DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
the module array being in a submerged position below a surface of the water (claims 16, 29-30 and 33)
Note: Applicant is requested to show the submerged position in phantom (dot-dash) lines. It is recommended that a new, cleaner figure 1a be added to show both the operating and well as the submerged positions of the module array relative to the waterline, preferably in a side view. Applicant is reminded that a corresponding description of the new figure should be added in the “description of the drawing” section of the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Independent claims 16, 29-30 and 33 each sets forth a module array and an array holder, wherein the array holder is designed to move the module array between an operating position on a surface of the body of water and a submerged position below the surface of the body of water (emphasis added).
However, it is noted that the specification fails to disclose any specific actuating mechanism on the array holder (for example, a winch or a ballast tank) that can be used to intentionally move the module array from an operating position on the water surface to a submerged position below the water surface. The disclosure simply states that the array holder 110 is the positioning structure for the entire PV unit and is comprised of traction means, position buoys (and, optionally, further buoyancy bodies), mechanical couplings and suitable attachment points (¶0079 of the specification). However, the disclosure fails to provide any guidance on how the module array, which itself is buoyant and slidably attached to buoys 111, can be pulled by the array holder below the water surface.
Therefore, in absence of adequate guidance in the disclosure, a person skilled in the art would not be able to make and/or use the claimed invention without undue experimentation.
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In each of the independent claims 16, 29-30 and 33, the preamble limitation “A PV unit” renders the claim indefinite. It is not sufficiently clear if the phrase “PV unit” has been used to mean “photovoltaic unit” or something else. However, changing the phrase “A PV unit” to –A photovoltaic (PV) unit – will overcome this rejection.
In claim 16 and claim 33, the claim limitation “fixing means for coupling to a bottom and/or to the surface of the body of water” (emphasis added) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Although the written description mentions the phrase “fixing means, the specification fails to expressly disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specifically, it is not sufficiently clear if the limitation “fixing means” has been used to convey just an anchor or a combination of anchor with some other component (such as a traction rope). Consequently, in absence of such clarity, the claim is rendered indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-18, 21-22, 26-29 and 33, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rosa Clot et al. (US 2011/0168235 A1).
Rosa Clot et al. disclose a photovoltaic (PV) unit for use on a body of water, comprising: a module array [1, 14] comprising at least one PV module; and an array holder [6, 7, 8] designed to move the module array between an operating position on a surface of the body of water and a submerged position below the surface of the body of water (see Fig 1), the array holder comprising fixing means [7] for coupling to a bottom and/or to the surface of the body of water, wherein the module array is movable in a direction relative to the array holder (see ¶0043, or alternatively, ¶0059-0060 and ¶0063).
Re claim 17, the module array is movable relative to the array holder up to at least one stop position.
Re claim 18, at least one of the module array and the array holder includes or is coupled with at least one of a buoyancy body [6] (see Fig 3) and a downforce body [10] with variable downforce (see ¶0044-0048).
Re claim 21, the degree of mobility of the module array relative to the array holder can be varied by adjusting the variable downforce exerted by the downforce body [10], and is therefore considered to be variable (see ¶0044-0048).
Re claim 22, the buoyancy body [6] has an elongated shape, with a ratio of width to length being 1:2 or less (see Fig 3).
Re claims 26 and 27, the downforce body [10] is a ballasting tank, and in an alternative, can act as a buoyancy body to assume a position below the surface of the body of water in an operating state, or to assume a position below the surface of the body of water at the submerged position or below.
Re claim 28, at least a portion of the fixing means for coupling of the array holder to the bottom and/or on the surface of the body of water lies outside an area of the module array as viewed in a vertical direction.
Re claim 29, the module array is shifted to a submerged position below the surface of the body of water when a situation is encountered involving a swell and/or storm above a given strength, and/or for cleaning purposes, and/or for interruption or reduction of the electricity production, and/or at low solar radiation (see ¶0053)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosa Clot et al. (US 2011/0168235 A1) in view of CN 207354105 U (‘105). See the attached English translation.
Rosa Clot et al. disclose a photovoltaic (PV) unit, comprising: a plurality of array elements [14] connected to each other, as described above (see Fig 3).
Rosa Clot et al. however fail to disclose the array elements as being elastically connected to each other.
