DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims 3,4,7,10,14, in the submission filed 4/21/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
New Claims 25-30, are acknowledged and accepted.
Pending Claims are 1-14,17-21,23-30. Claims 15,16,22, were canceled previously.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments (Remarks, filed 4/21/2026) regarding 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection, have been considered, but, respectfully, are found to be only partially persuasive.
(i) The antecedent for "the image" is provided by the earlier recitation of "a three-dimensional image" in the same claim, and the modifier "across" is used in its ordinary spatial sense to refer to the spatial extent of that three-dimensional image. Notably, the claim does not read "varying across the layer," as the Examiner appears to be suggesting might be an alternative interpretation.
The limitation “the image” lacks antecedent basis and must be replaced with –the three-dimensional image--. It is still not clear as to which image it is referring to. It is not clear whether it is the three-dimensional image or the image in the image layer. The Applicant has not amended to include “the three-dimensional image”.
(ii) when read in light of the Specification and the dependent claims, the phrase
"wherein each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image" has a clear meaning to a person of ordinary skill in the art: each image layer includes depth data that encodes and reflects variation in depth across the three-dimensional image being represented. The phrase does not render the claim indefinite, nor does it invite a construction that strips the limitation of patentable weight.
The opinion in In re Hiniker Co., 47 USPQ2d 1523 (Fed. Cir. 1998) stated "...the name of the game is the claim. See Giles Sutherland Rich, Extent of Protection and Interpretation of Claims--American Perspectives, 21 Int'l Rev. Indus. Prop.& Copyright L. 497, 499 (1990) (“The U.S. is strictly an examination country and the main purpose of the examination, to which every application is subjected, is to try to make sure that what each claim defines is patentable. To coin a phrase, the name of the game is the claim.”)."
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. The claim language has to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the Applicant regards as the invention. In this case as the limitation states "wherein each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image" and does not clearly state that image values at different depths across the three-dimensional image are included in each image layer. The limitation seems to suggest that depth slices are being taken or image values at each different or varied depth across the three-dimensional image are included in each different image layer.
(iii) This construction is further confirmed by dependent claim 3, which expressly recites that the layered representation (which is made up of the plurality of image layers) comprises, for each location of the digital hologram, a plurality of depth values, each representing spatial coordinates of a point along a line at an intersection of the line and a surface of an object in the three- dimensional image. Claim 3 makes explicit what is implicit in claim 1.
An implicit recitation of the features of the invention is not defining the invention distinctly and clearly in the base claim and is failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim applicant’s invention. Recitation of the important features of the invention in claim 3 does not lead to clarity of the recited limitations in claim 1.
Hence, the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is modified and upheld.
Applicant's arguments (Remarks, filed 4/21/2026) have been considered, but, respectfully, are not found persuasive.
Re: Claim 1:
i) The inventors' explicit discussion of Hao in the application underscores that Applicant understood the capabilities and limitations of that work at the time of filing, and deliberately departed from it.
The opinion in In re Hiniker Co., 47 USPQ2d 1523 (Fed. Cir. 1998) stated "...the name of the game is the claim. See Giles Sutherland Rich, Extent of Protection and Interpretation of Claims--American Perspectives , 21 Int'l Rev. Indus. Prop.& Copyright L. 497, 499 (1990) (“The U.S. is strictly an examination country and the main purpose of the examination, to which every application is subjected, is to try to make sure that what each claim defines is patentable. To coin a phrase, the name of the game is the claim.”)."
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. The claim language has to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the Applicant regards as the invention. In this case as the limitation states "wherein each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image" and does not clearly state that image values at different depths across the three-dimensional image are included in each image layer.
(ii) Claim 1 recites that the layered representation comprises a plurality of image layers, and that each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the three-dimensional image. The claim therefore requires a per-layer property: each individual image layer, considered by itself, must comprise depth data that varies across the three-dimensional image. Variation in depth between different layers does not satisfy this limitation, because the limitation does not say that the plurality of layers, taken together, comprises varying depth data. It says that each of the layers does. In Hao, however, each individual layer is depth-constant by construction, with a single fixed depth associated with all spatial locations within that layer. The variation in depth in Hao arises only when one moves from one layer to another.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the three-dimensional image) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The current claim does not recite that “the three-dimensional image comprises varying depth data and each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image layer.”
Although the cited reference(s) is/are different from the invention disclosed by Applicant, the language of Applicant's claims is sufficiently broad to reasonably read on the cited reference(s).
In this case the limitation states "wherein each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image" and does not clearly state that image values at different depths across the three-dimensional image are included in each image layer. The limitation seems to suggest that depth slices are being taken or image values at each different or varied depth across the three-dimensional image are included in each different image layer. Hao teaches image slices at different depths of the three-dimensional image and the depth data comprising image values varies across the 3d image. Hence Hao teaches that the depth data varies across the 3d image and across the depth image layers.
