DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 27 July 2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 were pending in the previous Office action mailed on 28 April 2026.
Claims 1-3, 9, 11, 13, and 16-17 have been amended by amendments filed on 27 July 2026.
Claims 1-20 remain pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 27 July 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s argument to page 6, 2nd paragraph of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, the original Abstract and originally filed claims support the pending claims by supposedly disclosing a WTRU transmitting a sidelink positioning request that includes parameters related to the nature of the SL-PRS transmission or reception being requested, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The courts have described the essential question to be addressed in a description requirement issue in a variety of ways. An objective standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is, "does the description clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed." In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, the inventor was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed. The test for sufficiency of support in a parent application is whether the disclosure of the application relied upon "reasonably conveys to the artisan that the inventor had possession at that time of the later claimed subject matter." Ralston Purina Co. v. Far-Mar-Co., Inc., 772 F.2d 1570, 1575, 227 USPQ 177, 179 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (quoting In re Kaslow, 707 F.2d 1366, 1375, 217 USPQ 1089, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 1983)).
The subject matter of the claim need not be described literally (i.e., using the same terms or in haec verba) in order for the disclosure to satisfy the description requirement. If a claim is amended to include subject matter, limitations, or terminology not present in the application as filed, involving a departure from, addition to, or deletion from the disclosure of the application as filed, the examiner should conclude that the claimed subject matter is not described in that application. This conclusion will result in the rejection of the claims affected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) - description requirement, or denial of the benefit of the filing date of a previously filed application, as appropriate. See MPEP § 2163.02.
Here, pending independent claims 1 and 16 are currently written to claim a wireless transmit and receive unit (WTRU) transmitting a request including a parameter and an indication of whether the request is initiating a Sidelink (SL)-Positioning Reference Signal (PRS) transmission or reception by at least one other WTRU, and at least implicitly claims the WTRU as also determining that the request is initiating an SL-PRS transmission by the other WTRU, and the WTRU also performing measurement and reporting responsive to the determination. Applicant cites the original Abstract and original, unamended claims as supporting the amended claims as they are currently written. However, the original Abstract, and original, unamended claims, at best, disclose:
a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) “transmitting an SL (sidelink)-PRS (positioning reference signal) transmission/reception request indicating…[a] destination ID [(identification)] to at least one other WTRU requesting the at least one other WTRU to transmit SL-PRS.”
While a request requesting at least one other WTRU to transmit SL-PRS is undoubtably disclosed, and the request is undoubtably disclosed as including an indication, the disclosed indication is disclosed as indicating a destination ID, not the currently claimed “indication indicating of whether the request is initiating an SL-PRS transmission by at least one other WTRU or an SL-PRS reception by the at least one other WTRU” (emphasis added).
While a request requesting at least one other WTRU to transmit SL-PRS is undoubtably disclosed, such a disclosed request does not necessarily (i.e., inherently) include an indication of whether the request is initiating anything, let alone be an indication of whether the request is initiating an SL-PRS transmission or reception by one other WTRU. As provided in the original disclosure, the request disclosed is not specifically described as initiating anything. The scope of the original disclosure of the request at issue encompasses a request to continue SL-PRS transmission or reception by another WTRU. No portion of the original disclosure has been cited or otherwise found to specifically disclose a request including an indication that the request initiates SL-PRS transmission or reception, let alone disclose that the request initiates SL-PRS transmission or reception by another WTRU.
Even if the claims were amended to require the request to request SL-PRS transmission by another WTRU or SL-PRS reception by the other WTRU (e.g., by deleting all mention of the request including an indication indicating that the request initiates anything), such claims would still not by supported by the original disclosure, because no portion of the original disclosure has been cited or appears to otherwise disclose a request from a first WTRU transmitted to a second WTRU requesting the second WTRU to perform SL-PRS reception. Therefore, in order to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) provided below for lack of written description, the claimed request must not be claimed to initiate, and the request must not be claimed to be for SL-PRS reception by another WTRU.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pages 7-8 of Applicant Remarks that, in substance, the claims have been amended to remedy the indefiniteness issue highlighted in the Final Rejection of 28 April 2026, Examiner agrees. The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) for indefiniteness is withdrawn.
However, for the reasons provided above, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for lack of written description is maintained below.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 5, Line 2 — “TRPs” should be spelled out as “transmission and reception points (TRPs)”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claims 1 and 16, the original disclosure does not appear to disclose or describe a WTRU transmitting a request including an indication of the request initiating anything, let alone a request including an indication of the request initiating Sidelink (SL)-Position Reference Signal (PRS) transmission by another WTRU or the request initiating SL-PRS reception by the other WTRU. Further, the original disclosure does not appear to disclose or describe a WTRU transmitting a request requesting SL-PRS reception by another WTRU. At best, the original Abstract and original, unamended claims disclose a WTRU transmitting a request requesting SL-PRS transmission by another WTRU, but there is no disclosure of the request specifically including an indication of the request being for initiating SL-PRS transmission or reception by another WTRU.
