DETAILED ACTION
Joint Inventors
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 10, and 11 have been amended. No claims have been additionally cancelled and claim 12 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends Ando does not disclose the amended process of . Examiner respectfully disagrees, and points to the cited section below, which outlines the operation execution request information bidding that determines the terminal assignation from the operation request.
[0030] The information of the task the device user desires to be performed with the remote operation is transmitted from the operated device 11 to the server 13 as the operation executed request information. The information of the task indicated in the operation executed request information is registered in a task information pool 31 of the server 13 and disclosed on the server 13 as shown in FIG. 3. The terminal operator can browse the disclosed task information pool 31 by accessing to the server 13 from the operating terminal 12. Further, when there is a task the terminal operator desires to operate by himself/herself, he/she can bid by designating a certain task. When the terminal operator bids by designating the task, operation executing request information indicating the bid designating the task is notified from the operating terminal 12 to the server 13. [0031] The server 13 records the operation executing request information bidding for each task registered in the task information pool 31 as the operation executed request information, and determines the combination of the operating terminal 12 and the operated device 11 by each task based on the operation executed request information and the operation executing request information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ando et al. (US2010241693, referred to as Ando).
Regarding claim 1: Ando discloses: A robot management device comprising: a memory storing instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the instructions to: determine whether or not a control based on an external input is necessary for a robot which executes a task; and ([0037] When the remote operation is necessary, the operated device 11 performs operating terminal matching processing (step 403 ). In the operating terminal matching processing, the operated device 11 transmits the operation executed request information to the server 13 and requests the server 13 to determine the operating terminal 12 for operating to perform the task remotely. When receiving the matching information containing information about the operating terminal 12 that performs the task of the operated device 11 from the server 13 , the operated device 11 performs the task by being operated from the operating terminal 12 (step 404 )) determine an operation terminal which generates the external input, based on operation terminal information, which includes information concerning types of a plurality of operation terminals to be candidates in order to generate the external input, and ([0019] When the operating terminal 12 that operates the operated device 11 is determined on the server 13 , the operated device 11 performs the task by being operated from the operating terminal 12 . The combination of the operated device 11 and the operating terminal 12 that operates the operated device 11 determined on the server 13 is notified as matching information from the server 13 ; therefore, the operating terminal 12 only has to follow it. [0022] When the operated device 11 to be operated from the operating terminal 12 is determined on the server 13 , the operating terminal 12 operates the operated device 11 to have the task performed according to commands inputted from the terminal operator. The combination of the operated device 11 and the operating terminal 12 that operates the operated device 11 determined on the server 13 is notified as matching information from the server 13 ; therefore, the operating terminal 12 only has to follow it. [0023] The server 13 receives the operation executing request information from the operating terminal 12 of the terminal operator who desires to operate the operated device 11 remotely; receives the operation executed request information from the operated device 11 of the device user who desires to have the operated device 11 operated remotely; determines the combination of the operating terminal 12 and the operated device 11 to be operated remotely from the operating terminal 12 based on the operation executing request information and the operation executed request information; and notifies both the operating terminal 12 and the operated device 11 of the determined result as the matching information. [0042] the task to be performed by the operated device 11 is, for example, inputted by the device user into the operated device 11 . In such a case, the operated device 11 may notify the server 13 of the inputted information as the operation executed request information. [0043] The information inputted into the operated device 11 by the device user includes respective items such as: assignment; anonymity level; restricting condition; and payment, as an example. The assignment is information about content of the task. The anonymity level is information about protecting privacies of the device user and owner of the operated device 11 , and it indicates the level of anonymization of the information to be measured by the operated device 11 . The restricting condition is the information about restricting the action of the operated device 11 operated remotely. For example, a moving range can be restricted. By this restriction, safety, convenience, privacy and the like of the device user can be protected. The payment is the information about compensation to be paid for the terminal operator who operates the operated device 11 remotely.) information concerning the task, in a case where the control based on the external input is necessary, wherein in determine whether or not the control based on the external input is necessary, the one or more processors determines that the control based on the external input is necessary in response to receiving assistance request information including information concerning the task from the robot, or a robot controller which controls the robot, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to, in the case where the control based on the external input is necessary, execute connection control for establishing a communication connection between the determined operation terminal which generates