0Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument: On page 13 of Remark, Applicant argues that the new amendment of Claim 1 as recited “A method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: determining
Examiner’s response: Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant’s argument with respect to claim(s) 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in prior art rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments. An updated search was conducted and a new reference was found as shown in the rejection below.
Claim Objection
Claims 20-25, 35 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 14-17, 19, 32, 34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Jeon et al. (US 2024/0056986 A1) (hereafter “Jeon”) in view of Matsumura et al. (US 2023/0262612 A1)(hereafter “Matsumura”).
Regarding claim 1, A method of a user equipment (UE), comprising: determining two power headroom (PH) values when a power headroom report triggering condition is satisfied for a serving cell configured with two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets used both for codebook based uplink (UL) transmission or both for non-codebook based UL transmission;
Jeon [0358]; An MAC entity of a wireless device may trigger a PHR based on one or more conditions.
Jeon [0374] A wireless device may report a PH per antenna group (e.g., panel) in a PHR. For an activated serving cell, a wireless device may determine a PH value per antenna group (e.g., panel). For example, if there are two antenna groups (e.g., panel) activated, a wireless device may determine two PH values for an activated serving cell;
Jeon [0313], Fig. 17 A and Fig. 17 B; FIG. 17A and FIG. 17B show examples of codebook-based transmission. A wireless device may have one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). In FIG. 17A, the wireless device has two antenna groups, each of two antenna groups is configured with two SRS resources (e.g., UL transmitting beams). A codebook-based transmission may be scheduled for the wireless device. A base station may transmit a DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0 and/or DCI format 0_1) comprising an UL grant for the codebook-based transmission. The base station may configure the wireless device with one or more configured grant (Type 1 and/or Type 2) via RRC signaling. For example, the DCI and/or the RRC signaling may indicate at least one SRS resource set (e.g., an antenna group and/or panel) and/or at least one SRS resource within the at least one SRS resource (two SRS resource sets )for the codebook-based transmission.
Jeon [0196]; A base station may comprise many sectors for example: 1, 2, 3, 4, or 6 sectors. A base station may comprise many cells, for example, ranging from 1 to 50 cells or more. A cell may be categorized, for example, as a primary cell or secondary cell. At Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection establishment/re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide the NAS (non-access stratum) mobility information (e.g. Tracking Area Identifier (TAI)). At RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide the security input. This cell may be referred to as the Primary Cell (PCell). In the downlink, a carrier corresponding to the PCell may be a DL Primary Component Carrier (PCC), while in the uplink, a carrier may be an UL PCC.
generating a PHR that comprises a Single Entry PHR medium access control (MAC) control element (CE),
Jeon [0363]; If a base station configures a wireless device with a single entry PHR format (e.g., by transmitting a PHR configuration parameter indicating the single entry PHR format, and/or by not configuring a PHR configuration parameter indicating a multiple entry PHR format (e.g., if multiplePHR is absent)), the wireless device may, for example, determine a first value, of a first type PH or of a third type PH, for a corresponding uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., a PCell).A wireless device may trigger a multiplexing and assembly procedure for generating and transmitting a PHR MAC CE comprising a value of a first type PH or of a third type PH.
[0364] FIG. 22A shows an example of a single entry PHR MAC CE. The single entry PHR MAC CE maybe identified by a MAC PDU subheader with a particular LCID assigned for the single entry PHR MAC CE. The single entry PHR MAC CE may have a fixed size and comprise one or more octets (e.g., two octets) as shown in FIG. 22A.
SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets,
Jeon [0313], Fig. 17 A and Fig. 17 B; FIG. 17A and FIG. 17B show examples of codebook-based transmission. A wireless device may have one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). In FIG. 17A, the wireless device has two antenna groups, each of two antenna groups is configured with two SRS resources (e.g., UL transmitting beams).
Transmitting the PHR.
Jeon [0363]; The wireless device may, for example, based on determining the first value and the second value, transmit a PHR to a base station (e.g., a gNB).
While Jeon teaches SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets, it does not teach the Single Entry PHR MAC CE comprising two fields that are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and indicate a respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values;
Matsumura teaches the Single Entry PHR MAC CE comprising two fields that are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and indicate a respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values;
Matsumura, Fig. 2C [0062] FIGS. 2A to 2D are each a diagram to show an example of a configuration of the panel specific PHR MAC CE. Each of the present examples is an example of the single entry PHR MAC CE regarding a PCell.
Matsumura, Fig. 2C [0066] In FIG. 2C and FIG. 2D, “#1” indicates a field related to the first panel indicated by panel ID #1, “#2” indicates a field related to the second panel indicated by panel ID #2 (Panel ID#1 , Panel ID #2 = two fields that are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets) (note: Fig. 2C shows two fields indicating a respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values (See Matsumura, Fig 2C);
In view of Matsumura , Jeon is modified such that Single Entry PHR MAC CE comprising two fields that
are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and indicate a
respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values.
Jeon and Matsumura are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting PHR MAC CE.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon in a manner described above to allow the single PHR MAC CE to
include two SRS resource sets and two type 1 PH values for the network to use the PHR to control the
uplink transmission power of the UE (Matsumura [0005]).
