DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed on 01/28/2026.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01/28/2026 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 13-33 are pending
Claims 1 is amended
Claims 2-12 are canceled
Claims 13-33 are new
Claims 1 and 13-33 remain rejected.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities (and appropriate corrections are required):
The specification (in Table 3, Para. [0084]) recites “…If the BWP switch involves changing of SCS, the BWP switch delay is determined by the larger one between the SCS before BWP switch and the SCS after BWP switch.” However, the word, “SCS”, which is in an abbreviation form and which has not been followed by the full explanation of the term and need to be clarified and defined within the specification;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 13-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kung et al. (US 20220217653 A1), hereinafter referenced as Kung.
Regarding claims 1, 18, 24 and 29, Kung teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a communication system (Fig. 11, Para. [0002]-Kung discloses wireless communication networks, and more particularly, to a method and apparatus for multi-Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) power headroom reporting in a wireless communication system. Para. [0029]-Kung discloses an access network (AN) may be a fixed station or base station used for communicating with the terminals and may also be referred to as an access point, a Node B, a base station, an enhanced base station, an eNodeB (eNB), a Next Generation NodeB (gNB), ... An access terminal (AT) may also be called user equipment (UE), a wireless communication device, terminal, access terminal. Figs. 2-4, Para. [0040]-Kung discloses the communication device 300 may include an input device 302, an output device 304, a control circuit 306, a central processing unit (CPU) 308, a memory 310, a program code 312, and a transceiver 314. The control circuit 306 executes the program code 312 in the memory 310 through the CPU 308, thereby controlling an operation of the communications device 300), the method comprising:
receiving, via higher layer signaling, first configuration information on power headroom report (PHR) (Para. [0240]-Kung discloses configuration for a corresponding P.sub.O_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c j) value is provided by higher layers. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on the higher layer signalling of configured grant and periodic/semi-persistent sounding reference signal transmissions and downlink control information the UE received) and
second configuration information on sounding reference signal, SRS, resource sets including a first SRS resource set and a second SRS resource set (Para. [0240]-Kung discloses configuration for a corresponding P.sub.O_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c j) value is provided by higher layers. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on the higher layer signalling of configured grant and periodic/semi-persistent sounding reference signal transmissions and downlink control information the UE received);
identifying at least one PHR based on the first configuration information (Para. [0254]-Kung discloses UE determines whether a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on the higher layer signalling of configured grant and periodic/semi-persistent sounding reference signal transmissions and downlink control information the UE received. Table 6.2.1-2., Para. [0144]-Kung discloses the Single Entry PHR MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with LCID. Table 6.2.1-2, Para. [0151]-Kung discloses the Multiple Entry PHR MAC CE is identified by a MAC subheader with LCID. Para. [0321]-Kung discloses the UE may determine whether to report one PH {Power Headroom} for a cell or to report two PHs for the cell based on a configuration (e.g., a network configuration, such as a configuration that is provided to the UE by a network) ... the configuration may comprise a parameter (e.g., a cell-specific parameter associated with the cell) indicative of a number of PH reports (for the cell, for example) that the UE indicates in a multi-TRP PHR MAC CE); and
transmitting the at least one PHR in a slot (Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE provides power headroom of the first PUSCH, if any, on the determined NR slot. Para. [0002]-Kung discloses method and apparatus for multi-Transmission/Reception Point (TRP) power headroom reporting in a wireless communication system. Para. [0005]-Kung discloses the UE transmits a Power Headroom Reporting (PHR) Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE). Para. [0104-0105]-Kung discloses Power Headroom Report (PHR) shall be triggered if any of the following events occur: ... transmission of a PHR in this MAC entity when the MAC entity has UL resources for new transmission),
in case that the at least one PHR is one PHR corresponding to an actual PHR (Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0338]-Kung discloses a Type 1 PH report for a cell may be determined (e.g., calculated) based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered),
the one PHR is for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition associated with the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot (Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2. Para. [0253]-Kung discloses UE power headroom PH that is valid for SRS transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell C. (See also Para. [0200]). Para. [0338]-Kung discloses a Type 1 PH report for a cell may be determined (e.g., calculated) based on an actual PUSCH transmission (e.g., the real PUSCH transmission, such as the first PUSCH transmission 804) when (and/or if) a slot to provide the Type 1 PH report overlaps with (e.g., fully overlaps with) a slot to perform a PUSCH transmission (e.g., the real PUSCH transmission, such as the first PUSCH transmission 804) on the cell), and
in case that the at least one PHR is a plurality of PHRs including a first PHR and a second PHR (Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered. Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0338]-Kung discloses a Type 1 PH report for a cell may be determined (e.g., calculated) based on an actual PUSCH transmission):
the first PHR corresponds to an actual PHR for a PUSCH repetition associated with one SRS resource set among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2); and
in case that PUSCH repetitions associated with other SRS resource set among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are transmitted in the slot (Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2. Para. [0253]-Kung discloses UE power headroom PH that is valid for SRS transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell C. (See also Para. [0200]). Para. [0338]-Kung discloses a Type 1 PH report for a cell may be determined (e.g., calculated) based on an actual PUSCH transmission (e.g., the real PUSCH transmission, such as the first PUSCH transmission 804) when (and/or if) a slot to provide the Type 1 PH report overlaps with (e.g., fully overlaps with) a slot to perform a PUSCH transmission (e.g., the real PUSCH transmission, such as the first PUSCH transmission 804) on the cell),
the second PHR corresponds to an actual PHR for a first PUSCH repetition associated with the other SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot (Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2).
