DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiratori (EP 0 693 261) in view of Ge (US 2005/0249886).
Regarding claim 10, Shiratori discloses an apparatus comprising
a body made of a metal material (30/31);
a roughened outer surface subjected to a preliminary surface roughening process over the entire metal element (Column 5, lines 17-18 describe wherein diecast Zinc has a heavy surface roughness from the diecasting, this layer is present within and over the entire metal element and would also be present within the embodiment shown in Fig. 3);
at least one anti-corrosion layer (32) on the outer surface of the metal element; and
at least one paint layer (34) covering the entirety of the at least one anti-corrosion layer.
Shiratori fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one anti-corrosion layer has a recess. Shiratori discloses in Column 6, lines 14-36 wherein the successive application of layers “acquire a flat surface”.
Ge teaches wherein a coating (210; Paragraph 32, last 4 lines describe wherein the coating is 1-11 microns) applied to a substrate (205) will have the same surface characteristics as the substrate such that recesses present on the substrate will also be found on the coating layer (Fig. 2 as shown).
From this teaching of Ge, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to recognize that coatings (32) of Shiratori of an overlapping range thickness (3-15 microns as described in line 32-33 of Column 6) when applied to a roughened surface would also exhibit the same recesses formed by surface roughening of the substrate. This process is alluded to in Shiratori Column 6, lines 14-36 wherein the successive layers have the effect of flattening the roughened surface. This language of Shiratori, when viewed under the perspective of Ge, makes clear that successive layers have the effect of reducing roughness as layers are applied but do not completely eliminate the surface roughness as indicated by the additional layer flattening language Shiratori provides.
Regarding claim 11, Shiratori further discloses wherein the metal element includes copper (31) and zinc (30).
Regarding claim 12, Shiratori further discloses the wherein the at least one anti-corrosion layer is a plate layer including zinc (Column 3, lines 6-9), but fails to disclose the plate layer includes copper and tin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these materials since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 13, Shiratori further discloses wherein at least one coloring backing layer (33) is formed between the at least one anti-corrosion layer and the at least one paint layer.
Regarding claim 14, Shiratori further discloses the at least one coloring backing layer is a plate layer (Fig. 3 as shown) but fails to disclose tin and cobalt. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use tin and cobalt since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 15, Shiratori further discloses wherein the at least one paint layer is black (Column 6, line 18-19).
Regarding claim 16, Shiratori further discloses wherein a plurality of recesses are formed on the roughened outer surface by the preliminary surface roughening process, and wherein the at least one anti-corrosion layer, the at least one coloring backing layer, and the at least one paint layer are formed inside the plurality of recesses (the diecast of the Zn layer would inherently produce recesses at least of a microscopic scale).
Regarding claim 19, Shiratori further discloses wherein the at least one anti-corrosion layer covers the entirety of the roughened outer surface of the metal element (Fig. 3 as shown).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As indicated above, Shiratori recognizes the propagation of roughness/recesses as layers are applied. While Shiratori is reducing the roughness as layers are provided, it is still expected to see recesses within the anti-corrosion layer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677