DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 06/01/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 06/01/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 13-33 are pending
Claims 1, 13, 18-19, 24-25 and 29-30 are amended
Claims 2-12 are canceled
Claims 1 and 13-33 remain rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 13-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kung et al. (US 20220217653 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kung, in view of Kung_2 et al. (US 20220217644 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kung_2.
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Kung teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system (Fig. 11, Para. [0002]-Kung discloses wireless communication networks, and more particularly, to a method and apparatus for multi-Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) power headroom reporting in a wireless communication system. Para. [0029]-Kung discloses an access network (AN) may be a fixed station or base station used for communicating with the terminals and may also be referred to as an access point, a Node B, a base station, an enhanced base station, an eNodeB (eNB), a Next Generation NodeB (gNB), ... An access terminal (AT) may also be called user equipment (UE), a wireless communication device, terminal, access terminal. Figs. 2-4, Para. [0040]-Kung discloses the communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314. The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300), the method comprising:
receiving, via higher layer signaling, first configuration information on power headroom report (PHR) (Para. [0240]-Kung discloses configuration for a corresponding P.sub.O_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c j) value is provided by higher layers. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on the higher layer signalling of configured grant and periodic/semi-persistent sounding reference signal transmissions and downlink control information the UE received) and
second configuration information on sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets including a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set (Para. [0240]-Kung discloses configuration for a corresponding P.sub.O_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c j) value is provided by higher layers. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on the higher layer signalling of configured grant and periodic/semi-persistent sounding reference signal transmissions and downlink control information the UE received);
identifying at least one PHR based on the first configuration information (Para. [0254]-Kung discloses UE determines whether a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on the higher layer signalling of configured grant and periodic/semi-persistent sounding reference signal transmissions and downlink control information the UE received. Table 6.2.1-2., Para. [0144]-Kung discloses the Single Entry PHR MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with LCID. Table 6.2.1-2, Para. [0151]-Kung discloses the Multiple Entry PHR MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with LCID. Para. [0321]-Kung discloses the UE may determine whether to report one PH {Power Headroom} for a cell or to report two PHs for the cell based on a configuration (e.g., a network configuration, such as a configuration that is provided to the UE by a network) ... the configuration may comprise a parameter (e.g., a cell-specific parameter associated with the cell) indicative of a number of PH reports (for the cell, for example) that the UE indicates in a multi-TRP PHR MAC CE); and
transmitting the at least one PHR in a slot (Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE provides power headroom of the first PUSCH, if any, on the determined NR slot. Para. [0002]-Kung discloses method and apparatus for multi-Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) power headroom reporting in a wireless communication system. Para. [0005]-Kung discloses the UE transmits a Power Headroom Reporting (PHR) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). Para. [0104-0105]-Kung discloses Power Headroom Report (PHR) shall be triggered if any of the following events occur: ... transmission of a PHR in this MAC entity when the MAC entity has UL resources for new transmission),
in case that the at least one PHR is one PHR corresponding to an actual PHR (Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered),
the one PHR is for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition associated with the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set (Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2. Para. [0253]-Kung discloses UE power headroom PH that is valid for SRS transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell C. (See also Para. [0200]). Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission), and
in case that the at least one PHR is a plurality of PHRs including a first PHR and a second PHR (Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered. Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission),
the first PHR corresponds to an actual PHR for a PUSCH repetition associated with one SRS resource set among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2), and
(i) in case that the at least one PHR is the plurality of PHRs including the first PHR and the second PUR (Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered. Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission) and
(ii) in case that PUSCH repetitions associated with other SRS resource set among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are transmitted in the slot (Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2. Para. [0253]-Kung discloses UE power headroom PH that is valid for SRS transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell C. (See also Para. [0200]). Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission),
the second PHR corresponds to an actual PHR for a first PUSCH repetition associated with the other SRS resource set (Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2).
Kung fails to explicitly teach SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot.
