DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 19, and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities: apparent and/or explicit omission of letters and/or words indicated in the various claim limitations by the use of bracketing (i.e., [ ]). Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy claim amendments have not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all potential minor deviations from the outstanding claim limitations. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which the Applicant may become aware upon further review.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 27 is directed to “a cell reselection device” that comprises a processor; and
a memory, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause “the device” to execute the method of claim 19—which is directed to a cell reselection method that is performed by “a network device.” The resulting ambiguity as to whether and/or which of “a cell selection device,” “the device,” and “a network device” are distinct—or rather are intended to serve as an antecedent basis for another one of the terms in executing the recited method—renders the claim indefinite since the limitations fail to clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the precise patent protection sought. Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 10, 18, 19, and 25-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over “NOKIA” (R2-2102015, copy of NPL appended to IDS dated 26 Sept. 2023) in view of US 2018/0288666 (hereinafter, “FUJISHIRO”).
Regarding claim 1, NOKIA discloses:
A cell reselection method (p. 12, Sec. 3, “Cell reselection related enhancements”), performed by a user equipment (UE) (p. 12, Question 4: Should the UE be provided with the information on when a cell is going to stop serving the area and the timing information about new upcoming cell) in a non-terrestrial network (p. 16, Proposal 4: The information on when a cell is going to stop serving the area and/or the timing information about new and upcoming cell is supported in Earth-fixed NTN scenario), comprising:
. . . , wherein the first message is transmitted via a system message, (p. 12, Question 4: [I]t is provided (e.g. system information, . . .))
the first message comprises first time information indicating a moment when a serving cell [is] going to stop serving an area it is currently covering for the UE; (p. 16, Sec. 3, [T]he awareness of cell expiry time shall be considered for cell selection/reselection; p. 12, Question 4: Should the UE be provided with the information on when a cell is going to stop serving the area)
in a case of a frequency priority of a neighboring cell is lower than or equal to a frequency priority of the serving cell, starting to perform measurements for the neighboring cell before the first time information, regardless of whether the serving cell fulfils that a signal quality of the serving cell is higher than a predefined signal quality threshold: or (p. 17, ZTE comment: The cell expire time can be used by UE in the following cases: Trigger intra-frequency measurements or measurements on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority. For example, a TIntraSearch and a TnonIntraSearch can be configured to UE. UE will start to perform intra-frequency measurements when the remaining valid time of the current cell Tremaining <= TIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SIntraSearchQ is fullfiled. Similarly, UE will start to perform measurments on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority when Tremaining <= TnonIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SnonIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SnonIntraSearchQ is fullfiled)
. . . .
NOKIA does not explicitly disclose:
receiving a first message,
in a case of a frequency priority of the neighboring cell is higher than a frequency priority of the serving cell, performing measurement for the neighboring cell regardless of the first time information of the serving cell.
In the same field of endeavor, however, FUJISHIRO teaches:
receiving a first message, (¶ 0089: In step S11, the UE 100 receives the system information (SIB; System Information Block) broadcast from the eNB 200 (the current serving cell))
in a case of a frequency priority of the neighboring cell is higher than a frequency priority of the serving cell, performing measurement for the neighboring cell regardless of the first time information of the serving cell. (¶¶ 0061-0062: [T]he start condition is shown as follows: (A1) A frequency having a higher priority than the priority of the frequency of the current serving cell the UE 100 always measures the quality of the frequency having the higher priority)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NOKIA’s cell (re)selection procedures to provide a frequency priority-based start condition as taught by FUJISHIRO in which the UE always measures the quality of the frequency having the higher priority such that if a start condition is satisfied, a UE selects, from among cells that may or may not satisfy some other selection condition, a target cell used as a serving cell. See FUJISHIRO, at ¶ 0004.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 1. NOKIA does not explicitly disclose:
wherein after the neighboring cell is measured, the method further comprises: determining a target cell based on an R criterion.
