the claim or any preceding claim from which it depends. For examination purposes, claim 5 has been interpreted to depend on claim 4 which as properly established “one or more further mold elements” (see claim 4, line 4).
Claim 6 recites the limitation "after the heating one or more transferable mold elements" in lines 2-3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim ”one or more transferable mold elements” has not been established in the claim or any preceding claim from which it depends. For examination purposes, claim 6 has been interpreted to depend on claim 4 which as properly established “one or more further mold elements” (see claim 4, line 4).
Claim 7 is rejected for dependence on claim 6.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the transport means" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as ”transport means” has not been established in the claim or any preceding claim from which it depends. For examination purposes, claim 12 has been interpreted to depend on claim 11 which as properly established “transport means” (see claim 11, line 2).
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the cooling means" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as ”cooling means” has not been established in the claim or any preceding claim from which it depends. For examination purposes, claim 16 has been interpreted to depend on claim 4 which as properly established “cooling means” (see claim 16, line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann Madsen (US 2020/00384707 A1, herein referred to as Lehmann).
Regarding claim 9, Lehmann teaches a manufacturing arrangement for manufacturing preforms for a wind turbine blade (Figures 7-9; paragraphs 0039, 0115-0119, preforms for wind turbine blade parts), comprising:
- one or more molds (preform moulds 70 in Figures 7-8) each comprising a mold carrier (96, 98 in Figure 8; paragraphs 0027, 0118, the structure being mounted on or in between a support structure, such as a frame, preferably a metal frame) and one or more mold elements (structure 94a in Figure 8; paragraph 0118) each configured to fixedly receive preform building material (fibre material 84 in Figure 7b) and removably arrangeable on the mold carrier (as shown in Figure 8; paragraph 0118, the preform moulds 70 a, 70 b, 70 c can be conveniently stacked upon each other (i.e., preform moulds are removable from 96, 98));_and
-a heating means (oven 92 in Figure 9c) configured to receive at least one of the mold elements, with the preform building material (as shown in Figure 9c)
While Lehmann does not disclose the heating means is configure to receive at least one of the mold elements, with the preform building material removed from the mold carrier, it appears said limitation does not amount to a structural modification of the heating means to receiving only mold element. In the instant case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, the heating means of Lehmann (oven 92 in Figure 9c) is capable of receiving at least one of the mold elements (structure 94a in Figure 8; paragraph 0118), with the preform building material removed from the mold carrier (96, 98 in Figure 8).
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann, in view of Lehmann Madsen (US 2020/0398459 A1, herein referred to as Madsen).
Regarding claim 1, Lehmann teaches a method for manufacturing preforms for a wind turbine blade (Figures 7-9; paragraphs 0039, 0115-0119, preforms for wind turbine blade parts), the method comprising:
- providing a mold (preform moulds 70) and arranging a preform building material (fibre material 84 in Figure 7b; paragraph 0119) on a transferable mold element (structure 94a in Figure 8; paragraphs 0027, 0118) removably arranged on a mold carrier (96, 98 in Figure 8; paragraphs 0027, 0118, the structure being mounted on or in between a support structure, such as a frame, preferably a metal frame; the preform moulds 70 a, 70 b, 70 c can be conveniently stacked upon each other (i.e., preform moulds are removable from 96, 98));
- fixating the preform building material (84) on the transferable mold element (as show in Figure 7b);
- transferring the transferable mold element with the fixated preform building material into a heating means (oven 92 in Figure 9c; paragraphs 0118-0119, structure 94a forms part of preform mould);
- heating the preform building material for producing [a] preform (Figure 8c; paragraph 0119, stacked preform moulds are subsequently heated, for example in oven 92, to form a plurality of preform); and
- removing the transferable mold element with the preform from the heating means (Figure 8d; paragraph 0119, preforms may be transferred, for example in the form of the stack of preform moulds 70 a,b,c, to the blade mould 76) and cooling the preform (implicit in removal from oven 92).
Lehmann teaches all the elements of claim 1, but does not disclose the transferable mold element is removably arranged on the mold carrier and is removed therefrom with the fixated preform building material prior to transferring into the heating means.
