DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed 9/5/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 and 16-20 under 35 USC 103 over Boeckman and Rubini have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Boeckman does not disclose welding of plastic vehicle components, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In any event, an alternative rejection of claims 1-8 and 16-20 has been presented, which applies GB 2525614 A to the intended use of claims 1-8 and 16-20.
The apparatus of Boeckman is capable of welding plastic components which are intended to be plastic vehicle components, where a weld seam is to be formed.
In any event, GB 2525614 A discloses a welding apparatus similar that in Boeckman, wherein the plastic components are plastic vehicle components. GB 2525614 A discloses on page 3, lines 28-32 that:
Thermoplastic composite components have the potential to be widely used in the aerospace industry, and it is beneficial to he able to provide a method of welding disparate components together, without causing structural weaknesses within the final assembly. By using the thermoplastic of the components themselves as the weld material, a clean uniformly continuous join between the components is formed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein the plastic components are plastic vehicle components as in GB 2525614 A in order to weld disparate components together, without causing structural weaknesses.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed 9/5/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 9 under 35 USC 103 over Boeckman and Rubini and claims 10-14 under 35 USC 103a over Boeckman Rubini and GB 2525614 A have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly applied Rubini reference. Therefore, claim(s) 9-14 and 21are now rejected under 35 USC 103 over Boeckman, Rubini and GB 2525614 A, as GB 2525614 A does disclose welding of plastic vehicle components
As noted above, GB 2525614 A discloses a welding apparatus and method similar that in Boeckman, wherein the plastic components are plastic vehicle components. GB 2525614 A discloses on page 3, lines 28-32 that:
Thermoplastic composite components have the potential to be widely used in the aerospace industry, and it is beneficial to he able to provide a method of welding disparate components together, without causing structural weaknesses within the final assembly. By using the thermoplastic of the components themselves as the weld material, a clean uniformly continuous join between the components is formed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein the plastic components are plastic vehicle components as in GB 2525614 A in order to weld disparate components together, without causing structural weaknesses.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control device for controlling a pressure force and/or a temperature” in claim 8. Paragraph 0017 of the specification discloses that the corresponding structure for “the control device can be an electrical control device. The control device can have a processor, a working memory, a data memory, at least one signal input and/or at least one signal output. The control device can be programmable.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boeckmann (US 5019027 A) and Rubini (US 20170240309 A1).
As to claim 1, Boeckmann discloses a set of at least two pressure tool (first and second seal jaws 10, 12) for applying a pressure force during welding of plastic components (web 32, see column 5, line 67, disclosing “The film web may be of a single ply of thermoplastic material, or may be one of a number of dual or multiple ply laminates conventionally used in the art.”), each of the at least two pressure tools (jaws 10, 12) comprises at least one metallic first component contact (“First and second working surfaces 28, 30 of first seal jaw 10 are shown in more detail in FIG. 2, and third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is shown in more detail in FIG. 3.”; for jaw 10, “Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum”, and for jaw 12, “third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark)”),
wherein one of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (working surface 28, which includes “a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber”) and is thermally controllable (“provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws”),
and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with at least one elastically deformable second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section where a weld seam is to be formed.
See column 6, line 22 to column 7, line 5, disclosing:
(5) As shown in FIG. 2, first working surface 28 is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized in the first and second seal jaws 10, 12. It may have a relatively flat, untextured or unpatterned surface. Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As can be seen, second working surface 30 is wider than the zipper closure elements and is positioned so that it will engage the zipper closure elements even if there are positional changes of the elements on the film web. This enables the present invention to be used on a number of different sizes of container webs without modification to the seal jaws. A cross-hatched pattern is preferred for second working surface 30 to promote the flow of thermoplastic material during sealing. Other suitable patterned surfaces may also be used.
(6) Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
(7) As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42. Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.
(8) The provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws permits additional heat to be applied in the area of the zipper closure elements and also permits the apparatus to be adjusted for the particular film material to be sealed. For example, where the film web is a dual ply laminate of oriented polypropylene with an inner seal layer of Saran (trademark), both first seal bar 10 and second seal bar 12 are operated in the range of from 250-280 degrees F., and most preferably about 260 degrees F. This temperature is sufficient to melt the inner seal layer for obtaining a durable seal without causing undue deformation or shrinkage of the outer polypropylene layer.
The apparatus of Boeckman is capable of welding plastic components which are intended to be plastic vehicle components, where a weld seam is to be formed.
Boeckman does not disclose the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. Boeckman only discloses one of the tools has both a metallic first component contact section and at least one elastically deformable second component contact section, whereas the other tool just has a metallic first component contact section with no elastically deformable second component contact section.
However, Rubini discloses and makes obvious the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (such as “two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber” in one tool called “the counter-sealing element 10”, and pressure pad 25 made of “solid silicone” in the other tool which is “sealing element 9”) and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. See especially paragraphs 0065-70, disclosing:
[0065] The counter-sealing element 10 further comprises two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber, which are housed in respective front cavities 24 of the supporting arrangement 34.
[0066] The pressure pads 23 are arranged on opposite sides of the front seat 22. In particular, the pressure pads 23 are arranged symmetrically with respect to plane Z, when the first jaw 7 and the second jaw 8 are in the sealing configuration, i.e. in the closed position H.
