Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/9/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Arai discloses the cooling channel 11, the heater 12 with the insulation groove 13. Applicant argues the slit 13 in Arai is merely a physically open gap and does not isolate a heater provided closer to the outer edge from a flow channel. However, Arai specifically discloses slit 13 (which is a groove) for suppressing heat transfer from the heating channel 12. This would mean it isolates the heat from the channel 11.
The remainder of the amended limitations are shown by the newly cited reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arai et al (US 2003/0160568) in view of Torigoe et al (JP 2007-258607) and with references made to applicant provided machine translation and Tanabe (US 2019/0204029).
Arai discloses, regarding claim 1, a placement board (9, See Figs 1-2) comprising: a main body unit (electrode block 1, guide member 2, base member 3, See Figs 2 and 9, Paragraph [0041]) configured to form a flow channel for circulation of a medium for heat exchange (channel 11, See Figs 2-3, form a channel for flow of a fluid which works as a coolant or heat medium, See Paragraph [0040])and place a workpiece thereon, heat insulation groove (slit for suppressing heat transfer in element 13, See Paragraphs 0062-0063; fig. 3, 9) formed in the main body unit, the heat insulation groove surrounding (fig. 3) the flow channel (slit 11 in fig. 3).
the main body unit being made of a metallic material (electrode block 1 is made from aluminum, guide member 2 is made from stainless steel, See Paragraph [0041] and
a heater provided in an outer edge region of the main body unit (heat-medium flow paths 12 acting as an internal heater with the help of the external heater 15 in fig. 9; dotted lines for the heat flow in fig. 9; Paragraph [0078], when the temperature distribution of the semiconductor wafer W is to be changed to a temperature distribution pattern in which the temperature in the outer peripheral part is high, it is necessary only that the coolant be caused to circulate in the direction indicated by dotted-line arrows. The heater 12 is closer to the edge than the groove 13.
Aria fails to disclose, wherein a temperature difference between the outer edge region and an inner region of the main body unit at a surface of the main body unit where the workpiece is placed is 200C or more in a state where the medium has been caused to circulate through the flow channel.
Torigoe discloses, the temperature difference delta T between the central portion and the outer peripheral portion in the radial direction of the wafer is 19.4 degrees Celsius when the wafer is attracted and heated by the electrostatic chucks, and Fig. 5 shows that the wafer temperature is 65 degrees Celsius or higher at the central portion and 41.2 degrees Celsius (the temperature difference is 20 degrees Celsius or higher) at 150 mm from the center. (See Paragraphs [0005]-[0007], [0044])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to adapt Aria in view of Torigoe to provide a temperature difference between the outer edge region and an inner region of the main body unit at a surface of the main body unit where the workpiece is placed is 20oC for creating a steep thermal gradient to achieve the desired amount of heat transfer in the wafer.
Arai fails to disclose a connection unit connected to a surface of the main body unit, the surface being opposite to the surface where the workpiece is placed, wherein the connection unit has a connection-unit flow channel formed therein, and is configured to send the medium to a first opening of the flow channel and receive the medium released from a second opening of the flow channel via the connection-unit flow channel.
However, Fig 1 of Tanabe shows a connection unit being connected to the body of a placement board having a cooling channel 30 and a heating channel at Zone 2, with an insulation groove 30a located inside the heater. The connection is opposite the surface where a workpiece is placed. A flow channel is formed and configured to sent a medium to a first opening at 30C and out a second opening 30D. (See Paragraph [0021])
It would have been obvious to adapt Aria in view of Tanabe to provide the connection unit connected to a surface of the main body unit, the surface being opposite to the surface where the workpiece is placed, wherein the connection unit has a connection-unit flow channel formed therein, and is configured to send the medium to a first opening of the flow channel and receive the medium released from a second opening of the flow channel via the connection-unit flow channel for maintaining a thermal independence between the inner and the outer zones of the susceptor.
Regarding claim 5, main body unit (elements 1-4 in fig. 2) includes plural members layered over one another, and a member (W) of the plural members includes the flow channel (11) formed therein and the heater (12) provided therein, the member having the surface where the workpiece (W in fig. 1-2) is placed.
Arai discloses, regarding claim 6, a placement board (9, See Figs 1-2) comprising: a main body unit (electrode block 1, guide member 2, base member 3, See Figs 2 and 9, Paragraph [0041]) configured to form a flow channel for circulation of a medium for heat exchange (channel 11, See Figs 2-3, form a channel for flow of a fluid which works as a coolant or heat medium, See Paragraph [0040])and place a workpiece thereon,
the main body unit being made of a metallic material (electrode block 1 is made from aluminum, guide member 2 is made from stainless steel, See Paragraph [0041] and
heat insulation groove (slit for suppressing heat transfer in element 13, See Paragraphs 0062-0063; fig. 3, 9) formed in the main body unit, the heat insulation groove surrounding (fig. 3) the flow channel (slit 11 in fig. 3). Fig 2 shows the heater 12 being closer to the edge than insulation groove, or 13.
a heater provided in an outer edge region of the main body unit (heat-medium flow paths 12 acting as an internal heater with the help of the external heater 15 in fig. 9; dotted lines for the heat flow in fig. 9; Paragraph [0078], when the temperature distribution of the semiconductor wafer W is to be changed to a temperature distribution pattern in which the temperature in the outer peripheral part is high, it is necessary only that the coolant be caused to circulate in the direction indicated by dotted-line arrows.)
Regarding claim 4, it would have been obvious to adapt Aria to provide the heater closer to the inner region than the heat insulation groove to provide the desired temperature profile and temperature gradient across the heating plate and wafer
Aria fails to disclose, wherein a temperature difference between the outer edge region and an inner region of the main body unit at a surface of the main body unit where the workpiece is placed is 200C or more in a state where the medium has been caused to circulate through the flow channel.
Torigoe discloses, the temperature difference delta T between the central portion and the outer peripheral portion in the radial direction of the wafer is 19.4 degrees Celsius when the wafer is attracted and heated by the electrostatic chucks, and Fig. 5 shows that the wafer temperature is 65 degrees Celsius or higher at the central portion and 41.2 degrees Celsius (the temperature difference is 20 degrees Celsius or higher) at 150 mm from the center. (See Paragraphs [0005]-[0007], [0044])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to adapt Aria in view of Torigoe to provide a temperature difference between the outer edge region and an inner region of the main body unit at a surface of the main body unit where the workpiece is placed is 20oC for creating a steep thermal gradient to achieve the desired amount of heat transfer in the wafer.
Arai fails to disclose a connection unit connected to a surface of the main body unit, the surface being opposite to the surface where the workpiece is placed, wherein the connection unit has a connection-unit flow channel formed therein, and is configured to send the medium to a first opening of the flow channel and receive the medium released from a second opening of the flow channel via the connection-unit flow channel.
However, Fig 1 of Tanabe shows a connection unit being connected to the body of a placement board having a cooling channel 30 and a heating channel at Zone 2, with an insulation groove 30a located inside the heater. The connection is opposite the surface where a workpiece is placed. A flow channel is formed and configured to sent a medium to a first opening at 30C and out a second opening 30D. (See Paragraph [0021])
It would have been obvious to adapt Aria in view of Tanabe to provide the connection unit connected to a surface of the main body unit, the surface being opposite to the surface where the workpiece is placed, wherein the connection unit has a connection-unit flow channel formed therein, and is configured to send the medium to a first opening of the flow channel and receive the medium released from a second opening of the flow channel via the connection-unit flow channel for maintaining a thermal independence between the inner and the outer zones of the susceptor.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN W JENNISON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761