Regarding claims 13, 19, 25 and 30, Kung teaches the method of claim 1, the UE of claim 18, the method of claim 24 and the base station of claim 29 respectively,
Kung further teaches in case that the PUSCH repetitions associated with the other SRS resource set are not transmitted in the slot, the second PHR corresponds to a reference format associated with the other SRS resource set (Para. [0328]-kung discloses the UE may compute the PH for the TRP based on a reference PUSCH transmission if the UE has not received a DCI or UL grant on the TRP (e.g., if the UE has not received a DCI or UL grant on the TRP after the UE triggered the PHR). Para. [0320]-kung discloses UE may determine whether to report, indicate and/or compute one PH for a cell or to report, indicate and/or compute two PHs for the cell based on whether a DL signaling (e.g., DCI) indicates one codepoint (e.g., Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) Resource Indicator (SRI)) associated with one or more UL TCI states (e.g., one or more activated UL TCI states) and/or one or more UL beams (for different TRPs, for example). (See also Para. [0254 and 0273]). Para. [0254]-kung discloses the UE computes PH assuming that the UE does not transmit PUSCH/PUCCH on any serving cell of the SCG or the MCG. Para. [0318]-kung discloses in a first example, the i-th first PH is a PH (e.g., a PH report) based on an actual PUSCH transmission and the i-th second PH is a PH (e.g., a PH report) based on a reference PUSCH transmission. In a second example, the i-th first PH is a PH (e.g., a PH report) based on a reference PUSCH transmission and the i-th second PH is a PH (e.g., a PH report) based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0197]-kung discloses UE is configured with a number of RS resource indexes, up to the value of maxNrofPUSCH).
Regarding claims 14, 20, 26 and 31, Kung teaches the method of claim 1, the UE of claim 18, the method of claim 24 and the base station of claim 29 respectively,
Kung further teaches whether the at least one PHR is the one PHR or the plurality of PHRs is determined based on the first configuration information (Para. [0240]-Kung discloses configuration for a corresponding P.sub.O_UE_PUSCH,b,f,c j) value is provided by higher layers. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission or a reference format based on the higher layer signalling of configured grant and periodic/semi-persistent sounding reference signal transmissions and downlink control information the UE received. Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered. Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0338]-Kung discloses a Type 1 PH report for a cell may be determined (e.g., calculated) based on an actual PUSCH transmission).
Regarding claims 15, 21, 27 and 32, Kung teaches the method of claim 1, the UE of claim 18, the method of claim 24 and the base station of claim 29 respectively,
Kung further teaches the plurality of PHRs are transmitted in a same medium access control control element (MAC CE) PHR format (Para. [0381]-Kung discloses the first multiple entry PHR MAC CE may report PHRs determined (e.g., computed) based on one or more real transmissions. The second multiple entry PHR MAC CE may report PHRs determined (e.g., computed) based on one or more reference transmissions), and
the plurality of PHRs corresponds to a same serving cell (Para. [0386]-Kung discloses in some examples, the TRPs (e.g., reported TRPs for which PH is indicated in a multi-TRP PHR MAC CE) may be associated with a same cell).
Regarding claims 16, 22, 28 and 33, Kung teaches the method of claim 1, the UE of claim 18, the method of claim 24 and the base station of claim 29 respectively,
Kung further teaches the first SRS resource set corresponds to a first transmission and reception point (TRP) (Para. [0449]-Kung discloses the first TRP is associated with a first SRS resource set of the first cell and the second TRP is associated with a second SRS resource set of the first cell. Para. [0366]-Kung discloses multi-TRP PHR MAC CE may indicate a TRP associated with the reported PH level by indicating a reference signal index associated with the TRP (e.g., a pathloss reference signal and/or a SRS indicator). Para. [0391]-Kung discloses a TRP ... may be associated with a SRS resource ... “TRP” throughout the present disclosure may be replaced with “SRS resource”. Para. [0396]-Kung discloses a TRP ... may be associated with a SRS resource (and/or a SRS resource set) associated with a cell), and
the second SRS resource set corresponds to a second TRP (Para. [0449]-Kung discloses the first TRP is associated with a first SRS resource set of the first cell and the second TRP is associated with a second SRS resource set of the first cell. Para. [0366]-Kung discloses multi-TRP PHR MAC CE may indicate a TRP associated with the reported PH level by indicating a reference signal index associated with the TRP (e.g., a pathloss reference signal and/or a SRS indicator). Para. [0391]-Kung discloses a TRP ... may be associated with a SRS resource ... “TRP” throughout the present disclosure may be replaced with “SRS resource”. Para. [0396]-Kung discloses a TRP ... may be associated with a SRS resource (and/or a SRS resource set) associated with a cell).