CN ‘105 discloses a photovoltaic (PV) unit, comprising a plurality of PV array elements that are elastically connected to each other with springs [7] (see Fig 1 and Fig 3).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to connect the array elements of Rosa Clot et al. elastically using springs, as taught by CN ‘105. Having such a mechanism would have allowed the couplings between adjacent array elements to deform and absorb the impact of strong waves, thereby preventing the force of such waves from causing any damage to the array elements.
Re claim 31, the PV array of modified Rosa Clot et al. would be movable relative to the array holder up to at least one stop position, as noted previously.
Re claim 18, as noted previously, the PV array includes a buoyancy body [6] (see Fig 3) and/or a downforce body [10] with variable downforce (see ¶0044-0048).
Claims 16-22, 24-29, and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102296599 B1 (‘599) in view of WO 2021193745 A1 (‘745).
KR ‘599 shows a photovoltaic (PV) unit, comprising: a module array [300] comprising at least one PV module [P]; and an array holder [100, 411] designed to move the module array, the array holder comprising fixing means [200, 210] for coupling to a bottom and/or to the surface of the body of water, wherein the module array is movable in a direction relative to the array holder (see Fig 2a and 2b).
KR ‘599 however fails to show the array holder moving the module array between an operating position on a surface of the body of water and a submerged position below the surface of the body of water.
WO ‘745 shows a photovoltaic (PV) unit, comprising: a module array [511] comprising at least one PV module, and an array holder [62] (see Fig 6), wherein the array holder moves the module array between an operating position on a surface of the body of water and a submerged position below the surface of the body of water (see the abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the array holder of KR ‘599 for moving the module array between an operating position on a surface of the body of water and a submerged position below the surface of the body of water, as taught by WO ‘745. Having such an arrangement would have protected the module array from damage during adverse and rough weather conditions.
Re 17, with the above modification in place, the module array of KR ‘599 would be movable relative to the array holder up to at least one stop position.
Re claim 18, at least one of the module array and the array holder includes or is coupled with at least one of a buoyancy body [430] and a downforce body with variable downforce.
Re claim 19, the array holder of modified of KR ‘599 includes a substantially vertically extending guide element [411] (see Fig 4a), said module array being movably coupled to the guide element.
Re claim 20, the guide element of modified of KR ‘599 includes a movably mounted running unit [412] (see Fig 4b), said module array connectable to the running unit.
Re claim 21, the degree of mobility of the module array relative to the array holder is variable.
Re claim 22, the buoyancy body has an elongated shape, with a ratio of width to length being 1:2 or less.
Re claim 24, the array holder [100, 411] is configured as a buoyancy body, wherein the module array is movable along at least the upright/vertical portion [411] of the buoyancy body.
Re claim 25, the horizontal portion of the buoyancy body is capable of, and therefore acting as a damping element for damping a movement thereof in water.
Re claims 26-27, with the above modification in place, the buoyancy body of KR ‘599 would be able to assume a position below the surface of the body of water in an operating state, and to assume a position below the surface of the body of water at the submerged position or below.
Re claim 28, at least a portion [210] of the fixing means lies outside a footprint area of the module array as viewed in a vertical direction (see Fig 2a).
Re claim 29, the module array of modified KR ‘599 is shifted between an operating position at a surface of the body of water and a submerged position below the surface of the body of water when an adverse weather situation is encountered involving a swell or storm above a given strength, as described WO ‘745.
Re claim 33, the array holder of modified KR ‘599 is configured to move a module array of the PV unit between an operating position on a surface of the body of water and a submerged position below the surface of the body of water, as described above.
Re claim 34, the array holder of modified of KR ‘599 comprises a substantially vertically extending guide element [411] (see Fig 4a) for guiding a movement of the module array.
Re claim 35, the guide element of modified of KR ‘599 includes a movably mounted running unit [412] (see Fig 4b) for attachment of the module array.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 would be allowable if the applicant is able to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b) without changing the scope of the claim, and if the claim is rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DE-102007029921 shows a floating photovoltaic array with variable buoyancy
KR-20190037642 shows a floating photovoltaic array movable between an operating position on a surface of the body of water and a submerged position below the surface of the body of water
/AJAY VASUDEVA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615