DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaaki (JP-2006205050-A).
Regarding claim 1
Takaaki discloses a catalyst for cleaning exhaust gas comprising a lower catalyst layer containing ceria oxide of 90 % or more and having Pt or Pd disposed thereon, and a second upper catalyst layer (abstract).
Takaaki discloses that the lower catalyst may be 90 wt % ceria and the balance may be alumina (Advantageous Effects).
Takaaki discloses that the ceria based oxide composite may be a ceria-zirconia composite having an atomic ratio of Ce:Zr of 2:1 (claims). Further, Takaaki discloses that the upper catalyst layer may be the ceria based oxide (Best Mode), making it obvious to use a ceria-zirconia composite oxide with a 2:1 Ce to Zr ratio.
Regarding claims 3-4
Takaaki discloses that use of Pt on the lower layer and Rh on the upper layer (Tech Problem).
Regarding claim 6
Takaaki discloses 200 parts by weight of the lower catalyst layer with 50 parts by weight of the upper catalyst layer (Example 1), which is above 1 mass %.
Regarding claim 7
Takaaki discloses disposing the catalyst on a cordierite A honeycomb (Example 1).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaaki (JP-2006205050-A), as applied to claims 1, 3-4 and 6-7 above, in view of Patcas et al. (WO-2015169825-A1).
Regarding claim 2
Although, Takaaki does not disclose the crystallite size, Takaaki does disclose or make obvious the other limitations of the claim. However, Patcas teaches similar ceria based catalyst and discloses that the crystallite size of the ceria is in the range of 10 to 30 nm (claim 1). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to add to the teachings of Takaaki by using ceria with a crystallite size in the range of 120 to 30 nm, with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a useful catalyst, as suggested by Patcas.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaaki (JP-2006205050-A), as applied to claims 1, 3-4 and 6-7 above, in view of Hara et al. (US 20200353447-A1).
Regarding claim 5
Although, Takaaki does not disclose the particle size, Takaaki does disclose or make obvious the other limitations of the claim. However, Hara teaches similar ceria based catalyst and discloses that the particle size of the ceria is 10 microns (para 0096). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to add to the teachings of Takaaki by using ceria with a particle size of 10 microns, with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a useful catalyst, as suggested by Hara.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants ague that Takaaki does not teach or suggest the combined use of the Ce-based oxide particle and the Ce-Zr based composite oxide. This is not persuasive as the lower catalyst layer corresponds to the Ce-composite oxide particle, and the upper layer corresponds to the Ce-Zr composite oxide.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734