(iii) the present claims require accepting a layered representation in which, for each location, each image layer comprises varying depth data across the image, rather than a fixed-depth slab. As explained in the specification, this distinction is fundamental: the claimed layered representation preserves multiple depth samples along a given line of sight within a single layer, enabling subsequent processing that is not possible in Hao's slab-based formulation. The application expressly contrasts this with Hao's approach, which assigns scene content to discrete depth planes with a single depth interval and therefore loses intra-layer depth variation.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the claimed layered representation preserves multiple depth samples along a given line of sight within a single layer) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The limitation states "wherein each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image" and does not clearly state that image values at different depths across the three-dimensional image are preserved in each image layer. The limitation seems to suggest that image values at each different or varied depth across the three-dimensional image are included in each different image layer. Hao teaches image slices at different depths of the three-dimensional image and the depth data comprising image values varies across the 3d image. Hence Hao teaches that the depth data varies across the 3d image and across the depth image layers.
(iv) The Office Action appears to equate Hao's disclosure that the "number of layers ... is set to N, which locate at the depth range of the 3D scene" with the limitation that "each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image." That equivalence is not correct. Hao's disclosure of multiple parallel slices establishes only that different slices are positioned at different depths. It does not establish that the slices themselves comprise depth data that varies across the three-dimensional image, as required by the claim. In Hao, depth is not encoded as data across the image; it is fixed per layer and external to the image content of that layer. Hao therefore discloses a fundamentally different type of representation than the one required by claim 1.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the slices themselves comprise depth data that varies across the three-dimensional image) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The limitation states "wherein each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image" and does not clearly state the image layers themselves comprise depth data that varies across the three-dimensional image and across the image layer. The limitation seems to suggest that image values at each different or varied depth across the three-dimensional image are included in each different image layer. Hao teaches image slices at different depths of the three-dimensional image and the depth data comprising image values varies across the 3d image. Hence Hao teaches that the depth data varies across the 3d image and across the depth image layers.
(v) Claim 2 further confirms this understanding, but is not required to reach this conclusion.
Hao teaches that the depth data varies across the 3d image and across the depth image layers. Yoon was utilized to teach that each image layer comprises a color channel and a depth channel. Combination of Hao-Yoon teaches the limitations of claim 2.
Re: 103 rejections
Re: claims 2,4:
(vi) Yoon's depth channel is used to support view synthesis and decoding in a video coding pipeline, not to represent depth data for forming a digital hologram. The Examiner has not articulated a reason why a person of ordinary skill in the art would have modified Hao's slab-based hologram computation to incorporate Yoon's RGB-D image structures, particularly where Hao's algorithm is expressly designed to operate on depth-constant layers rather than on image layers carrying per-pixel depth data.
Yoon was utilized because it teaches layered depth image LDI and hence is related to Hao which teaches a layered 3d image. Yoon solves a similar problem of depth slices representation of a 3d image. Yoo and Hao are in the same field of endeavor. Also, Examiner provided reason to combine (i.e., for the purpose of utilizing techniques in multi-view video coding for a variety applications such as 3D TV and home entertainment (page 31, sec 1, 1st para), please see the previous Office Action page 10. Applicant has merely alleged that no reason was provided or no reason exists, and has not provided any evidence or argument directed to how the identified reason in the first action fails to meet the legal requirements of a reason to combine as set forth by KSR.
(vii) combining Yoon's RGB-D image representation with Hao's layer-based CGH processing would require more than routine substitution.
Applicant's assertion that combining Yoon-Hao requires more than routine substitution is merely an argument unaccompanied by evidentiary support, and, thus, is insufficient to rebut Examiner's finding of obviousness. Arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.”). MPEP §§ 2145, 2129, 2144.03, 716.01(c).
Re: claims 8,10-11:
(viii) In Chakravarthula, the hologram is the optimization variable and the CNN is part of the objective function used to evaluate that variable. In claim 8, the layered representation is the input to a neural network whose output is, or is used to compute, the digital hologram. Chakravarthula nowhere discloses or suggests this inverted architecture. The Examiner's mapping conflates the role of CNNs as loss parameterizers in Chakravarthula with the claimed role of CNNs as forward generators that operate on a layered representation of a three-dimensional image to produce a hologram.
Chakravarthula teaches computation of high quality phase only holograms to be displayed on a SLM and formulate the computation as a general optimization problem (para 103). The hologram computation is formulated as a solution to a non-convex error minimization problem (eq 8, para 105) which is solved using first-order optimization algorithms. Wirtinger gradient approximation is used for calculating the gradient of the objective of eq 8 and facilitates including CNN based loss functions for the calculation (para 80,114).
Chakravarthula also teaches that the Wirtinger holography framework can be extended to computing 3D holograms in a multi-layered approach (para 160). A 3D model of the scene can be remapped into multiple depth planes and hologram computing to each can be computed as recited by Wirtinger holography or all the depth planes can be optimized jointly by Wirtinger holography. Either method uses deep neural networks for the Wirtinger gradient objective calculation including CNN based loss functions.
Hence Chakravarthula teaches the depth planes or layered representation is the input to a neural network whose output is, or is used to compute, the digital hologram.
(ix) Chakravarthula's discussion of extending the Wirtinger framework to volumetric scenes ( [0132], [0160]) does not change this analysis. Those passages describe slicing or voxelizing the 3D scene into multiple depth planes and computing a hologram for each plane separately by the same per-scene optimization, then superposing the per-plane holograms. They describe a representation of the scene used as input to the Wirtinger optimization, not a neural network that takes a layered representation as input and outputs a hologram.