[0067] In this way, each counter pad 23 cooperates, during heat-sealing operation, with a corresponding sealing bar 13, in particular with a corresponding active surface 19 and a respective projection 20.
[0068] The sealing element 9 further comprises a resilient element 25 received inside the groove 17 and arranged to prevent clogging particles from entering into the groove 17 and accumulating in the groove 17. The clogging particle may be residues of packaging material and/or plastic material forming the opening devices 5.
[0069] The counter element 25 is arranged to interact with the cutting element 18 during cutting operation.
[0070] Advantageously, the resilient element 25 is made of rubber. In particular, the resilient element is made of solid silicone.
See also Figure 3, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section by utilizing the pressure pads and resilient elements of Rubini in order to achiever cooperation and interaction during heat-sealing operation.
As to claim 2, Boeckmann and Rubini discloses wherein the at least one first component contact section (working surface 32) and the at least one second component contact section (working surfaces 28 and 30) are arranged adjacent to each other along a boundary line.
See Boeckman, Figure 1, below:
See also Rubini, Figures 3 and 4, cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
As to claim 3, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressure tool has a rim section and the at least one second component contact section is arranged at the rim section. See Figure 2, below:
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 1 above makes obvious duplication of the rim section. See the analysis in claim 1 above.
As to claim 4, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressure tool is formed structurally integrated with the at least one first component contact section, has at least one receiving section (visible in Figure 3, disclosed as “Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.”) set back relative to the at least one first component contact section, and the at least one second component contact section is configured to be received on the at least one receiving section. See also Figure 4 and a5, showing set back relative to the at least one first component contact section, and the at least one second component contact section is configured to be received on the at least one receiving section.
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 1 above makes obvious duplication of the receiving section. See the analysis in claim 1 above.
As to claim 5, Boeckmann and Rubini both discloses wherein the at least one second component contact section projects in an undeformed state with respect to the at least one first component contact section and is deformable under pressure load into the receiving section. Boeckmann discloses in column 3, line 32 that “The first working surface is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a durable silicone rubber pad which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized.”. See also Rubini, paragraphs 0065-70, cited above.
As to claim 6, Boeckmann discloses wherein at least one of the at least two pressure tools (100, 203, 208) has at least one heating (heating elements 36 and heating elements 40) and/or cooling device and/or at least one temperature sensor (thermocouple/thermostat 38 and thermostat 42). See column 6, line 41, disclosing:
Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42.
See also column 7, line 64, disclosing:
Demountable second working surface 50 includes heating elements 56 and thermocouples 58 connected and controlled in the same manner as previously described with respect to heating elements 36 and thermocouples 38.
As to claim 7, Boeckmann discloses a pressure apparatus for pressing together plastic components during welding, wherein the pressing device has at least two pressure tools (first and second seal jaws 10, 12) for applying a pressure force during welding of plastic components (web 32, see column 5, line 67, disclosing “The film web may be of a single ply of thermoplastic material, or may be one of a number of dual or multiple ply laminates conventionally used in the art.”), each of the at least two pressure tools (jaws 10, 12) having comprises at least one metallic first component contact (“First and second working surfaces 28, 30 of first seal jaw 10 are shown in more detail in FIG. 2, and third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is shown in more detail in FIG. 3.”; for jaw 10, “Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum”, and for jaw 12, “third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark)”),
wherein one of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (working surface 28, which includes “a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber”) and is thermally controllable (“provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws”) and
wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with at least one elastically deformable second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section where a weld seam is to be formed.
See column 6, line 22 to column 7, line 5, disclosing:
(5) As shown in FIG. 2, first working surface 28 is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized in the first and second seal jaws 10, 12. It may have a relatively flat, untextured or unpatterned surface. Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As can be seen, second working surface 30 is wider than the zipper closure elements and is positioned so that it will engage the zipper closure elements even if there are positional changes of the elements on the film web. This enables the present invention to be used on a number of different sizes of container webs without modification to the seal jaws. A cross-hatched pattern is preferred for second working surface 30 to promote the flow of thermoplastic material during sealing. Other suitable patterned surfaces may also be used.
(6) Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
(7) As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42. Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.
(8) The provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws permits additional heat to be applied in the area of the zipper closure elements and also permits the apparatus to be adjusted for the particular film material to be sealed. For example, where the film web is a dual ply laminate of oriented polypropylene with an inner seal layer of Saran (trademark), both first seal bar 10 and second seal bar 12 are operated in the range of from 250-280 degrees F., and most preferably about 260 degrees F. This temperature is sufficient to melt the inner seal layer for obtaining a durable seal without causing undue deformation or shrinkage of the outer polypropylene layer.
The apparatus of Boeckman is capable of welding plastic components which are intended to be plastic vehicle components, where a weld seam is to be formed.
Boeckman does not disclose the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. Boeckman only discloses one of the tools has both a metallic first component contact section and at least one elastically deformable second component contact section, whereas the other tool just has a metallic first component contact section with no elastically deformable second component contact section.
However, Rubini discloses and makes obvious the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (such as “two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber” in one tool called “the counter-sealing element 10”, and pressure pad 25 made of “solid silicone” in the other tool which is “sealing element 9”) and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. See especially paragraphs 0065-70, disclosing:
[0065] The counter-sealing element 10 further comprises two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber, which are housed in respective front cavities 24 of the supporting arrangement 34.
