DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/1/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that claims 16-18 (amended in the 6/1/2026 response) properly depend from claims 1 and 5, respectively, and thus also are part of Group I. This is found persuasive because the preambles of claims 16-18 have been amended to correct typographical errors with respect to the preambles of the respective claims.
No other arguments regarding the restriction requirement of Groups I and II have been made, and therefore the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Flahaut et al. (US 2016/0285145).
Regarding claim 1, Flahaut et al. discloses in Figs 1-4, a heat transfer system (ref 1) comprising: an electrochemical cell unit (ref 20) comprising an electrochemical cell (refs 21); a fluid circulation system (refs 4, 5, 6) comprising a heat exchange section (at refs 6, Fig 1) in thermal contact with (Fig 1) the electrochemical cell unit (ref 20); a cooling medium ([0024]) disposed in the fluid circulation system (refs 4, 5, 6), wherein, within the heat exchange section (at refs 6, Fig 1) of the fluid circulation system (refs 4, 5, 6), the cooling medium ([0024]) comprises a mixture ([0024]) including a liquid component ([0024]) and a gas component ([0024]); and a pump (upstream of ref 3, Fig 1) configured to circulate ([0024]) the cooling medium ([0024]) through the fluid circulation system (refs 4, 5, 6).
Regarding claim 2, Flahaut et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses within the heat exchange section (at refs 6) of the fluid circulation system (refs 4, 5, 6), the gas component forms at least 50% by volume of the cooling medium (“homogenous mixture”, [0009], [0012], [0013], [0027], [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Flahaut et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the heat exchange section (at refs 6, Fig 1) of the fluid circulation system (refs 4, 5, 6) includes fluid paths (defined by refs 6) that extend through (Fig 1, [0023]-[0024]) the electrochemical cell unit (ref 20) such that the cooling medium ([0224]) is in direct contact with (Fig 1, [0023]-[0024]) the electrochemical cell (refs 21).
Regarding claim 7, Flahaut et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the cooling medium ([0024]) includes the liquid component ([0024]) and the gas component ([0024]) throughout (Fig 1, [0024]) the fluid circulation system (refs 4, 5, 6).
Regarding claim 8, Flahaut et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the pump (upstream of ref 3, [0024]) is configured to circulate ([0024]) the liquid component ([0024]) and gas component ([0024]) of the cooling medium ([0024]) as a mixture ([0024]) about the fluid circulation system (refs 4, 5, 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flahaut et al. (US 2016/0285145) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sugita et al. (US 2012/0171529).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Flahaut et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the liquid component of the cooling medium includes at least one of a surfactant and a foam suppressant, and within the heat exchange section of the fluid circulation system, at least a portion of the liquid component and gas component of the cooling medium form a foam.
Sugita et al. discloses in Figs 1-6, a battery pack (ref 1) including a plurality of battery cells ([0036]). The battery pack (ref 1) has a cooling system ([0041]-[0042]) including a cooling member ([0041]-[0042]) in thermal contact with the battery cells ([0036]) and including a surfactant and foaming agent ([0060]-[0075]). This enhances the functioning of the cooling of the battery pack ([0060]-[0075]).
Sugita et al. and Flahaut et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, battery cooling systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the surfactant and foaming agent of Sugita et al. into the cooling system of Flahaut et al. to enhance the overall cooling functioning of the battery, thereby enhancing overall battery performance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flahaut et al. (US 2016/0285145) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kurazono (JP 2019/190777, see Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 5, 6 and 9, Flahaut et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the fluid circulation system (refs 4, 5, 6) comprises: a primary circuit (depicted in Fig 1, totality of refs 4, 5, 6 in connection with each other) including the heat exchange section (at refs 6, Fig 1), wherein the liquid component of the cooling medium ([0024]) is confined to (Fig 1, [0024]) the primary circuit (depicted in Fig 1, totality of refs 4, 5, 6 in connection with each other), but does not explicitly disclose a gas inlet in the primary circuit that is upstream of the heat exchange section; and a gas outlet in the primary circuit that is downstream of the heat exchange section, wherein the gas inlet is one of a plurality of gas inlets disposed upstream of the heat exchange section, and comprising a mixer promoting bubble formation within the cooling medium
Kurazono discloses in Figs 1-8, a heat transport system (ref 100) including a primary cooling circuit (totality of structure depicted in Fig 1) including heat exchangers (refs 10, 20) with a gas inlet (at ref 70 bubble generator) having a plurality of inlets (refs 76, [0024]), upstream of the heat exchanger (ref 10, Fig 1). This configuration enhances the heat transport / cooling of the system in totality ([0004]-[0008]).
Kurazono and Flahaut et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, heat transfer / cooling systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the gas bubbler structure including multiple gas inlets disclosed by Kurazono into the system of Flahaut upstream of the heat exchange section to enhance the heat transport / cooling of the system in totality.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flahaut et al. (US 2016/0285145) in view of Kurazono (JP 2019/190777, see Machine Translation) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Miura et al. (JP 2019/190798, see Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 17 and 18, modified Flahaut et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not disclose the gas inlet is disposed under the electrochemical cell and the gas outlet is disposed above the electrochemical cell such that buoyancy of the gas component causes the gas component to rise through the electrochemical cell unit, wherein the fluid circulation system further comprises a secondary circuit extending from the gas outlet to the gas inlet so as to recirculate the gas component about the fluid circulation system.
Miura et al. discloses in Figs 1-58, a cooling device (ref 10) for a secondary battery module (Figs 57-58, ref 12). The cooling device (ref 10) includes piping (refs 18) circulating a gas-liquid coolant (Abstract) therein. The cooling device (ref 10) includes a vaporizer (ref 14) that utilizes buoyancy for bubbles to flow upward (Fig 1, bubbles depicted in ref 14, flowing upward towards ref 14e) to collect gas and utilizes a condenser / second circuit to condense liquid refrigerant and recirculate it to the cooling device (ref 10). This configuration allows enhanced performance of the cooling device and efficiency of operation of the secondary cell via recirculating coolant ([0006], [0057]-[0062]).
Miura et al. and Flahaut et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, battery cooling systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the vaporizer and condenser structure / secondary circuit of Miura et al. into the system of modified Flahaut et al. to enhance performance of the cooling device and efficiency of operation of the battery via recirculation of coolant.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 16-18, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 and 16-18 of copending Application No. 18/284,858 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘858 application anticipate the instant claims. In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Grunwald et al. (US 2017/0018825) discloses in Figs 1-8, a heat exchange system (ref 1) for a battery system ([0033]). The heat exchange system (ref 1) includes a primary heat exchange circuit (ref 3) and a secondary heat exchange circuit (ref 4), each cooling components of the battery system.
Siering et al. (US 2018/0034119) discloses in Figs 1-6, a cooling apparatus (ref 10) for cooling batteries ([0030]) in electric or hybrid vehicles ([0030]). The cooling apparatus (ref 10) includes a plurality of cooling modules (refs 11). Coolant includes a gas/liquid combination ([0035]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725