Applicant's assertion that Chakravarthuls does not teach a neural network that takes a layered representation as input and outputs a hologram is merely an argument unaccompanied by evidentiary support, and, thus, is insufficient to rebut Examiner's finding of obviousness. Arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.”). MPEP §§ 2145, 2129, 2144.03, 716.01(c).
Chakravarthula teaches that the Wirtinger holography framework can be extended to computing 3D holograms in a multi-layered approach (para 160). A 3D model of the scene can be remapped into multiple depth planes and hologram computing to each can be computed as recited by Wirtinger holography or all the depth planes can be optimized jointly by Wirtinger holography. Either method uses deep neural networks for the Wirtinger gradient objective calculation including CNN based loss functions. The Wirtinger objective is part of Eq 8 in para 131
Hence Chakravarthula teaches the depth planes or layered representation is the input to a neural network whose output is used to compute, the digital hologram.
Re: Claim 9:
(x) Maimone discloses double-phase encoding as a direct, non-iterative encoding technique applied to a complex hologram to produce a phase-only hologram suitable for display. Maimone does not disclose or suggest using a neural network to generate a double-phase hologram, nor does Maimone disclose integrating double-phase encoding into a neural-network-based hologram generation pipeline operating on a layered depth representation of a three-dimensional image.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Hao teaches forming a digital hologram from a layered representation of a 3D image, comprising a plurality of image layers and that the depth data varies across the 3d image and across the depth image layers. Chakravarthula teaches using a neural network to generate a digital hologram wherein the depth planes or layered representation is the input to the neural network whose output is used to compute, the digital hologram. Maimone is used to teach that the digital hologram is encoded as double-phase encoding. Hence combined Hao-Chakravarthula-Maimone teach the method of generating the digital hologram of claim 9.
(xi) The Examiner's combination would require a person of ordinary skill in the art to (i) depart from Hao's depth-constant slicing representation, (ii) adopt a layered representation that encodes varying depth data of a three-dimensional image, (iii) further modify that pipeline to generate a hologram using a neural network as in claim 8, and then (iv) incorporate Maimone's double-phase encoding into that neural-network-based process
Applicant’s arguments of the unworkability of the combination, due to modifications of the art, appear to be based on a literal application of the actual method of Maimone and Chakravarthula to the actual method of Hao. However, that is not the proper standard for the analysis required under 35 USC 103(a). The test for obviousness is not whether the claimed method must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Re: Claim 12:
(xi) Peng does not disclose a first neural network that generates a complex hologram from a layered depth representation of a three-dimensional image, followed by a second neural network that further processes that complex hologram as recited in claim 12.
The Examiner's proposed combination would require a person of ordinary skill in the art to substantially restructure Hao's slab-based hologram computation, replace its depth-constant slicing representation with a layered representation encoding varying depth data of a three- dimensional image, introduce neural-network-based hologram generation as in Chakravarthula, and then further incorporate Peng's camera-in-the-loop training concepts to arrive at the specific two-CNN pipeline recited in claim 12.
Applicant’s arguments of the unworkability of the combination, due to modifications of the art, appear to be based on a literal application of the actual method of Peng and Chakravarthula to the actual method of Hao. However, that is not the proper standard for the analysis required under 35 USC 103(a). The test for obviousness is not whether the claimed method must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art.
Firstly, the limitation "wherein each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image" in claim 1 does not clearly state the image layers themselves comprise depth data that varies across the three-dimensional image and across the image layer. The limitation seems to suggest that image values at each different or varied depth across the three-dimensional image are included in each different image layer. Hao teaches image slices at different depths of the three-dimensional image and the depth data comprising image values varies across the 3d image. Hence Hao teaches that the depth data varies across the 3d image and across the depth image layers.
Chakravarthula teaches that the Wirtinger holography framework can be extended to computing 3D holograms in a multi-layered approach (para 160). A 3D model of the scene can be remapped into multiple depth planes and hologram computing to each can be computed as recited by Wirtinger holography or all the depth planes can be optimized jointly by Wirtinger holography. Either method uses deep neural networks for the Wirtinger gradient objective calculation including CNN based loss functions. The Wirtinger objective is part of Eq 8 in para 131. Hence Chakravarthula teaches neural-network-based hologram generation.
Peng teaches producing a first complex hologram with the first CNN and applying a second CNN to the first complex hologram to output the desired digital hologram.
Hao, Chakravarthula and Peng teach that it is common in the art to use a layered representation of a three-dimensional image and to generate a digital hologram from the three-dimensional image using first and second CNNs and combined Hao-Chakravarthula-Peng teach the limitations of the claim.
(xii) Examiner has not identified any passage in Peng that teaches producing a first complex hologram with a first CNN and then applying a second CNN to that complex hologram to produce the claimed output, particularly for layered depth representations.
The previous office action identified on Page 17, that Peng teaches producing a first hologram with a first CNN and applying a second CNN to the first complex hologram to produce an output of the digital hologram.