[0066] The pressure pads 23 are arranged on opposite sides of the front seat 22. In particular, the pressure pads 23 are arranged symmetrically with respect to plane Z, when the first jaw 7 and the second jaw 8 are in the sealing configuration, i.e. in the closed position H.
[0067] In this way, each counter pad 23 cooperates, during heat-sealing operation, with a corresponding sealing bar 13, in particular with a corresponding active surface 19 and a respective projection 20.
[0068] The sealing element 9 further comprises a resilient element 25 received inside the groove 17 and arranged to prevent clogging particles from entering into the groove 17 and accumulating in the groove 17. The clogging particle may be residues of packaging material and/or plastic material forming the opening devices 5.
[0069] The counter element 25 is arranged to interact with the cutting element 18 during cutting operation.
[0070] Advantageously, the resilient element 25 is made of rubber. In particular, the resilient element is made of solid silicone.
See also Figure 3, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section by utilizing the pressure pads and resilient elements of Rubini in order to achiever cooperation and interaction during heat-sealing operation.
As to claim 8, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressing device has a control device for controlling (conventional controller for controlling heating elements 36 and 40) a pressure force and/or a temperature. See column 6, line 41, disclosing:
Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42.
See also column 7, line 64, disclosing:
Demountable second working surface 50 includes heating elements 56 and thermocouples 58 connected and controlled in the same manner as previously described with respect to heating elements 36 and thermocouples 38.
As to claim 16, Boeckmann and Rubini discloses wherein the at least one first component contact section (working surface 32) and the at least one second component contact section (working surfaces 28 and 30) are arranged adjacent to each other along a boundary line.
See Figure 1, below:
See also Rubini, Figures 3 and 4, cited in the rejection of claim 7 above.
As to claim 17, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressure tool has a rim section and the at least one second component contact section is arranged at the rim section. See Figure 2, below:
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 7 above makes obvious duplication of the rim section. See the analysis in claim 7 above.
As to claim 18, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressure tool is formed structurally integrated with the at least one first component contact section, has at least one receiving section (visible in Figure 3, disclosed as “Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.”) set back relative to the at least one first component contact section, and the at least one second component contact section is configured to be received on the at least one receiving section. See also Figure 4 and a5, showing set back relative to the at least one first component contact section, and the at least one second component contact section is configured to be received on the at least one receiving section.
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 7 above makes obvious duplication of the receiving section. See the analysis in claim 7 above.
As to claim 19, Boeckmann and Rubini discloses wherein the at least one second component contact section projects in an undeformed state with respect to the at least one first component contact section and is deformable under pressure load into the receiving section. Boeckmann discloses in column 3, line 32 that “The first working surface is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a durable silicone rubber pad which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized.”. See also Rubini, paragraphs 0065-70, cited above in claim 7.
As to claim 20, Boeckmann discloses wherein at least one of the at least two pressure tools (100, 203, 208) has at least one heating (heating elements 36 and heating elements 40) and/or cooling device and/or at least one temperature sensor (thermostat 38 and thermostat 42). See column 6, line 41, disclosing:
Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42.
See also column 7, line 64, disclosing:
Demountable second working surface 50 includes heating elements 56 and thermocouples 58 connected and controlled in the same manner as previously described with respect to heating elements 36 and thermocouples 38.
Claim(s) 1-8 and 16-20 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boeckmann (US 5019027 A) and Rubini (US 20170240309 A1) and GB 2525614 A.
As to claim 1, Boeckmann discloses a set of at least two pressure tool (first and second seal jaws 10, 12) for applying a pressure force during welding of plastic components (web 32, see column 5, line 67, disclosing “The film web may be of a single ply of thermoplastic material, or may be one of a number of dual or multiple ply laminates conventionally used in the art.”), each of the at least two pressure tools (jaws 10, 12) comprises at least one metallic first component contact (“First and second working surfaces 28, 30 of first seal jaw 10 are shown in more detail in FIG. 2, and third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is shown in more detail in FIG. 3.”; for jaw 10, “Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum”, and for jaw 12, “third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark)”),
wherein one of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (working surface 28, which includes “a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber”) and is thermally controllable (“provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws”),
and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with at least one elastically deformable second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section where a weld seam is to be formed.
See column 6, line 22 to column 7, line 5, disclosing:
(5) As shown in FIG. 2, first working surface 28 is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized in the first and second seal jaws 10, 12. It may have a relatively flat, untextured or unpatterned surface. Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As can be seen, second working surface 30 is wider than the zipper closure elements and is positioned so that it will engage the zipper closure elements even if there are positional changes of the elements on the film web. This enables the present invention to be used on a number of different sizes of container webs without modification to the seal jaws. A cross-hatched pattern is preferred for second working surface 30 to promote the flow of thermoplastic material during sealing. Other suitable patterned surfaces may also be used.
(6) Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
(7) As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42. Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.
(8) The provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws permits additional heat to be applied in the area of the zipper closure elements and also permits the apparatus to be adjusted for the particular film material to be sealed. For example, where the film web is a dual ply laminate of oriented polypropylene with an inner seal layer of Saran (trademark), both first seal bar 10 and second seal bar 12 are operated in the range of from 250-280 degrees F., and most preferably about 260 degrees F. This temperature is sufficient to melt the inner seal layer for obtaining a durable seal without causing undue deformation or shrinkage of the outer polypropylene layer.