the external input and the robot, or the robot controller, which sent the assistance request information ([0019] When the operating terminal 12 that operates the operated device 11 is determined on the server 13 , the operated device 11 performs the task by being operated from the operating terminal 12 . The combination of the operated device 11 and the operating terminal 12 that operates the operated device 11 determined on the server 13 is notified as matching information from the server 13 ; therefore, the operating terminal 12 only has to follow it. [0042] the task to be performed by the operated device 11 is, for example, inputted by the device user into the operated device 11 . In such a case, the operated device 11 may notify the server 13 of the inputted information as the operation executed request information. [0043] The information inputted into the operated device 11 by the device user includes respective items such as: assignment; anonymity level; restricting condition; and payment, as an example. The assignment is information about content of the task. The anonymity level is information about protecting privacies of the device user and owner of the operated device 11 , and it indicates the level of anonymization of the information to be measured by the operated device 11 . The restricting condition is the information about restricting the action of the operated device 11 operated remotely. For example, a moving range can be restricted. By this restriction, safety, convenience, privacy and the like of the device user can be protected. The payment is the information about compensation to be paid for the terminal operator who operates the operated device 11 remotely. [0048] The server 13 stores the pieces of operation executing request information notified from the operating terminals 12 because of the bidding of the terminal operators collectively by each of the tasks registered in the task information pool 31 (operating terminal bidding step 202 ). [0049] Then, the server 13 determines one operating terminal 12 for performing the task by operating an operated device 11 remotely, from among the operating terminals 12 bidding on the task (step 203 ), and notifies the operated device 11 and the operating terminal 12 of the matching information as the determined result. [0050] For example, if bidding time for bidding a task registered in the task information pool 31 is set, the server 13 may determine the operating terminal 12 for performing the task after the lapse of the bidding time. [0118] The server may be configured to extract a candidate for the combination of the operated device and the operating terminal that operates the operated device, notify the operated device of the candidate, and determine the combination of the operated device and the operating terminal that operates the operated device in accordance with a response from the operated device. [0119] The operated device may be configured to judge whether to have the task performed by the remote operation, and only when it is judged to have the task performed remotely, notify the server of the operated side information and request the server to determine the operating terminal for performing the task. [0120] The operated device may be configured to have a predetermined task as an object to be judged whether to be performed by the remote operation. [0121] The operated device may be configured to determine to have the task performed by the remote operation when it is impossible to perform the task autonomously.) and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to, in a case where the one or more processors are unable to determine the operation terminal, accumulate each piece of assistance request information for which assistance has not yet been performed, determine each priority for pieces of the assistance request information, and process the assistance request information in descending order of priority in response to the assistance being ready to be performed. ([0030] The information of the task the device user desires to be performed with the remote operation is transmitted from the operated device 11 to the server 13 as the operation executed request information. The information of the task indicated in the operation executed request information is registered in a task information pool 31 of the server 13 and disclosed on the server 13 as shown in FIG. 3. The terminal operator can browse the disclosed task information pool 31 by accessing to the server 13 from the operating terminal 12. Further, when there is a task the terminal operator desires to operate by himself/herself, he/she can bid by designating a certain task. When the terminal operator bids by designating the task, operation executing request information indicating the bid designating the task is notified from the operating terminal 12 to the server 13. [0031] The server 13 records the operation executing request information bidding for each task registered in the task information pool 31 as the operation executed request information, and determines the combination of the operating terminal 12 and the operated device 11 by each task based on the operation executed request information and the operation executing request information.)
Regarding claim 3: Ando discloses: The robot management device according to claim 1,
Ando further discloses: wherein: the information concerning the task includes error information concerning an error occurred in the task, and the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to determine the operation terminal which generates the external input, based on the operation terminal information and the error information. ([0117] The system may be configured such that the operating side information contains information about evaluation of the terminal operator of the operating terminal received when the terminal operator performed the task previously. [0118] The server may be configured to extract a candidate for the combination of the operated device and the operating terminal that operates the operated device, notify the operated device of the candidate, and determine the combination of the operated device and the operating terminal that operates the operated device in accordance with a response from the operated device. [0122] The operated device may be configured to judge whether to have its own task performed by the remote operation by referring to a judgment result for other operated device about whether to have its task performed by the remote operation.)