Regarding claim 2, The method of claim 1, wherein the serving cell has two transmission reception points (TRPs),
Jeon [0196]; A base station may comprise many sectors for example: 1, 2, 3, 4, or 6 sectors. A base station may comprise many cells, for example, ranging from 1 to 50 cells or more. A cell may be categorized, for example, as a primary cell or secondary cell. [0196] A base station may comprise many sectors for example: 1, 2, 3, 4, or 6 sectors. A base station may comprise many cells, for example, ranging from 1 to 50 cells or more. A cell may be categorized, for example, as a primary cell or secondary cell. At Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection establishment/re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide the NAS (non-access stratum) mobility information (e.g. Tracking Area Identifier (TAI)). At RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide the security input. This cell may be referred to as the Primary Cell (PCell). In the downlink, a carrier corresponding to the PCell may be a DL Primary Component Carrier (PCC), while in the uplink, a carrier may be an UL PCC. Depending on wireless device capabilities, Secondary Cells (SCells) may be configured to form together with a PCell a set of serving cells. In a downlink, a carrier corresponding to an SCell may be a downlink secondary component carrier (DL SCC), while in an uplink, a carrier may be an uplink secondary component carrier (UL SCC). An SCell may or may not have an uplink carrier.
Jeon FIG. 21B [0354]; shows an example of multi-transmission-reception-point (multi-TRP) and multiple antenna groups. FIG. 21B shows that different antenna groups are associated with different TRPs (base station with TRP 1 and TRP 2).
and each of the two SRS resource sets used both for codebook based UL transmission or both for non-codebook based UL transmission corresponds to a different one of the two TRPs.
Jeon [0313], Fig. 17 A and Fig. 17 B; FIG. 17A and FIG. 17B show examples of codebook-based transmission. A wireless device may have one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). In FIG. 17A, the wireless device has two antenna groups, each of two antenna groups is configured with two SRS resources (e.g., UL transmitting beams). A codebook-based transmission may be scheduled for the wireless device. A base station may transmit a DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0 and/or DCI format 0_1) comprising an UL grant for the codebook-based transmission.
Jeon [0313]; The base station may configure the wireless device with one or more configured grant (Type 1 and/or Type 2) via RRC signaling. For example, the DCI and/or the RRC signaling may indicate at least one SRS resource set (e.g., an antenna group and/or panel) (two SRS resource sets )and/or at least one SRS resource within the at least one SRS resource for the codebook-based transmission.
[0354]; FIG. 21B shows that different antenna groups are associated with different TRPs
Jeon [0355] For a UL transmission using multiple antenna groups, a base station may configure a wireless device to transmit a power headroom report per an antenna group (and/or TRP-antenna group) ((antenna group=panel= TRP, UL transmission corresponds to a different one of the two TRPs).
Regarding claim 14, A user equipment (UE) ( Jeon, Fig. 3, Ref. 110) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory ( Jeon, Fig. 3, Ref. 315); and at least one processor ( Jeon, Fig. 3, Ref. 314) coupled with the at least one memory ( Jeon, Fig. 3, Ref. 315) and configured to cause the UE to:
determine two power headroom (PH) values when a power headroom report triggering condition is satisfied for a serving cell configured with two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets used both for codebook based uplink (UL) transmission or both for non-codebook based UL transmission;
Jeon [0358]; An MAC entity of a wireless device may trigger a PHR based on one or more conditions.
Jeon [0374] A wireless device may report a PH per antenna group (e.g., panel) in a PHR. For an activated serving cell, a wireless device may determine a PH value per antenna group (e.g., panel). For example, if there are two antenna groups (e.g., panel) activated, a wireless device may determine two PH values for an activated serving cell;
Jeon [0313], Fig. 17 A and Fig. 17 B; FIG. 17A and FIG. 17B show examples of codebook-based transmission. A wireless device may have one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). In FIG. 17A, the wireless device has two antenna groups, each of two antenna groups is configured with two SRS resources (e.g., UL transmitting beams). A codebook-based transmission may be scheduled for the wireless device. A base station may transmit a DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0 and/or DCI format 0_1) comprising an UL grant for the codebook-based transmission. The base station may configure the wireless device with one or more configured grant (Type 1 and/or Type 2) via RRC signaling. For example, the DCI and/or the RRC signaling may indicate at least one SRS resource set (e.g., an antenna group and/or panel) and/or at least one SRS resource within the at least one SRS resource (two SRS resource sets )for the codebook-based transmission.
Jeon [0196]; A base station may comprise many sectors for example: 1, 2, 3, 4, or 6 sectors. A base station may comprise many cells, for example, ranging from 1 to 50 cells or more. A cell may be categorized, for example, as a primary cell or secondary cell. At Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection establishment/re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide the NAS (non-access stratum) mobility information (e.g. Tracking Area Identifier (TAI)). At RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide the security input. This cell may be referred to as the Primary Cell (PCell). In the downlink, a carrier corresponding to the PCell may be a DL Primary Component Carrier (PCC), while in the uplink, a carrier may be an UL PCC.
generate a PHR that comprises a Single Entry PHR medium access control (MAC) control element (CE),
Jeon [0363]; If a base station configures a wireless device with a single entry PHR format (e.g., by transmitting a PHR configuration parameter indicating the single entry PHR format, and/or by not configuring a PHR configuration parameter indicating a multiple entry PHR format (e.g., if multiplePHR is absent)), the wireless device may, for example, determine a first value, of a first type PH or of a third type PH, for a corresponding uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., a PCell).A wireless device may trigger a multiplexing and assembly procedure for generating and transmitting a PHR MAC CE comprising a value of a first type PH or of a third type PH.