The apparatus of Boeckman is capable of welding plastic components which are intended to be plastic vehicle components, where a weld seam is to be formed.
In any event, GB 2525614 A discloses a welding apparatus similar that in Boeckman, wherein the plastic components are plastic vehicle components. GB 2525614 A discloses on page 3, lines 28-32 that:
Thermoplastic composite components have the potential to be widely used in the aerospace industry, and it is beneficial to he able to provide a method of welding disparate components together, without causing structural weaknesses within the final assembly. By using the thermoplastic of the components themselves as the weld material, a clean uniformly continuous join between the components is formed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein the plastic components are plastic vehicle components as in GB 2525614 A in order to weld disparate components together, without causing structural weaknesses.
Boeckman does not disclose the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. Boeckman only discloses one of the tools has both a metallic first component contact section and at least one elastically deformable second component contact section, whereas the other tool just has a metallic first component contact section with no elastically deformable second component contact section.
However, Rubini discloses and makes obvious the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (such as “two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber” in one tool called “the counter-sealing element 10”, and pressure pad 25 made of “solid silicone” in the other tool which is “sealing element 9”) and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. See especially paragraphs 0065-70, disclosing:
[0065] The counter-sealing element 10 further comprises two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber, which are housed in respective front cavities 24 of the supporting arrangement 34.
[0066] The pressure pads 23 are arranged on opposite sides of the front seat 22. In particular, the pressure pads 23 are arranged symmetrically with respect to plane Z, when the first jaw 7 and the second jaw 8 are in the sealing configuration, i.e. in the closed position H.
[0067] In this way, each counter pad 23 cooperates, during heat-sealing operation, with a corresponding sealing bar 13, in particular with a corresponding active surface 19 and a respective projection 20.
[0068] The sealing element 9 further comprises a resilient element 25 received inside the groove 17 and arranged to prevent clogging particles from entering into the groove 17 and accumulating in the groove 17. The clogging particle may be residues of packaging material and/or plastic material forming the opening devices 5.
[0069] The counter element 25 is arranged to interact with the cutting element 18 during cutting operation.
[0070] Advantageously, the resilient element 25 is made of rubber. In particular, the resilient element is made of solid silicone.
See also Figure 3, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section by utilizing the pressure pads and resilient elements of Rubini in order to achiever cooperation and interaction during heat-sealing operation.
As to claim 2, Boeckmann and Rubini discloses wherein the at least one first component contact section (working surface 32) and the at least one second component contact section (working surfaces 28 and 30) are arranged adjacent to each other along a boundary line.
See Boeckman, Figure 1, below:
See also Rubini, Figures 3 and 4, cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
As to claim 3, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressure tool has a rim section and the at least one second component contact section is arranged at the rim section. See Figure 2, below:
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 1 above makes obvious duplication of the rim section. See the analysis in claim 1 above.
As to claim 4, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressure tool is formed structurally integrated with the at least one first component contact section, has at least one receiving section (visible in Figure 3, disclosed as “Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.”) set back relative to the at least one first component contact section, and the at least one second component contact section is configured to be received on the at least one receiving section. See also Figure 4 and a5, showing set back relative to the at least one first component contact section, and the at least one second component contact section is configured to be received on the at least one receiving section.
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 1 above makes obvious duplication of the receiving section. See the analysis in claim 1 above.
As to claim 5, Boeckmann and Rubini both discloses wherein the at least one second component contact section projects in an undeformed state with respect to the at least one first component contact section and is deformable under pressure load into the receiving section. Boeckmann discloses in column 3, line 32 that “The first working surface is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a durable silicone rubber pad which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized.”. See also Rubini, paragraphs 0065-70, cited above.
As to claim 6, Boeckmann discloses wherein at least one of the at least two pressure tools (100, 203, 208) has at least one heating (heating elements 36 and heating elements 40) and/or cooling device and/or at least one temperature sensor (thermocouple/thermostat 38 and thermostat 42). See column 6, line 41, disclosing:
Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42.
See also column 7, line 64, disclosing:
Demountable second working surface 50 includes heating elements 56 and thermocouples 58 connected and controlled in the same manner as previously described with respect to heating elements 36 and thermocouples 38.
As to claim 7, Boeckmann discloses a pressure apparatus for pressing together plastic components during welding, wherein the pressing device has at least two pressure tools (first and second seal jaws 10, 12) for applying a pressure force during welding of plastic components (web 32, see column 5, line 67, disclosing “The film web may be of a single ply of thermoplastic material, or may be one of a number of dual or multiple ply laminates conventionally used in the art.”), each of the at least two pressure tools (jaws 10, 12) having comprises at least one metallic first component contact (“First and second working surfaces 28, 30 of first seal jaw 10 are shown in more detail in FIG. 2, and third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is shown in more detail in FIG. 3.”; for jaw 10, “Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum”, and for jaw 12, “third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark)”),
wherein one of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (working surface 28, which includes “a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber”) and is thermally controllable (“provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws”) and
wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with at least one elastically deformable second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section where a weld seam is to be formed.
