DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed 9/5/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-9 and 16-20 under 35 USC 102 over Boeckman and claims 10-14 under 35 USC 103a over Boeckman and GB 2525614 A have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the newly applied Rubini reference. Therefore, claim(s) 1-9 and 16-20 are now rejected under 35 USC 103 over Boeckman and Rubini and claims 10-14 are now rejection under 35 USC 103 over Boeckman, Rubini and GB 2525614 A
As to claim 1 (and similarly to claims 7 and 9), Applicant persuasively argues Boeckman does not disclose the new limitations of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. Boeckman only discloses one of the tools has both a metallic first component contact section and at least one elastically deformable second component contact section, whereas the other tool just has a metallic first component contact section with no elastically deformable second component contact section.
However, Rubini discloses and makes obvious the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (such as “two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber” in one tool called “the counter-sealing element 10”, and pressure pad 25 made of “solid silicone” in the other tool which is “sealing element 9”) and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. See especially paragraphs 0065-70, disclosing:
[0065] The counter-sealing element 10 further comprises two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber, which are housed in respective front cavities 24 of the supporting arrangement 34.
[0066] The pressure pads 23 are arranged on opposite sides of the front seat 22. In particular, the pressure pads 23 are arranged symmetrically with respect to plane Z, when the first jaw 7 and the second jaw 8 are in the sealing configuration, i.e. in the closed position H.
[0067] In this way, each counter pad 23 cooperates, during heat-sealing operation, with a corresponding sealing bar 13, in particular with a corresponding active surface 19 and a respective projection 20.
[0068] The sealing element 9 further comprises a resilient element 25 received inside the groove 17 and arranged to prevent clogging particles from entering into the groove 17 and accumulating in the groove 17. The clogging particle may be residues of packaging material and/or plastic material forming the opening devices 5.
[0069] The counter element 25 is arranged to interact with the cutting element 18 during cutting operation.
[0070] Advantageously, the resilient element 25 is made of rubber. In particular, the resilient element is made of solid silicone.
See also Figure 3, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section by utilizing the pressure pads and resilient elements of Rubini in order to achiever cooperation and interaction during heat-sealing operation.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“control device for controlling a pressure force and/or a temperature” in claim 8. Paragraph 0017 of the specification discloses that the corresponding structure for “the control device can be an electrical control device. The control device can have a processor, a working memory, a data memory, at least one signal input and/or at least one signal output. The control device can be programmable.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boeckmann (US 5019027 A) and Rubini (US 20170240309 A1).
As to claim 1, Boeckmann discloses a set of at least two pressure tool (first and second seal jaws 10, 12) for applying a pressure force during welding of plastic components (web 32, see column 5, line 67, disclosing “The film web may be of a single ply of thermoplastic material, or may be one of a number of dual or multiple ply laminates conventionally used in the art.”), each of the at least two pressure tools (jaws 10, 12) comprises at least one metallic first component contact (“First and second working surfaces 28, 30 of first seal jaw 10 are shown in more detail in FIG. 2, and third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is shown in more detail in FIG. 3.”; for jaw 10, “Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum”, and for jaw 12, “third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark)”),
wherein one of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (working surface 28, which includes “a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber”) and is thermally controllable (“provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws”),
and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with at least one elastically deformable second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section.
See column 6, line 22 to column 7, line 5, disclosing:
(5) As shown in FIG. 2, first working surface 28 is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized in the first and second seal jaws 10, 12. It may have a relatively flat, untextured or unpatterned surface. Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As can be seen, second working surface 30 is wider than the zipper closure elements and is positioned so that it will engage the zipper closure elements even if there are positional changes of the elements on the film web. This enables the present invention to be used on a number of different sizes of container webs without modification to the seal jaws. A cross-hatched pattern is preferred for second working surface 30 to promote the flow of thermoplastic material during sealing. Other suitable patterned surfaces may also be used.
(6) Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
(7) As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42. Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.