Re: Claims 14,17-19:
(xiii) Chakravarthula does not teach a supervised training framework, each training g item comprises an input (layered representation) paired with a target (function of encoding a target hologram) and configurable parameters determined by matching functions of encodings to the target functions. Chakravarthula teaches pre-scene optimization, does not teach training of parameters
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a supervised training framework) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Chakravarthula teaches that the Wirtinger holography framework can be extended to computing 3D holograms in a multi-layered approach (para 160). A 3D model of the scene can be remapped into multiple depth planes and hologram computing to each can be computed as recited by Wirtinger holography or all the depth planes can be optimized jointly by Wirtinger holography. Either method uses deep neural networks for the Wirtinger gradient objective calculation including CNN based loss functions. The Wirtinger objective is part of Eq 8 in para 131. Chakravarthula teaches (para 80, 118, 128, 129,138) that a loss function based on neural network based learned perceptual error metric is used and this indicates a training framework.
xiv) Chakravarthula’s learned perceptual loss refers to a pre-existing perceptual similarity network used as a component of the objective function during per scene hologram optimization. It is not a training hologram -generation network on a training dataset pairs. It is upstream of and orthogonal to the hologram generation procedure, it parametrizes the objective rather than being trained as the generator.
Chakravarthula teaches that the Wirtinger holography framework can be extended to computing 3D holograms in a multi-layered approach (para 160). Deep neural networks for the Wirtinger gradient objective calculation in Eq 8 (para 131) for computation of a hologram, are used including CNN based perceptual loss functions. The learned loss function approach is a part of the hologram gradient calculation (Eq. 8) which is a part of the computation and generation of the target hologram.
xv) Maimone does not teach using functions of double phase-encodings as training targets for neural networks nor determining parameters by matching such functions to target functions derived from layered representations.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Chakravarthula teaches using training data comprising a plurality of training items (learned perceptual loss functions, para 83) each training item comprising a layered representation of a three-dimensional image (Wirtinger holography for 3D holograms in a multilayered approach, para 160) and determining said values of the configurable parameters to match predictions of said functions using said one or more neural networks (perceptual loss functions, para 83, these match the training data set with the output values and determine loss function to determine proximity to the target image). Maimone is used to teach determining a corresponding function of a double-phase encoding of a target hologram. Hence combined Chakravarthula-Maimone teach the method of the claim.
xvi) Examiner has not articulated why a phosita would have combined Chakravarthula’s optimization framework with Maimone’s double phase encoding technique
A reason to combine (i.e., for the purpose of utilizing common non-iterative direct encoding methods of computing holograms for improving contrast), was provided, please see the previous Office Action page 19. Applicant has merely alleged that no reason was provided or no reason exists, and has not provided any evidence or argument directed to how the identified reason in the first action fails to meet the legal requirements of a reason to combine as set forth by KSR.
In view of the above arguments, the rejection of claims is upheld.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13, 23-26,28-30, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1,23,24, recite “wherein each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
It is not clear whether the image refers to the three-dimensional image or the image layers. From the current specification (page 2), it appears that the image layers represent varying depth data across the three-dimensional image. For the purpose of examination, “the image” is interpreted to be the three-dimensional image.
Claims 2-13,25,26,28,30, are dependent on claim 1 and hence inherit its deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,3,5-7,23,24, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hao et al (Computer-generated hologram with occlusion effect using layer-based processing, Date:03-23-2017, Applied Optics, Vol 56, No. 13, pages F138-F143, of record).
Regarding Claim 1, Hao teaches (fig 1, 4a, b) a method for generating a digital hologram (layer-based algorithm with single viewpoint rendering geometry is proposed to calculate a full parallax CGH with occlusion effect, L col, last para, page F139) comprising:
accepting a layered representation (slicing geometry of the 3D scene, number of layers in the figure is set to N, which locate at the depth range of the 3D scene, R col, 1st para, page F140) of a three-dimensional image (3D scene, fig 1), wherein the layered representation of the three-dimensional image comprises a plurality of image layers (N layers, fig 4), and wherein each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image (number of layers in the figure is set to N, which locate at the depth range of the 3D scene, R col, 1st para, page F140); and
forming the digital hologram (CGH1, page F141, R col, 3rd para) from the layered representation (layer-based algorithm, fig 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Hao teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the layered representation (slicing geometry of the 3D scene, number of layers in the figure is set to N, which locate at the depth range of the 3D scene, R col, 1st para, page F140) of the three-dimensional image (3D scene, fig 1) comprises, for each location of the digital hologram (CGH1, page F141, R col, 3rd para), a plurality of depth values each representing spatial coordinates of a point along a line at an intersection of the line and a surface of an object (3D object, fig 1) in the three-dimensional image (3D scene, fig 1) (depth values of layer L1 to Ln are along a line perpendicular to the hologram plane as in fig 4 and each depth value is the intersection of this line with a surface of the 3D object in the 3D scene, fig 4, see eq 1, page F140).
Regarding Claim 5, Hao teaches the method of claim 1,
further comprising determining (“During the rendering procedure, shading and depth images can be fetched from the corresponding viewpoint”, “According to the depth image, the 3D scene can be sliced into multiple parallel layers”, page F139, R col, Sec 2) the layered representation (slicing geometry of the 3D scene, number of layers in the figure is set to N, which locate at the depth range of the 3D scene, R col, 1st para, page F140) of the three-dimensional image (3D scene, fig 1).