See column 6, line 22 to column 7, line 5, disclosing:
(5) As shown in FIG. 2, first working surface 28 is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized in the first and second seal jaws 10, 12. It may have a relatively flat, untextured or unpatterned surface. Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As can be seen, second working surface 30 is wider than the zipper closure elements and is positioned so that it will engage the zipper closure elements even if there are positional changes of the elements on the film web. This enables the present invention to be used on a number of different sizes of container webs without modification to the seal jaws. A cross-hatched pattern is preferred for second working surface 30 to promote the flow of thermoplastic material during sealing. Other suitable patterned surfaces may also be used.
(6) Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
(7) As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42. Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.
(8) The provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws permits additional heat to be applied in the area of the zipper closure elements and also permits the apparatus to be adjusted for the particular film material to be sealed. For example, where the film web is a dual ply laminate of oriented polypropylene with an inner seal layer of Saran (trademark), both first seal bar 10 and second seal bar 12 are operated in the range of from 250-280 degrees F., and most preferably about 260 degrees F. This temperature is sufficient to melt the inner seal layer for obtaining a durable seal without causing undue deformation or shrinkage of the outer polypropylene layer.
The apparatus of Boeckman is capable of welding plastic components which are intended to be plastic vehicle components, where a weld seam is to be formed.
In any event, GB 2525614 A discloses a welding apparatus similar that in Boeckman, wherein the plastic components are plastic vehicle components. GB 2525614 A discloses on page 3, lines 28-32 that:
Thermoplastic composite components have the potential to be widely used in the aerospace industry, and it is beneficial to he able to provide a method of welding disparate components together, without causing structural weaknesses within the final assembly. By using the thermoplastic of the components themselves as the weld material, a clean uniformly continuous join between the components is formed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein the plastic components are plastic vehicle components as in GB 2525614 A in order to weld disparate components together, without causing structural weaknesses.
Boeckman does not disclose the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. Boeckman only discloses one of the tools has both a metallic first component contact section and at least one elastically deformable second component contact section, whereas the other tool just has a metallic first component contact section with no elastically deformable second component contact section.
However, Rubini discloses and makes obvious the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (such as “two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber” in one tool called “the counter-sealing element 10”, and pressure pad 25 made of “solid silicone” in the other tool which is “sealing element 9”) and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. See especially paragraphs 0065-70, disclosing:
[0065] The counter-sealing element 10 further comprises two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber, which are housed in respective front cavities 24 of the supporting arrangement 34.
[0066] The pressure pads 23 are arranged on opposite sides of the front seat 22. In particular, the pressure pads 23 are arranged symmetrically with respect to plane Z, when the first jaw 7 and the second jaw 8 are in the sealing configuration, i.e. in the closed position H.
[0067] In this way, each counter pad 23 cooperates, during heat-sealing operation, with a corresponding sealing bar 13, in particular with a corresponding active surface 19 and a respective projection 20.
[0068] The sealing element 9 further comprises a resilient element 25 received inside the groove 17 and arranged to prevent clogging particles from entering into the groove 17 and accumulating in the groove 17. The clogging particle may be residues of packaging material and/or plastic material forming the opening devices 5.
[0069] The counter element 25 is arranged to interact with the cutting element 18 during cutting operation.
[0070] Advantageously, the resilient element 25 is made of rubber. In particular, the resilient element is made of solid silicone.
See also Figure 3, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section by utilizing the pressure pads and resilient elements of Rubini in order to achiever cooperation and interaction during heat-sealing operation.
As to claim 8, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressing device has a control device for controlling (conventional controller for controlling heating elements 36 and 40) a pressure force and/or a temperature. See column 6, line 41, disclosing:
Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42.
See also column 7, line 64, disclosing:
Demountable second working surface 50 includes heating elements 56 and thermocouples 58 connected and controlled in the same manner as previously described with respect to heating elements 36 and thermocouples 38.
As to claim 16, Boeckmann and Rubini discloses wherein the at least one first component contact section (working surface 32) and the at least one second component contact section (working surfaces 28 and 30) are arranged adjacent to each other along a boundary line.
See Figure 1, below:
See also Rubini, Figures 3 and 4, cited in the rejection of claim 7 above.
As to claim 17, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressure tool has a rim section and the at least one second component contact section is arranged at the rim section. See Figure 2, below:
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 7 above makes obvious duplication of the rim section. See the analysis in claim 7 above.
As to claim 18, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressure tool is formed structurally integrated with the at least one first component contact section, has at least one receiving section (visible in Figure 3, disclosed as “Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.”) set back relative to the at least one first component contact section, and the at least one second component contact section is configured to be received on the at least one receiving section. See also Figure 4 and a5, showing set back relative to the at least one first component contact section, and the at least one second component contact section is configured to be received on the at least one receiving section.
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 7 above makes obvious duplication of the receiving section. See the analysis in claim 7 above.
As to claim 19, Boeckmann and Rubini discloses wherein the at least one second component contact section projects in an undeformed state with respect to the at least one first component contact section and is deformable under pressure load into the receiving section. Boeckmann discloses in column 3, line 32 that “The first working surface is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a durable silicone rubber pad which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized.”. See also Rubini, paragraphs 0065-70, cited above in claim 7.
