Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2007098233 (hereinafter JP ‘233).
As regarding claim 1, JP ‘233 discloses the claimed invention for a filter pack (title) comprising: a filter medium (figs. 2-3) collecting fine particles in a gas and the filter medium comprising folds alternately repeated on an upstream side and on a downstream side of airflow by a pleating process, at least one pair of upstream ventilation surfaces which face each other via the fold on the downstream side therebetween and into which the airflow flows, and at least one pair of downstream ventilation surfaces which face each other via the fold on the upstream side therebetween and from which the airflow flows out; and a plurality of space maintaining members (2-4 of figs. 2-3 and 5) formed on each of the upstream ventilation surfaces and each of the downstream ventilation surfaces to maintain spaces of each pair of upstream ventilation surfaces and each pair of downstream ventilation surfaces, wherein the plurality of space maintaining members formed on the upstream ventilation surfaces are intermittently formed in a direction orthogonal to the fold (fig. 4), and at least one of the space maintaining members formed on one side of the pair of upstream ventilation surfaces is in contact at two or more places (figs. 2-3 and 5; no number) with at least one of the space maintaining members formed on the other side of the pair of upstream ventilation surfaces.
As regarding claim 2, JP ‘233 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘233 discloses the claimed invention for wherein the plurality of space maintaining members formed on the downstream ventilation surfaces are intermittently formed in a direction orthogonal to the fold, and at least one of the space maintaining members formed on one side of the pair of downstream ventilation surfaces is in contact at two or more places (figs. 2-3 and 5; no number) with at least one of the space maintaining members formed on the other side of the pair of downstream ventilation surfaces.
As regarding claim 4, JP ‘233 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘233 discloses the claimed invention for wherein at least one of the space maintaining members formed on the one side of the pair of upstream ventilation surfaces is in contact at two or more places (figs. 2-3 and 5; no number) with the plurality of space maintaining members adjacent thereto formed on the other side of the pair of upstream ventilation surfaces.
As regarding claim 5, JP ‘233 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘233 discloses the claimed invention for wherein the plurality of space maintaining members formed on each of the upstream ventilation surfaces or each of the downstream ventilation surfaces have different heights (figs. 2-3 and 5; no number) according to the space set between the pair of upstream ventilation surfaces or the pair of downstream ventilation surfaces.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2007098233 (hereinafter JP ‘233) as applied to claim 1 above.
As regarding claim 3, JP ‘233 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘233 discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the plurality of space maintaining members formed on each of the downstream ventilation surfaces are continuously formed in a direction orthogonal to the fold. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the plurality of space maintaining members formed on each of the downstream ventilation surfaces are continuously formed in a direction orthogonal to the fold in order to prevent pleat-to-pleat contact, maintain consistent flow channels, improve mechanical stability and enable higher flow rates and longer service life, since it was known in the art as shown in Mbadinga-Mouanda et al (US 20120223009; hereinafter Mbadinga; abstract and fig. 17; 103a/103b and 122a/122b are space maintaining members). Both JP ‘233 and Mbadinga are directing to spacers for filter pack.
As regarding claim 6, JP ‘233 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘233 discloses the claimed invention except for wherein each of the space maintaining members formed on the one side of the pair of upstream ventilation surfaces or the one side of the pair of downstream ventilation surfaces has a facing surface facing to each of the space maintaining members formed on the other side of the pair of upstream ventilation surfaces or the other side of the pair of downstream ventilation surfaces, and a sum of lengths of the facing surface along a direction orthogonal to the fold in contact with each of the space maintaining members formed on the other side of the pair of upstream ventilation surfaces or the other side of the pair of downstream ventilation surfaces is 1% or more and 10% or less of a length along a direction orthogonal to the fold of the facing surface. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein each of the space maintaining members formed on the one side of the pair of upstream ventilation surfaces or the one side of the pair of downstream ventilation surfaces has a facing surface facing to each of the space maintaining members formed on the other side of the pair of upstream ventilation surfaces or the other side of the pair of downstream ventilation surfaces, and a sum of lengths of the facing surface along a direction orthogonal to the fold in contact with each of the space maintaining members formed on the other side of the pair of upstream ventilation surfaces or the other side of the pair of downstream ventilation surfaces is 1% or more and 10% or less of a length along a direction orthogonal to the fold of the facing surface in order to maintain separation between adjacent pleats, preserve open flow channels, reduce pressure drop, and improve structural stability and filtration performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
As regarding claim 7, JP ‘233 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘233 discloses the claimed invention except for an air filter comprising: the filter pack and a frame surrounding the filter pack so that the folds of the filter medium of the filter pack are arranged on the upstream and downstream sides of airflow passing through the filter medium. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide As regarding claim 7, JP ‘233 discloses all of limitations as set forth above. JP ‘233 discloses the claimed invention except for an air filter comprising: the filter pack and a frame surrounding the filter pack so that the folds of the filter medium of the filter pack are arranged on the upstream and downstream sides of airflow passing through the filter medium as suggested by Izumiya et al (JP 2020062610; hereinafter Izumiya; frame 5 and filter medium 11) as this is a known arrangement for allowing the filter pact to be used as a filter.
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773