However, Kung_2 teaches the one PHR is for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition associated with the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot (Para. [0350]-Kung_2 discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2, the UE provides a Type 1 power headroom report for the first PUSCH, if any, on the first slot of the one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2 that overlaps with the multiple slots of the nominal repetition on active UL BWP b.sub.1. Para. [0575]-Kung_2 discloses the first SRS transmission is performed in a first slot that overlaps with a second slot for transmitting the PHR MAC CE. Para. [0348]-Kung_2 discloses UE determines that a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0464]-Kung_2 discloses the UE may receive one or more SRS resource configurations 1102 (e.g., SRS-config), from a network (e.g., gNB), indicating one or more SRS resources comprising a first SRS transmission),
the second PHR corresponds to an actual PHR for a first PUSCH repetition associated with the other SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot (Para. [0350]-Kung_2 discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2, the UE provides a Type 1 power headroom report for the first PUSCH, if any, on the first slot of the one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2 that overlaps with the multiple slots of the nominal repetition on active UL BWP b.sub.1. Para. [0575]-Kung_2 discloses the first SRS transmission is performed in a first slot that overlaps with a second slot for transmitting the PHR MAC CE. Para. [0348]-Kung_2 discloses UE determines that a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0464]-Kung_2 discloses the UE may receive one or more SRS resource configurations 1102 (e.g., SRS-config), from a network (e.g., gNB), indicating one or more SRS resources comprising a first SRS transmission).
Kung and Kung_2 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication networks, dealing with method and apparatus for multi-Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) power headroom reporting in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kung to incorporate the teachings of Kung_2 on SRS, with a motivation for PHR associated with SRS that overlaps with slot, and guarantee large amounts of data to and from mobile communication devices, (Kung, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 24 and 29, Kung teaches a method performed by a base station in a communication system (Fig. 11, Para. [0002]-Kung discloses wireless communication networks, and more particularly, to a method and apparatus for multi-Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) power headroom reporting in a wireless communication system. Para. [0029]-Kung discloses an access network (AN) may be a fixed station or base station used for communicating with the terminals and may also be referred to as an access point, a Node B, a base station, an enhanced base station, an eNodeB (eNB), a Next Generation NodeB (gNB), ... An access terminal (AT) may also be called user equipment (UE), a wireless communication device, terminal, access terminal. Figs. 2-4, Para. [0040]-Kung discloses the communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314. The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300), the method comprising:
transmitting, via higher layer signaling, first configuration information on power headroom report (PHR) (Para. [0240]-Kung discloses configuration for a corresponding P.sub.O_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c j) value is provided by higher layers. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on the higher layer signalling of configured grant and periodic/semi-persistent sounding reference signal transmissions and downlink control information the UE received) and
second configuration information on sounding reference signal (SRS) resource sets including a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set (Para. [0240]-Kung discloses configuration for a corresponding P.sub.O_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c j) value is provided by higher layers. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on the higher layer signalling of configured grant and periodic/semi-persistent sounding reference signal transmissions and downlink control information the UE received); and
receiving at least one PHR associated with the first configuration information in a slot (Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE provides power headroom of the first PUSCH, if any, on the determined NR slot. Para. [0002]-Kung discloses method and apparatus for multi-Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) power headroom reporting in a wireless communication system. Para. [0005]-Kung discloses the UE transmits a Power Headroom Reporting (PHR) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). Para. [0104-0105]-Kung discloses Power Headroom Report (PHR) shall be triggered if any of the following events occur: ... transmission of a PHR in this MAC entity when the MAC entity has UL resources for new transmission. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses UE determines whether a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on the higher layer signalling of configured grant and periodic/semi-persistent sounding reference signal transmissions and downlink control information the UE received. Table 6.2.1-2., Para. [0144]-Kung discloses the Single Entry PHR MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with LCID. Table 6.2.1-2, Para. [0151]-Kung discloses the Multiple Entry PHR MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with LCID. Para. [0321]-Kung discloses the UE may determine whether to report one PH {Power Headroom} for a cell or to report two PHs for the cell based on a configuration (e.g., a network configuration, such as a configuration that is provided to the UE by a network) ... the configuration may comprise a parameter (e.g., a cell-specific parameter associated with the cell) indicative of a number of PH reports (for the cell, for example) that the UE indicates in a multi-TRP PHR MAC CE); and
in case that the at least one PHR is one PHR corresponding to an actual PHR (Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered),
the one PHR is for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition associated with the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set (Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2. Para. [0253]-Kung discloses UE power headroom PH that is valid for SRS transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell C. (See also Para. [0200])),
in case that the at least one PHR is a plurality of PHRs including a first PHR and a second PHR (Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered. Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission),
the first PHR corresponds to an actual PHR for a PUSCH repetition associated with one SRS resource set among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2), and
(i) in case that the at least one PHR is the plurality of PHRs including the first PHR and the second PHR (Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered. Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission) and
(ii) in case that PUSCH repetitions associated with other SRS resource set among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are received in the slot (Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2. Para. [0253]-Kung discloses UE power headroom PH that is valid for SRS transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell C. (See also Para. [0200]). Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission),
the second PHR corresponds to an actual PHR for a first PUSCH repetition associated with the other SRS resource (Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2).