Regarding Claims 2-15 and 17-20, by virtue of depending on claims 1 or 16, claims 2-15 and 17-20 at least inherit the deficiencies of their respective parent claims, and do not appear to remedy the deficiencies indicated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-13, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bao et al. (US 2022/0201774, hereinafter Bao).
Regarding Claim 1, Bao discloses a method for a wireless transmit and receive unit (WTRU) to provision sidelink (SL) positioning (Fig. 7 and ¶¶ 107-108 disclose a process and signal flow for determining position information including a sidelink connection being established between a target user equipment (UE) and an anchor UE; Fig. 6 and ¶ 100 discloses the target UE as including a processor connected to memory and an interface), the method comprising:
configuring the WTRU with a SL positioning service and an associated destination identification (ID) (Fig. 7 and ¶ 108 disclose a stage where SL-PRS-related data is requested and obtained via uplink/downlink connections; ¶ 110 further describes this stage disclose SL PRS-related data as including quasi co-location information (QCI), reference signal (RS) source ID, an expected Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) window, and SL PRS configuration information including information determined by the target UE itself or received from an external source (e.g., anchor UE, TRP, and/or server), and indicates a recommended RS source for use (i.e., a destination ID) by the target UE in determining an RSTD value, wherein the target UE may select an RS source from multiple candidate RS sources);
receiving at least one of a downlink (DL)-positioning reference signal (PRS) configuration and a measurement reporting configuration from a network (Fig. 7 and ¶ 110 disclose the target UE receiving SL PRS configuration information from an anchor UE, TRP and/or server);
transmitting a request using the destination ID (Fig. 7 and ¶ 109 disclose the target UE sending a SL PRS-related data request to an anchor UE directly or indirectly; ¶ 113 discloses the target UE sending a trigger message to the anchor message to trigger transmission of an SL-PRS from the anchor UE to the target UE), the request including: (i) at least one parameter a selected from the group consisting of the received DL- PRS configuration, the received measurement reporting configuration, and a quality of service (QoS) of the SL positioning service (¶ 109 disclose the SL PRS-related data request as including SL PRS assistance data values (e.g., QCL values, expected RSTD [window], uncertainty (a type of QoS value), and/or SL PRS configuration data values); and (ii) an indication of whether the request is initiating an SL-PRS transmission by at least one other WTRU or an SL-PRS reception by the at least one other WTRU (¶ 113 discloses the trigger message as triggering the transmission of SL PRS by the anchor UE to the target UE and vice versa); and
in response to determining that the request is initiating an SL-PRS transmission for the at least one other WTRU, performing an SL-PRS measurement and reporting the SL-PRS measurement to the network (Fig. 7 and ¶ 113 disclose the target UE measuring the SL PRS received from the anchor UE; and ¶ 114 discloses the target UE sending measurement reports, including sending a measurement report to a server (apparently of a network) in response to the target UE receiving and measuring the SL PRS from the anchor UE).
Regarding Claim 2, Bao discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the receiving comprises receiving both the DL-PRS configuration and the measurement reporting configuration from the network (¶ 93 discloses a DL PRS transmission schedule may be provided to a UE (e.g., the target UE) to facilitate/enable the UE to measure the UL PRS; and ¶ 110 discloses the target UE obtaining SL PRS-related data including quasi co-location information (QCI), reference signal (RS) source ID, an expected Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) window, and SL PRS configuration information — any of which may be necessary to perform measurement and reporting as disclosed at ¶¶ 113-114).
Regarding Claim 3, Bao discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the at least one parameter includes at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of a validity time, a type of SL- PRS transmission request, a set of anchor WTRUs, a set of SL-PRS resources, a requested SL-PRS pattern, and a priority of the request (¶ 110 discloses the target UE obtaining SL PRS-related data including quasi co-location information (QCI), reference signal (RS) source ID, an expected Reference Signal Time Difference (RSTD) window (i.e., validity time), SL PRS configuration information, multiple recommended reference signal sources; ¶ 112 discloses the target UE being configured to apply one or more priority rules; and ¶ 113 discloses SL-PRS either being not a scheduled (i.e., triggering SL aperiodic transmission) or scheduled (i.e., triggering SL PRS periodic transmission)).
Regarding Claim 4, Bao discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the transmitting is based on at least one of the DL-PRS configuration, result of the DL-PRS measurement, and SL- PRS measurement (¶ 109 disclose the SL PRS request as based on a present SL PRS configuration not yielding adequate results (e.g., signal acquisition, measurement accuracy, etc.)).
