Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiratori (EP 0 693 261) in view of Schmidt (US 6,368,718).
Regarding claim 10, Shiratori discloses an apparatus comprising
a body made of a metal material (30/31);
at least one anti-corrosion layer (32) on the outer surface of the metal element; and
at least one paint layer (34) covering the entirety of the at least one anti-corrosion layer.
Shiratori fails to disclose a roughened outer surface subjected to a preliminary surface roughening process over the entire metal element.
Schmidt teaches a device wherein surface roughening is applied prior to application of an anti-corrosion layer (Column 4, lines 18-26)
From this teaching of Schmidt, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to include surface roughening across an entire surface of the material of Shiratori. Roughening a surface enhances adhesion of a coating layer. Applying the surface roughening and thus the anti-corrosion layer across the entire element would enhance durability and corrosion resistance of the entire element.
Regarding claim 11, Shiratori further discloses wherein the metal element includes copper (31) and zinc (30).
Regarding claim 12, Shiratori further discloses the wherein the at least one anti-corrosion layer is a plate layer including zinc (Column 3, lines 6-9), but fails to disclose the plate layer includes copper and tin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use these materials since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 13, Shiratori further discloses wherein at least one coloring backing layer (33) is formed between the at least one anti-corrosion layer and the at least one paint layer.
Regarding claim 14, Shiratori further discloses the at least one coloring backing layer is a plate layer (Fig. 3 as shown) but fails to disclose tin and cobalt. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use tin and cobalt since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 15, Shiratori further discloses wherein the at least one paint layer is black (Column 6, line 18-19).
Regarding claim 16, the combination device of Shiratori and Schmidt further discloses wherein a plurality of recesses are formed on the roughened outer surface by the preliminary surface roughening process, and wherein the at least one anti-corrosion layer, the at least one coloring backing layer, and the at least one paint layer are formed inside the plurality of recesses (the mechanical roughening introduced by Schmidt would inherently produce recesses at least of a microscopic scale).
Regarding claim 19, the combination device of Shiratori and Schmidt further disclose wherein the at least one anti-corrosion layer covers the entirety of the roughened outer surface of the metal element (the roughening process introduced by Schmidt would be provided on the entirety of the surfaces with applied paint/anti-corrosives).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) have been fully considered. Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. However, to further clarify the issue the rejection has been withdrawn. A new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shiratori as a primary reference as shown above.
Conclusion
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677