Kung fails to explicitly teach SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot.
However, Kung_2 teaches the one PHR is for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition associated with the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot (Para. [0350]-Kung_2 discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2, the UE provides a Type 1 power headroom report for the first PUSCH, if any, on the first slot of the one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2 that overlaps with the multiple slots of the nominal repetition on active UL BWP b.sub.1. Para. [0575]-Kung_2 discloses the first SRS transmission is performed in a first slot that overlaps with a second slot for transmitting the PHR MAC CE. Para. [0348]-Kung_2 discloses UE determines that a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0464]-Kung_2 discloses the UE may receive one or more SRS resource configurations 1102 (e.g., SRS-config), from a network (e.g., gNB), indicating one or more SRS resources comprising a first SRS transmission),
the second PHR corresponds to an actual PHR for a first PUSCH repetition associated with the other SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot (Para. [0350]-Kung_2 discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2, the UE provides a Type 1 power headroom report for the first PUSCH, if any, on the first slot of the one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2 that overlaps with the multiple slots of the nominal repetition on active UL BWP b.sub.1. Para. [0575]-Kung_2 discloses the first SRS transmission is performed in a first slot that overlaps with a second slot for transmitting the PHR MAC CE. Para. [0348]-Kung_2 discloses UE determines that a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0464]-Kung_2 discloses the UE may receive one or more SRS resource configurations 1102 (e.g., SRS-config), from a network (e.g., gNB), indicating one or more SRS resources comprising a first SRS transmission).
Kung and Kung_2 are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication networks, dealing with method and apparatus for multi-Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) power headroom reporting in a wireless communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Kung to incorporate the teachings of Kung_2 on SRS, with a motivation for PHR associated with SRS that overlaps with slot, and guarantee large amounts of data to and from mobile communication devices, (Kung, Para. [0003]).
Regarding claims 13, 19, 25 and 30, Kung in view of Kung_2 teaches the method of claim 1, the UE of claim 18, the method of claim 24 and the base station of claim 29 respectively,
Kung further teaches (i) in case that the at least one PHR is the plurality of PHRs including the first PHR and the second PHR (Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered. Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmissionPara. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission) and
(ii) in case that the PUSCH repetitions associated with the other SRS resource set are not transmitted in the slot, the second PHR corresponds to a reference format associated with the other SRS resource set (Para. [0328]-kung discloses the UE may compute the PH for the TRP based on a reference PUSCH transmission if the UE has not received a DCI or UL grant on the TRP (e.g., if the UE has not received a DCI or UL grant on the TRP after the UE triggered the PHR). Para. [0320]-kung discloses UE may determine whether to report, indicate and/or compute one PH for a cell or to report, indicate and/or compute two PHs for the cell based on whether a DL signaling (e.g., DCI) indicates one codepoint (e.g., Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) Resource Indicator (SRI)) associated with one or more UL TCI states (e.g., one or more activated UL TCI states) and/or one or more UL beams (for different TRPs, for example). (See also Para. [0254 and 0273]). Para. [0254]-kung discloses the UE computes PH assuming that the UE does not transmit PUSCH/PUCCH on any serving cell of the SCG or the MCG. Para. [0318]-kung discloses in a first example, the i-th first PH is a PH (e.g., a PH report) based on an actual PUSCH transmission and the i-th second PH is a PH (e.g., a PH report) based on a reference PUSCH transmission. In a second example, the i-th first PH is a PH (e.g., a PH report) based on a reference PUSCH transmission and the i-th second PH is a PH (e.g., a PH report) based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0197]-kung discloses UE is configured with a number of RS resource indexes, up to the value of maxNrofPUSCH).
Regarding claims 14, 20, 26 and 31, Kung in view of Kung_2 teaches the method of claim 1, the UE of claim 18, the method of claim 24 and the base station of claim 29 respectively,
Kung further teaches whether the at least one PHR is the one PHR or the plurality of PHRs is determined based on the first configuration information (Para. [0240]-Kung discloses configuration for a corresponding P.sub.O_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c j) value is provided by higher layers. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on the higher layer signalling of configured grant and periodic/semi-persistent sounding reference signal transmissions and downlink control information the UE received. Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered. Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission).