In the same field of endeavor, however, FUJISHIRO teaches:
wherein after the neighboring cell is measured, the method further comprises: determining a target cell based on an R criterion. (¶ 0211: UE 100 identifies cells having a quality that satisfies the predetermined quality criteria (S-criteria or R-criteria), and selects, based on the value having randomness, the target cell from among the identified cells (selection candidate cells))
Regarding claim 10, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 1. NOKIA further discloses:
further comprising: determining a target cell based on second time information. (p. 12, Sec. 3, Question 4: [T]he timing information about new upcoming cell)
Regarding claim 18, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 1. NOKIA does not explicitly disclose:
wherein receiving the first message comprises:
receiving the first message based on a system message
and/or
a radio resource control (RRC) message.
In the same field of endeavor, however, FUJISHIRO teaches:
wherein receiving the first message comprises:
receiving the first message based on a system message (¶ 0089: In step S11, the UE 100 receives the system information (SIB; System Information Block) broadcast from the eNB 200 (the current serving cell))
and/or
a radio resource control (RRC) message. (¶ 0124: [T]he reselection parameter is preferably included in the system information (SIB; System Information Block) broadcast from the current serving cell. . . . [T]he reselection parameter may be included in the message (for example, RRC Connection Release))
Regarding claim 19, NOKIA discloses:
A cell reselection method (p. 12, Sec. 3, “Cell reselection related enhancements”), performed by a network device (p. 12, sec. 3, Qualcomm comment: The cell can broadcast cell expiry time) in a non-terrestrial network (p. 16, Proposal 4: The information on when a cell is going to stop serving the area and/or the timing information about new and upcoming cell is supported in Earth-fixed NTN scenario), comprising:
. . . , wherein the first message is transmitted via a system message, (p. 12, Question 4: [I]t is provided (e.g. system information, . . .))
the first message comprises first time information indicating a moment when a serving cell [is] going to stop serving an area it is currently covering for a user equipment (UE); (p. 16, Sec. 3, [T]he awareness of cell expiry time shall be considered for cell selection/reselection; p. 12, Question 4: Should the UE be provided with the information on when a cell is going to stop serving the area)
wherein the first time information is configured for the UE to:
in a case of a frequency priority of a neighboring cell is lower than or equal to a frequency priority of the serving cell, start to perform measurements for the neighboring cell before the first time information, regardless of whether the serving cell fulfils that a signal quality of the serving cell is higher than a predefined signal quality threshold: or (p. 17, ZTE comment: The cell expire time can be used by UE in the following cases: Trigger intra-frequency measurements or measurements on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority. For example, a TIntraSearch and a TnonIntraSearch can be configured to UE. UE will start to perform intra-frequency measurements when the remaining valid time of the current cell Tremaining <= TIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SIntraSearchQ is fullfiled. Similarly, UE will start to perform measurments on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority when Tremaining <= TnonIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SnonIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SnonIntraSearchQ is fullfiled)
. . . .
NOKIA does not explicitly disclose:
sending a first message,
in a case of a frequency priority of the neighboring cell is higher than a frequency priority of the serving cell, perform measurement for the neighboring cell regardless of the first time information of the serving cell.
In the same field of endeavor, however, FUJISHIRO teaches:
sending a first message, (¶ 0089: In step S11, the UE 100 receives the system information (SIB; System Information Block) broadcast from the eNB 200 (the current serving cell))
in a case of a frequency priority of the neighboring cell is higher than a frequency priority of the serving cell, perform measurement for the neighboring cell regardless of the first time information of the serving cell. (¶¶ 0061-0062: [T]he start condition is shown as follows: (A1) A frequency having a higher priority than the priority of the frequency of the current serving cell the UE 100 always measures the quality of the frequency having the higher priority)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NOKIA’s cell (re)selection procedures to provide a frequency priority-based start condition as taught by FUJISHIRO in which the UE always measures the quality of the frequency having the higher priority such that if a start condition is satisfied, a UE selects, from among cells that may or may not satisfy some other selection condition, a target cell used as a serving cell. See FUJISHIRO, at ¶ 0004.
Regarding claim 25, NOKIA discloses:
A cell reselection device (p. 12, Question 4: Should the UE be provided with the information on when a cell is going to stop serving the area and the timing information about new upcoming cell), comprising:
. . .