Madsen teaches a method for manufacturing preforms for a wind turbine blade (Figure 9; paragraphs 0063-0067), the method comprising:
providing a mold (100) and arranging a preform building material (paragraph 0124, a fibre material and a binding agent are arranged on the moulding surface 106) on a transferable mold element (mould structure 102; paragraph 0122) removably arranged on a mold carrier (table 110; paragraph 0122). Further, a heating means is provided for heating the mould structure (paragraph 0078, oven). Hence, the use of a mold element removably arranged on a mold carrier is known in the art, as evidenced by Madsen. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have removed the mould structures (i.e., transferable mold elements) from the frames (i.e., mold carriers) of Lehmann to enable heating more preform moulds in the heating means (90 in Figure 7c, 92 in Figure 9c of Lehmann). Further, Lehmann discloses such an arrange is efficient for storage and/or transport of the preform moulds (paragraph 0115).
Regarding claim 2, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen, teaches all the elements of claim 1, and further disclose a mold (70 in Figures 7-9 of Lehmann) is used comprising a mold carrier (96, 98 in Figure 8; paragraphs 0027, 0118 of Lehmann) with mold element (structure 94a in Figure 8; paragraphs 0027, 0118 of Lehmann) providing a mold surface (72a in Figure 8; paragraph 0118 of Lehmann) on which the preform building material is arranged (84 in Figure 7b of Lehmann). Lehmann, as modified by Madsen, does not disclose the mold element is a removable stiff tray-like mold element. However, Madsen teaches a removable stiff mould structure (102 in Figure 9; paragraph 0122) having a tray-like structure. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have substituted the mold element of Madsen for that of Lehmann and the results of the substitution would have been obvious to one skilled in the art. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to use the mold structure disclosed by Madsen for removability of the mold element and/or improved lay-up of material on the mold element (paragraph 0124).
Regarding claim 3, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen, teaches all the elements of claim 1, but does not disclose the transferable mold element with the fixated preform building material is transferred from the mold carrier to a mold transport means and either stored in the mold transport means until transported with the mold transport means to the heating means or directly transported with the mold transport means to the heating means. However, Lehmann discloses the preform moulds, and thus the structures (94a) (i.e., transferable mold elements) are stored in a rack to be transported prior to, after, or in between different operations (paragraph 0083). Further, the preform moulds are transported in the rack before being heated in the heating means (paragraph 0091). It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have transferred the transferable mold element with the fixated preform building material from the mold carrier (96, 98 in Figure 8) to the racks (i.e., mold transport means) for efficient handling and processing of multiple mold elements.
Regarding claim 4, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen, teaches all the elements of claim 3, but does not disclose the mold transport means moves from a first mold carrier for receiving a first mold element to one or more further mold carriers for receiving one or more further mold elements. However, Lehmann discloses a plurality of preform moulds, and thus a plurality of structures (94a) (i.e., transferable mold elements) are stored in a rack (i.e., mold transfer means) to be transported prior to, after, or in between different operations (paragraph 0083). It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have moved the rack (i.e., mold transfer means) to multiple frames (i.e., mold carriers) to receive the preform moulds (i.e., mold elements).
Regarding claim 5, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen, teaches all the elements of claim [4] and further discloses the mold transport means with one or more mold elements moves into the heating means, or that one or more mold elements are moved from the mold transport means into the heating means (paragraph 0091 of Lehmann, the preform moulds are stored and/or transported in the rack before the step of heating; the preform moulds are stored and/or transported in the rack after the step of heating).
Regarding claim 6, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen, teaches all the elements of claim [4], but does not disclose after the heating one or more transferable mold elements are removed from the heating means and cooled in ambient air, or are moved into a cooling means. However, Lehmann discloses the transferable mold elements are transferred from the heating means to a subsequent blade mould (Figure 8d; paragraph 0119 of Lehmann, preforms may be transferred, for example in the form of the stack of preform moulds 70 a,b,c, to the blade mould 76). It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art the transferable mold elements are implicit cooled in ambient air during the transfer from the heating means to the blade mould. Further, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to use ambient air to cool the transferable mold elements for cost savings.
Regarding claim 7, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen, teaches all the elements of claim 6, but does not disclose
- a transport means comprising the one or more transferable mold elements is transferred into the cooling means,
- or that the one or more transferable mold elements itself are transferred from the heating means onto a transport means,
-wherein the transport means remains in or moves into ambient air for cooling, or
-wherein the transport means moves to the cooling means, wherein either the one or more mold elements are transferred into the cooling means or the transport means moves into the cooling means,
- or the one or more mold elements itself are directly transferred from the heating means into the cooling means.