Regarding claim 4: Ando discloses: The robot management device according to claim 1,
Ando further discloses: wherein: the information concerning the task includes type information of the robot, and the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to determine the one operation terminal which generates the external input, based on the operation terminal information and the type information of the robot. ([0090] The operating terminal information includes, for example, information about experienced task and evaluator's comment. The information about the experienced task may contain: the types of tasks performed previously; and the number of performances and the number of high evaluations received for each of the tasks. For example, assuming that a certain piece of operating terminal information contains such information as “self-battery charging (evaluation: 120/123),” “feeding a pet (evaluation: 12/15),” “dishwashing (evaluation: 28/40),” and the like, as the types of tasks and the number of high evaluations received with respect to the number of performances for each of the tasks. In those cases, what is shown is that the terminal operator performed “self-battery charging” task 123 times previously and received high evaluations 120 times. Also shown is that the terminal operator performed “feeding a pet” task 15 times and received high evaluations 12 times; further, the terminal operator performed “dishwashing” task 40 times and received high evaluations 28 times. [0091] Also, the operating terminal information may contain comments from the device user who requested the task. For example, assuming that the operating terminal information contains comments such as “It was dealt with quickly” and “A wine glass was broken when washing dishes” as comments of the evaluator (client) about the terminal operator from the device user. The device user can select the operating terminal 12 and the terminal operator based on those comments.)
Regarding claim 5: Ando discloses: The robot management device according to claim 1,
Ando further discloses: wherein: the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to determine the operation terminal which generates the external input, based on operator information which is information concerning an operator for each operation terminal, the operator terminal information, and the information concerning the task. ([0090] The operating terminal information includes, for example, information about experienced task and evaluator's comment. The information about the experienced task may contain: the types of tasks performed previously; and the number of performances and the number of high evaluations received for each of the tasks. For example, assuming that a certain piece of operating terminal information contains such information as “self-battery charging (evaluation: 120/123),” “feeding a pet (evaluation: 12/15),” “dishwashing (evaluation: 28/40),” and the like, as the types of tasks and the number of high evaluations received with respect to the number of performances for each of the tasks. In those cases, what is shown is that the terminal operator performed “self-battery charging” task 123 times previously and received high evaluations 120 times. Also shown is that the terminal operator performed “feeding a pet” task 15 times and received high evaluations 12 times; further, the terminal operator performed “dishwashing” task 40 times and received high evaluations 28 times. [0091] Also, the operating terminal information may contain comments from the device user who requested the task. For example, assuming that the operating terminal information contains comments such as “It was dealt with quickly” and “A wine glass was broken when washing dishes” as comments of the evaluator (client) about the terminal operator from the device user. The device user can select the operating terminal 12 and the terminal operator based on those comments. [0042] the task to be performed by the operated device 11 is, for example, inputted by the device user into the operated device 11 . In such a case, the operated device 11 may notify the server 13 of the inputted information as the operation executed request information. [0043] The information inputted into the operated device 11 by the device user includes respective items such as: assignment; anonymity level; restricting condition; and payment, as an example. The assignment is information about content of the task. The anonymity level is information about protecting privacies of the device user and owner of the operated device 11 , and it indicates the level of anonymization of the information to be measured by the operated device 11 . The restricting condition is the information about restricting the action of the operated device 11 operated remotely. For example, a moving range can be restricted. By this restriction, safety, convenience, privacy and the like of the device user can be protected. The payment is the information about compensation to be paid for the terminal operator who operates the operated device 11 remotely. [0048] The server 13 stores the pieces of operation executing request information notified from the operating terminals 12 because of the bidding of the terminal operators collectively by each of the tasks registered in the task information pool 31 (operating terminal bidding step 202 ). [0049] Then, the server 13 determines one operating terminal 12 for performing the task by operating an operated device 11 remotely, from among the operating terminals 12 bidding on the task (step 203 ), and notifies the operated device 11 and the operating terminal 12 of the matching information as the determined result.)