Regarding Claim 6, Hao teaches the method of claim 5,
further comprising determining a direction of view (“During the rendering procedure, shading and depth images can be fetched from the corresponding viewpoint”, page F139, R col, Sec 2, viewpoint indicates a direction of view), and wherein determining (“During the rendering procedure, shading and depth images can be fetched from the corresponding viewpoint”, “According to the depth image, the 3D scene can be sliced into multiple parallel layers”, page F139, R col, Sec 2) the layered representation (slicing geometry of the 3D scene, number of layers in the figure is set to N, which locate at the depth range of the 3D scene, R col, 1st para, page F140) depends on said direction of view (“layer-based algorithm with single-viewpoint rendering geometry”, page F139, L col, last para, this indicates that the dependence on the viewpoint).
Regarding Claim 7, Hao teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein forming the digital hologram (layer-based algorithm with single viewpoint rendering geometry is proposed to calculate a full parallax CGH with occlusion effect, L col, last para, page F139) comprises iterating through a sequence of present planes with successive depths (“After propagation calculations from Nth layer to the first layer of the 3D scene”, Eq (1)-Eq(5) pages F140-141) each iteration including one or more operations of:
(i) for points in the layered representation for which a depth of the point maps to a depth of the present plane, generating a contribution to complex amplitude distribution based on an intensity of the point in the layered representation (The complex amplitude distribution of the Nth layer is Eq (1), “An(x,y) is the amplitude distribution of the layer”, page F140, R col);
(ii) propagating a previously generated complex amplitude distribution to the present plane (After propagation from the Nth layer to N-1th layer, the complex amplitude distribution on the N-1th layer”, pages F140-141);
(iii) masking a contribution from a prior plane according to a mask based on points that map to the present plane (“The complex amplitude distribution on the N-1th plane is then multiplied by the silhouette mask Mn-1”, page F141, L col), and
(iv) combining contributions of points whose depths map to the depth of the present and masked propagation of contributions from prior layers (“By mask filtering of all the sliced layers, the contribution areas of all the hidden primitives on the hologram plane are calculated”, page F141, R col).
Regarding Claim 23, Hao teaches (fig 1, 4a, b) a digital processor (algorithm, page F139, this indicates a digital processor) configured to generating a digital hologram (layer-based algorithm with single viewpoint rendering geometry is proposed to calculate a full parallax CGH with occlusion effect, L col, last para, page F139) by:
accepting a layered representation (slicing geometry of the 3D scene, number of layers in the figure is set to N, which locate at the depth range of the 3D scene, R col, 1st para, page F140) of a three-dimensional image (3D scene, fig 1), wherein the layered representation of the three-dimensional image comprises a plurality of image layers (N layers, fig 4), and wherein each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image (number of layers in the figure is set to N, which locate at the depth range of the 3D scene, R col, 1st para, page F140); and
forming the digital hologram (CGH1, page F141, R col, 3rd para) from the layered representation (layer-based algorithm, fig 5).
Regarding Claim 24, Hao teaches (fig 1, 4a, b) a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions stored thereon, execution of said instructions by a digital processor (algorithm, page F139, this indicates a computer with a digital processor) causing said processor to generating a digital hologram (layer-based algorithm with single viewpoint rendering geometry is proposed to calculate a full parallax CGH with occlusion effect, L col, last para, page F139) by:
accepting a layered representation (slicing geometry of the 3D scene, number of layers in the figure is set to N, which locate at the depth range of the 3D scene, R col, 1st para, page F140) of a three-dimensional image (3D scene, fig 1), wherein the layered representation of the three-dimensional image comprises a plurality of image layers (N layers, fig 4), and wherein each of the image layers comprises varying depth data across the image (number of layers in the figure is set to N, which locate at the depth range of the 3D scene, R col, 1st para, page F140); and
forming the digital hologram (CGH1, page F141, R col, 3rd para) from the layered representation (layer-based algorithm, fig 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2,4, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al (Computer-generated hologram with occlusion effect using layer-based processing, Date:03-23-2017, Applied Optics, Vol 56, No. 13, pages F138-F143, of record) in view of Yoon et al (A Framework for Multi-view Video coding Using layered Depth images, PCM 2005, Part I, Springer, LNCS 3767, pp 431-442, Nov 13 2005, of record).
Regarding Claim 2, Hao teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Hao does not teach
wherein each image layer comprises an image comprising at least one color channel and a depth channel.
Hao and Yoon are related as depth layers.
Yoon teaches (fig 1)
wherein each image layer (layers of layered depth image LDI, page 433, sec 3) comprises an image comprising at least one color channel and a depth channel (“each layered depth pixel has different number of depth pixels, which contain color and depth information”, page 433, sec 3, last para).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the image layer of Hao to include the color and depth image of Yoon for the purpose of utilizing techniques in multi-view video coding for a variety applications such as 3D TV and home entertainment (page 31, sec 1, 1st para).
Regarding Claim 4, Hao teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Hao does not teach
wherein the layered representation of the three-dimensional image further comprises for each location of the digital hologram a plurality of image values each representing intensity of one or more color channels at a point along the line at an intersection of the line and the surface of the object in the three- dimensional image.
Hao and Yoon are related as depth layers.
Yoon teaches (fig 1)
wherein the layered representation (layered depth image LDI, page 433) of the three-dimensional image (3-D scene or object, fig 1, page 433) further comprises a plurality of image values each representing intensity of one or more color channels at a point (intersecting points, page 433, 2nd para) along the line at an intersection of the line and the surface of the object (points in the three- dimensional image (3-D scene or object, fig 1, page 433).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the layered representation of Hao to include plurality of image values of Yoon for the purpose of utilizing techniques in multi-view video coding for a variety of applications such as 3D TV and home entertainment (page 31, sec 1, 1st para).
