DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 12/23/2025.
Claims 4 and 29 are canceled.
Claims 3, 5-10, 15-19, 27 and 30-34 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3, 5-10, 15-19, 27 and 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 2022/0210700 A1) hereinafter “Wu.”
Regarding Claim 3, Wu teaches A traffic flow processing method, applied to a network exposure function (NEF) network element (Wu: paragraphs 0410-0411 & Fig. 11, network exposure function (NEF)), comprising:
receiving a traffic flow steering policy request (Wu: paragraphs 0410-0411 & Fig. 11, application function (AF) sends a traffic steering request to the NEF; see also paragraph 0265 & Figs. 5-6) sent by an application function (AF) (Wu: paragraphs 0410 & Fig. 11, said AF), wherein the traffic flow steering policy request is configured for the AF to provide traffic flow steering policy information to the NEF (Wu: paragraphs 0411-0411, traffic steering request to NEF including traffic steering network element information or traffic steering policy information; see also paragraphs 0152-0157, traffic steering policy information).
determining the traffic flow steering policy information in the traffic flow steering policy request (Wu: paragraphs 0173 & 0249, first information is determined by the NEF based on receiving request message from the AF; see also paragraphs 0431 & 0441, first information includes traffic steering policy information from a first network element based on the first message).
Regarding Claim 5, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches sending a data storage request to a unified data repository (UDR) (Wu: paragraph 0299, 0414 & Figs. 6 and 11, NEF sends a service request to UDR), wherein the data storage request is configured for requesting to store the traffic flow steering policy information in the UDR (Wu: paragraphs 0241, 0414 & Figs. 6 and 11, send the traffic steering policy information to the UDR so that the UDR may store the first traffic steering policy information and the traffic steering identifier), wherein the UDR storing the traffic flow steering policy information comprises one or more operations of adding, deleting, and modifying (Wu: paragraphs 0152-0157, traffic steering policy information to indicate network elements corresponding to at least one service function and a sequence in which service data passes through the network elements corresponding to the at least one service function).
Regarding Claim 6, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receiving a data storage response sent by the UDR (Wu: paragraphs 0283, 0305 & Figs. 6 and 11; UDR sends a service request response towards the NEF), wherein the data storage response is configured to indicate that the traffic flow steering policy information is stored in the UDR (Wu: paragraphs 0305, 0312, traffic steering response indicating obtained and/or stored traffic steering policy information).
Regarding Claim 7, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receiving a traffic flow steering policy information request sent by a session management function (SMF) (Wu: paragraph 0342 & Fig. 8, SMF sends a traffic steering request to the NEF), wherein the traffic flow steering policy information request is configured for the SMF to acquire the traffic flow steering policy information retrieved based on an application identifier from the NEF(Wu: paragraph 0336 & Fig. 8, service request includes the AF identifier, the UE address, service information, and the traffic steering identifier).
Regarding Claim 8, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches sending a traffic flow steering policy information acquisition request to the UDR, wherein the traffic flow steering policy information acquisition request is configured to acquire the traffic flow steering policy information (Wu: paragraph 0344 & Fig. 8, NEF sends traffic steering policy information to UDR).
Regarding Claim 9, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receiving traffic flow steering policy information sent by the UDR, wherein the traffic flow steering policy information is the traffic flow steering policy information retrieved based on the application identifier (Wu: paragraph 0344 & Fig. 8, UDR sends traffic steering policy information to the NEF).
Regarding Claim 10, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches sending traffic flow steering policy information to the SMF, wherein the traffic flow steering policy information is the traffic flow steering policy information retrieved based on the application identifier (Wu: paragraph 0345 & Fig. 8, NEF sends a traffic steering response to the SMF).
Regarding Claim 15, Wu teaches A traffic flow processing method, applied to a session management function (SMF) network element, comprising:
receiving traffic flow steering policy information sent by a network exposure function (NEF) (Wu: paragraph 0383, NEF sends a traffic steering configuration request to the SMF), wherein the traffic flow steering policy information is traffic flow steering policy information retrieved based on an application identifier (Wu: paragraph 0336 & Fig. 8, service request includes the AF identifier, the UE address, service information, and the traffic steering identifier; see also paragraphs 0373, 0389, traffic steering response includes traffic steering policy information and traffic steering identifier including service information such as an application ID)), and the traffic flow steering policy information is determined by the NEF (Wu: paragraphs 0173 & 0249, first information is determined by the NEF based on receiving request message from the AF; see also paragraphs 0431 & 0441, first information includes traffic steering policy information from a first network element based on the first message); and
performing one or more operations of adding, deleting, and modifying the traffic flow steering policy on an application program corresponding to the traffic flow steering policy information, based on the traffic flow steering policy information (Wu: paragraphs 0152-0157, traffic steering policy information to indicate network elements corresponding to at least one service function and a sequence in which service data passes through the network elements corresponding to the at least one service function).
