DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the side wall" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by RADO (US 2019/0373954).
With respect to claim 1, RADO discloses a personal vaporizer (Abstract) comprising a cartridge, 50, (Paragraphs [0050], [0053]; Figure 4). The cartridge comprises a first container, 60, comprising a first chamber, 140, for storing a liquid (Paragraph [0057]); a second container, 70 (Paragraphs [0051] and [0052]) coupled to the first container (Paragraph [0051]). The second container comprises a second chamber, 110, (Paragraph [0053]; Figure 4). The cartridge further comprises a wick, 170, disposed in the second chamber and in fluid communication with the first chamber (Paragraph [0060]); a heater configured to heat the wick (Paragraph [0053], [0074]); a cartridge inlet, 84, (Paragraphs [0052], [0071]) formed in an outer wall of the second container (Figure 4); a connection passage, “A”, formed in the second container configured to provide a passage between the cartridge inlet and the second chamber (Paragraph [0074]; Figure 4); and a blocking wall, 204, formed in the connection passage and positioned in front of the cartridge inlet, when viewed from the mouth end, 152 (Figure 4).
[AltContent: textbox (Bottom of connection passage)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Viewed in this direction, the blocking wall, 204, is in front of the cartridge inlet, 84.)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
With respect to claim 2, when the cartridge is held as shown in figure 4 above, the cartridge inlet of RADO is higher than a bottom of the connection passage (See annotated figure 4, above).
With respect to claim 3¸ RADO discloses that the second container comprises a lower case, 66 and 80 (Paragraph [0052]) coupled to the first container (Paragraph [0051]) and a frame, 90, accommodated in the lower case and partitions by wall, 92, an inside of the lower case to define the second chamber, 110, and the connections passage, “A”, inside 96 (Paragraph [0053]; Figure 4). The frame comprises a chamber inlet, 114 (Paragraph [0055], [0071]).
With respect to claim 4¸ RADO discloses that the chamber inlet, 114, is formed on bottom side wall (Paragraph [0051], [0071]), at a position higher that includes higher than the bottom of the second chamber (Figure 4).
[AltContent: textbox (Portion of inlet above bottom of chamber, 92)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval]
With respect to claim 5, RADO discloses that a lower wall, 92, forms a bottom of the second chamber and is indirectly, through 64, support by a bottom of the lower case (Paragraph [0052]; Figure 4).
[AltContent: textbox (Bottom surface of lower case supporting 64, and indirectly 92)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Upper surface of 64 supports bottom wall of second chamber)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bottom wall, 92, of second chamber)][AltContent: arrow]
A side wall, 94, of the second chamber extends upwards from the lower wall to define a side portion of the second chamber (Figure 4).
With respect to claim 6¸ RADO discloses that the blocking wall, 204, extends higher than a position of the cartridge inlet, 84 (Figure 4).
[AltContent: textbox (Cartridge inlet)][AltContent: textbox (Blocking wall)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
With respect to claim 7, when positioned with the mouth piece, 152, downward, the blocking wall extends higher than the position of the chamber inlet, 114.
[AltContent: textbox (Blocking wall)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Chamber inlet)][AltContent: connector]
With respect to claim 9¸ RADO shows that the frame comprises a round surface defining a portion of the connection passage, at 114, and disposed adjacent an upper end of the blocking wall, and the round surface extends towards the inlet side of the chamber inlet (Figure 4). Cambridge dictionary defines “adjacent” as being very near, next to or touching. Thus, the round surface, while not necessarily touching, is the nearest surface of the frame to the upper side of the blocking wall.
[AltContent: textbox (Round surface extending towards inlet side of chamber inlet and nearest surface to the blocking wall, 202)][AltContent: arrow]
With respect to claim 11, RADO discloses an aerosol generating device (Abstract) comprising the cartridge of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1) and a body, 20, (Paragraph [0045]; Figures 1 and 2) configured to allow the cartridge to be coupled thereto (Paragraphs [0047] and [0048]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
__________________________________________________________________
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RADO (US 2019/0373954) in view of AMPOLINI et al. (US 2016/0262453)
With respect to claim 12¸ RADO does not explicitly disclose the claimed sensor.
AMPOLINI et al. discloses an aerosol delivery device (Abstract). The body comprises a sensor, 410, mounted in the body (Figure 5; Paragraphs [0069], [0070]) adjacent to cartridge receiving cavity, 432 (Paragraph [0070]) so that air flow can be detected passing through the cartridge (e.g., cartridge inlet of RADO). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a sensor mounted into the body of RADO, in the manner taught by AMPOLINI et al. so that airflow into the cartridge inlet can be detected.
Given that the mount, 30, of RADO houses air inlets, 47, 52 and 71, the sensor is also adjacent to the inlets of the cartridge when mounted.
With respect to claim 13, RADO discloses that the body comprises an upper body above a lower body, 24 (Paragraphs [0045]-[0047]; Figures 1 and 2). The upper body comprising a mount, 30 (Paragraphs [0047] and [0048]) configured to receive the cartridge (and thus the second container as well).
[AltContent: textbox (Lower body)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Upper body )][AltContent: arrow]
RADO does not explicitly disclose that the mount comprises a sensor accommodation portion formed at a side wall of the mount for holding the sensor.
AMPOLINI et al. discloses that the mount, 402 and 434 includes a sensor accommodation portion that holds the sensor (Paragraphs [0070]-[0071]; Figure 5).
With respect to claim 14, AMPOLINI et al. shows that the sensor accommodation portion within 434, is part of the connector (Figure 5). Cambridge dictionary defines “adjacent” as being very near, next to or touching. Thus, as being a part of the connector which contains the cartridge, in 432, the sensor is very near the cartridge and its second container.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The frame of RADO does not form the bottom of the first chamber, per se.
Conclusion
/ALEX B EFTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745