Regarding claims 17 and 23, Kung teaches the method of claim 1 and the UE of claim 18 respectively,
Kung further teaches the PUSCH repetition associated with the one SRS resource set is a first PUSCH repetition associated with the one SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot (Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2. Para. [0253]-Kung discloses UE power headroom PH that is valid for SRS transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell C. (See also Para. [0200]). Para. [0338]-Kung discloses a Type 1 PH report for a cell may be determined (e.g., calculated) based on an actual PUSCH transmission (e.g., the real PUSCH transmission, such as the first PUSCH transmission 804) when (and/or if) a slot to provide the Type 1 PH report overlaps with (e.g., fully overlaps with) a slot to perform a PUSCH transmission (e.g., the real PUSCH transmission, such as the first PUSCH transmission 804) on the cell).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Arguments/Remarks, filed on 01/28/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claims 1 and 13-33 have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In the remarks, on page 11, Lines [33-36], Applicant argues that, “Kung does not disclose that, if one PHR is reported, the PUSCH resource used as the basis for PHR calculation is the first PUSCH repetition associated with a first SRS resource set or a second SRS resource set.”
However, Kung teaches in case that the at least one PHR is one PHR corresponding to an actual PHR (Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0338]-Kung discloses a Type 1 PH report for a cell may be determined (e.g., calculated) based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered), the one PHR is for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition associated with the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot (Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2. Para. [0253]-Kung discloses UE power headroom PH that is valid for SRS transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell C. (See also Para. [0200]). Para. [0338]-Kung discloses a Type 1 PH report for a cell may be determined (e.g., calculated) based on an actual PUSCH transmission (e.g., the real PUSCH transmission, such as the first PUSCH transmission 804) when (and/or if) a slot to provide the Type 1 PH report overlaps with (e.g., fully overlaps with) a slot to perform a PUSCH transmission (e.g., the real PUSCH transmission, such as the first PUSCH transmission 804) on the cell).
In the remarks, on pages 12 and 13, Lines [3-6 and 5-12 respectively], Applicant argues that, “…the feature of "wherein in case that the at least one PHR is one of a PHR corresponding to an actual PHR, the one PHR is for a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) repetition associated with the first SRS resource set or the second SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot," cannot be derived from Kung,” and “…the feature of "wherein in case that the at least one PHR is a plurality of PHRs including a first PHR and a second PHR: the first PHR corresponds to an actual PHR for a PUSCH repetition associated with one SRS resource set among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set; and in case that PUSCH repetitions associated with other SRS resource set among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are transmitted in the slot, the second PHR corresponds to an actual PHR for a first PUSCH repetition associated with the other SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot." cannot be derived from Kung” respectively.
However, Kung teaches in case that the at least one PHR is a plurality of PHRs including a first PHR and a second PHR (Para. [0120-0121]-Kung discloses start phr-Periodic Timer; [0121] 1> if the Power Headroom reporting procedure determines that at least one PHR has been triggered. Para. [0319]-Kung discloses UE may determine whether to report and/or indicate one PH for a cell or to report and/or indicate two PHs for the cell. Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses a Type 1 power headroom report for an activated serving cell is based on an actual PUSCH transmission. Para. [0338]-Kung discloses a Type 1 PH report for a cell may be determined (e.g., calculated) based on an actual PUSCH transmission): the first PHR corresponds to an actual PHR for a PUSCH repetition associated with one SRS resource set among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set (Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2); and in case that PUSCH repetitions associated with other SRS resource set among the first SRS resource set and the second SRS resource set are transmitted in the slot (Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2. Para. [0253]-Kung discloses UE power headroom PH that is valid for SRS transmission occasion i on active UL BWP b of carrier f of serving cell C. (See also Para. [0200]). Para. [0338]-Kung discloses a Type 1 PH report for a cell may be determined (e.g., calculated) based on an actual PUSCH transmission (e.g., the real PUSCH transmission, such as the first PUSCH transmission 804) when (and/or if) a slot to provide the Type 1 PH report overlaps with (e.g., fully overlaps with) a slot to perform a PUSCH transmission (e.g., the real PUSCH transmission, such as the first PUSCH transmission 804) on the cell), the second PHR corresponds to an actual PHR for a first PUSCH repetition associated with the other SRS resource set that overlaps with the slot (Para. [0254]-Kung discloses a power headroom report for an activated serving cell [11, TS 38.321] is based on an actual transmission. Para. [0273]-Kung discloses M-TRP PUSCH repetition schemes, support non-codebook based PUSCH transmission with following considerations. [0274] Increase the maximum number of SRS resource sets to two, and associated CSI-RS resource can be configured per SRS resource set. [0275] FFS: Enhancements on SRI field in DCI to indicate the two beams for repetitions. Para. [0259]-Kung discloses UE is configured with multiple cells for PUSCH transmissions and provides a Type 1 power headroom report in a PUSCH transmission with PUSCH repetition Type B having a nominal repetition that spans multiple slots on active UL BWP b.sub.1 and overlaps with one or more slots on active UL BWP b.sub.2).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OO/
Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472