However, Lehmann discloses the preform moulds, and thus a plurality of structures (94a) (i.e., transferable mold elements) are stored in a rack (i.e., mold transfer means) to be transported prior to, after, or in between different operations (paragraph 0083). Further, the the preform moulds are stored and/or transported in the rack before and after the step of heating (paragraph 0091 of Lehmann). Hence, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art modified Lehmann discloses the one or more transferable mold elements itself are transferred from the heating means onto a transport means, wherein the transport means remains in or moves into ambient air for cooling.
Regarding claim 8, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen, teaches all the elements of claim 1, but does not disclose the fixating of the preform building material on the transferable mold element is performed by applying a vacuum, wherein the vacuum is released at an earliest after the heating of the preform building material.
Madsen teaches a method for manufacturing preforms for a wind turbine blade (Figure 9; paragraphs 0063-0067), the method comprising:
providing a mold (100) and arranging a preform building material (paragraph 0124, a fibre material and a binding agent are arranged on the moulding surface 106) on a transferable mold element (mould structure 102; paragraph 0122) removably arranged on a mold carrier (table 110; paragraph 0122). Further, Madsen discloses the use of a vacuum to fix the preform building material on the transferable mold element (paragraph 0080 of Madsen). It would have bene obvious to one skilled in the art to have further modified the invention of modified Lehmann and used a vacuum to fix the preform building material in the manner disclosed by Madsen. More efficient consolidation of the preform building material would be realized leading to an improved product.
Regarding claim 10, Lehmann teaches all the elements of claim 9 and further discloses each mold element comprises a mold surface (72 in Figure 7b) configured to receive the preform building material (84) with the mold carrier (96, 98) comprising mold element receiving means (Figure 8, paragraph 0118, the preform moulds 70 a, 70 b, 70 c can be conveniently stacked upon each other (hence, 96, 98 having means for retaining the preform moulds in stacking configuration)). Lehmann does not disclose each mold element is a stiff tray-like mold element.
Madsen teaches a manufacturing arrangement for manufacturing preforms for a wind turbine blade (Figure 9; paragraphs 0063-0067), comprising:
a mold (100) comprising a mold carrier (table 110; paragraph 0122); and a transferable mold element (mould structure 102; paragraph 0122) removably arranged thereon. Further, the transferable mold element is a removable stiff mould structure (102 in Figure 9; paragraph 0122) having a tray-like structure. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have substituted the mold element of Madsen for that of Lehmann and the results of the substitution would have been obvious to one skilled in the art. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to use the mold structure disclosed by Madsen for removability of the mold element and/or improved lay-up of material on the mold element (paragraph 0124).
Regarding claim 11, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen teaches all the elements of claim 9, but does not disclose at least one mold element transport means configured to receive the one or more mold elements with the fixated preform building material for transferring the one or more mold elements to the heating means is provided.
However, Lehmann discloses the preform moulds, and thus the structures (94a) (i.e., transferable mold elements) are stored in a rack to be transported prior to, after, or in between different operations (paragraph 0083). Further, the preform moulds are transported in the rack before being heated in the heating means (paragraph 0091). It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have provided a rack (i.e., transport means) to transfer the transferable mold element with the fixated preform building material from the mold carrier (96, 98 in Figure 8) to the racks (i.e., mold transport means) for efficient handling and processing of multiple mold elements.
Regarding claim 12, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen, teaches all the elements of claim [11] and further discloses the heating means (oven 92 in Figure 9c of Lehmann) is configured to receive the one or more mold elements itself or to receive the transport means comprising one or more mold elements (as shown in Figure 9c).
Regarding claim 19, Lehmann teaches a mold (70 in Figures 7-8 of Lehmann) for a manufacturing arrangement according to claim 9 (reference claim 9 rejection), [comprising] a mold carrier (96, 98 in Figure 8 of Lehmann) and at least one interchangeable mold element (94a in Figure 8; paragraph 0118 of Lehmann) providing a mold surface (72a) configured to receive the preform building material (84), wherein the mold carrier (2) comprises mold element receiving means (Figure 8, paragraph 0118, the preform moulds 70 a, 70 b, 70 c can be conveniently stacked upon each other (hence, 96, 98 having means for retaining the preform moulds in stacking configuration)). Lehmann does not disclose the at least one interchangeable mold element is a stiff tray-like mold element.