. . . , wherein the first message is transmitted via a system message, (p. 12, Question 4: [I]t is provided (e.g. system information, . . .))
the first message comprises first time information indicating a moment when a serving cell [is] going to stop serving a[n] area it is currently covering for a user equipment (UE); (p. 16, Sec. 3, [T]he awareness of cell expiry time shall be considered for cell selection/reselection; p. 12, Question 4: Should the UE be provided with the information on when a cell is going to stop serving the area)
wherein the processor is further configured to:
in a case of a frequency priority of a neighboring cell is lower than or equal to a frequency priority of the serving cell, start to perform measurements for the neighboring cell before the first time information, regardless of whether the serving cell fulfils that a signal quality of the serving cell is higher than a predefined signal quality threshold: or (p. 17, ZTE comment: The cell expire time can be used by UE in the following cases: Trigger intra-frequency measurements or measurements on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority. For example, a TIntraSearch and a TnonIntraSearch can be configured to UE. UE will start to perform intra-frequency measurements when the remaining valid time of the current cell Tremaining <= TIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SIntraSearchQ is fullfiled. Similarly, UE will start to perform measurments on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority when Tremaining <= TnonIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SnonIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SnonIntraSearchQ is fullfiled)
. . . .
NOKIA does not explicitly disclose:
a processor; and
a memory, [w]herein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor is configured to
receive a first message,
in a case of a frequency priority of the neighboring cell is higher than a frequency priority of the serving cell, perform measurement for the neighboring cell regardless of the first time information of the serving cell.
In the same field of endeavor, however, FUJISHIRO teaches:
a processor (processor 160); and
a memory (memory 150), [w]herein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor is configured to
receive a first message, (¶ 0089: In step S11, the UE 100 receives the system information (SIB; System Information Block) broadcast from the eNB 200 (the current serving cell))
in a case of a frequency priority of the neighboring cell is higher than a frequency priority of the serving cell, perform measurement for the neighboring cell regardless of the first time information of the serving cell. (¶¶ 0061-0062: [T]he start condition is shown as follows: (A1) A frequency having a higher priority than the priority of the frequency of the current serving cell the UE 100 always measures the quality of the frequency having the higher priority)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify NOKIA’s cell (re)selection procedures to provide a frequency priority-based start condition as taught by FUJISHIRO in which the UE always measures the quality of the frequency having the higher priority such that if a start condition is satisfied, a UE selects, from among cells that may or may not satisfy some other selection condition, a target cell used as a serving cell. See FUJISHIRO, at ¶ 0004.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 1. NOKIA does not explicitly disclose:
A computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause the method of claim 1, to be implemented.
In the same field of endeavor, however, FUJISHIRO teaches:
A computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause the method of claim 1, to be implemented. (¶ 0353: [A] program for causing a computer to execute each process performed by the UE 100)
Regarding claim 27, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 19. NOKIA further discloses:
A cell reselection device (p. 12, sec. 3, Qualcomm comment: The cell can broadcast cell expiry time),
NOKIA does not explicitly disclose:
a processor; and
a memory, wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the device to execute the method of claim 19.
In the same field of endeavor, however, FUJISHIRO teaches:
a processor (processor 240); and
a memory (memory 230), wherein a computer program is stored in the memory, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program stored in the memory to cause the device to execute the method of claim 19. (¶ 0353: [A] program for causing a computer to execute each process performed by the UE 100)
Regarding claim 28, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 1. NOKIA further discloses:
wherein performing the measurements for the neighboring cell comprises:
performing intra-frequency or inter-frequency measurements for the neighboring cell. (p. 17, ZTE comment: The cell expire time can be used by UE in the following cases: Trigger intra-frequency measurements or measurements on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority. For example, a TIntraSearch and a TnonIntraSearch can be configured to UE. UE will start to perform intra-frequency measurements when the remaining valid time of the current cell Tremaining <= TIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SIntraSearchQ is fullfiled. Similarly, UE will start to perform measurments on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority when Tremaining <= TnonIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SnonIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SnonIntraSearchQ is fullfiled)