Regarding claims 15, 21, 27 and 32, Kung in view of Kung_2 teaches the method of claim 1, the UE of claim 18, the method of claim 24 and the base station of claim 29 respectively,
Kung further teaches the plurality of PHRs are transmitted in a same medium access control control element (MAC CE) PHR format (Para. [0381]-Kung discloses the first multiple entry PHR MAC CE may report PHRs determined (e.g., computed) based on one or more real transmissions. The second multiple entry PHR MAC CE may report PHRs determined (e.g., computed) based on one or more reference transmissions), and
the plurality of PHRs corresponds to a same serving cell (Para. [0386]-Kung discloses in some examples, the TRPs (e.g., reported TRPs for which PH is indicated in a multi-TRP PHR MAC CE) may be associated with a same cell).
Regarding claims 16, 22, 28 and 33, Kung in view of Kung_2 teaches the method of claim 1, the UE of claim 18, the method of claim 24 and the base station of claim 29 respectively,
Kung further teaches the first SRS resource set corresponds to a first transmission and reception point (TRP) (Para. [0449]-Kung discloses the first TRP is associated with a first SRS resource set of the first cell and the second TRP is associated with a second SRS resource set of the first cell. Para. [0366]-Kung discloses multi-TRP PHR MAC CE may indicate a TRP associated with the reported PH level by indicating a reference signal index associated with the TRP (e.g., a pathloss reference signal and/or a SRS indicator). Para. [0391]-Kung discloses a TRP ... may be associated with a SRS resource ... “TRP” throughout the present disclosure may be replaced with “SRS resource”. Para. [0396]-Kung discloses a TRP ... may be associated with a SRS resource (and/or a SRS resource set) associated with a cell), and
the second SRS resource set corresponds to a second TRP (Para. [0449]-Kung discloses the first TRP is associated with a first SRS resource set of the first cell and the second TRP is associated with a second SRS resource set of the first cell. Para. [0366]-Kung discloses multi-TRP PHR MAC CE may indicate a TRP associated with the reported PH level by indicating a reference signal index associated with the TRP (e.g., a pathloss reference signal and/or a SRS indicator). Para. [0391]-Kung discloses a TRP ... may be associated with a SRS resource ... “TRP” throughout the present disclosure may be replaced with “SRS resource”. Para. [0396]-Kung discloses a TRP ... may be associated with a SRS resource (and/or a SRS resource set) associated with a cell).
Regarding claims 17 and 23, Kung in view of Kung_2 teaches the method of claim 1 and the UE of claim 18 respectively,
Kung further teaches the PUSCH repetition associated with the one SRS resource set is a first PUSCH repetition associated with the one SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot (Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2. Para. [0253]-Kung discloses UE power headroom PH that is valid for SRS transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell C. (See also Para. [0200])).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 06/01/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 1 and 13-33 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [5-7], Applicant argues that, “…The non-provisional application of Kung is filed on December 23, 2021, and therefore the non-provisional application of Kung cannot be regarded as proper prior art to the present application.” Examiner respectfully disagrees for the following reasons:
While the filing date of the prior art, Kung et al. (US 20220217653 A1), is December 23, 2021, the effective filing date of the prior art is December 24, 2020.
In the remarks, on page 13, Lines [1-2], Applicant argues that, “…Referring to Kung-P2, the highlighted portion in paragraph [0338] of Kung is not disclosed in Kung-P2.”
However, the Provisional Applications US63/130,551 (in Section 5.4.6.) and US63/131,142 (in Section 5.4.6.) of Kung et al. (US 20220217653 A1) discloses, “…if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered and not cancelled; and 1> if the allocated UL resources can accommodate the MAC CE for PHR which the MAC entity is configured to transmit, plus its subheader, as a result of LCP as defined in clause 5.4.3.1: 2> if multiplePHR with value true is configured: 3> for each activated Serving Cell with configured uplink associated with any MAC entity of which the active DL BWP is not dormant BWP: 4> obtain the value of the Type 1 or Type 3 power headroom for the corresponding uplink carrier as specified in clause 7. 7 of TS 38.213 [ 6] for NR Serving Cell,” while,
3GPP (3GPP TS 38.213 version 16.2.0 Release 16; ETSI TS 138 213 V16.2.0 (2020-07)) (on page 38, Section 7.7.1.) discloses, “…a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission ... UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b2.”