Regarding Claim 16, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches sending a traffic flow steering policy information request to the NEF (Wu: paragraph 0342, SMF sends a traffic steering request to the NEF), wherein the traffic flow steering policy information request is configured to acquire the traffic flow steering policy information retrieved based on the application identifier from the NEF (Wu: paragraph 0336 & Fig. 8, service request includes the AF identifier, the UE address, service information, and the traffic steering identifier).
Regarding Claim 17, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches wherein a set of traffic flow steering policy information is sent in at least one of following cases: determining that the NEF has received a traffic flow steering policy request sent by an application function (AF) (Wu: paragraph 0265, NEF receives a service request sent from the AF).
Regarding Claim 18, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches sending a traffic flow steering policy information management request to a user plane function (UPF) (Wu: paragraph 0142, SMF determines the traffic steering policy information based on the traffic steering identifier, and indicates, based on the traffic steering policy information, a UPF to perform the traffic steering control); wherein the traffic flow steering policy information management request is configured to provide the traffic flow steering policy information (Wu: paragraph 0142, said providing traffic steering policy information to UPF to perform traffic steering control).
Regarding Claim 19, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receiving a traffic flow steering policy information management response sent by the UPF (Wu: paragraph 0291, UPF may perform traffic steering control on the service based on the traffic steering policy information, thus teaching a response), wherein the traffic flow steering policy information management response is configured to indicate that a management operation confirmation has been performed on the traffic flow steering policy information (Wu: paragraph 0291, said UPF may perform traffic steering control on the service based on the traffic steering policy information).
Regarding Claim 27, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches A traffic flow processing device, comprising:
a processor (Wu: paragraph 0421 & Figs. 12-13, processor); and
a memory for storing instructions executable by the processor (Wu: paragraph 0423 & Figs. 12-13, memory for storing programs executed by processor);
wherein the processor is configured to implement the traffic flow processing method of claim 3 (Wu: paragraph 0469, processor may invoke the computer-executable instructions stored in the memory to enable the policy control network element or the session management network element to perform the corresponding method).
Regarding Claim 29, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches determine the traffic flow steering policy information in the traffic flow steering policy request (Wu: paragraphs 0411-0411, traffic steering request including traffic steering network element information or traffic steering policy information; see also paragraphs 0152-0157, traffic steering policy information);
Regarding Claim 30, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches send a data storage request to a unified data repository (UDR), wherein the data storage request is configured for requesting to store the traffic flow steering policy information in the UDR (Wu: paragraph 0344 & Fig. 8, NEF sends traffic steering policy information to UDR), wherein the UDR storing the traffic flow steering policy information comprises one or more operations of adding, deleting, and modifying (Wu: paragraphs 0152-0157, traffic steering policy information to indicate network elements corresponding to at least one service function and a sequence in which service data passes through the network elements corresponding to the at least one service function).
Regarding Claim 31, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receive a data storage response sent by the UDR (Wu: paragraphs 0283, 0305 & Figs. 6 and 11; UDR sends a service request response towards the NEF), wherein the data storage response is configured to indicate that the traffic flow steering policy information is stored in the UDR (Wu: paragraphs 0305, 0312, traffic steering response indicating obtained and/or stored traffic steering policy information);
Regarding Claim 32, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receive a traffic flow steering policy information request sent by a session management function (SMF) (Wu: paragraph 0342 & Fig. 8, SMF sends a traffic steering request to the NEF), wherein the traffic flow steering policy information request is configured for the SMF to acquire the traffic flow steering policy information retrieved based on an application identifier from the NEF (Wu: paragraph 0336 & Fig. 8, service request includes the AF identifier, the UE address, service information, and the traffic steering identifier).