As to claim 20, Boeckmann discloses wherein at least one of the at least two pressure tools (100, 203, 208) has at least one heating (heating elements 36 and heating elements 40) and/or cooling device and/or at least one temperature sensor (thermostat 38 and thermostat 42). See column 6, line 41, disclosing:
Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42.
See also column 7, line 64, disclosing:
Demountable second working surface 50 includes heating elements 56 and thermocouples 58 connected and controlled in the same manner as previously described with respect to heating elements 36 and thermocouples 38.
Claim(s) 9-14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boeckmann (US 5019027 A) and Rubini (US 20170240309 A1) and GB 2525614 A.
As to claim 9, Boeckmann discloses a method for welding plastic components wherein the method is carried out by means of a pressing device having at least two pressure tools (first and second seal jaws 10, 12) for applying a pressure force during welding of plastic components (web 32, see column 5, line 67, disclosing “The film web may be of a single ply of thermoplastic material, or may be one of a number of dual or multiple ply laminates conventionally used in the art.”), each of the at least two pressure tools (jaws 10, 12) having comprises at least one metallic first component contact (“First and second working surfaces 28, 30 of first seal jaw 10 are shown in more detail in FIG. 2, and third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is shown in more detail in FIG. 3.”; for jaw 10, “Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum”, and for jaw 12, “third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark)”),
wherein one of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (working surface 28, which includes “a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber”) and is thermally controllable (“provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws”), and
wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with at least one elastically deformable second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and a pressure force is applied so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section.
See column 6, line 22 to column 7, line 5, disclosing:
(5) As shown in FIG. 2, first working surface 28 is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized in the first and second seal jaws 10, 12. It may have a relatively flat, untextured or unpatterned surface. Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As can be seen, second working surface 30 is wider than the zipper closure elements and is positioned so that it will engage the zipper closure elements even if there are positional changes of the elements on the film web. This enables the present invention to be used on a number of different sizes of container webs without modification to the seal jaws. A cross-hatched pattern is preferred for second working surface 30 to promote the flow of thermoplastic material during sealing. Other suitable patterned surfaces may also be used.
(6) Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
(7) As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42. Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.
(8) The provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws permits additional heat to be applied in the area of the zipper closure elements and also permits the apparatus to be adjusted for the particular film material to be sealed. For example, where the film web is a dual ply laminate of oriented polypropylene with an inner seal layer of Saran (trademark), both first seal bar 10 and second seal bar 12 are operated in the range of from 250-280 degrees F., and most preferably about 260 degrees F. This temperature is sufficient to melt the inner seal layer for obtaining a durable seal without causing undue deformation or shrinkage of the outer polypropylene layer.
Boeckman does not disclose the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and a pressure force is applied so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. Boeckman only discloses one of the tools has both a metallic first component contact section and at least one elastically deformable second component contact section, whereas the other tool just has a metallic first component contact section with no elastically deformable second component contact section. Additionally, although Boeckman discloses welding of plastic components, Boeckman does not disclose that the plastic components are plastic vehicle components.
However, Rubini discloses and makes obvious the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (such as “two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber” in one tool called “the counter-sealing element 10”, and pressure pad 25 made of “solid silicone” in the other tool which is “sealing element 9”) and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section where a weld seam is to be formed. See especially paragraphs 0065-70, disclosing:
[0065] The counter-sealing element 10 further comprises two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber, which are housed in respective front cavities 24 of the supporting arrangement 34.
[0066] The pressure pads 23 are arranged on opposite sides of the front seat 22. In particular, the pressure pads 23 are arranged symmetrically with respect to plane Z, when the first jaw 7 and the second jaw 8 are in the sealing configuration, i.e. in the closed position H.
[0067] In this way, each counter pad 23 cooperates, during heat-sealing operation, with a corresponding sealing bar 13, in particular with a corresponding active surface 19 and a respective projection 20.
[0068] The sealing element 9 further comprises a resilient element 25 received inside the groove 17 and arranged to prevent clogging particles from entering into the groove 17 and accumulating in the groove 17. The clogging particle may be residues of packaging material and/or plastic material forming the opening devices 5.
[0069] The counter element 25 is arranged to interact with the cutting element 18 during cutting operation.
[0070] Advantageously, the resilient element 25 is made of rubber. In particular, the resilient element is made of solid silicone.
See also Figure 3, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and a pressure force is applied so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section by utilizing the pressure pads and resilient elements of Rubini in order to achiever cooperation and interaction during heat-sealing operation.
Additionally, GB 2525614 A discloses a welding method similar that in Boeckman, wherein the plastic components are plastic vehicle components. GB 2525614 A discloses on page 3, lines 28-32 that:
Thermoplastic composite components have the potential to be widely used in the aerospace industry, and it is beneficial to he able to provide a method of welding disparate components together, without causing structural weaknesses within the final assembly. By using the thermoplastic of the components themselves as the weld material, a clean uniformly continuous join between the components is formed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein the plastic components are plastic vehicle components as in GB 2525614 A in order to weld disparate components together, without causing structural weaknesses.
As to claim 10, Boeckmann discloses wherein the following steps are carried out:
arranging a first and a second plastic component (200, 202) to be welded together so that a joining section (210) is formed,
pressing the first and second plastic components (200, 202) together by means of the pressing device (204); plasticizing the first and second plastic components (200, 202) at the joining contact surfaces in order to produce a welded joint;
solidifying the welded joint; and
removing the pressing device (via a step of severing).