Regarding claim 29, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 1. NOKIA does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the signal quality of the serving cell being higher than the predefined signal quality threshold comprises Srxlev > SIntraSearchP or Srxlev > SnonIntraSearchP. (p. 17, ZTE comment: The cell expire time can be used by UE in the following cases: Trigger intra-frequency measurements or measurements on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority. For example, a TIntraSearch and a TnonIntraSearch can be configured to UE. UE will start to perform intra-frequency measurements when the remaining valid time of the current cell Tremaining <= TIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SIntraSearchQ is fullfiled. Similarly, UE will start to perform measurments on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority when Tremaining <= TnonIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SnonIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SnonIntraSearchQ is fullfiled)
Regarding claim 30, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 19. NOKIA does not explicitly disclose:
wherein performing the measurements for the neighboring cell comprises:
performing intra-frequency or inter-frequency measurements for the neighboring cell. (p. 17, ZTE comment: The cell expire time can be used by UE in the following cases: Trigger intra-frequency measurements or measurements on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority. For example, a TIntraSearch and a TnonIntraSearch can be configured to UE. UE will start to perform intra-frequency measurements when the remaining valid time of the current cell Tremaining <= TIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SIntraSearchQ is fullfiled. Similarly, UE will start to perform measurments on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority when Tremaining <= TnonIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SnonIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SnonIntraSearchQ is fullfiled)
Regarding claim 31, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 19. NOKIA does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the signal quality of the serving cell being higher than the predefined signal quality threshold comprises Srxlev > SIntraSearchP or Srxlev > SnonIntraSearchP. (p. 17, ZTE comment: The cell expire time can be used by UE in the following cases: Trigger intra-frequency measurements or measurements on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority. For example, a TIntraSearch and a TnonIntraSearch can be configured to UE. UE will start to perform intra-frequency measurements when the remaining valid time of the current cell Tremaining <= TIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SIntraSearchQ is fullfiled. Similarly, UE will start to perform measurments on inter-frequency with an equal or lower reselection priority when Tremaining <= TnonIntraSearch before the Srxlev <= SnonIntraSearchP or SSqual <= SnonIntraSearchQ is fullfiled)
Claims 6, 8, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over NOKIA in view of FUJISHIRO, and further in view of US 2018/0324656 (hereinafter, “CHEN”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 2. NOKIA does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first time information comprises a first service duration for which a serving cell provides a service; and
measuring the neighboring cell based on the first time information comprises:
determining a timer duration based on the first service duration, and determining to measure the neighboring cell by determining that the timer duration expires;
or
wherein the first time information comprises a first service moment at which a serving cell provides a service; and
measuring the neighboring cell based on the first time information of the serving cell comprises:
determining a current moment reaching the first service moment, and
determining to measure the neighboring cell.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHEN teaches:
wherein the first time information comprises a first service duration for which a serving cell provides a service; and (Abstract: [G]enerating offset parameter information corresponding to the target service or application according to the first block parameter and the second block parameter, the offset parameter information comprising: information about first duration for which the target service or application needs to wait to access the serving cell and information about second duration for which the target service or application needs to wait to access the neighboring cell)
measuring the neighboring cell based on the first time information comprises:
determining a timer duration based on the first service duration, and determining to measure the neighboring cell by determining that the timer duration expires; (Abstract: [A]pplying the offset parameter information to a cell reselection rule R, and determining a target cell to camp on; ¶ 0132: [A]fter camping on the target cell, a timer T1 is set, the UE initiates the access request for the original service or application when T1 is not expired and returns to an idle state when the service is finished; a timer T2 is then set, and if the service is not initiated anymore when T2 is expired, the offset parameter gets invalid)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FUJISHIRO’s cell reselection procedure to provide a duration of a target service/application as taught by CHEN to set a timer associated with cell reselection, so as to account for a type of a service/application currently requested to be initiated by the UE, and an access priority of the service/application in neighboring cells such that the target cells are very likely to have sufficient resources to support the service/application currently requested to be initiated by the UE, and thereby prevent the UE from having multiple access failures in such cells. See CHEN, at ¶ 0003.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 2. FUJISHIRO further discloses:
wherein the method further comprises:
determining a [reselection parameter] time threshold for the cell reselection; (¶ 0196: [V]arious types of threshold values are, as described above, an example of the various types of parameters used for selecting the target cell; ¶ 0260: UE 100 has a timer that activates in response to execution of the one-shot reselection, and the UE 100 may perform the post-reselection during a period until a timer value reaches a threshold value. The threshold value to be compared with the timer value may be included in the broadcast information (the SIB or the paging signal) broadcast from the current serving cell)
determining a relationship between the first time information and the [reselection parameter] time threshold, and (¶ 0196: [V]arious types of threshold values are calculated, for example, by threshold=(default threshold)×(UE−ID÷n). It is noted that n is a predetermined value or a value broadcast from the serving cell)
determining to measure the neighboring cell. (¶ 0083: [T]he system information includes a timer value to be set to a timer activated at a timing when the quality measurement of the adjacent cell is terminated. The UE 100 (controller) specifies the timing at which the timer to which the timer value is set expires, as the predetermined timing, and starts the quality measurement of the adjacent cell at the specified timing)
NOKIA also does not explicitly disclose:
a service time
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHEN teaches:
a service time (Abstract)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FUJISHIRO’s cell reselection procedure to provide a service time associated with a service/application as taught by CHEN to set a service time threshold for the cell reselection, so as to account for a type of a service/application currently requested to be initiated by the UE, and an access priority of the service/application in neighboring cells such that the target cells are very likely to have sufficient resources to support the service/application currently requested to be initiated by the UE, and thereby prevent the UE from having multiple access failures in such cells. See CHEN, at ¶ 0003.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 10. NOKIA does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second time information comprises a second service moment at which a neighboring cell provides a service; and
determining the target cell based on the second time information comprises:
determining a minimum difference between the second service moment and a first service moment, and
determining a cell corresponding to the minimum difference as the target cell;
or
wherein the second time information comprises a second service duration for which the neighboring cell provides a service; and
determining the target cell based on the second time comprises:
determining the second service duration with a longest duration, and
determining a cell corresponding to the second service duration with the longest duration as the target cell.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHEN teaches:
wherein the second time information comprises a second service duration for which the neighboring cell provides a service; and (Abstract: [I]nformation about second duration for which the target service or application needs to wait to access the neighboring cell; and applying the offset parameter information to a cell reselection rule R, and determining a target cell to camp on)
determining the target cell based on the second time comprises:
determining the second service duration with a longest duration, and (¶ 0029: [A] cell with a maximum value of R is selected from the serving cell and the neighbor cell as the target cell)
determining a cell corresponding to the second service duration with the longest duration as the target cell. (¶ 0029: [A] cell with a maximum value of R is selected from the serving cell and the neighbor cell as the target cell)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of NOKIA, FUJISHIRO, and CHEN, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 11. FUJISHIRO further discloses:
wherein the target cell satisfies an S criterion. (¶ 0211: UE 100 identifies cells having a quality that satisfies the predetermined quality criteria (S-criteria or R-criteria), and selects, based on the value having randomness, the target cell from among the identified cells (selection candidate cells))
Regarding claim 14, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 10. FUJISHIRO further discloses:
determining the target cell based on the second time information comprises:
determining at least one candidate cell based on an R criterion; (¶ 0211: UE 100 identifies cells having a quality that satisfies the predetermined quality criteria (S-criteria or R-criteria), and selects, based on the value having randomness, the target cell from among the identified cells (selection candidate cells))
FUJISHIRO does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second time information comprises a second service moment at which a neighboring cell provides a service; and
determining the target cell based on the second time information comprises:
determining at least one candidate cell based on an R criterion;
determining a minimum difference between the second service moment and a first service moment, in the at least one candidate cell, and
determining a candidate cell corresponding to the minimum difference as the target cell;
or
wherein the second time information comprises a second service duration for which the neighboring cell provides a service; and
. . .
. . .