Regarding Claim 33, Wu teaches A traffic flow processing method, comprising:
sending, by an application function (AF) network element (Wu: paragraphs 0410 & Fig. 11, application function (AF)), a traffic flow steering policy request (Wu: paragraphs 0410-0411 & Fig. 11, AF sends a traffic steering request to the NEF; see also paragraph 0265 & Figs. 5-6) to a network exposure function (NEF) (Wu: paragraphs 0410-0411 & Fig. 11, said NEF; see also paragraph 0265 & Figs. 5-6); wherein the traffic flow steering policy request is configured to provide traffic flow steering policy information (Wu: paragraphs 0411-0411, traffic steering request including traffic steering network element information or traffic steering policy information; see also paragraphs 0152-0157, traffic steering policy information), and the traffic flow steering policy information in the traffic flow steering policy request is determined by the NEF (Wu: paragraphs 0173 & 0249, first information is determined by the NEF based on receiving request message from the AF; see also paragraphs 0431 & 0441, first information includes traffic steering policy information from a first network element based on the first message);
sending, by the NEF, a data storage request (Wu: paragraph 0299, 0414 & Figs. 6 and 11, NEF sends a service request to UDR) to a unified data repository (UDR) (Wu: paragraph 0414 & Fig. 11, said UDR), wherein the data storage request is configured for requesting to store the traffic flow steering policy information in the UDR (Wu: paragraphs 0241, 0414 & Figs. 6 and 11, send the traffic steering policy information to the UDR so that the UDR may store the first traffic steering policy information and the traffic steering identifier), wherein the UDR storing the traffic flow steering policy information comprises one or more operations of adding, deleting, and modifying (Wu: paragraphs 0152-0157, traffic steering policy information to indicate network elements corresponding to at least one service function and a sequence in which service data passes through the network elements corresponding to the at least one service function);
sending, by the UDR, a data storage response to the NEF (Wu: paragraphs 0283, 0305 & Figs. 6 and 11; UDR sends a service request response towards the NEF), wherein the data storage response is configured to indicate that the traffic flow steering policy information is stored in the UDR network element (Wu: paragraphs 0305, 0312, traffic steering response indicating obtained and/or stored traffic steering policy information);
sending, by the NEF, a traffic flow steering policy response to the AF (Wu: paragraphs 0284, 0417 & Figs. 5 and 11, NEF sends a traffic service exposure response to the AF), wherein the traffic flow steering policy response comprises an application identifier corresponding to the traffic flow steering policy information (Wu: paragraphs 0373, 0389, traffic steering response includes traffic steering policy information and traffic steering identifier including service information such as an application ID), and the application identifier is configured for determining to store the traffic flow steering policy information in the UDR (Wu: paragraph 0389, information stored in the UDR may further include said service information (i.e. application ID)).
Regarding Claim 34, Wu teaches the respective claim(s) as presented above and further teaches receiving, by the NEF, a traffic flow steering policy information request sent by a session management function (SMF) (Wu: paragraph 0342 & Fig. 8, SMF sends a traffic steering request to the NEF), wherein the traffic flow steering policy information request is configured for the SMF to acquire the traffic flow steering policy information retrieved based on an application identifier from the NEF (Wu: paragraph 0336 & Fig. 8, service request includes the AF identifier, the UE address, service information, and the traffic steering identifier);
sending, by the NEF, a traffic flow steering policy information acquisition request to the UDR, wherein the traffic flow steering policy information acquisition request is configured to acquire the traffic flow steering policy information (Wu: paragraph 0344 & Fig. 8, NEF sends traffic steering policy information to UDR);
receiving, by the NEF, traffic flow steering policy information sent by the UDR, wherein the traffic flow steering policy information is the traffic flow steering policy information retrieved based on the application identifier (Wu: paragraph 0344 & Fig. 8, UDR sends traffic steering policy information to the NEF);
sending, by the NEF, traffic flow steering policy information to the SMF, wherein the traffic flow steering policy information is the traffic flow steering policy information retrieved based on the application identifier (Wu: paragraph 0345 & Fig. 8, NEF sends a traffic steering response to the SMF).
Response to Arguments
Applicants' argument:
a) Wu fails to teach or suggest the NEF determines the traffic flow steering policy information in the traffic flow steering policy request since the traffic flow steering policy information is instead determined by the PCF in the prior art (remarks, page 9).
Examiner’s response:
Applicant's argument filed 12/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. After review of the prior art, Wu additionally teaches the first information comprising traffic steering policy information may be determined by the NEF in an alternate embodiment (Wu: paragraphs 0173 & 0249). Since Wu specifically teaches the traffic steering request message is sent by the AF to the NEF to determine the first information comprising said traffic steering policy information, Wu similarly teaches the NEF itself determines the traffic flow steering policy information in the received traffic steering request instead of the PCF in at least one embodiment.
The rejection(s) of claims 3, 15 and 33 and respective dependent claims is therefore maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAJEEB ANSARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463