See column 8, line 9, disclosing:
(14) In operation, the present invention advantageously increases the heat and pressure in the area of the zipper closures to be sealed. Additional heat introduced to the seal jaws by heating elements 36 causes the thermoplastic material of the film web to soften and flow into voids between zipper closure elements 24, 26 and film 22 and form a durable seal, as well as causing the ends of zipper closure elements 24, 26 to fuse to each other. Intermeshing cross-hatched patterns, preferred on second and third working surfaces 30, 32, also promote the flow of the thermoplastic material and strengthen the resulting side seals and zipper end seals. The sealing pressure on zipper closure elements 24, 26 is further enhanced by springs 44a, 44b.
(15) Finally, in accordance with the method of the present invention, flexible container manufacturing or packaging equipment, such as rotary drum 14, may be supplied with a web of thermoplastic film having zipper closure elements 24, 26 attached thereto without spot-sealing. Laminates of thermoplastic film known in the art are typically used in manufacturing flexible containers, and, in particular, for packaging foodstuffs. The film is folded, zipper closure elements 24, 26 brought into opposing, engagable or, alternatively, interlocked relationship, the folded web of thermoplastic film 22 is engaged between first and second seal jaws 10, 12 to form a first side seal and first zipper end seal, and then advanced to form a second side seal and second zipper end seal. In FIG. 1, first and second side seals are shown typically as side seal 62 and first and second zipper end seals are shown typically as zipper end seal 64. Seal time is typically in the range of 1 second. Film 22 is thereafter severed along the length of these first and second seals 62, generally along the center thereof, to form individual flexible containers or packages.
(16) In accordance with the alternative embodiment of present invention shown in FIGS. 6 and 7, the step of severing may be accomplished after the first and second side seals 62 and first and second zipper end seals 64 are formed by inserting knife 60 through slot 48.
Boeckmann does not disclose thereby inserting at least one electrical resistance welding element between common joining contact surfaces of the plastic components or plasticizing the first and second plastic components at the joining contact surfaces by means of the at least one resistance welding element in order to produce a welded joint.
GB 2525614 A discloses inserting at least one electrical resistance welding element (“an electrically-conductive non-metal pliantly flexible membrane, in this case being a carbon-fibre textile 74”) between common joining contact surfaces of the plastic components and plasticizing the first and second plastic components at the joining contact surfaces by means of the at least one resistance welding element in order to produce a welded joint, and additionally as discussed above in claim 9 makes obvious that the plastic components are plastic vehicle components.
See page 9, line 17, disclosing:
A weldable assembly 64 comprises first and second thermoplastic composite components 66, 68, first and second electrically-insulative layers 70, 72 and an electrically-conductive non-metal pliantly flexible membrane, in this case being a carbon-fibre textile 74. The assembly 64 is formed in layers, from the lowest level upwards: the first thermoplastic composite component 66; the first electrically-insulative layer 70; the electrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74; the second electrically-insulative layer 72; and the second thermoplastic composite component 68.
See page 10, line 13, disclosing:
To wdd the thermoplastic composite components 66, 68 of the weldable assembly 64 together, the layers are assembled as detailed above inside the weldable assembly receiving area 62. The distal tangs 40 of the flexible electrically-conductive foils 34 of the first and second electrodes 26, 28 are contacted with respective ends of the electrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74. In this case, the electrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74 is the standard heating element 42, and therefore the tangs 40 are separated by a distance approximately equal to the length of the electrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74.
GB 2525614 A also discloses that the steps similar to Boeckmann are carried out, including arranging a first and a second plastic component to be welded together so that a joining section is formed, pressing the first and second plastic components together by means of the pressing device; plasticizing the first and second plastic components at the joining contact surfaces in order to produce a welded joint; solidifying the welded joint; and removing the pressing device, and thus would be easily combinable with the teachings of Boeckmann. See page 10, line 22, disclosing:
Once the weldable assembly 64 is in place, the plungers 44 are activated to lower the second tooling 18 towards the first tooling 12. The bottom face 22 of the second tooling 18 will come into contact with an upper surface 76 of the second thermoplastic composite component 68, thereby applying a downward force to the weldable assembly 64. compressing the layers together.
Once the desired force is reached, the power supply 54 can he activated to supply a voltage across the electrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74. This will result in heating of the electrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74, which will initiate the welding of the two thermoplastic composite components 66, 68.
Both the plungers 44, and therefore pressure application, and the power supply 54, and therefore welding voltage, may be controlled by a single computer control means. This advantageously enables a single control unit to he installed, allowing control of the welding process as a whole. Such computer control means is known, and therefore will not be described in further detail.
The welding process is controlled by the temperature of the electrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74. This is depicted in Figures 2 to 4. As the temperature of the electrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74 rises, the thermoplastic at the welding interfaces 78, 80 of the first and second thermoplastic composite components 66, 68 will begin to melt.
The voltage to the deetrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74 is carefully controlled to ensure that its temperature is at or is close to the melting point of the thermoplastic, the thermoplastic composite components 66, 68 being electrically insulated by the first and second electrically-insulative layers 70. 72. This ensures that only the thermoplastic at the welding interfaces 78. 80 mells. rather than the entire thermoplastic composite component 66, 68.