Claim(s) 8,10-11, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al (Computer-generated hologram with occlusion effect using layer-based processing, Date:03-23-2017, Applied Optics, Vol 56, No. 13, pages F138-F143, of record) in view of Chakravarthula et al (US 2020/0192287 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Hao teaches the method of claim 1.
However, Hao does not teach
wherein forming the digital hologram from the layered representation comprises processing said layered representation using at least one neural network to generate the digital hologram.
Hao and Chakravarthula are related as digital hologram and layered representations.
Chakravarthula teaches (fig 4)
wherein forming the digital hologram from the layered representation (“our optimization framework can be extended to 3D volumetric scenes. One can slice the 3D scene into multiple depth planes and superpose all complex holograms corresponding to each depth plane, thereby forming a true 3D hologram”, “One option is to generate 2D holograms approximating spatially variant focus by fast depth switching”, para 132 “The proposed Wirtinger holography framework can be extended to computing 3D holograms in a multi-layered or multi-focal approach. Given a 3D model or the scene data, one can voxelize and remap it into multiple depth planes. The hologram corresponding to each depth plane can be computed separately and all holograms can be later superposed to generate a complex hologram of the 3D scene”, para 160) comprises processing said layered representation using at least one neural network to generate the digital hologram (“We obtain the gradient for the loss function component (i.e., Part I of Equation 9) from backpropagation in TensorFlow, especially for losses parameterized by convolutional neural networks”, para 118).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing of layered representation of Hao to include neural network of Chakravarthula for the purpose of utilizing common optimization techniques in generating holograms and for parametrizing learned losses (para 79).
Regarding Claim 10, Hao-Chakravarthula teaches the method of claim 8.
However, Hao does not teach
wherein processing the layered representation of a three- dimension image using the at least one neural network comprises applying a first convolutional neural network (CNN) to an input based on the layered representation.
Hao and Chakravarthula are related as digital hologram and layered representations.
Chakravarthula teaches (fig 4)
wherein processing the layered representation of a three- dimension image (“our optimization framework can be extended to 3D volumetric scenes. One can slice the 3D scene into multiple depth planes and superpose all complex holograms corresponding to each depth plane, thereby forming a true 3D hologram”, “One option is to generate 2D holograms approximating spatially variant focus by fast depth switching”, para 132 “The proposed Wirtinger holography framework can be extended to computing 3D holograms in a multi-layered or multi-focal approach. Given a 3D model or the scene data, one can voxelize and remap it into multiple depth planes. The hologram corresponding to each depth plane can be computed separately and all holograms can be later superposed to generate a complex hologram of the 3D scene”, para 160) using the at least one neural network comprises applying a first convolutional neural network (“We obtain the gradient for the loss function component (i.e., Part I of Equation 9) from backpropagation in TensorFlow, especially for losses parameterized by convolutional neural networks”, para 118) (CNN) to an input based on the layered representation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing of layered representation of Hao to include CNN of Chakravarthula for the purpose of utilizing common optimization techniques in generating holograms and for parametrizing learned losses (para 79).
Regarding Claim 11, Hao-Chakravarthula teaches the method of claim 10.
However, Hao does not teach
wherein applying said first CNN comprises applying said first CNN to an input comprising at least one of the layered representation and a function of said layered representation, and producing an output comprising at least one of said digital hologram and data from which said digital hologram is computed.
Hao and Chakravarthula are related as digital hologram and layered representations.
Chakravarthula teaches (fig 4)
wherein applying said first CNN (“We obtain the gradient for the loss function component (i.e., Part I of Equation 9) from backpropagation in TensorFlow, especially for losses parameterized by convolutional neural networks”, para 118) comprises
applying said first CNN to an input comprising at least one of the layered representation and a function of said layered representation (“our optimization framework can be extended to 3D volumetric scenes. One can slice the 3D scene into multiple depth planes and superpose all complex holograms corresponding to each depth plane, thereby forming a true 3D hologram”, “One option is to generate 2D holograms approximating spatially variant focus by fast depth switching”, para 132 “The proposed Wirtinger holography framework can be extended to computing 3D holograms in a multi-layered or multi-focal approach. Given a 3D model or the scene data, one can voxelize and remap it into multiple depth planes. The hologram corresponding to each depth plane can be computed separately and all holograms can be later superposed to generate a complex hologram of the 3D scene”, para 160), and
producing an output comprising at least one of said digital hologram and data from which said digital hologram is computed (“superpose all complex holograms corresponding to each depth plane, thereby forming a true 3D hologram”, para 160).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the processing of layered representation of Hao to include steps of applying said first CNN to an input and producing an output of a hologram of Chakravarthula for the purpose of utilizing common optimization techniques in generating holograms and for parametrizing learned losses (para 79).
Claim(s) 9, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al (Computer-generated hologram with occlusion effect using layer-based processing, Date:03-23-2017, Applied Optics, Vol 56, No. 13, pages F138-F143, of record) in view of Chakravarthula et al (US 2020/0192287 A1) and further in view of Maimone et al (Holographic Near-eye displays for virtual and augmented reality, ACM transactions on Graphics, Vol 36, No 4, Article 85, pages 1-16, July 2017).