(8) The provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws permits additional heat to be applied in the area of the zipper closure elements and also permits the apparatus to be adjusted for the particular film material to be sealed. For example, where the film web is a dual ply laminate of oriented polypropylene with an inner seal layer of Saran (trademark), both first seal bar 10 and second seal bar 12 are operated in the range of from 250-280 degrees F., and most preferably about 260 degrees F. This temperature is sufficient to melt the inner seal layer for obtaining a durable seal without causing undue deformation or shrinkage of the outer polypropylene layer.
Boeckman does not disclose the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. Boeckman only discloses one of the tools has both a metallic first component contact section and at least one elastically deformable second component contact section, whereas the other tool just has a metallic first component contact section with no elastically deformable second component contact section.
However, Rubini discloses and makes obvious the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (such as “two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber” in one tool called “the counter-sealing element 10”, and pressure pad 25 made of “solid silicone” in the other tool which is “sealing element 9”) and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. See especially paragraphs 0065-70, disclosing:
[0065] The counter-sealing element 10 further comprises two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber, which are housed in respective front cavities 24 of the supporting arrangement 34.
[0066] The pressure pads 23 are arranged on opposite sides of the front seat 22. In particular, the pressure pads 23 are arranged symmetrically with respect to plane Z, when the first jaw 7 and the second jaw 8 are in the sealing configuration, i.e. in the closed position H.
[0067] In this way, each counter pad 23 cooperates, during heat-sealing operation, with a corresponding sealing bar 13, in particular with a corresponding active surface 19 and a respective projection 20.
[0068] The sealing element 9 further comprises a resilient element 25 received inside the groove 17 and arranged to prevent clogging particles from entering into the groove 17 and accumulating in the groove 17. The clogging particle may be residues of packaging material and/or plastic material forming the opening devices 5.
[0069] The counter element 25 is arranged to interact with the cutting element 18 during cutting operation.
[0070] Advantageously, the resilient element 25 is made of rubber. In particular, the resilient element is made of solid silicone.
See also Figure 3, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section by utilizing the pressure pads and resilient elements of Rubini in order to achiever cooperation and interaction during heat-sealing operation.
As to claim 2, Boeckmann and Rubini discloses wherein the at least one first component contact section (working surface 32) and the at least one second component contact section (working surfaces 28 and 30) are arranged adjacent to each other along a boundary line.
See Boeckman, Figure 1, below:
See also Rubini, Figures 3 and 4, cited in the rejection of claim 1 above.
As to claim 3, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressure tool has a rim section and the at least one second component contact section is arranged at the rim section. See Figure 2, below:
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 1 above makes obvious duplication of the rim section. See the analysis in claim 1 above.
As to claim 4, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressure tool is formed structurally integrated with the at least one first component contact section, has at least one receiving section (visible in Figure 3, disclosed as “Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.”) set back relative to the at least one first component contact section, and the at least one second component contact section is configured to be received on the at least one receiving section. See also Figure 4 and a5, showing set back relative to the at least one first component contact section, and the at least one second component contact section is configured to be received on the at least one receiving section.
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 1 above makes obvious duplication of the receiving section. See the analysis in claim 1 above.
As to claim 5, Boeckmann and Rubini both discloses wherein the at least one second component contact section projects in an undeformed state with respect to the at least one first component contact section and is deformable under pressure load into the receiving section. Boeckmann discloses in column 3, line 32 that “The first working surface is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a durable silicone rubber pad which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized.”. See also Rubini, paragraphs 0065-70, cited above.
As to claim 6, Boeckmann discloses wherein at least one of the at least two pressure tools (100, 203, 208) has at least one heating (heating elements 36 and heating elements 40) and/or cooling device and/or at least one temperature sensor (thermocouple/thermostat 38 and thermostat 42). See column 6, line 41, disclosing:
Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42.
See also column 7, line 64, disclosing:
Demountable second working surface 50 includes heating elements 56 and thermocouples 58 connected and controlled in the same manner as previously described with respect to heating elements 36 and thermocouples 38.