Madsen teaches a manufacturing arrangement for manufacturing preforms for a wind turbine blade (Figure 9; paragraphs 0063-0067), comprising: a mold (100) comprising a mold carrier (table 110; paragraph 0122); and a transferable mold element (mould structure 102; paragraph 0122) removably arranged thereon. Further, the transferable mold element is a removable stiff mould structure (102 in Figure 9; paragraph 0122) having a tray-like structure. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have substituted the mold element of Madsen for that of Lehmann and the results of the substitution would have been obvious to one skilled in the art. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to use the mold structure disclosed by Madsen for removability of the mold element and/or improved lay-up of material on the mold element (paragraph 0124).
Claim(s) 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann, in view of Madsen and Nielsen (US 2017/0036406 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen, teaches all the elements of claim 9, but does not disclose a cooling means is provided configured to receive the one or more mold elements with the heated preforms for cooling them.
Nielsen teaches a method and corresponding apparatus for manufacturing a part of a wind turbine blade (paragraphs 0006-0010), comprising: in-line shaping and curing of the part. Further, a curing system comprises a cooling system (Figure 9), wherein the part (94) passes through the cooling system (106 in Figure 6; paragraph 0114). It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have provided a cooling system (i.e., cooling means) as disclosed by Nielsen to the invention of modified Lehmann for the benefit of speeding up the cooling time.
Regarding claim 14, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen and Nielsen, teaches all the elements of claim 13 and further discloses the cooling means is configured to receive the one or more mold elements itself or to receive a transport means comprising the one or more mold elements (106 in Figure 9 of Nielsen, is capable of receiving one or more mold elements itself).
Regarding claim 15, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen and Nielsen, teaches all the elements of claim 14 and further discloses the transport means is the means previously positioned in the heating means or is a further transport means configured to receive the one or more mold elements from the heating means (paragraph 0083 of Lehmann, mold elements are stored in a rack to be transported prior to, after, or in between different operations).
Regarding claim 16, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen and Nielsen, teaches all the elements of claim [13] and further teaches the transport means and/or the heating means and/or the cooling means is configured to receive several mold elements itself (Figure 9c of Lehmann), wherein the transport means and/or the heating means and/or the cooling means comprises vertically movable mold element receiving means for vertically stacking the several mold elements (Figure 8 of Lehmann, showing vertically stacking of mold elements 94a).
Claim(s) 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lehmann, in view of Madsen, as applied to claim 11 and 19 above, and further in view of Mortensen (US 2011/0316182 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen, teaches all the elements of claim 11, but does not disclose transfer means for transferring a mold element from the mold carrier to a transport means and/or from the transport means to the heating means and/or from the heating means to a further transport means or a cooling means or from the further transport means to the cooling means are provided.
Mortensen teaches a method and manufacturing line for manufacturing wind turbine blades (paragraph 0011), comprising conveying means (i.e. transfer means) for transferring a plurality of stack molds (paragraph 0014), which provides the benefit of moving said molds easily between work stations. It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have provided transferring means to the invention of modified Lehmann for easier transport and/or loading/unloading of a mold element, as disclosed by Mortensen.
Regarding claim 18, Lehmann as modified by Madsen and Mortensen, teaches all the elements of claim 17 and further discloses the transfer means comprise pushing means arranged at the mold and/or at the transport means, and/or pulling means arranged at the transport means and/or at the heating means, and/or roller elements arranged at the mold and/or the transport means bearing the mold element (paragraph 0014 of Mortensen, conveying means comprises at least four wheels and/or rollers mounted on each of the number of moulds, whereby the number of moulds easily can be moved. The conveying means may also comprise rails or tracks on which the moulds can be transported).
Regarding claim 20, Lehmann, as modified by Madsen, teaches all the elements of claim 19, but does not disclose the mold comprises a transfer means for moving the mold element from the mold carrier, which transfer means (14) comprises a pushing means and/or rolling elements arranged at the mold carrier.
Mortensen teaches a method and manufacturing line for manufacturing wind turbine blades (paragraph 0011), comprising conveying means (i.e. transfer means) for transferring a plurality of stack molds (paragraph 0014), which provides the benefit of moving said molds easily between work stations. Further, the conveying means comprises pushing means and/or rolling elements (paragraph 0014 of Mortensen, conveying means comprises at least four wheels and/or rollers mounted on each of the number of moulds, whereby the number of moulds easily can be moved. The conveying means may also comprise rails or tracks on which the moulds can be transported). It would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to have provided transferring means to the invention of modified Lehmann for easier transport and/or loading/unloading of a mold element, as disclosed by Mortensen.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yoshida.
/VIRAK NGUON/Examiner, Art Unit 1741 2/17/2026