[0364] FIG. 22A shows an example of a single entry PHR MAC CE. The single entry PHR MAC CE maybe identified by a MAC PDU subheader with a particular LCID assigned for the single entry PHR MAC CE. The single entry PHR MAC CE may have a fixed size and comprise one or more octets (e.g., two octets) as shown in FIG. 22A.
SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets,
Jeon [0313], Fig. 17 A and Fig. 17 B; FIG. 17A and FIG. 17B show examples of codebook-based transmission. A wireless device may have one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). In FIG. 17A, the wireless device has two antenna groups, each of two antenna groups is configured with two SRS resources (e.g., UL transmitting beams).
Transmit the PHR.
Jeon [0363]; The wireless device may, for example, based on determining the first value and the second value, transmit a PHR to a base station (e.g., a gNB).
While Jeon teaches SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets, it does not teach the Single Entry PHR MAC CE comprising two fields that are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and indicate a respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values;
Matsumura teaches the Single Entry PHR MAC CE comprising two fields that are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and indicate a respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values;
Matsumura, Fig. 2C [0062] FIGS. 2A to 2D are each a diagram to show an example of a configuration of the panel specific PHR MAC CE. Each of the present examples is an example of the single entry PHR MAC CE regarding a PCell.
Matsumura, Fig. 2C [0066] In FIG. 2C and FIG. 2D, “#1” indicates a field related to the first panel indicated by panel ID #1, “#2” indicates a field related to the second panel indicated by panel ID #2 (Panel ID#1 , Panel ID #2 = two fields that are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets) (note: Fig. 2C shows two fields indicating a respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values (See Matsumura, Fig 2C);
In view of Matsumura , Jeon is modified such that Single Entry PHR MAC CE comprising two fields that
are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and indicate a
respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values.
Jeon and Matsumura are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting PHR MAC CE.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon in a manner described above to allow the single PHR MAC CE to
include two SRS resource sets and two type 1 PH values for the network to use the PHR to control the
uplink transmission power of the UE (Matsumura [0005]).
Regarding claim 16, The UE of claim 14, wherein the serving cell has two transmission reception points (TRPs),
Jeon [0196]; A base station may comprise many sectors for example: 1, 2, 3, 4, or 6 sectors. A base station may comprise many cells, for example, ranging from 1 to 50 cells or more. A cell may be categorized, for example, as a primary cell or secondary cell. [0196] A base station may comprise many sectors for example: 1, 2, 3, 4, or 6 sectors. A base station may comprise many cells, for example, ranging from 1 to 50 cells or more. A cell may be categorized, for example, as a primary cell or secondary cell.
Jeon FIG. 21B [0354]; shows an example of multi-transmission-reception-point (multi-TRP) and multiple antenna groups. FIG. 21B shows that different antenna groups are associated with different TRPs (base station with TRP 1 and TRP 2).
and each of the two SRS resource sets used both for codebook based UL transmission or both for non-codebook based UL transmission corresponds to a different one of the two TRPs.
Jeon [0313], Fig. 17 A and Fig. 17 B; FIG. 17A and FIG. 17B show examples of codebook-based transmission. A wireless device may have one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). In FIG. 17A, the wireless device has two antenna groups, each of two antenna groups is configured with two SRS resources (e.g., UL transmitting beams). A codebook-based transmission may be scheduled for the wireless device. A base station may transmit a DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0 and/or DCI format 0_1) comprising an UL grant for the codebook-based transmission.
Jeon [0313]; The base station may configure the wireless device with one or more configured grant (Type 1 and/or Type 2) via RRC signaling. For example, the DCI and/or the RRC signaling may indicate at least one SRS resource set (e.g., an antenna group and/or panel) (two SRS resource sets )and/or at least one SRS resource within the at least one SRS resource for the codebook-based transmission.
Jeon [0354]; FIG. 21B shows that different antenna groups are associated with different TRPs
Jeon [0355]; For a UL transmission using multiple antenna groups, a base station may configure a wireless device to transmit a power headroom report per an antenna group (and/or TRP-antenna group) (UL transmission corresponds to a different one of the two TRPs).
Regarding claim 17, The UE of claim 16, wherein, the PHR triggering condition is satisfied if a deactivated UE panel is activated,
Jeon [0381]; For example, an MAC entity of a wireless device may trigger at least one PHR, for example, after or in response to activating one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). The wireless device may transmit the at least on PHR via a UL resource to the base station.
and one PH value corresponding to the activated UE panel is determined.
Jeon [0382]; FIG. 25 shows that a base station indicates which antenna group(s) (e.g., panel(s)) a wireless device activate and/or deactivate. For example, a base station may transmit, to a wireless device, a message and/or a signal (RRC signaling, MAC CE, and/or DCI) that indicates an activation of one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). The wireless device may trigger and transmit a PHR comprising one or more PH values for the one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels).
For example, the wireless device may activate the one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels) after or in response to receiving, from the base station, an indication of an activation of the one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels).
Jeon [0382]; For example, the wireless device may activate the one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels) after or in response to receiving, from the base station, an indication of an activation of the one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels).
