DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of invention group III, claims 17-23, 25-27, in the reply filed on 11/10/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that some claims belong to group III after amendment. This is not found persuasive because those claims are in group III for examination.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 28-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/10/2025.
Applicants further elected compound B1 (2-isopropenyl-3,3-dimethyl-pent-4-en-1-ol) as specific compound of formula (I). Claims 25-27 read on the elected species and are under examination.
Claims 17-23, 25-30 are pending; claims 25-27 are under examination.
Priority
Acknowledge is made that is National stage of international patent application PCT/EP2022/058275, filed on March 29, 2022; which claims benefit of European Application No. 21166622.7, filed on April 1, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/16/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gebauer et al. (US4385185).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Gebauer et al. teaches compound of formula I and formula II as well as their reduction derivative (from ketone to hydroxy) as fragrant and flavoring substance (abstract; column 6, line 5-21; column 9, example 8-9; claim 9). On example is 3-allyl-3-methyl-hex-4-en-2-ol (column 6, line 34-36).
3-allyl-3-methyl-hex-4-en-2-ol
3-allyl-3-methyl-hex-4-en-2-ol (shown Methyl group)
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Gebauer et al. is that Gebauer et al. do not expressly teach compound B1.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gebauer et al., and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare and use compound B1 as fragrance because compound B1 is position isomer of a known fragrance compound 3-allyl-3-methyl-hex-4-en-2-ol. MPEP2144.09, A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). Under guidance from Gebauer et al. teaching fragrance compound 3-allyl-3-methyl-hex-4-en-2-ol, which as same core structure as compound B1, but with three methyl groups at different position of core structure, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare use compound B1 as fragrance and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
2-isopropenyl-3,3-dimethyl-pent-4-en-1-ol
Core structure
3-allyl-3-methyl-hex-4-en-2-ol
Regarding claims 25-26, prior art teaches compound B1 as fragrance, the properties of aroma is inherency of prior art compound. Since prior art teaches the same fragrance compound, this same fragrance must have the same aroma properties.
Regarding claim 27, it is within skill of one artisan in the art to adjust amount of fragrance in the composition and have 0.01% to 70%, especially in the absence of showing criticality of claimed range.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 25-27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-24 of copending Application No. 18284659 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending application teaches a compound of formula (I) which is tautomer of compound of formula (Ia) in claim 25 when R4 is H. Thus, one artisan in the art would immediately recognize obvious variant of applicant’s claimed invention over copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613