DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-39 of J. Worsley, et al., US 18/284,982 (09/29/2023) are pending. Claims 27-30 and 34-39 are withdrawn as drawn to non-elected Groups (II)-(III). Claims 21-26 and 31-33 are under examination on merits and are rejected.
Election/Restrictions
Pursuant to the Restriction/Election Requirement, Applicant elected Group (I) (now claims 21-26 and 31-33), with traverse, with claim amendment to make claim 24 depending on claim 22, in the Reply filed on 05/04/2026. Claims 27-30 and 34-39 drawn to non-elected Groups (II)-(III) are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b). The Restriction Requirement is maintained as Final.
Withdrawal Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Rejection of claims 21-26 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite for the claim term “insoluble iron materials” cited in claim 21 is withdrawn in view of the instant claim 21 has been amended with specify the claimed iron material is water insoluble iron material.
Maintained Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-26 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Y. Yang, et al. 157 Hydrometallurgy, 239-245 (2015)(“Yang”). Note: the rejection is modified according to Applicant’s argument.
Yang teaches a method for recovery of iron from red mud by selective leach with oxalic acid as indicated below. Yang at title.
Regarding the condition of leaching, Yang teaches that:
3.2.1. Effect of oxalic acid addition
The effect of oxalic acid addition on the leach ratio of iron was studied under the conditions of adding pre-determined weigh of H2C2O4·2H2O to per 15 g washed red mud with L/S ratio 14:1 mL/g at 95 °C for 2 h. The experimental results were shown in Fig. 5. As can be seen, with the addition increase from 10 g to 30 g, the leach ratio of iron increased from 49.86% to 96.63%, and that of aluminum increased from 5.15% to 71.22%. This indicates that single using oxalic acid as leaching agent, will inevitably cause a large number of aluminum into the leach solution. Thus, it perhaps is an advisable choice to add other addition agent into the solution to make iron leached from it selectively.
Yang at page 240, left col. 3.2.1. Effect of oxalic acid addition, emphasis added.
Given, both iron and aluminum are leached in the solution, therefore, Yang used stoichiometric excess amount of oxalic acid relative to the digested iron species.
With regards the claim limitation of “concurrently reacting the digested iron species with the oxalic acid”, Yang teaches there are the following reactions between Fe2O3 and oxalic acid.
Yang at page 241-242, equation 1 and 3.
Therefore, while Yang does not specify, there is a reaction between the digested iron species Fe2O3 and the oxalic acid during digesting of the Yang red mud with oxalic acid. Once a reference teaching product/method appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant. MPEP § 2112(V) (citing In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977). This is a procedural burden shifting. The requirement that the prior art necessarily teaches the alleged inherent (functional) element still remains. MPEP § 2112(IV). However, the burden is shifted to Applicant to demonstrate the alleged inherent element is not necessarily present in the cited prior art.
Per Fig 2 as indicated below, Yang teaches the method comprising:
(i). digesting HCl washed red mud that is a insoluble iron material containing Fe2O3 (see Yang at page 241, Fig. 4) with an aqueous solution of oxalic acid;
(ii). oxalic acid is stoichiometric excess relative to the digested iron species;
(iii). concurrently reacting the digested Fe2O3 with the oxalic acid to form iron (III) oxalate iron(III) oxalate;
(iv). reduction of the soluble iron (III) oxalate iron(III) oxalate into insoluble iron (II) oxalate
(v). separating the iron (II) oxalate from the slurry to provide a solids stream comprising the iron (II) oxalate and a liquids stream comprising residual oxalate; and
(vi). recycling at least a portion of the liquids stream as digestion liquor.
The Yang method meets each and every limitation of claim 21, therefore, claim 21 is anticipated.
Yang at page 241, Fig. 2.
Claim 25 is anticipated because Yang teaches that red mud is a solid waste. Yang at page 239, left col. line 1.
Claim 26 is anticipated because iron core/iron core concentrate is only one alternative in claim 25, further limitation of iron core/iron core concentrate does not have any structural limitation on other alternatives such as iron containing waste.
Claims 31-32 are anticipated because Yang teaches that the leaching is conducted at 90ºC under normal pressure.
Claim 33 is anticipated because Yang teaches that the ratio between oxalic acid dihydrate and red mud is 14 ml/g. 14 ml of oxalic acid dihydrate is 0.183 mole. The concentration of Fe2O3 in red mud is 28.3-63.2%. see R. Khanna, et al. 14.3 Sustainability 1258 (2022) (“Khanna”), therefore, the maximum amount of Fe2O3 in 1 g red mud is 0.632 g and the mole of Fe species is 0.008 mole[(0.632÷160)×2]. Therefore, the molar ratio of oxalic acid to iron in the insoluble iron material is at least 1.5 times (0.183/0.008) the stoichiometric requirement.