As to claim 7, Boeckmann discloses a pressure apparatus for pressing together plastic components during welding, wherein the pressing device has at least two pressure tools (first and second seal jaws 10, 12) for applying a pressure force during welding of plastic components (web 32, see column 5, line 67, disclosing “The film web may be of a single ply of thermoplastic material, or may be one of a number of dual or multiple ply laminates conventionally used in the art.”), each of the at least two pressure tools (jaws 10, 12) having comprises at least one metallic first component contact (“First and second working surfaces 28, 30 of first seal jaw 10 are shown in more detail in FIG. 2, and third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is shown in more detail in FIG. 3.”; for jaw 10, “Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum”, and for jaw 12, “third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark)”),
wherein one of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (working surface 28, which includes “a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber”) and is thermally controllable (“provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws”) and
wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with at least one elastically deformable second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section.
See column 6, line 22 to column 7, line 5, disclosing:
(5) As shown in FIG. 2, first working surface 28 is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized in the first and second seal jaws 10, 12. It may have a relatively flat, untextured or unpatterned surface. Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As can be seen, second working surface 30 is wider than the zipper closure elements and is positioned so that it will engage the zipper closure elements even if there are positional changes of the elements on the film web. This enables the present invention to be used on a number of different sizes of container webs without modification to the seal jaws. A cross-hatched pattern is preferred for second working surface 30 to promote the flow of thermoplastic material during sealing. Other suitable patterned surfaces may also be used.
(6) Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
(7) As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42. Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.
(8) The provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws permits additional heat to be applied in the area of the zipper closure elements and also permits the apparatus to be adjusted for the particular film material to be sealed. For example, where the film web is a dual ply laminate of oriented polypropylene with an inner seal layer of Saran (trademark), both first seal bar 10 and second seal bar 12 are operated in the range of from 250-280 degrees F., and most preferably about 260 degrees F. This temperature is sufficient to melt the inner seal layer for obtaining a durable seal without causing undue deformation or shrinkage of the outer polypropylene layer.
Boeckman does not disclose the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. Boeckman only discloses one of the tools has both a metallic first component contact section and at least one elastically deformable second component contact section, whereas the other tool just has a metallic first component contact section with no elastically deformable second component contact section.
However, Rubini discloses and makes obvious the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (such as “two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber” in one tool called “the counter-sealing element 10”, and pressure pad 25 made of “solid silicone” in the other tool which is “sealing element 9”) and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. See especially paragraphs 0065-70, disclosing:
[0065] The counter-sealing element 10 further comprises two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber, which are housed in respective front cavities 24 of the supporting arrangement 34.
[0066] The pressure pads 23 are arranged on opposite sides of the front seat 22. In particular, the pressure pads 23 are arranged symmetrically with respect to plane Z, when the first jaw 7 and the second jaw 8 are in the sealing configuration, i.e. in the closed position H.
[0067] In this way, each counter pad 23 cooperates, during heat-sealing operation, with a corresponding sealing bar 13, in particular with a corresponding active surface 19 and a respective projection 20.
[0068] The sealing element 9 further comprises a resilient element 25 received inside the groove 17 and arranged to prevent clogging particles from entering into the groove 17 and accumulating in the groove 17. The clogging particle may be residues of packaging material and/or plastic material forming the opening devices 5.
[0069] The counter element 25 is arranged to interact with the cutting element 18 during cutting operation.
[0070] Advantageously, the resilient element 25 is made of rubber. In particular, the resilient element is made of solid silicone.
See also Figure 3, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section by utilizing the pressure pads and resilient elements of Rubini in order to achiever cooperation and interaction during heat-sealing operation.
As to claim 8, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressing device has a control device for controlling (conventional controller for controlling heating elements 36 and 40) a pressure force and/or a temperature. See column 6, line 41, disclosing:
Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42.
See also column 7, line 64, disclosing:
Demountable second working surface 50 includes heating elements 56 and thermocouples 58 connected and controlled in the same manner as previously described with respect to heating elements 36 and thermocouples 38.