Regarding claim 19, The UE of claim 16, wherein, one phr-PeriodicTimer is configured on the serving cell, and when the one phr-PeriodicTimer expires, two PH values corresponding to the two TRPs of the serving cell are determined
[0384]; For example, in the existing technology, a PHR comprising one or more PH values of one or more newly activated antenna groups (two PH values corresponding to (one or more newly activated antenna groups =two TRPs) )may be triggered, for example, when one or more PHR timers (e.g., a PHR periodic timer and/or a PHR prohibit timer) expire and/or there is a pathloss change larger than or equal to a threshold (e.g., PHR pathloss change threshold), which may cause delay for the base station to obtain channel station information of the one or more newly activated antenna groups. Thus, there may be a need of a PHR triggering mechanism based on a activation/deactivation status change of at least one antenna group (e.g., panel). For example, there is a need to trigger a PHR after or in response to activating and/or deactivating one or more antenna groups for a cell that is already activated. In an example, switching an antenna group from one group to another group may comprise an activation of a new antenna group and/or a deactivation of a current antenna group).
[0382]; The wireless device may determine whether a PHR for an activated antenna group (e.g., panel) of an activated serving cell is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on a downlink control information the wireless device received until and including (e.g., before and/or prior to) a PDCCH monitoring occasion where the wireless device detects a DCI (e.g., a DCI (for example, DCI format 0_0 and/or format DCI 0_1) scheduling a an initial transmission of a transport block since a PHR was triggered).
Regarding claim 15, A base station (Jeon, Fig. 3, 120 A and 120 B) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory (Jeon, Fig. 3, Ref. 322A) ; and at least one processor (Jeon, Fig. 3, Ref. 321 A) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to:
Receive a power headroom report (PH) that indicates two power headroom (PH) values for a serving cell configured with two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets used both for codebook based uplink (UL) transmission or both for non-codebook based UL transmission.
Jeon [0358]; An MAC entity of a wireless device may trigger a PHR based on one or more conditions.
Jeon [0374] A wireless device may report a PH per antenna group (e.g., panel) in a PHR. For an activated serving cell, a wireless device may determine a PH value per antenna group (e.g., panel). For example, if there are two antenna groups (e.g., panel) activated, a wireless device may determine two PH values for an activated serving cell;
Jeon [0313], Fig. 17 A and Fig. 17 B; FIG. 17A and FIG. 17B show examples of codebook-based transmission. A wireless device may have one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). In FIG. 17A, the wireless device has two antenna groups, each of two antenna groups is configured with two SRS resources (e.g., UL transmitting beams). A codebook-based transmission may be scheduled for the wireless device. A base station may transmit a DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0 and/or DCI format 0_1) comprising an UL grant for the codebook-based transmission. The base station may configure the wireless device with one or more configured grant (Type 1 and/or Type 2) via RRC signaling. For example, the DCI and/or the RRC signaling may indicate at least one SRS resource set (e.g., an antenna group and/or panel) and/or at least one SRS resource within the at least one SRS resource (two SRS resource sets )for the codebook-based transmission.
Jeon [0196]; A base station may comprise many sectors for example: 1, 2, 3, 4, or 6 sectors. A base station may comprise many cells, for example, ranging from 1 to 50 cells or more. A cell may be categorized, for example, as a primary cell or secondary cell. At Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection establishment/re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide the NAS (non-access stratum) mobility information (e.g. Tracking Area Identifier (TAI)). At RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide the security input. This cell may be referred to as the Primary Cell (PCell). In the downlink, a carrier corresponding to the PCell may be a DL Primary Component Carrier (PCC), while in the uplink, a carrier may be an UL PCC.
Jeon [0362]; An MAC entity of a wireless device may trigger a multiplexing and assembly procedure for generating and transmitting a PHR (e.g., in a form of a PHR MAC CE). The PHR may comprise a first value of a first type PH, a second type PH, and/or a third type PH of at least one cell.
Wherein the PHR comprises a Single Entry PHR medium access control (MAC) control element (CE),
Jeon [0363]; If a base station configures a wireless device with a single entry PHR format (e.g., by transmitting a PHR configuration parameter indicating the single entry PHR format, and/or by not configuring a PHR configuration parameter indicating a multiple entry PHR format (e.g., if multiplePHR is absent)), the wireless device may, for example, determine a first value, of a first type PH or of a third type PH, for a corresponding uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., a PCell).A wireless device may trigger a multiplexing and assembly procedure for generating and transmitting a PHR MAC CE comprising a value of a first type PH or of a third type PH.
[0364] FIG. 22A shows an example of a single entry PHR MAC CE. The single entry PHR MAC CE maybe identified by a MAC PDU subheader with a particular LCID assigned for the single entry PHR MAC CE. The single entry PHR MAC CE may have a fixed size and comprise one or more octets (e.g., two octets) as shown in FIG. 22A.
SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets
Jeon [0313], Fig. 17 A and Fig. 17 B; FIG. 17A and FIG. 17B show examples of codebook-based transmission. A wireless device may have one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). In FIG. 17A, the wireless device has two antenna groups, each of two antenna groups is configured with two SRS resources (e.g., UL transmitting beams).
While Jeon teaches SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets, it does not teach the Single Entry PHR MAC CE comprising two fields that are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and indicate a respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values;
Matsumura teaches the Single Entry PHR MAC CE comprising two fields that are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and indicate a respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values;
Matsumura, Fig. 2C [0062] FIGS. 2A to 2D are each a diagram to show an example of a configuration of the panel specific PHR MAC CE. Each of the present examples is an example of the single entry PHR MAC CE regarding a PCell.