As the thermoplastic at the welding interfaces 78, 80 melts, the pressure supplied by second tooling 18 on the second thermop'astic composite component 68 forces the first and second components 66, 68 together. The melted layer of thermoplastic 82 then fills the interstitial spaces 84 in the conductive carbon-fibre textile 74. wetting out the tissue and thereby lorming a liquid join between the Iirst and second components 66, 68.
As the voltage is removed from the apparatus 10, the electrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74 will cool, and the liquid thermoplastic 82 will begin to set. As the thermoplastic sets, it will form a solid, contiguous weld 86 between the first and second thermoplastic composite components 66. 68 with the carbon tissue 74 sandwiched therebetween. The plungers 44 can then be retracted to release the pressure on the weldable assembly 64. and the now-welded assembly can be removed from the apparatus 10.
GB 2525614 A teaches in column 14, line 7, that “The utilisation of the textile results in the formation of a void-free weld, resulting in a strong bond between the two components.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized inserting at least one electrical resistance welding element between common joining contact surfaces of the plastic components and plasticizing the first and second plastic components at the joining contact surfaces by means of the at least one resistance welding element in order to produce a welded joint as taught by GB 2525614 A because utilisation of the textile results in the formation of a void-free weld, resulting in a strong bond between the two components
As to claim 11, Boeckmann does not disclose wherein the at least one resistance welding element is inserted between common joining contact surfaces of the plastic components projecting beyond the joining section and/or projecting into at least one joining zone rim section adjacent to the joining section.
However, GB 2525614 A discloses wherein the at least one resistance welding element is inserted between common joining contact surfaces of the plastic components (projecting beyond the joining section and/or projecting into at least one joining zone rim section adjacent to the joining section. See especially Figures 2, 3, and 4, which show that the electrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74 and tangs 40 projecting beyond the joining section and/or projecting into at least one joining zone rim section adjacent to the joining section.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the at least one resistance welding element is inserted between common joining contact surfaces of the plastic components projecting beyond the joining section and/or projecting into at least one joining zone rim section adjacent to the joining section as taught by GB 2525614 A because utilisation of the textile results in the formation of a void-free weld, resulting in a strong bond between the two components
As to claim 12, Boeckmann discloses wherein, for pressing the plastic components together, the at least one pressure tool is placed with the first component contact section against the joining section and with the second component contact section against the at least one joining zone rim section. See Figure 2, below:
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 9 above makes obvious duplication of the rim section. See the analysis in claim 9 above.
See also GB 2525614 A, Figures 2-4, shown above.
As to claim 13, Boeckman discloses wherein, during the pressing together a pressure force and/or a temperature of at least one of the at least two pressure tools are/is controlled. See column 6, line 41, disclosing:
Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42.
See also column 7, line 64, disclosing:
Demountable second working surface 50 includes heating elements 56 and thermocouples 58 connected and controlled in the same manner as previously described with respect to heating elements 36 and thermocouples 38.
As to claim 14, Boeckmann does not disclose wherein the pressure force and/or the temperature of at least one of the at least two pressure tools and a temperature and/or an electrical exposure of the at least one resistance welding element are controlled in manner coordinated to each other.
However, Boeckmann and GB 2525614 A as combined would operate wherein the pressure force and/or the temperature of the at least one pressure tool and a temperature and/or an electrical exposure of the at least one resistance welding element are controlled in manner coordinated to each other.
See GB 2525614 A, page 11, line 1, disclosing:
Both the plungers 44, and therefore pressure application, and the power supply 54, and therefore welding voltage, may be controlled by a single computer control means. This advantageously enables a single control unit to he installed, allowing control of the welding process as a whole. Such computer control means is known, and therefore will not be described in further detail.
The welding process is controlled by the temperature of the electrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74. This is depicted in Figures 2 to 4. As the temperature of the electrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74 rises, the thermoplastic at the welding interfaces 78, 80 of the first and second theimoplastic composite components 66, 68 will begin to melt.
The voltage to the deetrically-conductive carbon-fibre textile 74 is carefully controlled to ensure that its temperature is at or is close to the melting point of the thermoplastic, the thermoplastic composite components 66, 68 being electrically insulated by the first and second electrically-insulative layers 70. 72. This ensures that only the thermoplastic at the welding interfaces 78. 80 mells. rather than the entire thermoplastic composite component 66, 68.
See also Boeckmann, column 6, line 41, disclosing:
Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42.
See also Boeckman column 7, line 64, disclosing:
Demountable second working surface 50 includes heating elements 56 and thermocouples 58 connected and controlled in the same manner as previously described with respect to heating elements 36 and thermocouples 38.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the pressure force and/or the temperature of the at least one pressure tool and a temperature and/or an electrical exposure of the at least one resistance welding element are controlled in manner coordinated to each other by combining the control teachings of Boeckman and GB 2525614 A in order to allow control of the welding process as a whole.
As to claim 21, Boeckman, Rubini and GB 2525614 A makes obvious wherein the weld seam is formed after maximum uniformly distributed pressure and temperature action with the at least two pressure tools placed above and below a joining zone of the plastic vehicle components. All of the references show a relatively flat pressure surface which would read on the limitation of wherein the weld seam is formed after maximum uniformly distributed pressure and temperature action with the at least two pressure tools placed above and below a joining zone of the plastic vehicle components.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK