DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied.
NEW REJECTIONS: NECESSITATED BY AMENDMENT
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-13 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1/a2 as being anticipated by US 20110217541 to Shimano et al.
Re claims 1-4, 7-13, and 19-20, Shimano et al. teaches Fig. 1 and associated text a
Shimano et al. teaches Fig. 1 and associated text a hard coat cured product of cycloolefin polymer [95] and [145-146] of meth acryloyloxy group (same as applicant’s [90-95, 145-146] for ensuring a cured product and no cracking [217]. Inorganic particles are taught [15], Shimano (per claim 2).
See [210-222], Shimano – PET and cycloolefin structure (per claim 8). Re claims 19-20, see [210, 221-222]). Re claim 21, see [224] urethane acrylate.
All properties not explicit (i.e. peak area ratio…) are inherent given the same materials and structure used.
Further to product by process limitations (per claims 9 and 11) of before heat treatment and after curing, these are process limitations in a product claim and not germane to patentability.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6, 14-18, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20110217541 to Shimano et al. in view of EP 2498130 A2 Shitabatake.
Shimano essentially teaches the claimed invention.
Re claims 5-6 and 14-18, Shimano doesn’t teach the exact ranges but are overlapping. See [481], See Shimano – overlapping ranges (per claim 5). See [50-54], Shimano – overlapping ranges (per claims 6 and 14). Re claims 15-18, see [50, 57], Shimano overlapping ranges.
Note that overlapping ranges have this application: In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In reWertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference effecting functionality because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness. MPEP 2144.05.
Re claims 22-23, Shimano doesn’t teach the materials as claimed but teaches silica, [224] urethane acrylate and [90] methacrylol.
Shitabatake discloses a similar curable composition [10] of excellent pattern with excellent heat/cold shock resistance having the [23] same (meth)acryloyl, amorphous [235, 237-238] silica for good profile, and [257], [261] elastomer urethane and acrylic blend is within the teaching for improved heat resistance [256].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date time the invention was made to have selected only the materials of Shimano in the similar cured composition of Shimano for at least excellent patterns and shock resistance.
References of Interest
The remaining references listed on form(s) 892 and/or 1449 have been reviewed by the examiner and are considered to be cumulative to or less material than the prior art references relied upon in the rejection above.
US 20180361719 to Kikuchi teaches a hard coat [153] where radically polymerizable groups include (meth)acryloyloxy and vinyl, of which (meth)acryloyloxy is generally employed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the peak area ration and range isn’t taught pointing to the specification; however, limitation from the specification are not interpreted into the claims.
Further the amendments contain inherent recitations to the V condition peaks. See Mpep 2141.02:
V. DISCLOSED INHERENT PROPERTIES ARE PART OF "AS A WHOLE" INQUIRY
"In determining whether the invention as a whole would have been obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103, we must first delineate the invention as a whole. In delineating the invention as a whole, we look not only to the subject matter which is literally recited in the claim in question... but also to those properties of the subject matter which are inherent in the subject matter and are disclosed in the specification. . . Just as we look to a chemical and its properties when we examine the obviousness of a composition of matter claim, it is this invention as a whole, and not some part of it, which must be obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103." In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 620, 195 USPQ 6,8 (CCPA 1977) (emphasis in original) (citations omitted) (The claimed wastewater treatment device had a tank volume to contractor area of 0.12 gal./sq. ft. The court found the invention as a whole was the ratio of 0.12 and its inherent property that the claimed devices maximized treatment capacity regardless of other variables in the devices. The prior art did not recognize that treatment capacity was a function of the tank volume to contractor ratio, and therefore the parameter optimized was not recognized in the art to be a result-effective variable.). See also In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 391, 137 USPQ 43, 51 (CCPA 1963) ("From the standpoint of patent law, a compound and all its properties are inseparable.").for the requirements of rejections based on inherency.
Obviousness cannot be predicated on what is not known at the time an invention is made, even if the inherency of a certain feature is later established. In re Rijckaert, 9 F.2d 1531, 28 USPQ2d 1955 (Fed. Cir. 1993). See MPEP § 2112
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TAMRA L. DICUS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/TAMRA L. DICUS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787