Regarding Claim 7, Bao discloses the method of claim 4 wherein the transmitting is based on the SL-PRS measurement being less than a threshold (¶ 109 disclose the SL PRS request as based on a present SL PRS configuration not yielding adequate results (e.g., signal acquisition, measurement accuracy, etc.)).
Regarding Claim 9, Bao discloses the method of claim 1 wherein performing the SL-PRS measurement comprises performing measurements based on an SL-PRS and a DL PRS (¶ 113 discloses the trigger UE receiving DL PRS and SL PRS; and ¶¶ 114-115 disclose the target UE reporting measurements from the received PRSes and determining position information of the target UE).
Regarding Claim 10, Bao discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising reporting SL- PRS measurements and associated anchor WTRU IDs (¶ 110 discloses the target UE selecting from multiple recommended reference signal sources, and different entities may provide values of different SL PRS-related data parameters (e.g., with a transmission pattern and/or muting pattern being provided by one or more TRPs and QCL parameter values being provided by the target UE and/or the anchor UE (especially if the target UE and the anchor UE have an established SL connection)), wherein different portions of SL PRS-related data may be obtained by the target UE from multiple entities, e.g., the target UE, the anchor UE, a first TRP, a second TRP, and/or the server, and/or one or more other entities; and ¶ 114 discloses the target UE sending a measurement report including SL PRS measurements — thus, at least implying that the target UE’s measurement report sent to the server may include measurements indicative of reference signals from multiple anchor UEs).
Regarding Claim 11, Bao discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising receiving, from a base station, configuration information configuring the WTRU for DL- PRS reception and SL-PRS reception (Fig. 7 and ¶ 113 disclose the trigger UE receiving DL PRS and SL PRS; and ¶¶ 114-115 disclose the target UE reporting measurements from the received PRSes and determining position information of the target UE).
Regarding Claim 12, Bao discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the transmitted request includes one of aperiodic and periodic SL-PRS transmission (¶ 113 discloses SL-PRS either being not a scheduled (i.e., triggering SL aperiodic transmission) or scheduled (i.e., triggering SL PRS periodic transmission)).
Regarding Claim 13, Bao discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the transmitted request includes at least one parameter selected from the group consisting of a set of anchor WTRUs, a set of SL-PRS resources, a requested SL-PRS pattern, and a priority of the request (¶ 110 disclose the target UE selecting from multiple recommended reference signal sources; and ¶ 112 discloses the target UE selecting SL PRS-related data values from among multiple values obtained for the same parameter including a transmission pattern and muting pattern).
Regarding Claims 16-18 and 20, though of varying scope, the limitations of claims 16-18 and 20 are substantially similar or identical to those of claims 1, 3-4 and 9, and are rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bao et al. (US 2023/0422200, hereinafter Bao’).
Regarding Claim 5, Bao discloses the method of claim 4.
Bao may not explicitly disclose wherein the transmitting is based on the DL-PRS configuration including a number of TRPs being smaller than a threshold.
However, in analogous art, Bao’ discloses wherein the transmitting is based on the DL-PRS configuration including a number of TRPs being smaller than a threshold (Fig. 7 and ¶ 113 disclose the target UE indicating that the number of TRPs visible to the target UE is insufficient for positioning).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Bao' to modify Bao in order to trigger SL PRS based on an insufficient number of TRPs near the target UE. One would have been motivated to do this, because seeking positioning reference signals from peer devices may help improve the positioning accuracy of a target UE (Bao’ ¶ 32).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Duan et al. (US 2024/0298288, hereinafter Duan).
Regarding Claim 6, Bao discloses the method of claim 4.
Bao may not explicitly disclose wherein the transmitting is based on the result of the DL-PRS measurement being less than a threshold.
However, in analogous art, Duan discloses wherein the transmitting is based on the result of the DL-PRS measurement being less than a threshold (Fig. 21 and ¶ 267 discloses DL and SL PRS measurement; ¶ 242 discloses DL-PRS needing to meet a threshold quality in order to be measured).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Duan to modify Bao in order to have a target UE perform SL-PRS measurement in the case that DL-PRS measurements do not reach a threshold quality. One would have been motivated to do this, because seeking SL-PRS measurement in such a case may help improve positioning accuracy (Duan ¶ 98), and improve device efficiency (Duan ¶ 240).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Baek et al. (US 2024/0031975), at Fig. 16 and associated description, discloses a process of performing network-based positioning using a relay UE and SL-PRS; and
Bao et al. (US 2022/0077990), at Fig. 17, ¶ 167 and other associated description, discloses a first UE determining that an insufficient number of gNBs are available for providing DL-PRS to measure for positioning.
/Thomas R Cairns/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468