Regarding claim 6: Ando discloses: The robot management device according to claim 5,
Ando further discloses: wherein: the operator information includes a skill of each operator or information concerning an operation achievement, and the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to determine one operation terminal used by an operator who satisfies a necessary skill or achievement defined based on the information concerning the task, as the operation terminal which generates the external input. ([0090] The operating terminal information includes, for example, information about experienced task and evaluator's comment. The information about the experienced task may contain: the types of tasks performed previously; and the number of performances and the number of high evaluations received for each of the tasks. For example, assuming that a certain piece of operating terminal information contains such information as “self-battery charging (evaluation: 120/123),” “feeding a pet (evaluation: 12/15),” “dishwashing (evaluation: 28/40),” and the like, as the types of tasks and the number of high evaluations received with respect to the number of performances for each of the tasks. In those cases, what is shown is that the terminal operator performed “self-battery charging” task 123 times previously and received high evaluations 120 times. Also shown is that the terminal operator performed “feeding a pet” task 15 times and received high evaluations 12 times; further, the terminal operator performed “dishwashing” task 40 times and received high evaluations 28 times. [0091] Also, the operating terminal information may contain comments from the device user who requested the task. For example, assuming that the operating terminal information contains comments such as “It was dealt with quickly” and “A wine glass was broken when washing dishes” as comments of the evaluator (client) about the terminal operator from the device user. The device user can select the operating terminal 12 and the terminal operator based on those comments.)
Regarding claim 7: Ando discloses: The robot management device according to claim 5,
Ando further discloses: wherein: the operator information includes state management information which is information concerning a state management of each operator, and the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to determine one operation terminal used by an operator who is available to perform an operation concerning the external input as the operation terminal which generates the external input based on the state management information. . ([0090] The operating terminal information includes, for example, information about experienced task and evaluator's comment. The information about the experienced task may contain: the types of tasks performed previously; and the number of performances and the number of high evaluations received for each of the tasks. For example, assuming that a certain piece of operating terminal information contains such information as “self-battery charging (evaluation: 120/123),” “feeding a pet (evaluation: 12/15),” “dishwashing (evaluation: 28/40),” and the like, as the types of tasks and the number of high evaluations received with respect to the number of performances for each of the tasks. In those cases, what is shown is that the terminal operator performed “self-battery charging” task 123 times previously and received high evaluations 120 times. Also shown is that the terminal operator performed “feeding a pet” task 15 times and received high evaluations 12 times; further, the terminal operator performed “dishwashing” task 40 times and received high evaluations 28 times. [0091] Also, the operating terminal information may contain comments from the device user who requested the task. For example, assuming that the operating terminal information contains comments such as “It was dealt with quickly” and “A wine glass was broken when washing dishes” as comments of the evaluator (client) about the terminal operator from the device user. The device user can select the operating terminal 12 and the terminal operator based on those comments.
Regarding claim 9: Ando discloses: The robot management device according to claim 1,
Ando further discloses: wherein: the one or more processors are configured to execute the instructions to determine that the control based on the external input is necessary in response to an occurrence of an error in an execution of the task by the robot or a step in which external input is necessary. ([0090] The operating terminal information includes, for example, information about experienced task and evaluator's comment. The information about the experienced task may contain: the types of tasks performed previously; and the number of performances and the number of high evaluations received for each of the tasks. For example, assuming that a certain piece of operating terminal information contains such information as “self-battery charging (evaluation: 120/123),” “feeding a pet (evaluation: 12/15),” “dishwashing (evaluation: 28/40),” and the like, as the types of tasks and the number of high evaluations received with respect to the number of performances for each of the tasks. In those cases, what is shown is that the terminal operator performed “self-battery charging” task 123 times previously and received high evaluations 120 times. Also shown is that the terminal operator performed “feeding a pet” task 15 times and received high evaluations 12 times; further, the terminal operator performed “dishwashing” task 40 times and received high evaluations 28 times. [0091] Also, the operating terminal information may contain comments from the device user who requested the task. For example, assuming that the operating terminal information contains comments such as “It was dealt with quickly” and “A wine glass was broken when washing dishes” as comments of the evaluator (client) about the terminal operator from the device user. The device user can select the operating terminal 12 and the terminal operator based on those comments.
