DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Action is in response to Applicant’s remarks and amended claims filed on December 11, 2025. Claims 11-12 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendment
2. The outstanding rejections of Claims 11 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 11 and 12 filed on December 11, 2025.
Specification
3. The amendments to the specification regarding the title received on December 11, 2025. These amendments to the title are NOT accepted.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0262835 A1) in view of R2-2100514 (“Definition of the Active Time in SL DRX”, January 2021).
Regarding claim 11, Li et al. teach a user equipment (Fig(s).1 @ 12-13 and 17 @ 600), comprising:
at least one processor (Fig(s).17 @ 61); and
at least one non-transitory machine-readable medium (Fig(s).17 @ 62) coupled to the at least one processor (Fig(s).17 @ 61) and storing one or more computer-executable instructions (read as computer instructions (Paragraph [0271])) that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig(s).17 @ 61), cause the user equipment (Fig(s).1 @ 12-13 and 17 @ 600) to:
receive a sidelink control information (SCI) (Fig.12 @ S701); and
However, Li et al. fail to explicitly teach the step to determine a value of a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (SL DRX) round trip time (RTT) timer based on at least a time interval indicated in the received SCI.
The R2-2100514 document teaches a method to determine a value of a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (SL DRX) round trip time (RTT) timer (read as a value of the SL inactivity timer) based on at least a time interval (a transmission schedule/priority) indicated in the received SCI. (read as “reset the SL inactivity timer for a unicast link/L2 destination ID when it receives an SCI scheduling a transmission.”(Section 2.2, page 3) For example, “RX UE determines the value of the inactivity timer based on the priority of the transmission which restarted the timer”(Section 2.2, page 2))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting a SCI configured with a scheduling transmission to reset an inactive timer as taught by the R2-2100514 document with the terminal device(s) as taught by Li et al. for the purpose of enhancing sidelink control information by devices in an NR network.
Regarding claim 12, Li et al. teach a method performed by user equipment (UE) (Fig,12), comprising:
receiving a sidelink control information (SCI) (Fig.12 @ S701); and
However, Li et al. fail to explicitly teach determining a value of a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (SL DRX) round trip time (RTT) timer based on at least a time interval indicated in the received SCI.
The R2-2100514 document teaches a method for determining a value of a sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (SL DRX) round trip time (RTT) timer (read as a value of the SL inactivity timer) based on at least a time interval (a transmission schedule/priority) indicated in the received SCI. (read as “reset the SL inactivity timer for a unicast link/L2 destination ID when it receives an SCI scheduling a transmission.”(Section 2.2, page 3) For example, “RX UE determines the value of the inactivity timer based on the priority of the transmission which restarted the timer”(Section 2.2, page 2))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating and transmitting a SCI configured with a scheduling transmission to reset an inactive timer as taught by the R2-2100514 document with the terminal device(s) as taught by Li et al. for the purpose of enhancing sidelink control information by devices in an NR network.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 11 and 12 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
R2-2101207 (“SL DRX with pre-indicated resources”, 25 January – 05 February, 2021) teaches “After the targeted SL RX UE receives the SCI indicating future resources, the targeted SL RX UE needs to ensure that it is awake to monitor the indicated resources, no matter whether the indicated resources are inside or outside the SL DRX On-duration.”(Section 2, page 1)
R2-2100638 (“Discussion on Sidelink DRX Timer”, January 25 –February 05, 2021) document teaches “if TX UE indicates the HARQ Feedback mode as “disabled” to RX UE through SCI, the RX UE does not transmit HARQ feedback regardless of a success/failure of PSCCH/PSSCH reception from the TX UE. Since the HARQ RTT timer and retransmission timer operate based on PSFCH transmission, it may be not necessary to operate the HARQ RTT timer/Retransmission timer in case of HARQ feedback “disabled”.”(Section 2.1.2, page 2)
R2-2100536 (“General aspects for SL DRX”, January 25th-February 5th, 2021) document teaches SL DRX parameters (Section 2.2, page 2-4)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
December 30, 2025