Matsumura, Fig. 2C [0066] In FIG. 2C and FIG. 2D, “#1” indicates a field related to the first panel indicated by panel ID #1, “#2” indicates a field related to the second panel indicated by panel ID #2 (Panel ID#1 , Panel ID #2 = two fields that are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets) (note: Fig. 2C shows two fields indicating a respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values (See Matsumura, Fig 2C);
In view of Matsumura , Jeon is modified such that Single Entry PHR MAC CE comprising two fields that
are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and indicate a
respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values.
Jeon and Matsumura are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting PHR MAC CE.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon in a manner described above to allow the single PHR MAC CE to
include two SRS resource sets and two type 1 PH values for the network to use the PHR to control the
uplink transmission power of the UE (Matsumura [0005]).
Regarding claim 32, The method of claim 2, the PHR triggering condition is satisfied if a deactivated UE panel is activated,
Jeon [0381]; For example, an MAC entity of a wireless device may trigger at least one PHR, for example, after or in response to activating one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). The wireless device may transmit the at least on PHR via a UL resource to the base station.
and one PH value corresponding to the activated UE panel is determined.
Jeon [0382]; FIG. 25 shows that a base station indicates which antenna group(s) (e.g., panel(s)) a wireless device activate and/or deactivate. For example, a base station may transmit, to a wireless device, a message and/or a signal (RRC signaling, MAC CE, and/or DCI) that indicates an activation of one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). The wireless device may trigger and transmit a PHR comprising one or more PH values for the one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels).
For example, the wireless device may activate the one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels) after or in response to receiving, from the base station, an indication of an activation of the one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels).
Jeon [0382]; For example, the wireless device may activate the one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels) after or in response to receiving, from the base station, an indication of an activation of the one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels).
Regarding claim 34, The method of claim 2, wherein, one phr-PeriodicTimer is configured on the serving cell, and when the one phr-PeriodicTimer expires, two PH values corresponding to the two TRPs of the serving cell are determined
[0384]; For example, in the existing technology, a PHR comprising one or more PH values of one or more newly activated antenna groups (two PH values corresponding to (one or more newly activated antenna groups =two TRPs) )may be triggered, for example, when one or more PHR timers (e.g., a PHR periodic timer and/or a PHR prohibit timer) expire and/or there is a pathloss change larger than or equal to a threshold (e.g., PHR pathloss change threshold), which may cause delay for the base station to obtain channel station information of the one or more newly activated antenna groups. Thus, there may be a need of a PHR triggering mechanism based on a activation/deactivation status change of at least one antenna group (e.g., panel). For example, there is a need to trigger a PHR after or in response to activating and/or deactivating one or more antenna groups for a cell that is already activated. In an example, switching an antenna group from one group to another group may comprise an activation of a new antenna group and/or a deactivation of a current antenna group).
[0382]; The wireless device may determine whether a PHR for an activated antenna group (e.g., panel) of an activated serving cell is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on a downlink control information the wireless device received until and including (e.g., before and/or prior to) a PDCCH monitoring occasion where the wireless device detects a DCI (e.g., a DCI (for example, DCI format 0_0 and/or format DCI 0_1) scheduling a an initial transmission of a transport block since a PHR was triggered).
Regarding claim 36, A method performed by a base station (BS), the method comprising: receiving two power headroom (PH) values for a serving cell configured with two sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets used both for codebook based uplink (UL) transmission or both for non-codebook based UL,
Jeon [0358]; An MAC entity of a wireless device may trigger a PHR based on one or more conditions.
Jeon [0374] A wireless device may report a PH per antenna group (e.g., panel) in a PHR (= base is receiving) For an activated serving cell, a wireless device may determine a PH value per antenna group (e.g., panel). For example, if there are two antenna groups (e.g., panel) activated, a wireless device may determine two PH values for an activated serving cell;
Jeon [0313], Fig. 17 A and Fig. 17 B; FIG. 17A and FIG. 17B show examples of codebook-based transmission. A wireless device may have one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). In FIG. 17A, the wireless device has two antenna groups, each of two antenna groups is configured with two SRS resources (e.g., UL transmitting beams). A codebook-based transmission may be scheduled for the wireless device. A base station may transmit a DCI (e.g., DCI format 0_0 and/or DCI format 0_1) comprising an UL grant for the codebook-based transmission. The base station may configure the wireless device with one or more configured grant (Type 1 and/or Type 2) via RRC signaling. For example, the DCI and/or the RRC signaling may indicate at least one SRS resource set (e.g., an antenna group and/or panel) and/or at least one SRS resource within the at least one SRS resource (two SRS resource sets )for the codebook-based transmission.
Jeon [0196]; A base station may comprise many sectors for example: 1, 2, 3, 4, or 6 sectors. A base station may comprise many cells, for example, ranging from 1 to 50 cells or more. A cell may be categorized, for example, as a primary cell or secondary cell. At Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection establishment/re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide the NAS (non-access stratum) mobility information (e.g. Tracking Area Identifier (TAI)). At RRC connection re-establishment/handover, one serving cell may provide the security input. This cell may be referred to as the Primary Cell (PCell). In the downlink, a carrier corresponding to the PCell may be a DL Primary Component Carrier (PCC), while in the uplink, a carrier may be an UL PCC.
Wherein the PHR comprises a Single Entry PHR medium access control (MAC) control element (CE),
Jeon [0363]; If a base station configures a wireless device with a single entry PHR format (e.g., by transmitting a PHR configuration parameter indicating the single entry PHR format, and/or by not configuring a PHR configuration parameter indicating a multiple entry PHR format (e.g., if multiplePHR is absent)), the wireless device may, for example, determine a first value, of a first type PH or of a third type PH, for a corresponding uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., a PCell).A wireless device may trigger a multiplexing and assembly procedure for generating and transmitting a PHR MAC CE comprising a value of a first type PH or of a third type PH.