As to claim 9, Boeckmann discloses a method for welding plastic components wherein the method is carried out by means of a pressing device having at least two pressure tools (first and second seal jaws 10, 12) for applying a pressure force during welding of plastic components (web 32, see column 5, line 67, disclosing “The film web may be of a single ply of thermoplastic material, or may be one of a number of dual or multiple ply laminates conventionally used in the art.”), each of the at least two pressure tools (jaws 10, 12) having comprises at least one metallic first component contact (“First and second working surfaces 28, 30 of first seal jaw 10 are shown in more detail in FIG. 2, and third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is shown in more detail in FIG. 3.”; for jaw 10, “Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum”, and for jaw 12, “third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark)”),
wherein one of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (working surface 28, which includes “a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber”) and is thermally controllable (“provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws”), and
wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with at least one elastically deformable second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and a pressure force is applied so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section.
See column 6, line 22 to column 7, line 5, disclosing:
(5) As shown in FIG. 2, first working surface 28 is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a tough grade of silicone rubber which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized in the first and second seal jaws 10, 12. It may have a relatively flat, untextured or unpatterned surface. Second working surface 30 is comprised of a patterned, heat-conductive, non-resilient surface, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As can be seen, second working surface 30 is wider than the zipper closure elements and is positioned so that it will engage the zipper closure elements even if there are positional changes of the elements on the film web. This enables the present invention to be used on a number of different sizes of container webs without modification to the seal jaws. A cross-hatched pattern is preferred for second working surface 30 to promote the flow of thermoplastic material during sealing. Other suitable patterned surfaces may also be used.
(6) Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
(7) As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42. Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.
(8) The provision of controllable heating elements in each of the seal jaws permits additional heat to be applied in the area of the zipper closure elements and also permits the apparatus to be adjusted for the particular film material to be sealed. For example, where the film web is a dual ply laminate of oriented polypropylene with an inner seal layer of Saran (trademark), both first seal bar 10 and second seal bar 12 are operated in the range of from 250-280 degrees F., and most preferably about 260 degrees F. This temperature is sufficient to melt the inner seal layer for obtaining a durable seal without causing undue deformation or shrinkage of the outer polypropylene layer.
Boeckman does not disclose the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and a pressure force is applied so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. Boeckman only discloses one of the tools has both a metallic first component contact section and at least one elastically deformable second component contact section, whereas the other tool just has a metallic first component contact section with no elastically deformable second component contact section.
However, Rubini discloses and makes obvious the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section (such as “two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber” in one tool called “the counter-sealing element 10”, and pressure pad 25 made of “solid silicone” in the other tool which is “sealing element 9”) and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are configured to be placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and are configured to apply a pressure force so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section. See especially paragraphs 0065-70, disclosing:
[0065] The counter-sealing element 10 further comprises two pressure pads 23 made of heat-resistant elastomeric material, for example nitrile rubber, which are housed in respective front cavities 24 of the supporting arrangement 34.
[0066] The pressure pads 23 are arranged on opposite sides of the front seat 22. In particular, the pressure pads 23 are arranged symmetrically with respect to plane Z, when the first jaw 7 and the second jaw 8 are in the sealing configuration, i.e. in the closed position H.
[0067] In this way, each counter pad 23 cooperates, during heat-sealing operation, with a corresponding sealing bar 13, in particular with a corresponding active surface 19 and a respective projection 20.
[0068] The sealing element 9 further comprises a resilient element 25 received inside the groove 17 and arranged to prevent clogging particles from entering into the groove 17 and accumulating in the groove 17. The clogging particle may be residues of packaging material and/or plastic material forming the opening devices 5.
[0069] The counter element 25 is arranged to interact with the cutting element 18 during cutting operation.
[0070] Advantageously, the resilient element 25 is made of rubber. In particular, the resilient element is made of solid silicone.