Regarding Claim 9, Hao-Chakravarthula teaches the method of claim 8.
However, Hao-Chakravarthula does not teach
wherein the digital hologram comprises a double-phase representation of said hologram.
Hao-Chakravarthula and Maimone are related as digital hologram.
Maimone teaches
wherein the digital hologram (phase only hologram, page 5, R col, 2nd para) comprises a double-phase representation of said hologram (“double phase”, page 5, R col, 2nd para).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the digital hologram of Hao-Chakravarthula to include a double phase hologram of Maimone for the purpose of utilizing common non-iterative direct encoding methods of computing holograms for improving contrast (page 6, L col, 3rd para)
Claim(s) 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hao et al (Computer-generated hologram with occlusion effect using layer-based processing, Date:03-23-2017, Applied Optics, Vol 56, No. 13, pages F138-F143, of record) in view of Chakravarthula et al (US 2020/0192287 A1) and further in view of Peng et al (Neural holography with camera-in-the-loop training, ACM Trans Graph, Vol 39, No 6, Article 185, pages 1-14, of record).
Regarding Claim 12, Hao-Chakravarthula teaches the method of claim 11.
However, Hao-Chakravarthula does not teach
further comprising producing a first complex hologram with the first CNN, and applying a second CNN to an input comprising at least one of the first complex hologram and a function of said first complex hologram, and producing an output of said second CNN comprising at least one of said digital hologram and data from which said digital hologram is computed.
Hao-Chakravarthula and Peng are related as generating holograms.
Peng teaches (fig 7)
further comprising producing a first complex hologram (complex-valued wave-field, page 9, sec 6) with the first CNN (target phase generator subnetwork, page 9, L col, sec 6), and applying a second CNN (phase encoder subnetwork, page 9, L col, sec 6) to an input comprising at least one of the first complex hologram (complex-valued wave-field, page 9, sec 6) and a function of said first complex hologram (complex-valued wave-field, page 9, sec 6), and producing an output of said second CNN (phase encoder subnetwork, page 9, L col, sec 6, un-diffracted light subnetwork, page 9, sec 6, R col) comprising at least one of said digital hologram and data from which said digital hologram is computed (phase only representation, sec 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generation of digital hologram of Hao-Chakravarthula to include a first and second CNNs of Peng for the purpose of high image quality (page 10, L col, 2nd para).
Claim(s) 14, 17-19, as best understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chakravarthula et al (US 2020/0192287 A1) in view of Maimone et al (Holographic Near-eye displays for virtual and augmented reality, ACM transactions on Graphics, Vol 36, No 4, Article 85, pages 1-16, July 2017).
Regarding Claim 14, Chakravarthula teaches (fig 4) a method for determining values of configurable parameters of the one or more neural network (“We obtain the gradient for the loss function component (i.e., Part I of Equation 9) from backpropagation in TensorFlow, especially for losses parameterized by convolutional neural networks”, para 118) for generating a digital hologram (complex hologram of the scene, para 160) comprises
using training data comprising a plurality of training items (“We validate the flexibility of the proposed phase retrieval method by modifying the objective with a learned perceptual loss”, para 83, learned indicates a training data set),
each training item comprising at least one of a layered representation (“our optimization framework can be extended to 3D volumetric scenes. One can slice the 3D scene into multiple depth planes and superpose all complex holograms corresponding to each depth plane, thereby forming a true 3D hologram”, “One option is to generate 2D holograms approximating spatially variant focus by fast depth switching”, para 132 “The proposed Wirtinger holography framework can be extended to computing 3D holograms in a multi-layered or multi-focal approach. Given a 3D model or the scene data, one can voxelize and remap it into multiple depth planes. The hologram corresponding to each depth plane can be computed separately and all holograms can be later superposed to generate a complex hologram of the 3D scene”, para 160) of a three-dimensional image (3D scene) and a function of said layered representation and
a corresponding function of encoding of a target hologram (complex hologram of the 3D scene ) determined based on said layered representation, and determining said values of the configurable parameters to match predictions of said functions of the encodings (phase encoding of hologram) determined using said one or more neural networks (“The proposed Wirtinger Holography is flexible and facilitates the use of different loss functions, including learned perceptual losses parametrized by deep neural networks”, para 80, 114, loss function, para 11, loss functions act as predictions of functions).
However, Chakravarthula does not teach
determining a corresponding function of a double-phase encoding of a target hologram
Chakravarthula and Maimone are related as digital hologram.
Maimone teaches
determining a corresponding function of a double-phase encoding (“double phase”, page 5, R col, 2nd para) of a target hologram (phase only hologram, page 5, R col, 2nd para).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the digital hologram of Hao-Chakravarthula to include a double phase hologram of Maimone for the purpose of utilizing common non-iterative direct encoding methods of computing holograms for improving contrast (page 6, L col, 3rd para).
Regarding Claim 17, Chakravarthula-Maimone teach the method of claim 14.
However, Chakravarthula does not teach
wherein determining the target hologram comprises determining said hologram to incorporate correction of a vision or lens characteristic.
Chakravarthula and Maimone are related as digital hologram.