[0364] FIG. 22A shows an example of a single entry PHR MAC CE. The single entry PHR MAC CE maybe identified by a MAC PDU subheader with a particular LCID assigned for the single entry PHR MAC CE. The single entry PHR MAC CE may have a fixed size and comprise one or more octets (e.g., two octets) as shown in FIG. 22A.
SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets
Jeon [0313], Fig. 17 A and Fig. 17 B; FIG. 17A and FIG. 17B show examples of codebook-based transmission. A wireless device may have one or more antenna groups (e.g., panels). In FIG. 17A, the wireless device has two antenna groups, each of two antenna groups is configured with two SRS resources (e.g., UL transmitting beams).
While Jeon teaches SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets, it does not teach the Single Entry PHR MAC CE comprising two fields that are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and indicate a respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values;
Matsumura teaches the Single Entry PHR MAC CE comprising two fields that are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and indicate a respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values;
Matsumura, Fig. 2C [0062] FIGS. 2A to 2D are each a diagram to show an example of a configuration of the panel specific PHR MAC CE. Each of the present examples is an example of the single entry PHR MAC CE regarding a PCell.
Matsumura, Fig. 2C [0066] In FIG. 2C and FIG. 2D, “#1” indicates a field related to the first panel indicated by panel ID #1, “#2” indicates a field related to the second panel indicated by panel ID #2 (Panel ID#1 , Panel ID #2 = two fields that are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets) (note: Fig. 2C shows two fields indicating a respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values (See Matsumura, Fig 2C);
In view of Matsumura , Jeon is modified such that Single Entry PHR MAC CE comprising two fields that
are each associated with a respective SRS resource set of the two SRS resource sets and indicate a
respective PH value of the two PH values, wherein the two PH values comprise Type 1 PH values.
Jeon and Matsumura are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of
endeavor, transmitting PHR MAC CE.
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to a person
of ordinary skill in the art to modify Jeon in a manner described above to allow the single PHR MAC CE to
include two SRS resource sets and two type 1 PH values for the network to use the PHR to control the
uplink transmission power of the UE (Matsumura [0005]).
Claims 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Matsumura in further view of Shi et al. (US 20220123898 A1)(hereafter “Shi”).
Regarding claim 26, The UE of claim 16, wherein, the Single Entry PHR MAC CE further indicates presence of a PH field for an ith TRP of the serving cell and i is from 1 to 2.
Jeon [0364] FIG. 22A shows an example of a single entry PHR MAC CE. The single entry PHR MAC CE maybe identified by a MAC PDU subheader with a particular LCID assigned for the single entry PHR MAC CE. The single entry PHR MAC CE may have a fixed size and comprise one or more octets (e.g., two octets) as shown in FIG. 22A.
[0363] If a base station configures a wireless device with a single entry PHR format (e.g., by transmitting a PHR configuration parameter indicating the single entry PHR format, and/or by not configuring a PHR configuration parameter indicating a multiple entry PHR format (e.g., if multiplePHR is absent)), the wireless device may, for example, determine a first value, of a first type PH or of a third type PH, for a corresponding uplink carrier of a cell (e.g., a PCell). The wireless device may, for example, determine a second value corresponding to P.sub.CMAX, c. The wireless device may, for example, based on determining the first value and the second value, transmit a PHR to a base station (e.g., a gNB). The PHR may comprise one or more fields indicating the first value and the second value. A wireless device may trigger a multiplexing and assembly procedure for generating and transmitting a PHR MAC CE comprising a value of a first type PH or of a third type PH (indicates presence of a PH field)
Jeon [0373] In an example, a wireless device may report a PH per antenna group (e.g., panel) (for an ith TRP (antenna)) in a PHR. A wireless device may transmit a PH of an activated antenna group (e.g., panel).
Jeon [0313]; The base station may configure the wireless device with one or more configured grant (Type 1 and/or Type 2) via RRC signaling. For example, the DCI and/or the RRC signaling may indicate at least one SRS resource set (e.g., an antenna group and/or panel) (two SRS resource sets )and/or at least one SRS resource within the at least one SRS resource for the codebook-based transmission.
[0354]; FIG. 21B shows that different antenna groups are associated with different TRPs. ( Figure shows two TRP in a serving cell (base station)= ith TRP of the serving cell and i is from 1 to 2).
[0355] For a UL transmission using multiple antenna groups, a base station may configure a wireless device to transmit a power headroom report per an antenna group (and/or TRP-antenna group) ((antenna group=panel= TRP).
Jeon does not teach MAC CE that includes a bitmap with two bits, an ith bit of the bitmap indicates presence of a PH field, and i is from 1 to 2.
Shi teaches MAC CE that includes a bitmap with two bits, an ith bit of the bitmap indicates presence of a PH field, and i is from 1 to 2.
Shi [0259]; Example 14: In MAC CE, one first information carries a power headroom corresponding to one reference signal resource, where one reference signal resource corresponds to one beam. In addition, a bitmap is used to indicate that a power headroom corresponding to which reference signal resources is carried in the MAC CE. For example, M=2, a 2-bit bitmap is used to indicate that a power headroom corresponding to which reference signal resources is carried in the MAC CE. Among them, in an example, a value of the bit in the bitmap is 1 which means carrying, and a value of 0 means not carrying.
In view of Shi, Jeon is modified such that each bit of two bit bitmap indicates a presence or absence of one PH value.
Jeon and Shi are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, power reporting technique.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Jeon in the manner described above to allow each bits of bitmap to show the value of PH value in PHR report because PHR MAC CE is used to carry a plurality of power headroom and the reserved bis may be used to represent the bitmap (Shi [0261]).
Claims 18, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon in view of Matsumura in further view of Yuan et al. (US 2023/0156627 A1) (hereafter “Yuan”).
Regarding claim 18, The UE of claim 16, wherein, a first phr-PeriodicTimer and a second phr-PeriodicTimer are configured on the serving cell,
Jeon [0384]; For example, in the existing technology, a PHR comprising one or more PH values of one or more newly activated antenna groups may be triggered, for example, when one or more PHR timers (e.g., a PHR periodic timer ( a first phr-PeriodicTimer and a second phr-PeriodicTimer) and/or a PHR prohibit timer) expire and/or there is a pathloss change larger than or equal to a threshold (e.g., PHR pathloss change threshold), which may cause delay for the base station to obtain channel station information of the one or more newly activated antenna groups. Thus, there may be a need of a PHR triggering mechanism based on a activation/deactivation status change of at least one antenna group (e.g., panel). For example, there is a need to trigger a PHR after or in response to activating and/or deactivating one or more antenna groups for a cell that is already activated. In an example, switching an antenna group from one group to another group may comprise an activation of a new antenna group and/or a deactivation of a current antenna group).
Jeon [0395]; The PHR may be trigger, for example, when a PHR prohibit timer (e.g., phr-ProhibitTimer) expires or has expired and the pathloss has changed more than a PHR pathloss change threshold (e.g., phr-Tx-PowerFactorChange dB) for at least one activated serving cell and/or at least one activated antenna group (e.g. panel) of at least one activated serving cell (timer configured on serving cell) of any MAC entity which is used as a pathloss reference since the last transmission of a PHR in this MAC entity when the MAC entity has UL resources for new transmission.
the first phr-PeriodicTimer is associated with a first TRP of the two TRPs, and the second phr-PeriodicTimer is associated with a second TRP of the two TRPs,
Jeon [0384]; For example, in the existing technology, a PHR comprising one or more PH values of one or more newly activated antenna groups (first TRP and second TRP) may be triggered, for example, when one or more PHR timers (e.g., a PHR periodic timer ( a first phr-PeriodicTimer and a second phr-PeriodicTimer) and/or a PHR prohibit timer) expire and/or there is a pathloss change larger than or equal to a threshold (e.g., PHR pathloss change threshold), which may cause delay for the base station to obtain channel station information of the one or more newly activated antenna groups.
Jeon [0354]; FIG. 21B shows an example of multi-transmission-reception-point (multi-TRP) and multiple antenna groups. FIG. 21B shows that different antenna groups are associated with different TRPs. Pathloss 3 and Pathloss 4 may be different, for example, different channel and different interference experienced in different TRPs. A base station may configure a wireless device with different power control parameters for different TRP-antenna group (e.g., panel) links such that transmissions on different TRP-antenna group (e.g., panel) may be transmitted at different power. For example, a first power control parameter associated with Pathloss 3 and a second power control parameter associated with Pathloss 4 may be different in FIG. 21B.
Jeon [0355]; For a UL transmission using multiple antenna groups, a base station may configure a wireless device to transmit a power headroom report per an antenna group (and/or TRP-antenna group) (antenna group=panel= TRP). The wireless device may transmit a power headroom report comprising a power headroom value per an activated antenna group of an activated cell. ( first phr-PeriodicTimer with first TRP and the second phr-PeriodicTimer is associated with a second TRP).
Jeon does not teach when the first Timer expires, a PH value corresponding to the first TRP is determined, and when the second Timer expires, a PH value corresponding to the second TRP is determined.
Yuan teaches when the first Timer expires, a PH value corresponding to the first TRP is determined,
and when the second Timer expires, a PH value corresponding to the second TRP is determined.
Yuan [0077] The UE 115 may transmit a power headroom report indicating the one or more panel specific power headroom values. In some examples, the UE 115 may transmit the power headroom report based on identifying that one or more thresholds associated with the power headroom report are satisfied. For example, the UE 115 may determine that a timer associated with the power headroom report has expired, that one or more power backoff metrics satisfy one or more thresholds (e.g., a change in a power backoff metric for the first panel, the second panel, or both may satisfy a change threshold (first and second timer expire), that a medium access control (MAC) entity has uplink resources for an uplink transmission, or any combination thereof. The power headroom report may include one or more fields indicating the panel specific power headroom values.
Yuan [0077]; For example, the UE 115 may populate one or more fields of the report, the one or more fields indicating whether the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report, whether the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report ( Ph value corresponding to the first TRP and PH value corresponding to the second TRP), whether a MAC entity applies power management techniques, whether a panel specific power headroom value is based on a real transmission format or a virtual transmission format, or any combination thereof, among other examples of fields.
Yuan [0057]; As an illustrative example, the UE may use a first panel to communicate with a first TRP associated with the base station 105, a second panel to communicate with a second TRP associated with the base station 105, etc.
In view of Yuan, Jeon is modified such that when the first Timer expires, a PH value corresponding to the first TRP is determined, and when the second Timer expires, a PH value corresponding to the second TRP is determined.
