Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I claims 31-53 in the reply filed on 6/26/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 31-53 & 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Busacca et al. WO2019099642 (see English 2020/350633)
With respect to claim 31, Busacca et al. discloses a device for transfer of carrier ions to an energy storage device, the device comprising:
a source of carrier ions [0434] configured for electrochemical interaction with a unit cell comprising an electrode separated from a counter electrode 110/112 by a separator 130, the unit cell being configured for charging and/or discharging, at least in part by using the carrier ions [0411], the source of carrier ions being configured to form a solid electrolyte interface in the unit cell at least in part by using the carrier ions [0455-0458], the source being configured to operatively couple with a constraint system coupled with the unit cell such that the carrier ions transfer from the source through the constraint system and to the unit cell [0433-0436], the constraint system being configured to restrain growth of the unit cell during operation[0433]; [0434-0455; 0206-0255; Figures 30-35]
an electrolyte configured to fluidly carry the carrier ions from the source to the unit cell [0519-0538; 0462]; and
an enclosure configured to enclose the source and the electrolyte [0442].
With respect to claim 32, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the electrolyte is configured to fluidly carry the carrier ions from the source to the unit cell through a porous material configured to provide a path for the carrier ions to propagate from the source to the unit cells the porous material being operatively coupled with the unit cell and with the constraint system. [0458; 0517-0520]
With respect to claim 33, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the device is configured for initial formation and/or replenishment of the energy storage device, the replenishment being at least in part due to loss of the carrier ions during use of the energy storage device. [0434-0455]
With respect to claim 34, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the source is configured to couple to the constraint system comprising apertures 176, such that the carrier ions transfer through the constraint system at least in part by being transferred through the apertures. [0519]
With respect to claim 35, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the source is configured to couple to the constraint system comprising apertures that are aligned, such that the carrier ions transfer through the constraint system at least in part by being transferred through the apertures. [0517; 0527-0528]
With respect to claim 36, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the source is configured to couple to the constraint system comprising apertures, such that the carrier ions transfer through the constraint system at least in part by being transferred through the apertures that are elongated, each of the apertures having a long axis; and wherein the unit cell has a length measured in a traverse direction, the long axis being normal to the length. [0517]
With respect to claim 37, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the constraint system comprises a first constraint opposing a second constraint, the unit cell disposed between the first constraint and the second constraint, and wherein the source is configured to contact the first constraint and the second constraint, to facilitate transfer of the carrier ions. [0470-0485]
With respect to claim 38, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the constraint system comprises (a) a ceramic and (b) a metal, a composite material, or a metal and a composite material. [0645]
With respect to claim 39, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the carrier ions comprise any of lithium, sodium, potassium, calcium, magnesium and aluminum ions. [0215; 0648]
With respect to claim 40, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the electrode comprises silicon, silicon material in particulate form, silicon oxide, silicon carbon composite, silicon alloy, silicon compound, or any combination thereof. [0290; 0649; 0722]
With respect to claim 41, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the unit cell is a wound unit cell. [0248-0262; Figure 38-Figure 50]
With respect to claim 42, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the unit cell is stacked over other unit cells similar to the unit cell to form a stack, the stack comprising at least 2, 5, 10, 25, 50, or 100 members of the unit cell. [0753]
With respect to claim 43, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the electrolyte is a non-aqueous electrolyte. [0206; 0462]
With respect to claim 44, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the source is configured for electrochemical interaction with a stack of unit cells comprising the unit cell, the source being configured to operatively couple with the constraint system coupled with the stack of unit cells such that the carrier ions transfer from the source through the constraint system and to the stack of unit cells. [0434-0455: Figures 33-38]
With respect to claim 45, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the stack of unit cells is stacked along an axis, and wherein the source is configured to operatively couple to the stack of unit cells such that the source is parallel to the axis. [0433; 0463-0500]
With respect to claim 46, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the stack of electrode and counter electrode unit cells are stacked along an axis, and wherein the constraint system is configured to operatively couple to the unit cell such that the constraint system is parallel to the axis. [0433; 0463-0500]
With respect to claim 47, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the unit cell is of an electrode assembly having a ratio of a maximum length to a maximum height of at least 2:1, and a maximum width to a maximum height of at least 2:1. [0039; 0059-0065]
With respect to claim 48, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the enclosure is a sealed enclosure configured to seal the electrolyte therein and seal the electrolyte from an external environment to the enclosure. [0075]
With respect to claim 49, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the enclosure is configured to enclose the constraint system and the unit cell. [0442; 0491-0492]
With respect to claim 50, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the enclosure and the constraint system occupy at most 75% of a volume bounded by an outer surface of the enclosure. [0640]
With respect to claim 51, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the enclosure is a sealed enclosure configured to seal the electrolyte therein and seal the electrolyte from an external environment to the enclosure. [0075]
With respect to claim 52, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the electrode and counter electrode are stacked along an axis in the unit cell, and wherein the source is configured to couple with the unit cell such that the source is disposed parallel to the axis. [0500-0520; Figure 6A-6D]
With respect to claim 53, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the source is configured to couple with the unit cell such that the source is disposed parallel to the axis at opposing sides of the unit cell. [0500-0520; Figure 6A-6D]
With respect to claim 57, Busacca et al. discloses wherein the unit cell comprises porous electrically insulating material that is indicative of a slurry having been applied over the electrode and/counter-electrode. [0298]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ota et al. US 2020/0152348
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751