Maimone teaches
wherein determining the target hologram (phase only hologram, page 5, R col, 2nd para) comprises determining said hologram to incorporate correction of a vision or lens characteristic (aberration correction, page 10, R col, 3rd para).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify determination of the digital hologram of Chakravarthula to include a vision or lens characteristic correction of Maimone for the purpose of utilizing common non-iterative direct encoding methods of computing holograms (para 28) for reducing aberrations (page 10, R col, 3rd para).
Regarding Claim 18, Chakravarthula-Maimone teach the method of claim 14.
However, Chakravarthula does not teach
wherein the function of a double-phase encoding comprises a focal stack of images.
Chakravarthula and Maimone are related as digital hologram.
Maimone teaches
wherein the function of a double-phase encoding (“double phase”, page 5, R col, 2nd para) comprises a focal stack of images (“A high speed option is to approximate spatially variant focus and aberration control by providing the correct lens function where the user is looking rather than computing or approximating the full spatially variant solution”, page 8, sec 3.1.7, 4th para).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify determination of the digital hologram of Chakravarthula to include a focal stack of images of Maimone for the purpose of utilizing common non-iterative direct encoding methods of computing holograms (para 28) for reducing aberrations (page 10, R col, 3rd para).
Regarding Claim 19, Chakravarthula-Maimone teach the method of claim 18.
However, Chakravarthula does not teach
comprising computing the focal stack to include a set of images determined at different focal lengths derived from the double-phase encoding.
Chakravarthula and Maimone are related as digital hologram.
Maimone teaches
comprising computing the focal stack (“A high speed option is to approximate spatially variant focus and aberration control by providing the correct lens function where the user is looking rather than computing or approximating the full spatially variant solution”, page 8, sec 3.1.7, 4th para) to include a set of images determined at different focal lengths derived from the double-phase encoding (“double phase”, page 5, R col, 2nd para).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify determination of the digital hologram of Chakravarthula to computing a focal stack of images of Maimone for the purpose of utilizing common non-iterative direct encoding methods of computing holograms (para 28) for reducing aberrations (page 10, R col, 3rd para).
Claim(s) 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Chakravarthula et al (US 2020/0192287 A1) in view of Maimone et al (Holographic Near-eye displays for virtual and augmented reality, ACM transactions on Graphics, Vol 36, No 4, Article 85, pages 1-16, July 2017) and further in view of Peng et al (Neural holography with camera-in-the-loop training, ACM Trans Graph, Vol 39, No 6, Article 185, pages 1-14, of record).
Regarding Claim 20, Chakravarthula-Maimone teach the method of claim 14.
However, Chakravarthula-Maimone does not teach
wherein the one or more neural networks include a first CNN and a second CNN, and wherein the method comprises determining values of configurable parameters of the first CNN based on a matching of target holograms with outputs of said first CNN.
Chakravarthula-Maimone and Peng are related as generating holograms.
Peng teaches (fig 7)
wherein the one or more neural networks include a first CNN (target phase generator subnetwork, page 9, L col, sec 6) and a second CNN (phase encoder subnetwork, page 9, L col, sec 6), and wherein the method comprises determining values of configurable parameters of the first CNN (target phase generator subnetwork, page 9, L col, sec 6) based on a matching of target holograms (complex-valued wave-field, page 9, sec 6) with outputs of said first CNN (target phase generator subnetwork, page 9, L col, sec 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generation of digital hologram of Chakravarthula-Maimone to include a first and second CNNs of Peng for the purpose of high image quality (page 10, L col, 2nd para).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13,21, 25-26,28-30, would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is allowable for at least the reason:
“wherein producing an output for the second CNN comprises producing a second complex hologram, and wherein processing the layered representation further comprises encoding the second complex hologram as a double-phase representation of the digital hologram.”
Claim 21 is allowable for at least the reason:
“further comprising determining values of configurable parameters of the second CNN using inputs produced by the first CNN and based on matching a function of a double-phase encoding determined from an output for the second CNN with a corresponding function of the target hologram.”
Claim 25 is allowable for at least the reason:
“applying a fixed double-phase encoding operation to the modified complex hologram to produce a phase-only hologram for display.”
Claim 26 is allowable for at least the reason:
“applying a fixed double-phase encoding operation to the pre-encoding complex hologram to produce a phase-only hologram; and computing a focal stack comprising a plurality of images at different focal depths derived from the phase-only hologram for use in training the second trained neural network.”
Claim 28 is allowable for at least the reason:
“wherein each of the image layers individually comprises a depth channel having values that vary as a function of spatial location within the image layer.”
Claim 29 is allowable for at least the reason:
“wherein the layered representation comprises a plurality of layered depth images, and wherein for at least one location of the digital hologram the layered representation comprises at least two depth values corresponding to at least two distinct surface intersections along a single line through the three-dimensional image.”
Claim 30 is allowable for at least the reason:
“wherein the at least one neural network is a forward neural network that receives the layered representation as input and produces, as output, the digital hologram or data from which the digital hologram is computed, without requiring iterative optimization of the digital hologram on a per-scene basis.”
Claim 27 allowed.
Claim 27 is allowable for at least the reason:
“encoding the second complex hologram as a double-phase representation of the digital hologram.”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JYOTSNA V DABBI/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 6/12/2026