See also Figure 3, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of wherein each of the at least two pressure tools has at least one elastically deformable second component contact section and is thermally controllable, and wherein to weld the plastic components, the at least two pressure tools are placed on opposite sides of a joining section with the first component contact sections on the joining section and with the second component contact sections on a joining zone rim section, and a pressure force is applied so that the plastic components are pressed together between the pressure tools on the joining section by utilizing the pressure pads and resilient elements of Rubini in order to achiever cooperation and interaction during heat-sealing operation.
As to claim 16, Boeckmann and Rubini discloses wherein the at least one first component contact section (working surface 32) and the at least one second component contact section (working surfaces 28 and 30) are arranged adjacent to each other along a boundary line.
See Figure 1, below:
See also Rubini, Figures 3 and 4, cited in the rejection of claim 7 above.
As to claim 17, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressure tool has a rim section and the at least one second component contact section is arranged at the rim section. See Figure 2, below:
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 7 above makes obvious duplication of the rim section. See the analysis in claim 7 above.
As to claim 18, Boeckmann discloses wherein the pressure tool is formed structurally integrated with the at least one first component contact section, has at least one receiving section (visible in Figure 3, disclosed as “Third working surface 32 further comprises means for gripping a web of folded thermoplastic film 22 which may be a ribbed surface pattern, as shown in FIG. 3, or which may be a complementary cross-hatched pattern which matches the pattern on second working surface 30.”) set back relative to the at least one first component contact section, and the at least one second component contact section is configured to be received on the at least one receiving section. See also Figure 4 and a5, showing set back relative to the at least one first component contact section, and the at least one second component contact section is configured to be received on the at least one receiving section.
Additionally, Rubini as applied to claim 7 above makes obvious duplication of the receiving section. See the analysis in claim 7 above.
As to claim 19, Boeckmann and Rubini discloses wherein the at least one second component contact section projects in an undeformed state with respect to the at least one first component contact section and is deformable under pressure load into the receiving section. Boeckmann discloses in column 3, line 32 that “The first working surface is comprised of a resilient pressure pad, such as a durable silicone rubber pad which is unaffected by the sealing temperatures utilized.”. See also Rubini, paragraphs 0065-70, cited above in claim 7.
As to claim 20, Boeckmann discloses wherein at least one of the at least two pressure tools (100, 203, 208) has at least one heating (heating elements 36 and heating elements 40) and/or cooling device and/or at least one temperature sensor (thermostat 38 and thermostat 42). See column 6, line 41, disclosing:
Referring now to FIG. 5, second working surface 30 is adjustably heated by heating elements 36, such as electrical resistance heaters, attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostats 38.
As shown in FIG. 3, third working surface 32 of second seal jaw 12 is comprised of heat-conductive, non-resilient material, such as steel or aluminum which may be coated with a heat-resistant nonstick agent such as Teflon (trademark). As best shown in FIG. 5, third working surface 32 is adjustably heated by heating elements 40, such as electrical resistance heaters attached to a source of electrical power (not shown), and controlled by a conventional controller (not shown) and thermostat 42.
See also column 7, line 64, disclosing:
Demountable second working surface 50 includes heating elements 56 and thermocouples 58 connected and controlled in the same manner as previously described with respect to heating elements 36 and thermocouples 38.
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boeckmann (US 5019027 A) and Rubini (US 20170240309 A1) as applied to claims 1-9 and 16-20 above, and further in view of GB 2525614 A.
As to claim 10, Boeckmann discloses wherein the following steps are carried out:
arranging a first and a second plastic component (200, 202) to be welded together so that a joining section (210) is formed,
pressing the first and second plastic components (200, 202) together by means of the pressing device (204); plasticizing the first and second plastic components (200, 202) at the joining contact surfaces in order to produce a welded joint;
solidifying the welded joint; and
removing the pressing device (via a step of severing).
See column 8, line 9, disclosing:
(14) In operation, the present invention advantageously increases the heat and pressure in the area of the zipper closures to be sealed. Additional heat introduced to the seal jaws by heating elements 36 causes the thermoplastic material of the film web to soften and flow into voids between