Regarding claim 12: Ando discloses: The robot management device according to claim 1,
Ando further discloses: wherein: in response to establishment of the communication connection, task view information for displaying a task view on the determined operation terminal is transmitted from the robot or the robot controller to the determined operation terminal, and a target object that is an action target and a movement destination of the target object are displayed in a different display manner on the determined operation terminal in the task view. ([0020] The operating terminal 12 is a terminal that operates the operated device 11 remotely via the communication network. The operating terminal 12 operates the operated device 11 remotely to have the task performed. The operated device 11 to be operated by the operating terminal 12 is determined on the server 13. [0054] Affirmation processing between the operated device 11 and the device user may be performed by using a combination of a screen display and a button operation; also, it may be performed by UI (User Interface) dialogue on a touch panel, or, performed by voice dialogue by combining of voice reproduction or voice synthesis with voice recognition. [0055] Return to FIG. 4, if the operated device 11 receives the matching information from the server 13 at a time when being in a state of waiting for a determination of the operating terminal 12 by which the task is to be performed (operating terminal determination waiting step 102), the operated device 11 presents the matching information to the device user.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando et al. (US2010241693, referred to as Ando) in view of Sogen (JP2016068161, referred to as Sogen).
Regarding claim 10: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 1, however further directed to a “control method performed by a computer”, which is not explicitly disclosed by Ando.
Ando does not disclose the following limitations, however, Sogen, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: control method performed by a computer ([0049] The programs can be stored and provided to a computer using various types of non-transitory computer readable media. Non-transitory computer readable media include tangible storage media of various types. Examples of non-transitory computer readable media are magnetic recording media (eg flexible disk, magnetic tape, hard disk drive), magneto-optical recording media (eg magneto-optical disk), CD-ROM (Read Only Memory), CD-R, CD-R / W, semiconductor memory (for example, mask ROM, PROM (Programmable ROM), EPROM (Erasable PROM), flash ROM, RAM (random access memory)) are included. [0050] The program may be supplied to the computer by various types of transitory computer readable media. Examples of temporary computer readable media include electrical signals, light signals, and electromagnetic waves. The temporary computer readable medium can provide the program to the computer via a wired communication path such as electric wire and optical fiber, or a wireless communication path.)
Ando and Sogen are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robotic task control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the robotic control selection method of Ando to enable the non-transitory storage computer enacted method taught in Sogen.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the robotic control selection method disclosed in Ando with the method applied to the non-transitory storage and computer implementation taught in Sogen.
Regarding claim 11: Rejected using the same rationale as claim 1, however further directed to a “non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a program, the program causing a computer to perform a process”, which is not explicitly disclosed by Ando.
Ando does not disclose the following limitations, however, Sogen, in an analogous field of endeavor, teaches: non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a program, the program causing a computer to perform a process ([0049] The programs can be stored and provided to a computer using various types of non-transitory computer readable media. Non-transitory computer readable media include tangible storage media of various types. Examples of non-transitory computer readable media are magnetic recording media (eg flexible disk, magnetic tape, hard disk drive), magneto-optical recording media (eg magneto-optical disk), CD-ROM (Read Only Memory), CD-R, CD-R / W, semiconductor memory (for example, mask ROM, PROM (Programmable ROM), EPROM (Erasable PROM), flash ROM, RAM (random access memory)) are included. [0050] The program may be supplied to the computer by various types of transitory computer readable media. Examples of temporary computer readable media include electrical signals, light signals, and electromagnetic waves. The temporary computer readable medium can provide the program to the computer via a wired communication path such as electric wire and optical fiber, or a wireless communication path.)
As previously stated, Ando and Sogen are analogous art to the claimed invention since they are from the similar field of robotic task control. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, with a reasonable expectation for success, to modify the robotic control selection method of Ando to enable the non-transitory storage computer enacted method taught in Sogen.
The motivation for modification would have been to provide the robotic control selection method disclosed in Ando with the method applied to the non-transitory storage and computer implementation taught in Sogen.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record, and not relied upon, considered pertinent to applicant' s disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
/ATTICUS A CAMERON/ /JASON HOLLOWAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 Examiner, Art Unit 3658A