DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 27 February 2025 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1 and 6 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of:
claims 6-7 of copending Application No. 18/285523 (reference application R1)
claims 6-7 of copending Application No. 18/282926 (reference application R2)
This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 and 6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6-7 of copending Application No. 18/282648 (reference application R3). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of reference application R3 anticipate the claims of the instant application (by teaching at least the limitations of the instant application).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation(s) “a microneedle” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether this is the same or different microneedle from the recitation in the preamble.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation “a substrate” is unclear because a previous substrate was already recited in claim 1; thus it is unclear whether this is the same or different substrate.
Dependent Claims 2-11 are also rejected for relying on at least one rejected claim above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kosel 20220134072.
Regarding Claim 1, Kosel teaches an electronic device (100) for releasing emulsion (150) through a microneedle (112), the electronic device comprising:
a cartridge accommodation portion (portion of 110 surrounding 152) configured to accommodate a cartridge (152) containing the emulsion therein (Fig 2);
a crushing circuit (incl. 106, 106A, 142, 140) comprising a crushing element (incl. 106A and/or 142) configured to crush at least a portion of the cartridge disposed in the cartridge accommodation portion (Fig 3; 106A, 142 crushes all of 152);
a microneedle (112; interpreted to be same microneedle as above per 112b discussion above) configured to release the emulsion to an outside of the electronic device (Fig 3), wherein the emulsion is exposed as at least the portion of the cartridge is crushed (Fig 3);
a processor (404 and/or 120 replaced by a processor and battery per [0060]) configured to generate a crushing signal (processor controlling activation of 100 including electrical circuits); and
a transmission circuit (incl. 122, 120, and conductors between 120 and 104) configured to transmit the crushing signal to the crushing circuit ([0034-35, 60]),
wherein the crushing circuit further comprises an elastic element (106) disposed between one side (where 106 connects to 102) of a substrate (102) of the crushing circuit and the cartridge (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, Kosel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Kosel further teaches a material of the crushing element comprises a material that generates heat by the crushing signal (electrolysis suing electrodes generates waste heat), and at least the portion of the cartridge is crushed by heat generated by the crushing element (any heat generated, contributes to crushing by increasing expansion of the fluid 140).
Regarding claim 4, Kosel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Kosel further teaches the material of the crushing element is a metal having a specific resistance (the crushing element may include 104, which are Ti/Pt electrodes per [0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Kosel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Kosel further teaches at least the portion of the cartridge crushed by the heat is a thin-film cell (152 is at least partially formed by 106a of 106, which may be formed of Parylene C, a thin-film cell).
Regarding claim 6, Kosel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Kosel further teaches the crushing circuit further comprises an emulsion release element (106a) attached to the elastic element (Fig 2), and the elastic element and the emulsion release element are configured to move the emulsion in a direction of the microneedle when at least the portion of the cartridge is crushed by the crushing element (Figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, Kosel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Kosel further teaches an indicator indicating an amount of emulsion to be released (the geometry and expansion of the bellows 106 indicates the amount of emulsion delivered; [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Kosel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Kosel further teaches the processor is configured to, when the cartridge comprises a plurality of blocks, each containing emulsion, generate the crushing signal to crush one or more blocks of the plurality of blocks ([0036], Fig 4B).
Regarding claim 10, Kosel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Kosel further teaches the crushing circuit comprises a plurality of crushing elements, and the plurality of crushing elements respectively corresponds to the plurality of blocks in position (each block formed of a complete unit 100; Fig 4B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosel in view of Angel 20030083645.
Regarding Claim 8, Kosel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Kosel does not teach a button configured to receive, from a user, an amount of emulsion to be released.
However, Angel teaches using a button for a user to press in order to release an amount of emulsion through a microneedle device ([0021]; Figs 1A-2D), thereby providing on-demand delivery of precise drug quantities ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kosel to further include a user operated button as taught by Angel in order to provide on-demand delivery of precise amounts of drug through the microneedles ([0021]).
.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosel in view of Wikipedia, Parylene, April 2021, retrieved from Wayback Machine, https://web.archive.org/web/20210419050159/https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Parylene; and Emilija Ilic et al., Silicon Corrosion in Neutral Media: The Influence of Confined Geometries and Crevice Corrosion in Simulated Physiological Solutions, 20 March 2019, Journal of the Electrochemical Society, 166(6)C125-C133).
Regarding claim 11, Kosel teaches all the limitations of the claimed invention as discussed above. Kosel further teaches the materials in contact with the emulsion being Parylene C (of 106/106a) and polished silicon (of 110).
Kosel does not specifically teach acidity of the emulsion is between 7-8 pH.
However, Parylene C is operable in a wide range of pH (evidentiary reference: bottom of p.9 of Wikipedia, Parylene, April 2021, retrieved from Wayback Machine).
And, silicon stability is highest in neutral pH environments (pH 7-8, incl. 7.4; evidentiary reference: p.2 last two lines of col.1 and first paragraph of col.2 of Emilija Ilic et al., Silicon Corrosion in Neutral Media: The Influence of Confined Geometries and Crevice Corrosion in Simulated Physiological Solutions, 20 March 2019, Journal of the Electrochemical Society, 166(6)C125-C133).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an emulsion of pH 7-8 with the apparatus of Kosel because the silicon substrate containing the emulsion of Kosel is most stable in environments of pH 7-8; and because this limitation is drawn to the material (emulsion) worked upon by the claimed apparatus (electronic device for emulsion expulsion) and MPEP2115 provides that inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.
Correspondence
/STEPHANIE SEBASCO CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741