determining as the target cell a candidate cell with a longest second service duration in the at least one candidate cell.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHEN teaches:
wherein the second time information comprises a second service duration for which the neighboring cell provides a service; and (Abstract: [I]nformation about second duration for which the target service or application needs to wait to access the neighboring cell; and applying the offset parameter information to a cell reselection rule R, and determining a target cell to camp on)
determining as the target cell a candidate cell with a longest second service duration in the at least one candidate cell. (¶ 0029: [A] cell with a maximum value of R is selected from the serving cell and the neighbor cell as the target cell)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FUJISHIRO’s cell reselection procedure to provide a service duration associated with a service/application provided by a neighboring cell as taught by CHEN such that a cell with a maximum value of R is selected from the serving cell and the neighbor cell as the target cell, so as to account for a type of a service/application currently requested to be initiated by the UE, and an access priority of the service/application in neighboring cells such that the target cells are very likely to have sufficient resources to support the service/application currently requested to be initiated by the UE, and thereby prevent the UE from having multiple access failures in such cells. See CHEN, at ¶ 0003.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of NOKIA, FUJISHIRO, and CHEN, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 14. FUJISHIRO does not explicitly disclose:
wherein determining the at least one candidate cell based on the R criterion comprises:
determining a maximum R value in a serving cell R value and a neighboring cell R value based on the R criterion, and
determining at least one cell corresponding to the maximum R value as a candidate cell;
or
determining a maximum R value in R values of neighboring cells based on the R criterion, and
determining at least one neighboring cell corresponding to the maximum R value as a candidate cell.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHEN teaches:
determining a maximum R value in a serving cell R value and a neighboring cell R value based on the R criterion, and (¶ 0029: [A] cell with a maximum value of R is selected from the serving cell and the neighbor cell as the target cell)
determining at least one cell corresponding to the maximum R value as a candidate cell; (¶ 0029: [A] cell with a maximum value of R is selected from the serving cell and the neighbor cell as the target cell)
Regarding claim 17, the combination of NOKIA, FUJISHIRO, and CHEN, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 14. FUJISHIRO further discloses:
wherein an S criterion is not required to be satisfied; (¶ 0211: UE 100 identifies cells having a quality that satisfies the predetermined quality criteria (S-criteria or R-criteria), and selects, based on the value having randomness, the target cell from among the identified cells (selection candidate cells) [That is, the quality is satisfied when either one of S-criteria or R-criteria are the criteria used)
FUJISHIRO does not explicitly disclose:
wherein determining the at least one candidate cell based on the R criterion comprises:
determining a maximum R value in a serving cell R value and a neighboring cell R value based on the R criterion, and
determining at least one cell corresponding to the maximum R value as a candidate cell,
. . . ;
or
determining a maximum R value in R values of neighboring cells based on the R criterion, and
determining at least one neighboring cell corresponding to the maximum R value as a candidate cell,
. . . .
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHEN teaches:
determining a maximum R value in a serving cell R value and a neighboring cell R value based on the R criterion, and (¶ 0029: [A] cell with a maximum value of R is selected from the serving cell and the neighbor cell as the target cell)
determining at least one cell corresponding to the maximum R value as a candidate cell, (¶ 0029: [A] cell with a maximum value of R is selected from the serving cell and the neighbor cell as the target cell)
Regarding claim 21, the combination of NOKIA and FUJISHIRO, as applied above, renders obvious the cell reselection method of claim 20. FUJISHIRO does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first time information comprises a first service duration for which a serving cell provides a service and a first service moment at which a serving cell provides a service; and
the second time information comprises a second service duration for which a neighboring cell provides a service and a second service moment at which a neighboring cell provides a service.
In the same field of endeavor, however, CHEN teaches:
wherein the first time information comprises a first service duration for which a serving cell provides a service and a first service moment at which a serving cell provides a service; and (Abstract: [I]nformation about first duration for which the target service or application needs to wait to access the serving cell; ¶ 0120: [W]hen the UE initiates a access request for an application or a service, cell reselection is triggered, and the UE performs neighbor cell measurement, receives the system broadcast of the neighbor cell)
the second time information comprises a second service duration for which a neighboring cell provides a service and a second service moment at which a neighboring cell provides a service. (Abstract: [I]nformation about second duration for which the target service or application needs to wait to access the neighboring cell; ¶ 0120: [W]hen the UE initiates a access request for an application or a service, cell reselection is triggered, and the UE performs neighbor cell measurement, receives the system broadcast of the neighbor cell)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify FUJISHIRO’s cell reselection procedure to provide a first service moment associated with a service/application provided by a serving cell and a second service moment associated with a service/application provided by a neighboring cell as taught by CHEN, so as to account for a type of a service/application currently requested to be initiated by the UE, and an access priority of the service/application in neighboring cells such that the target cells are very likely to have sufficient resources to support the service/application currently requested to be initiated by the UE, and thereby prevent the UE from having multiple access failures in such cells. See CHEN, at ¶ 0003.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644