Jeon and Yuan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, multi panel power reporting technique.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Jeon in the manner described above to replace the timer with the periodic timer that when expires, the PH value according to the specific panel (TRP) is determined to efficiently schedule the communication in multi-panel power system (Yuan [0005]).
Regarding claim 33, The method of claim 2, wherein, a first phr-PeriodicTimer and a second phr-PeriodicTimer are configured on the serving cell,
Jeon [0384]; For example, in the existing technology, a PHR comprising one or more PH values of one or more newly activated antenna groups may be triggered, for example, when one or more PHR timers (e.g., a PHR periodic timer ( a first phr-PeriodicTimer and a second phr-PeriodicTimer) and/or a PHR prohibit timer) expire and/or there is a pathloss change larger than or equal to a threshold (e.g., PHR pathloss change threshold), which may cause delay for the base station to obtain channel station information of the one or more newly activated antenna groups. Thus, there may be a need of a PHR triggering mechanism based on a activation/deactivation status change of at least one antenna group (e.g., panel). For example, there is a need to trigger a PHR after or in response to activating and/or deactivating one or more antenna groups for a cell that is already activated. In an example, switching an antenna group from one group to another group may comprise an activation of a new antenna group and/or a deactivation of a current antenna group).
Jeon [0395]; The PHR may be trigger, for example, when a PHR prohibit timer (e.g., phr-ProhibitTimer) expires or has expired and the pathloss has changed more than a PHR pathloss change threshold (e.g., phr-Tx-PowerFactorChange dB) for at least one activated serving cell and/or at least one activated antenna group (e.g. panel) of at least one activated serving cell (timer configured on serving cell) of any MAC entity which is used as a pathloss reference since the last transmission of a PHR in this MAC entity when the MAC entity has UL resources for new transmission.
the first phr-PeriodicTimer is associated with a first TRP of the two TRPs, and the second phr-PeriodicTimer is associated with a second TRP of the two TRPs,
Jeon [0384]; For example, in the existing technology, a PHR comprising one or more PH values of one or more newly activated antenna groups (first TRP and second TRP) may be triggered, for example, when one or more PHR timers (e.g., a PHR periodic timer ( a first phr-PeriodicTimer and a second phr-PeriodicTimer) and/or a PHR prohibit timer) expire and/or there is a pathloss change larger than or equal to a threshold (e.g., PHR pathloss change threshold), which may cause delay for the base station to obtain channel station information of the one or more newly activated antenna groups.
Jeon [0354]; FIG. 21B shows an example of multi-transmission-reception-point (multi-TRP) and multiple antenna groups. FIG. 21B shows that different antenna groups are associated with different TRPs. Pathloss 3 and Pathloss 4 may be different, for example, different channel and different interference experienced in different TRPs. A base station may configure a wireless device with different power control parameters for different TRP-antenna group (e.g., panel) links such that transmissions on different TRP-antenna group (e.g., panel) may be transmitted at different power. For example, a first power control parameter associated with Pathloss 3 and a second power control parameter associated with Pathloss 4 may be different in FIG. 21B.
Jeon [0355]; For a UL transmission using multiple antenna groups, a base station may configure a wireless device to transmit a power headroom report per an antenna group (and/or TRP-antenna group) (antenna group=panel= TRP). The wireless device may transmit a power headroom report comprising a power headroom value per an activated antenna group of an activated cell. ( first phr-PeriodicTimer with first TRP and the second phr-PeriodicTimer is associated with a second TRP).
Jeon does not teach when the first Timer expires, a PH value corresponding to the first TRP is determined, and when the second Timer expires, a PH value corresponding to the second TRP is determined.
Yuan teaches when the first Timer expires, a PH value corresponding to the first TRP is determined,
and when the second Timer expires, a PH value corresponding to the second TRP is determined.
Yuan [0077] The UE 115 may transmit a power headroom report indicating the one or more panel specific power headroom values. In some examples, the UE 115 may transmit the power headroom report based on identifying that one or more thresholds associated with the power headroom report are satisfied. For example, the UE 115 may determine that a timer associated with the power headroom report has expired, that one or more power backoff metrics satisfy one or more thresholds (e.g., a change in a power backoff metric for the first panel, the second panel, or both may satisfy a change threshold (first and second timer expire), that a medium access control (MAC) entity has uplink resources for an uplink transmission, or any combination thereof. The power headroom report may include one or more fields indicating the panel specific power headroom values.
Yuan [0077]; For example, the UE 115 may populate one or more fields of the report, the one or more fields indicating whether the first power headroom value for the first panel is included in the report, whether the second power headroom value for the second panel is included in the report ( Ph value corresponding to the first TRP and PH value corresponding to the second TRP), whether a MAC entity applies power management techniques, whether a panel specific power headroom value is based on a real transmission format or a virtual transmission format, or any combination thereof, among other examples of fields.
Yuan [0057]; As an illustrative example, the UE may use a first panel to communicate with a first TRP associated with the base station 105, a second panel to communicate with a second TRP associated with the base station 105, etc.
In view of Yuan, Jeon is modified such that when the first Timer expires, a PH value corresponding to the first TRP is determined, and when the second Timer expires, a PH value corresponding to the second TRP is determined.
Jeon and Yuan are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor, multi panel power reporting technique.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Jeon in the manner described above to replace the timer with the periodic timer that when expires, the PH value according to the specific panel (TRP) is determined to efficiently schedule the communication in multi-panel power system (Yuan [0005]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478