DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaaki (JP-2006205050-A).
Regarding claim 1
Takaaki discloses a catalyst for cleaning exhaust gas comprising a lower catalyst layer containing ceria oxide of 90 % or more and having Pt or Pd disposed thereon, and a second upper catalyst layer (abstract).
Takaaki discloses that the lower catalyst may be 90 wt % ceria and the balance may be alumina (Advantageous Effects).
Takaaki discloses that the ceria-based oxide composite may be a ceria-zirconia composite having an atomic ratio of Ce:Zr of 2:1 (claims). Further, Takaaki discloses that the upper catalyst layer may be the ceria-based oxide (Best Mode), making it obvious to use a ceria-zirconia composite oxide with a 2:1 Ce to Zr ratio as the upper layer with Ce-Al and Pd/Pt as the lower layer (i.e., a mixture of ce-based oxide particles with Ce-Zr-based oxided particles and a noble metal element).
Regarding claims 3-4
Takaaki discloses that use of Pt on the lower layer and Rh on the upper layer (Tech Problem).
Regarding claim 6
Takaaki discloses 200 parts by weight of the lower catalyst layer with 50 parts by weight of the upper catalyst layer (Example 1), which is above 1 mass %.
Regarding claim 7
Takaaki discloses disposing the catalyst on a cordierite A honeycomb (Example 1).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaaki (JP-2006205050-A), as applied to claims 1, 3-4 and 6-7 above, in view of Patcas et al. (WO-2015169825-A1).
Regarding claim 2
Although, Takaaki does not disclose the crystallite size, Takaaki does disclose or make obvious the other limitations of the claim. However, Patcas teaches similar ceria based catalyst and discloses that the crystallite size of the ceria is in the range of 10 to 30 nm (claim 1). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to add to the teachings of Takaaki by using ceria with a crystallite size in the range of 120 to 30 nm, with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a useful catalyst, as suggested by Patcas.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaaki (JP-2006205050-A), as applied to claims 1, 3-4 and 6-7 above, in view of Hara et al. (US 20200353447-A1).
Regarding claim 5
Although, Takaaki does not disclose the particle size, Takaaki does disclose or make obvious the other limitations of the claim. However, Hara teaches similar ceria based catalyst and discloses that the particle size of the ceria is 10 microns (para 0096). Therefore it would have been prima facie obvious to add to the teachings of Takaaki by using ceria with a particle size of 10 microns, with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a useful catalyst, as suggested by Hara.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue against the prior art rejections.
Applicants ague that Takaaki does not teach or suggest the combined use of the Ce-based oxide particle and the Ce-Zr based composite oxide. This is not persuasive as the lower catalyst layer corresponds to the Ce-composite oxide particle, and the upper layer corresponds to the Ce-Zr composite oxide.
Applicants argue that Takaaki merely discloses as the first oxide carrier a physical mixture of a ceria-based oxide powder and another oxide powder. This is not persuasive as Takaaki discloses making the lower catalyst that aluminum sol/nitrate and ceria sol/nitrate is used to make the composite oxide and makes its Ce content less than 90 wt % (last paragraph Best Mode), in such a synthesis method the composite oxide would be a composite oxide of ceria and alumina, not simply a mixture of ceria powder and alumina powder.
Applicants argue that Takaaki does not disclose a mixture of Ce-based oxide particles and Ce-Zr-based oxide particles in a single layer or catalyst. This is not persuasive as a single layer is not claimed, but the layers of Takaaki are a single catalyst, and broadly read on a mixture.
The remaining arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the same reasons given above.
Conclusion
JAMES E. MCDONOUGH
Examiner
Art Unit 1734
/JAMES E MCDONOUGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734