Claims 22-23 are anticipated because Yang also teaches a method of digesting HCl washed red mud with a aqueous solution of oxalic acid dihydrate and sulfonic acid, wherein the mass ratio for washed red mud/ oxalic acid dihydrate/ sulfonic acid is 3:3:2. Yang at page 240, right col. 3.2.2. Effect of H2SO4 addition.
While Yang does not specify, during digesting of the red mud with oxalic acid dihydrate-sulfonic acid, Fe2O3 in the red mud also react with sulfonic acid as Fe2O3 + 3H2SO4 = Fe2(SO4)3 + 3H2O. See Yang at page 241, left col. Equation 1. The produced Fe2(SO4)3 would be transformed into FeSO4 during treating of the reaction mixture with iron. See Yang at page 243, 3.3.1. Effect of iron scraps addition, and Equation 8. The instant specification teaches that FeSO4 reacts with oxalic acid to regenerate sulfonic acid. See specification at page 20, [0112], equation 2. Therefore, the digesting step of the Yang method of recovery iron from HCl washed red mud with a aqueous solution of oxalic acid dihydrate and sulfonic acid comprising:
(i). contacting the HCl washed red mud with an aqueous solution of oxalic acid-sulfonic acid and digesting the red mud; and
(iii). concurrently reacting the dissolved Fe species with the oxalic acid and sulfonic acid.
the separating step of the Yang method of recovery iron from HCl washed red mud with a aqueous solution of oxalic acid dihydrate and sulfonic acid comprising separating the iron (II) oxalate from the slurry to provide a solids stream comprising the iron (II) oxalate and a liquids stream comprising residual oxalic acid and the regenerated mineral acid;
and
the recyclizing step of the Yang method of recovery iron from HCl washed red mud with a aqueous solution of oxalic acid dihydrate and sulfonic acid comprising recycling at least a portion of the liquids stream as digestion liquor.
Overall, the Yang method of recovery iron from HCl washed red mud with a aqueous solution of oxalic acid dihydrate and sulfonic acid meets each and every limitation of claim 24, therefore, claim 24 is anticipated.
It should be noted that claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed, or by claim language that does not limit a claim to a particular structure. MPEP § 2111.04 (citing In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005). In the instant case, the claim recites language of:
“to form a reaction solution comprising a soluble iron compound”, “to form a slurry comprising iron (II) oxalate, residual oxalic acid, and regenerated mineral acid”
does not change any the claimed active steps in the claimed process. The court noted that a “‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’” Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). Herein, the citation of “to form a reaction solution comprising a soluble iron compound”, “to form a slurry comprising iron (II) oxalate, residual oxalic acid, and regenerated mineral acid” is not a require step , but rather simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited, therefore, is not given weight for patentability.
Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues for the 102 rejection on the ground that:
As shown in Figure 2 of Yang, reproduced by the Office in the present office action, Yang discloses a process of converting iron contained within red mud to iron(II) oxalate. In Yang, red mud is digested in oxalic acid, and the resultant slurry is filtered and a leachate (liquid phase) comprising soluble iron(II) oxalate is obtained. Iron scrap is added to this leachate in a subsequent reactor to precipitate iron(II) oxalate, which is then recovered by filtration.
Thus, there is no teaching, let alone a suggestion, in Yang that both the digestion and precipitation occur concurrently, let alone that oxalic acid is used to both digest the water insoluble iron material to form a water soluble iron compound, and concurrently convert the water insoluble iron compound to insoluble iron(II) oxalate. Instead, Yang teaches that the digestion liquor is filtered prior to precipitation of iron(II) oxalate by the addition of iron scrap, see Figure 2. Further, as Yang is silent on the concurrent digestion of a water insoluble iron material to form a water soluble iron compound and precipitation of said water soluble iron compound to iron(II) oxalate using oxalic acid, the person of ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation to modify the disclosure of Yang to arrive to the method presently claimed.
Remarks at paragraph 2-3, “Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102” at page 2 in the Remarks filed on 08/28/2026.
These arguments have been fully considered but not persuasive. It needs to be note that the Yang Fig. 2. clearly indicates that iron scraps are added to the filtrate rather than the leached residue.
Per Fig. 4, Yang teaches that the red mud washed with dilute HCl solution contains Fe2O3. See Fig. 4 at Yang page 241,right col. As mentioned in the above rejection that Yang also teaches that Fe2O3 reacts with oxalic acid to form iron(III) oxalate. See Yang at page 241-242, equation 1 and 3. Therefore, while Yang does not specify, there is a reaction between digested iron species Fe2O3 and the oxalic acid during digesting of the Yang red mud to form iron(III) oxalate. Therefore, there is iron(III) oxalate dissolved in the filtrate. Further, Yang teaches that by adding the iron scraps the iron(III) oxalate in the filtrate is reduced into iron(II) oxalate which is insoluble. See Yang equations 6-9 at page 243, 3.3.1. Effect of iron scraps addition. Therefore, the Yang method meets each and every limitation of claim 21, thus, claim 21 is anticipated.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FRANK S. HOU/Examiner, Art Unit 1692
/ALEXANDER R PAGANO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692