In the remarks, on pages 13 and 14, Lines [10-13 and 36-38 respectively], Applicant argues that, “…Kung-P2 does not disclose that, when one PH is reported, an earlier PUSCH repetition among a PUSCH repetition associated with a first SRS resource set and a PUSCH repetition associated with a second SRS resource set within a slot in which the PHR is reported becomes a basis for PHR calculation,” and “…3GPP TS 38.213, Vl6.2.0, Section 7.7.1 does not disclose, in a case where two SRS resource sets are configured (i.e., in the context of PHR reporting for multi-TRP PUSCH transmissions),” respectively.
However, Kung_2 et al. (US 20220217644 A1) teaches the one PHR is for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition associated with the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot (Para. [0350]-Kung_2 discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2, the UE provides a Type 1 power headroom report for the first PUSCH, if any, on the first slot of the one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2 that overlaps with the multiple slots of the nominal repetition on active UL BWP b.sub.1. Para. [0575]-Kung_2 discloses the first SRS transmission is performed in a first slot that overlaps with a second slot for transmitting the PHR MAC CE. Para. [0348]-Kung_2 discloses UE determines that a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0464]-Kung_2 discloses the UE may receive one or more SRS resource configurations 1102 (e.g., SRS-config), from a network (e.g., gNB), indicating one or more SRS resources comprising a first SRS transmission).
In the remarks, on page 17, Lines [1-2], Applicant argues that, “…it cannot be said that Kung discloses any condition as to whether "the reported PHR is one or a plurality."”
However, Kung et al. (US 20220217653 A1) teaches in case that the at least one PHR is a plurality of PHRs including a first PHR and a second PHR (Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered. Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission).
In the remarks, on page 22, Lines [1-7], Applicant argues that, “…Kung fails to disclose, expressly or inherently, at least the limitations requiring that in the single-PHR case, the one PHR is for a first PUSCH repetition associated with the first or second SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot and in the plural-PHR case, the first and second PHRs correspond to actual PHRs for first PUSCH repetitions respectively associated with different SRS resource sets, with the second PHR being tied to the "other" SRS resource set when repetitions associated with that other SRS resource set are transmitted in the slot.”
However, Kung_2 et al. (US 20220217644 A1) teaches the one PHR is for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition associated with the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot (Para. [0350]-Kung_2 discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2, the UE provides a Type 1 power headroom report for the first PUSCH, if any, on the first slot of the one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2 that overlaps with the multiple slots of the nominal repetition on active UL BWP b.sub.1. Para. [0575]-Kung_2 discloses the first SRS transmission is performed in a first slot that overlaps with a second slot for transmitting the PHR MAC CE. Para. [0348]-Kung_2 discloses UE determines that a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0464]-Kung_2 discloses the UE may receive one or more SRS resource configurations 1102 (e.g., SRS-config), from a network (e.g., gNB), indicating one or more SRS resources comprising a first SRS transmission).
Conclusion
Listed below are the prior arts made of record and not relied upon but are considered pertinent to applicant`s disclosure.
Nangia et al. (US 20200100194 A1)-discloses Apparatuses, methods, and systems are disclosed for reporting power headroom for a serving cell configured with multiple uplink carriers. One apparatus includes a processor and a transceiver that receives a configuration of a first uplink carrier and a second uplink carrier for a serving cell. The processor determines the basis of a first power headroom for the first uplink carrier and determines the basis of a second power headroom for the second uplink carrier. The processor reports a power headroom report for the serving cell comprising the first power headroom based on an actual first transmission on the first uplink carrier of the serving cell in response to determining that the first power headroom is to be based on the actual first transmission and the second power headroom is to be based on a reference second transmission…. …Fig. 1-5
Zhi-yu YAN (CN 110752908 A)-discloses a method for determining the transmission power of a physical uplink shared channel. The number of resources available for UCI transmission in (r≤M) PUSCHs determines the transmission power adjustment amount of the rth PUSCH, and adjusts the transmission power of the rth PUSCH, and the transmission power adjustment amount is related to the resource The numbers are negatively correlated. The present application also includes a mobile terminal device for this method. The invention solves the problem of how the terminal equipment determines the transmission power adjustment amount of each PUSCH when the resources available for transmitting the target UCI in M times of actual PUSCH are different, which not only meets the UCI receiving performance requirement but also avoids reducing the system efficiency…. …Fig. 1.
/OLADIRAN GIDEON OLALEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2472